Opinion

MARCUS: 90 counties show income improvement

May 1, 2010
Morton Marcus
The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis has released personal-income data for each county in the nation. The Indianapolis area did not fare well.
More

DINING: Nothing fowl at canal-side newcomer

May 1, 2010
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of new Broad Ripple restaurant reviews. This week: Flatwater.
More

Simons already support library

May 1, 2010
In response to IBJ’s April 26 editorial, “Simon could score for city library,” I thought it important for your readers to know members of the Simon family have a long history of supporting Indianapolis’ public library system and continue to be regular donors.
More

WEB REVIEW: Save the long words for Scrabble

May 1, 2010
Jim Cota
The golden rule should be to communicate clearly.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Take a seat for 2010/2011

May 1, 2010
Lou Harry
It's not too early to think about next season at the Indiana Repertory Theatre, the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, and more.
More

BENNER: Balancing academics, big business is part of NCAA jobRestricted Content

May 1, 2010
Bill Benner
On April 27, the NCAA unveiled its fifth president: Dr. Mark Emmert, currently president of the University of Washington.
More

HICKS: How competition sped up broadband adoptionRestricted Content

May 1, 2010
Mike Hicks
Our study found that simply permitting deregulation of cable TV caused a pleasing increase in broadband adoption.
More

Donations to Brizzi were appropriate

May 1, 2010
Over the course of my 41 years as a member of the Indiana Bar, I have worked to help improve the justice system in Marion County and the state.
More

Losing Pacers wouldn't help library

May 1, 2010
The truth is all it takes to keep [the Pacers] is paying the expenses of a building we would have to pay for anyway.
More

Benner column is a must-read

May 1, 2010
I wanted to let you know that I have really enjoyed reading your articles about Butler, especially the [April 19] “in another universe” piece. As a Butler alum, I still cannot believe we were in the championship and almost won it.
More

Health by Design deserves publicity

May 1, 2010
Thank you for [columnist Tom Harton’s] well-thought-out piece in [the April 26] edition on Health by Design. As Kim Irwin noted, this coalition is primarily aimed at obesity prevention.
More

Woman performed work as contractor

May 1, 2010
I read your article on Vida Aventura and Deseri Garcia in the April 12 issue with interest since Garcia once worked for my company, Team Summit. However, I feel it is important to clarify some of the information contained in the story.
More

EDITORIAL: Simon could score for city library

April 24, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Perhaps it’s time for Pacers owner Herb Simon—a billionaire like his late brother—to burnish his credentials as a philanthropist who makes the city a better place to live and work.
More

HARTON: Our environment provides another path to better health

April 24, 2010
Tom Harton
One recent study showed that medical costs fall more than $3 for every $1 spent on wellness programs. But something doesn’t add up.
More

MARCUS: Privatization not the only answer

April 24, 2010
Morton Marcus
Privatization is a popular political parlor game. Instead of providing thoughtful reasoning for consideration by an informed electorate, officials try to meet public needs through artfulness.
More

COOK: Restoring buildings revitalizes communities

April 24, 2010
William A. Cook
I got involved in restoration projects more than 30 years ago when a serious cardiac illness sidelined me from my medical-device business.
More

ALTOM: Is your smartphone good for business use?

April 24, 2010
Tim Altom
I love smartphones. No other form of biz-tech allows me so much opportunity to be so curmudgeonly about something so popular.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: You won't be bored with Weegee

April 24, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, photographs by the legendary Weegee at the Indianapolis Museum of Art. Plus a visit from the national tour of “A Chorus Line.”
More

DINING: Experiencing pub style, the Brockway way

April 24, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Carmel eatery bills itself as the country's first Dublin-inspired "industrial" pub.
More

BENNER: Think twice before ripping the blue and goldRestricted Content

April 24, 2010
Bill Benner
I defy anyone to tell me that losing the Pacers would be a positive thing for Indianapolis.
More

HETRICK: Job-seeking advice for graduates and grownups, tooRestricted Content

April 24, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
My advice has undergone a course correction to adapt to these challenging times.
More

HICKS: Unemployment situation brings up questionsRestricted Content

April 24, 2010
Mike Hicks
Perhaps the biggest problem is in estimating who is in and not in the formal work force. Even in good times, a surprising number of workers labor in the shadow economy, invisible to government statisticians.
More

Let Citizens take over sports venues

April 24, 2010
There may be a solution to the Capital Improvement Board’s financial problems, described in [the April 19] IBJ, that are further complicated by the Pacers wanting to renegotiate their Conseco agreement.
More

Citizens' takeover of water will be a relief

April 24, 2010
Tom Henderson gets it wrong in his [April 12] view that “Part of the overall utility problem is that lack of government oversight and public policy vision has made Indianapolis one of the highest-polluting and just plain ugliest cities in the Midwest.”
More

Colleges should target learning, not time

April 24, 2010
The Morton Marcus [March 29] column on graduation rates hit home. I too do not like credentialism as an excuse to avoid evaluating performance.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I had read earlier this spring that Noodles & Co was going to open in the Fishers Marketplace (which is SR 37 and 131st St, not 141st St, just FYI). Any word on that? Also, do you happen to know what is being built in Carmel at Pennsylvania and Old Meridian? May just be an office building but I'm not sure.

  2. I'm sorry, but you are flat out wrong. There are few tracks in the world with the history of IMS and probably NO OTHER as widely known and recognized. I don't care what you think about the stat of Indy Car racing, these are pretty hard things to dispute.

  3. Also wondering if there is an update on the Brockway Pub-Danny Boy restaurant/taproom that was planned for the village as well?

  4. Why does the majority get to trample on the rights of the minority? You do realize that banning gay marriage does not rid the world of gay people, right? They are still going to be around and they are still going to continue to exist. The best way to get it all out of the spotlight? LEGALIZE IT! If gay marriage is legal, they will get to stop trying to push for it and you will get to stop seeing it all over the news. Why do Christians get to decide what is moral?? Why do you get to push your religion on others? How would legalizing gay marriage expose their lifestyle to your children? By the way, their lifestyle is going to continue whether gay marriage is legalized or not. It's been legal in Canada for quite a while now and they seem to be doing just fine. What about actual rules handed down by God? What about not working on Sundays? What about obeying your parents? What about adultery? These are in the 10 Commandments, the most important of God's rules. Yet they are all perfectly legal. What about divorce? Only God is allowed to dissolve a marriage so why don't you work hard to get divorce banned? Why do you get to pick and choose the parts of the Bible you care about?

  5. Look at the bright side. With the new Lowe's call center, that means 1000 jobs at $10 bucks an hour. IMS has to be drooling over all that disposable income. If those employees can save all their extra money after bills, in five years they can go to the race LIVE. Can you say attendance boost?

ADVERTISEMENT