Opinion

Poverty doesn't explain shooting

July 31, 2010
This problem [at Black Expo] is nothing new; it has a long history of violence and disrespect for the community we all live in.
More

EDITORIAL: Timid talk won't stop violence during Indiana Black Expo

July 24, 2010
The violence that sometimes erupts on the streets of downtown during Summer Celebration’s final weekend can no longer be tolerated.
More

MAURER: Low barriers to entry breed business competitionRestricted Content

July 24, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Based primarily upon hard lessons learned, I developed “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship that You Didn’t Learn in School”—at least I didn’t learn them in school. This is Lesson 2.
More

MARCUS: Is suburbia the root of all evil?

July 24, 2010
Morton Marcus
Once upon a time, school transportation eased the journey of farm kids going to school. Today, it’s a massive subsidy for suburban kids whose parents have chosen to live far from a school in a place without sidewalks.
More

GROSSMAN: Bill Gates wants to spend your money

July 24, 2010
Peter Z. Grossman
Just as the government built an atomic bomb during World War II, the government should spend billions of dollars to create the energy innovations for a low-carbon economy, according to Gates and friends.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Record-breaking artist offers the vinyl word on music stars

July 24, 2010
Lou Harry
Seen from a distance, Lobyn Hamilton’s work might seem like something you’d find in a music shop—simple, faithful re-creations of familiar portraits of the likes of Jimi Hendrix and Bob Dylan. Get a little closer, though, and the medium becomes part of the message.
More

DINING: Blu lunch just pretense for dessert

July 24, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
At Blue Moon Cafe, the difficult-to-resist pastry case is right inside the front door.
More

HETRICK: Hoosier thrillers should stay on the pageRestricted Content

July 24, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Reading Indiana crime fiction is great for vacation. Learning of true Indiana crime isn't.
More

BENNER: Still pulling for Tiger in spite of his transgressionsRestricted Content

July 24, 2010
Bill Benner
Let me be the last (quasi) sports journalist in America to weigh in on Tiger Woods.
More

SKARBECK: Financial overhaul law leaves much uncertaintyRestricted Content

July 24, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
The public, to no surprise, is skeptical that the new regulations will succeed. A Bloomberg poll shows nearly four out of five Americans have little confidence the measures will prevent a crisis.
More

HICKS: What we can learn from forecasting blundersRestricted Content

July 24, 2010
Mike Hicks
It begs the question, just what should economists be expected to know and how should we explain it?
More

Employees drive company success

July 24, 2010
Mickey Maurer’s [July 12] column on choosing the right people is so “right on.”
More

Maurer's employee column was spot-on

July 24, 2010
Without a doubt, it is people that will either make or break you. Their success will absolutely determine yours.
More

Fieldhouse could have life without Pacers

July 24, 2010
The IBJ and others keep repeating that, should the Pacers leave, the city would be stuck with paying $14 [million]-$18 million a year in fieldhouse operating costs. Are you all assuming the facility will sit vacant? Come on.
More

Keep government hands off of Internet

July 24, 2010
Tim Altom, in his July 19 column, replays the tired populist argument in favor of Net Neutrality, while furthering the myth that government regulation magically makes things “fair.”
More

Dallara will further Speedway renaissance

July 24, 2010
Bringing Dallara to Speedway is a big win, not only for the Indy Racing League but for the town of Speedway and the Speedway Redevelopment Commission.
More

STYLE: Virginia Avenue goes vintage with four new 'old' shops

July 17, 2010
Gabrielle Poshadlo
Indianapolis' Virginia Avenue is quietly becoming a sort of vintage clothing district. Owner Tammy Dyson is planning to open the newest "old" store, Harloh's, on Aug, 1.
More

EDITORIAL: Deal for Pacers is worth making

July 17, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Conseco Fieldhouse does not belong to the Pacers, but to the city. And we need the Indiana Pacers.
More

MORRIS: It's crunch time with five months left in 2010

July 17, 2010
Greg Morris
There is still a lot of ground to cover before the sun sets on the year. But the time will go by quickly.
More

CORLEY: Help a child and who knows where he'll go?

July 17, 2010
William Corley
Consider these alarming statistics: More than 6,700 Marion County students drop out of school every single year. Dropouts earn $9,200 less per year than high school graduates, and earn $1 million less over a lifetime than college graduates.
More

DINING: A chorizo line forms for Westfield Mexican eatery

July 17, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
There was nothing fancy about the neighborhood restaurant, but Queso Blanco was packing them in despite nearby competition from two of the nearly ubiquitous strip-mall chains.
More

BENNER: Will Pacers be reborn or say a long goodbye?Restricted Content

July 17, 2010
Bill Benner
Winning will not, as some have suggested, cure all, because the NBA business model is so horribly awry.
More

HICKS: To spend or cut taxes, that is the questionRestricted Content

July 17, 2010
Mike Hicks
The stimulus and array of bailouts have thus far done little to boost the economy. Neither is there good evidence they kept things from getting worse.
More

ALTOM: How long will our 'Net neutrality last?

July 17, 2010
Tim Altom
Cable giant Comcast has fanned a typical smoldering Internet grumble-fest into a major screaming match, complete with a lawsuit and cries for federal intervention. The outcome may affect how much it costs you and me to do business across the ’Net.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: LaBute's new play 'Pretty' impressive

July 17, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, "Reasons to be Pretty" at the Phoenix Theatre, plus Famous Monsters and InConjunction conventions.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. The east side does have potential...and I have always thought Washington Scare should become an outlet mall. Anyone remember how popular Eastgate was? Well, Indy has no outlet malls, we have to go to Edinburgh for the deep discounts and I don't understand why. Jim is right. We need a few good eastsiders interested in actually making some noise and trying to change the commerce, culture and stereotypes of the East side. Irvington is very progressive and making great strides, why can't the far east side ride on their coat tails to make some changes?

  2. Boston.com has an article from 2010 where they talk about how Interactions moved to Massachusetts in the year prior. http://www.boston.com/business/technology/innoeco/2010/07/interactions_banks_63_million.html The article includes a link back to that Inside Indiana Business press release I linked to earlier, snarkily noting, "Guess this 2006 plan to create 200-plus new jobs in Indiana didn't exactly work out."

  3. I live on the east side and I have read all your comments. a local paper just did an article on Washington square mall with just as many comments and concerns. I am not sure if they are still around, but there was an east side coalition with good intentions to do good things on the east side. And there is a facebook post that called my eastside indy with many old members of the eastside who voice concerns about the east side of the city. We need to come together and not just complain and moan, but come up with actual concrete solutions, because what Dal said is very very true- the eastside could be a goldmine in the right hands. But if anyone is going damn, and change things, it is us eastside residents

  4. Please go back re-read your economics text book and the fine print on the February 2014 CBO report. A minimum wage increase has never resulted in a net job loss...

  5. The GOP at the Statehouse is more interested in PR to keep their majority, than using it to get anything good actually done. The State continues its downward spiral.

ADVERTISEMENT