Opinion

DINING: Patachou spins off pleasing pizzeria Napolese

May 8, 2010
Lou Harry
Since none of its initials stand for things one would find on a traditional pizzeria-style pizza, let’s break down the P, the F, and the G in the PFG at Napolese.
More

HETRICK: In the Gulf, we have met the enemy, and he is usRestricted Content

May 8, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Some on the left now want a total and forever ban on offshore oil drilling. Others on the right want to kill an energy and climate bill they didn't want to support, anyway.
More

JOSEPH: Beware of screening job applicants with social media

May 8, 2010
Hannah Kaufman Joseph
Tech-savvy employers are turning to social-media tools to locate and screen applicants for positions. And with increasing competition for jobs, employers are trying to both find the best applicants available and know as much as possible about them.
More

ALTOM: Are you disaster-ready, dust-induced or not?

May 8, 2010
Tim Altom
You know you should back up your data for redundancy. But you can’t back up an entire airline industry. That’s a lesson we learned recently when a volcano with the cat-crossing-the-keyboard name of “Eyjafjallajökull” exhaled tons of volcanic dust into the clear skies over Europe and brought aviation worldwide almost to a literal grinding halt.
More

HICKS: Fear, not economics, drives immigration debateRestricted Content

May 8, 2010
Mike Hicks
Mexico is in the throes of a violent lawlessness that is spilling over into the United States. Dealing with this is neither racist nor unconstitutional.
More

JA's Miller acted appropriately

May 8, 2010
As the former CEO of Junior Achievement of Central Indiana, as well as the former president of the Experiential Learning and Entrepreneurship Foundation, Jeffrey M. Miller is concerned with the potential implications of the latest article regarding JA and ELEF titled “Fate of fund a JA mystery” published in the May 3 IBJ.
More

Carmel Performing Arts Center not too big to fail

May 8, 2010
Cory Schouten’s [April 26 Focus] article regarding the supposed “momentum” for Carmel’s Performing Arts Center (PAC) lacked information, and clouded the overall picture.
More

Forget Pacers; focus on city services

May 8, 2010
Basic city services in Indianapolis are ignored, sold to others or poorly dealt with.
More

Thanks for touting arts subscriptions

May 8, 2010
I think there’s a large portion of Indianapolis that misses out on the importance of subscription packages and don’t quite understand exactly why they’re needed to bring bigger and better shows.
More

EDITORIAL: Don't abandon basic services because of tax caps

May 1, 2010
 IBJ Staff
The property tax caps that are all but sure to become part of the Indiana constitution after a voter referendum this November are definitely good politics—and might prove to be good policy. We won’t know for sure until we see what becomes of two property-tax funded entities that are starving as the caps fully phase in.
More

MAURER: Another look at the glass ceilingRestricted Content

May 1, 2010
Mickey Maurer
My longtime assistant, Marla Smith, had a sign on her desk that read, “The best man for the job is often a woman.” I have grown to appreciate and believe in that advice.
More

THIES: Get ready for state's finest hour

May 1, 2010
Adam Thies
I am a sucker for a good story. During the NCAA men’s basketball championship last month, when that ball, or as the CBS color commentator Clark Kellogg called it, the “pumpkin,” arched into the air from the hands of central Indiana’s now second-most-famous “babyface,” I thought, “This is it!”
More

MARCUS: 90 counties show income improvement

May 1, 2010
Morton Marcus
The U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis has released personal-income data for each county in the nation. The Indianapolis area did not fare well.
More

DINING: Nothing fowl at canal-side newcomer

May 1, 2010
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of new Broad Ripple restaurant reviews. This week: Flatwater.
More

Simons already support library

May 1, 2010
In response to IBJ’s April 26 editorial, “Simon could score for city library,” I thought it important for your readers to know members of the Simon family have a long history of supporting Indianapolis’ public library system and continue to be regular donors.
More

WEB REVIEW: Save the long words for Scrabble

May 1, 2010
Jim Cota
The golden rule should be to communicate clearly.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Take a seat for 2010/2011

May 1, 2010
Lou Harry
It's not too early to think about next season at the Indiana Repertory Theatre, the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, and more.
More

