Opinion

HETRICK: Learning to lead with Sister Souljah momentsRestricted Content

February 6, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Every once in a while, someone in power shows some chutzpah and surprises us.
More

BENNER: Super Bowl delegation's focus is two years outRestricted Content

February 6, 2010
Bill Benner
We can promise, at game time, a perfect environment: 70 degrees and dry.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Best-selling author's words take center stage

February 6, 2010
Lou Harry
Cincinnati’s Playhouse in the Park launches novelist Walter Mosley’s first play,"The Fall of Heaven," just in time for my cultural road trip.
More

Billboard decision was defiant

February 6, 2010
[In the Jan. 4 issue], IBJ covered the State Fair board’s decision to permit a digital billboard at the Fairgrounds on Fall Creek Parkway. One of the opening lines, “Take that, Indianapolis” in the article was apt.
More

You don't have to travel to find nature

February 6, 2010
I have learned that the exploration of natural areas can take place year-round, not just while on vacation.
More

PARENT: Why I'm rooting for the Saints in the land of Blue

February 3, 2010
Tawn Parent
The Indianapolis Colts may be the home team, but this Hoosier sits squarely in the New Orleans Saints' corner.
More

EDITORIAL: Lawmakers should save tobacco agency and ban smoking

January 30, 2010
 IBJ Staff
If the General Assembly wants to create some good news in this budget-conscious short session, it will continue our wise investment in Hoosier health, and go one better by passing a statewide smoking ban.
More

KATTERJOHN: Stupid Bowl not so stupid anymore

January 30, 2010
Chris Katterjohn
In recent years, my two brothers have been fond of referring to the Super Bowl as The Stupid Bowl. Disgusted by the crass commercialism that has overtaken professional sports, they view The Stupid Bowl as the zenith of hype.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Debate rages over the right to bear arms

January 30, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
House Bill 1065 would bar business owners from prohibiting an employee from keeping a legally owned firearm in his or her locked vehicle at work.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Race colors IRT's 'Romeo and Juliet'

January 30, 2010
Lou Harry
Shakespeare's iconic show gets a post-WWII redo.
More

BENNER: A different take - or not - on Super Bowl-bound Colts

January 30, 2010
Bill Benner
Once again, our city is blowing up over the Blue.
More

ALTOM: Does instant messaging make business sense?Restricted Content

January 30, 2010
Tim Altom
An instant messenger is one of those technologies that seems silly until you start using it.
More

HICKS: So far, federal stimulus plan isn't stimulating

January 30, 2010
Mike Hicks
It has been roughly a year since the passage of the economic stimulus, formally the more harmonious American Recovery and Reinvestment Act. This stimulus is a textbook example of what we economists call counter-cyclical fiscal policy.
More

MARCUS: A heavenly suggestion for economic recovery

January 30, 2010
Morton Marcus
The federal stimulus programs are based largely on borrowing, not on taxation.
More

WIEGAND: Who's monitoring home construction?

January 30, 2010
Kurt Wiegand
About 18 months ago, I watched as the entire exterior of an expensive condo on the Central Canal—originally built in 1996—was rebuilt. Among the issues: There was no building paper (Tyvek) under the siding, treated lumber wasn’t used on the exposed porches, and neither was there any drainage.
More

Salvation Army story deserved better

January 30, 2010
A little more research on the comparison of housing costs in Indianapolis vs. Needham, Mass., was needed [in the Jan. 25 story on Salvation Army].
More

Anyone can feel the power of mentoring

January 30, 2010
Your headline [on the Jan. 25 Viewpoint] said it all: “Find a mentor to make you better.” January was national mentoring month to raise awareness of the power of mentoring, which is often thought of as valuable for youth.
More

EDITORIAL: Legislators should stick to the basics and go home

January 23, 2010
 IBJ Staff
We like the Indiana General Assembly’s no-nonsense approach to this year’s short legislative session—at least it looks good on the surface.
More

MAURER: Here's how Katz Sapper Miller balanced its books

January 23, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Last November, Katz Sapper and Miller went back to schooll—Broad Ripple High School.
More

MARCUS: Is health care reform socialism?

January 23, 2010
Morton Marcus
The time is coming when everyone will recognize that, as every structure in a city is entitled fire department services, so, too, each individual should receive appropriate health care, whether or not he or she can pay for it.
More

GARNER: Find a mentor to make you better

January 23, 2010
Sanford Garner
Most people muddle through, often learning the hard way. But those who are successful will point to mentors who helped them find their way.
More

Bring back IBJ stock charts

January 23, 2010
Your decision to discontinue the printing of stock prices and economic activity charts, as announced in your Jan. 17 issue, was extremely disappointing to us as well as, surely, to other paid subscribers.
More

Why more taxes for education?

January 23, 2010
Re: Bruce Hetrick’s [Jan. 11 column] “Hey kids! Come and get your pound of flesh,” at first I was stunned. Then I was speechless. After that I was just plain mad.
More

Are fans ready to forgive Polian?

January 23, 2010
By the time the next IBJ hits the newsstands we’ll know whether it’s the Colts or The Team the Colts Enabled (the Jets) that will be playing in the Super Bowl.
More

Concert review was right on

January 23, 2010
Since I canâ??t summarize this exciting four-plus-hour [Hoosier Dylan] concert nearly as well as [the Jan. 18 Louâ??s Views column], I will merely agree with you verbatim on your precise review—including your disappointment with Indianaâ??s poet laureate.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I am a Lyft driver who is a licensed CDL professional driver. ALL Lyft drivers take pride in providing quality service to the Indianapolis and surrounding areas, and we take the safety of our passengers and the public seriously.(passengers are required to put seat belts on when they get in our cars) We do go through background checks, driving records are checked as are the personal cars we drive, (these are OUR private cars we use) Unlike taxi cabs and their drivers Lyft (and yes Uber) provide passengers with a clean car inside and out, a friendly and courteous driver, and who is dressed appropriately and is groomed appropriately. I go so far as to offer mints, candy and/or small bottle of water to the my customers. It's a mutual respect between driver and passenger. With Best Regards

  2. to be the big fish in the little pond of IRL midwest racin' when yer up against Racin' Gardner

  3. In the first sentance "As a resident of one of these new Carmel Apartments the issue the local governments need to discuss are build quality & price." need a way to edit

  4. As a resident of one of these new Carmel Apartments the issue the local governments need to discuss is build quality & price. First none of these places is worth $1100 for a one bedroom. Downtown Carmel or Keystone at the Crossing in Indy. It doesn't matter. All require you to get in your car to get just about anywhere you need to go. I'm in one of the Carmel apartments now where after just 2.5 short years one of the kitchen cabinet doors is crooked and lawn and property maintenance seems to be lacking my old Indianapolis apartment which cost $300 less. This is one of the new star apartments. As they keep building throughout the area "deals" will start popping up creating shoppers. If your property is falling apart after year 3 what will it look like after year 5 or 10??? Why would one stay here if they could move to a new Broad Ripple in 2 to 3 years or another part of the Far Northside?? The complexes aren't going to let the "poor" move in without local permission so that's not that problem, but it the occupancy rate drops suddenly because the "Young" people moved back to Indy then look out.

  5. Why are you so concerned about Ace hardware? I don't understand why anyone goes there! Every time ive gone in the past, they don't have what I need and I end up going to the big box stores. I understand the service aspect and that they try to be helpful but if they are going to survive I think they might need to carry more specialty parts.

ADVERTISEMENT