Opinion

SLAUGHTER: Does your work flow bring satisfaction?

February 19, 2010
Robby Slaughter
The satisfaction derived from work is more than just momentary bliss. Satisfaction is an essential component of productivity.
More

Tobacco programs will be protected

February 19, 2010
With respect to your editorial in the Feb. 1 issue supporting the Tobacco Prevention and Cessation agency, your intent is pure and laudable, but I fear you miss the point.
More

EDITORIAL: New transit study focuses on return as well as cost

February 13, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Central Indiana is much better at churning out transportation studies than implementing a real transit system, but there’s reason to take seriously the report released Feb. 10 by the Central Indiana Transit Task Force.
More

KATTERJOHN: Local businesses kick in for HaitiRestricted Content

February 13, 2010
Chris Katterjohn
Hoosier businesses have stepped up for the citizens of Haiti, the island nation that was literally shaken to pieces by a massive earthquake Jan. 12.
More

STYLE: Interior designer Nikki Sutton makes a name for herself

February 13, 2010
Gabrielle Poshadlo
Nikki Sutton knows she’s a talented interior designer. Now, she’s making herself a brand.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Lincoln shows take over State Museum galleries

February 13, 2010
Lou Harry

I took my first look through the then-yet-to-be-opened pair of Abraham Lincoln exhibitions at the Indiana State Museum before the galleries were available to the general public.

More

FEIGENBAUM: Remainder of legislative session will be all about jobsRestricted Content

February 13, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
House Democrats now have their opportunity to tinker with legislation sent to them by the Senate, and they will look for every opportunity to use these miscellaneous bills to preserve and create jobs. Similarly, Senate Republicans will analyze each piece of legislation that crossed the Statehouse Rotunda from the House to determine whether it is a “job-killer.”
More

DINING: A Taste sensation in 'gourmet ghetto'

February 13, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Third in our month-long series of reviews of College Avenue eateries. This week: Taste Cafe and Marketplace.
More

BENNER: A bit of therapy for those with Super Bowl bluesRestricted Content

February 13, 2010
Bill Benner
Therapy. That's what I'm here for.
More

MARCUS: Radical government budgeting proposed

February 13, 2010
Morton Marcus
The essential issue is to get out of the cycle where governments plan to spend money they don’t know they will receive.
More

Marcus column went too far

February 13, 2010
Kudos to Morton Marcus (with tongue in cheek) for pointing out [in his Jan. 25 column] that we should all pay for health care just as we all pay for the fire department.
More

'Avatar' unimpressive

February 13, 2010
I enjoyed [Mickey Maurer’s Feb. 8 column] on “Avatar”! It was a refreshing counter to the media (and social) phenomenon swirling around this (in my opinion) banal flick.
More

ALTOM: How the Amish make technology work for themRestricted Content

February 13, 2010
Tim Altom
BusinessWeek (www.businessweek.com) has a recent story about a growing $1.8 million enterprise that’s doing just fine without the Internet, Web site, texting, customer-resource-management software, a fax machine or a single computer. In fact, the company doesn’t even have electricity.
More

HICKS: A growing love connection to new mediaRestricted Content

February 13, 2010
Mike Hicks
Changes in media, especially new media, will alter the life of my kindergartner. I am no futurist, but it seems to me that three big trends are clearly emerging.
More

HENDERSON: Indianapolis getting squeezed by suburbs

February 13, 2010
Tom Henderson
Indianapolis’ successful suburbs are rapidly surrounding the city. More important, tax and cultural shifts are starting to drain Marion County.
More

EDITORIAL: Let's call the Super Bowl the Super Bowl

February 6, 2010
 IBJ Staff
The National Football League has trademarked “Super Bowl”—along with “Super Sunday” and “NFL”—and is notorious for the lengths it will go to in order to protect its brands.
More

MAURER: 'Avatar' is a great movie I've seen beforeRestricted Content

February 6, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Did you ever see one of my favorite old cowboy movies, “Broken Arrow”? If you missed it the first time, it has been reissued under a new title—“Avatar.”
More

FEIGENBAUM: Legislature's second half will have its share of dramaRestricted Content

February 6, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
Perhaps it was serendipity that the midpoint of the 2009 legislative session fell just ahead of the Indianapolis Colts’ Super Bowl appearance.
More

HICKS: Economic uncertainty is crushing job growthRestricted Content

February 6, 2010
Mike Hicks
Businesses take risks. Risk tolerance is the hallmark of a successful businessman and entrepreneur. But those same businesses dread uncertainty.
More

MARCUS: Governor's ship of a state losing sailors?

February 6, 2010
Morton Marcus
A State of the State address is supposed to make us feel better about who we are, where we are and where we are going.
More

HOLIFIELD: Build consensus before building facilities

February 6, 2010
Jerry R. Holifield
Only a handful of public building projects have earned permission from voters, leading local officials to delay or consider abandoning much-needed projects.
More

DINING: Exploring a new Broad Ripple "Island"

February 6, 2010
Lou Harry
Second in our month-long series of reviews of College Avenue eateries.
More

SKARBECK: Biglari's ambitious, but he's no BuffettRestricted Content

February 6, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
While Sardar Biglari's effort to duplicate Warren Buffett is clear, some of the Steak n Shake chief's moves have been superficial.
More

HETRICK: Learning to lead with Sister Souljah momentsRestricted Content

February 6, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Every once in a while, someone in power shows some chutzpah and surprises us.
More

BENNER: Super Bowl delegation's focus is two years outRestricted Content

February 6, 2010
Bill Benner
We can promise, at game time, a perfect environment: 70 degrees and dry.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Really, taking someone managing the regulation of Alcohol and making himthe President of an IVY Tech regional campus. Does he have an education background?

  2. Jan, great rant. Now how about you review the report and offer rebuttal of the memo. This might be more conducive to civil discourse than a wild rant with no supporting facts. Perhaps some links to support your assertions would be helpful

  3. I've lived in Indianapolis my whole and been to the track 3 times. Once for a Brickyard, once last year on a practice day for Indy 500, and once when I was a high school student to pick up trash for community service. In the past 11 years, I would say while the IMS is a great venue, there are some upgrades that would show that it's changing with the times, just like the city is. First, take out the bleachers and put in individual seats. Kentucky Motor Speedway has individual seats and they look cool. Fix up the restrooms. Add wi-fi. Like others have suggested, look at bringing in concerts leading up to events. Don't just stick with the country music genre. Pop music would work well too I believe. This will attract more young celebrities to the Indy 500 like the kind that go to the Kentucky Derby. Work with Indy Go to increase the frequency of the bus route to the track during high end events. That way people have other options than worrying about where to park and paying for parking. Then after all of this, look at getting night lights. I think the aforementioned strategies are more necessary than night racing at this point in time.

  4. Talking about congestion ANYWHERE in Indianapolis is absolutely laughable. Sure you may have to wait in 5 minutes of traffic to travel down BR avenue during *peak* times. But that is absolutely nothing compared to actual big cities. Indy is way too suburban to have actual congestion problems. So please, never bring up "congestion" as an excuse to avoid development in Indianapolis. If anything, we could use a little more.

  5. Oh wait. Never mind.

ADVERTISEMENT