BENNER: Balancing academics, big business is part of NCAA jobRestricted Content

May 1, 2010
Bill Benner
On April 27, the NCAA unveiled its fifth president: Dr. Mark Emmert, currently president of the University of Washington.
More

HICKS: How competition sped up broadband adoptionRestricted Content

May 1, 2010
Mike Hicks
Our study found that simply permitting deregulation of cable TV caused a pleasing increase in broadband adoption.
More

Donations to Brizzi were appropriate

May 1, 2010
Over the course of my 41 years as a member of the Indiana Bar, I have worked to help improve the justice system in Marion County and the state.
More

Losing Pacers wouldn't help library

May 1, 2010
The truth is all it takes to keep [the Pacers] is paying the expenses of a building we would have to pay for anyway.
More

Benner column is a must-read

May 1, 2010
I wanted to let you know that I have really enjoyed reading your articles about Butler, especially the [April 19] “in another universe” piece. As a Butler alum, I still cannot believe we were in the championship and almost won it.
More

Health by Design deserves publicity

May 1, 2010
Thank you for [columnist Tom Harton’s] well-thought-out piece in [the April 26] edition on Health by Design. As Kim Irwin noted, this coalition is primarily aimed at obesity prevention.
More

Woman performed work as contractor

May 1, 2010
I read your article on Vida Aventura and Deseri Garcia in the April 12 issue with interest since Garcia once worked for my company, Team Summit. However, I feel it is important to clarify some of the information contained in the story.
More

EDITORIAL: Simon could score for city library

April 24, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Perhaps it’s time for Pacers owner Herb Simon—a billionaire like his late brother—to burnish his credentials as a philanthropist who makes the city a better place to live and work.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Of what value is selling alcoholic beverages to State Fair patrons when there are many families with children attending. Is this the message we want to give children attending and participating in the Fair, another venue with alooholic consumption onsite. Is this to promote beer and wine production in the state which are great for the breweries and wineries, but where does this end up 10-15 years from now, lots more drinkers for the alcoholic contents. If these drinks are so important, why not remove the alcohol content and the flavor and drink itself similar to soft drinks would be the novelty, not the alcoholic content and its affects on the drinker. There is no social or material benefit from drinking alcoholic beverages, mostly people want to get slightly or highly drunk.

  2. I did;nt know anyone in Indiana could count- WHY did they NOT SAY just HOW this would be enforced? Because it WON;T! NOW- with that said- BIG BROTHER is ALIVE in this Article-why take any comment if it won't appease YOU PEOPLE- that's NOT American- with EVERYTHING you indicated is NOT said-I can see WHY it say's o Comments- YOU are COMMIES- BIG BROTHER and most likely- voted for Obama!

  3. In Europe there are schools for hairdressing but you don't get a license afterwards but you are required to assist in turkey and Italy its 7 years in japan it's 10 years England 2 so these people who assist know how to do hair their not just anybody and if your an owner and you hire someone with no experience then ur an idiot I've known stylist from different countries with no license but they are professional clean and safe they have no license but they have experience a license doesn't mean anything look at all the bad hairdressers in the world that have fried peoples hair okay but they have a license doesn't make them a professional at their job I think they should get rid of it because stateboard robs stylist and owners and they fine you for the dumbest f***ing things oh ur license isn't displayed 100$ oh ur wearing open toe shoes fine, oh there's ONE HAIR IN UR BRUSH that's a fine it's like really? So I think they need to go or ease up on their regulations because their too strict

  4. Exciting times in Carmel.

  5. Twenty years ago when we moved to Indy I was a stay at home mom and knew not very many people.WIBC was my family and friends for the most part. It was informative, civil, and humerous with Dave the KING. Terri, Jeff, Stever, Big Joe, Matt, Pat and Crumie. I loved them all, and they seemed to love each other. I didn't mind Greg Garrison, but I was not a Rush fan. NOW I can't stand Chicks and all their giggly opinions. Tony Katz is to abrasive that early in the morning(or really any time). I will tune in on Saturday morning for the usual fun and priceless information from Pat and Crumie, mornings it will be 90.1

ADVERTISEMENT