Opinion

World Cup nations were confused

July 3, 2010
Bill Benner' sopinion lost all credibility for me in the end, though, because he obviously didn’t do his homework.
More

Utility user fees to be diverted

July 3, 2010
A [wrong] is being perpetrated on the citizens of Indianapolis by our city-county councilors, Mayor Greg Ballard and the board of Citizens Energy, by negotiating a “sale” of the water company to Citizens.
More

DINING: Clubhouse serves mixed messages

July 3, 2010
Lou Harry
Southside newcomer serves a memorable burger.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 100 thoughts on 100 Acres

June 26, 2010
Lou Harry
Watch video icon for 100 Acres100 Acres, a new art and nature park, opened behind the Indianapolis Museum of Art June 19. This major addition to the city’s cultural and social landscape seemed worthy of at least 100 thoughts—and two videos.
More

EDITORIAL: Circle Centre worth watching

June 26, 2010
 IBJ Staff
City government brought Circle Centre into this world. It makes sense, then, that city government is involved in positioning it for the future.
More

MAURER: Exercise your creative muscleRestricted Content

June 26, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Creativity, like muscle tone, must be exercised if one is to increase it. We need to seize opportunities to think creatively. Challenging riddles like the one above interrupt the normal routine and rev up our brains.
More

MARCUS: Fed programs get credit for improvements

June 26, 2010
Morton Marcus
The federal government pumped $6.3 billion into the Indiana economy through higher unemployment compensation and increased Social Security and Medicare payments.
More

SLAUGHTER: Do you let the telephone control you?

June 26, 2010
Robby Slaughter
The telephone has incredible value. It’s also among the most effective ways to destroy productivity.
More

HICKS: Roots of recession found in homes, stocksRestricted Content

June 26, 2010
Mike Hicks
When the Business Cycle Dating Committee of the National Bureau of Economic Research meets later this year or next, I believe they’ll say the recession hit bottom in June or July of 2009. Recessions end when the economy bottoms out.
More

SKARBECK: Even investment stars have losing periodsRestricted Content

June 26, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
Most investors have heard the cautionary statement “past performance is not indicative of future results.” This oft-repeated caveat reveals its truth time and again in the investment industry.
More

Indiana municipal bonds are faring well

June 26, 2010
The “Investing” column of June 14, “Municipal bond defaults might be next crisis,” raises some valid points, but portrays municipal bonds in such a manner that is too general.
More

HETRICK: If you've botched the job, don't botch the PR, tooRestricted Content

June 26, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
If a crisis leaves you on the receiving end of Wisconsin football fans’ favorite chant, every detail of your response matters.
More

BENNER: World Cup leaves this viewer less than engrossedRestricted Content

June 26, 2010
Bill Benner
I’m trying. I am really trying. That is why, a couple of Saturdays ago, when I could have been involved in some other leisure activity, I settled into my easy chair and, instead, watched the U.S. team take on England in its World Cup soccer opener.
More

EDITORIAL: Improvement needed, but value of statistics in education limited

June 19, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Few Hoosiers have any concept of the scope of the information tsunami washing over state education policy, but they’re beginning to find out.
More

MORRIS: Confessions of a symphony newbie

June 19, 2010
Greg Morris
As a first-year subscriber to an Indianapolis Symphony series, I’ve been transformed. I’m now a raving fan.
More

MARCUS: There is no 'rural revival' in Indiana

June 19, 2010
Morton Marcus
The now famous housing bubble has been blamed for many of our nation’s problems. In truth, it is the opposite. The massive private debt, including mortgage debt, was made possible by lax lending practices.
More

OWEN: Why I rethought riding my bicycle to work

June 19, 2010
Dean Owen
One day last spring, I put on a helmet, climbed on my bike, and rode to work with a co-worker. For a guy who had only recently gotten on a bike after more than 15 years away from two-wheelers, it was monumental.
More

ALTOM: Beware of inciting online vendetta from clients

June 19, 2010
Tim Altom
It started as a dispute over towing a car, and it’s now a cause célèbre, thanks to Facebook.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: (Jersey) Boy wonders settle in at Murat

June 19, 2010
Lou Harry
“Jersey Boys” is much more than just a tribute show. It delivers the musical goods with impeccable showmanship and style.
More

DINING: Nothing alarming at sub shop

June 19, 2010
Lou Harry
Third in our month-long series of "elemental" restaurant reviews.
More

STYLE: Develop Indy's Susan Branco shifts focus to fashion

June 19, 2010
Gabrielle Poshadlo
With this year's Indianapolis 500 behind us, she's turning to quantifying the city's fashion industry
More

BENNER: Conference commissioners' math skills need workRestricted Content

June 19, 2010
Bill Benner
As of this writing, the Big Ten has 12 teams, the Big 12 has 10 teams and the Pac-10 has 11 teams.
More

HICKS: Four recommendations for your reading listRestricted Content

June 19, 2010
Mike Hicks
Though I am no slave to fashion, summertime is a long occasion for the reading of good books.
More

Health care column got it wrong

June 19, 2010
As a practicing physician, I was disappointed by [Morton Marcus’] support of the recently passed health care legislation [in his May 31 column].
More

Environmentalists contributed to spill

June 19, 2010
[In response to Bruce Hetrick’s June 14 column] Those that are calling for more government involvement in response to the BP oil spill are not those who typically call for “less government.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. why oh why does this state continue to elect these people....do you wonder how much was graft out of the 3.8 billion?

  2. i too think this is a great idea. I think the vision and need is there as well. But also agree with Wendy that there may be better location in our city to fulfill this vision and help grow the sports of hockey and figure skating in Indy. Also to help further develop other parts of the city that seem often forgotten. Any of the other 6 townships out side of the three northernmost could benefit greatly from a facility and a vision like this. For a vision that sounds philanthropic, the location is appears more about the money. Would really like to see it elsewhere, but still wish the development the best of luck, as we can always use more ice in the city. As for the Ice growth when they return, if schedules can be coordinated with the Fuel, what could be better than to have high level hockey available to go see every weekend of the season? Good luck with the development and the return of the Ice.

  3. How many parking spaces do they have at Ironworks? Will residents have reserved spaces or will they have to troll for a space among the people that are there at Ruth Chris & Sangiovese?

  4. You do not get speeding ticket first time you speed and this is not first time Mr.Page has speed. One act should not define a man and this one act won't. He got off with a slap on the wrist. I agree with judge no person was injured by his actions. The state was robbed of money by paying too much rent for a building and that money could have been used for social services. The Page family maybe "generous" with their money but for most part all of it is dirty money that he obtained for sources that are not on the upright. Page is the kind of lawyer that gives lawyers a bad name. He paid off this judge like he has many other tine and walked away. Does he still have his license. I believe so. Hire him to get you confiscated drug money back. He will. It will cost you.

  5. I remain amazed at the level of expertise of the average Internet Television Executive. Obviously they have all the answers and know the business inside and out.

ADVERTISEMENT