Opinion

Hotel water plan is wasteful

October 3, 2009
I would like to take exception to the topic and the quote in [Scott] Olson’s article in the Sept. 21 IBJ regarding the de-watering system planned for the new Marriott Hotel.
More

Rights don't come from government

October 3, 2009
Bruce Hetrick is wrong in asserting that “We pray and protest under the protection of government” and that “We … freely publish columns … because of government.” His assertions reveal the progressive mind-set and belief that we receive our rights from government, and thus man
More

Government does deserve some credit

October 3, 2009
Kudos to Bruce Hetrick’s comments in the [Sept. 28] edition. It shows rational thinking instead of fear mongering.
More

Maurer column hit the mark

October 3, 2009
[Mickey Maurer’s Sept. 21] column was right on! Totally to the point and about time someone stated the obvious. When will this country begin once again to make people pay for their crime(s)?
More

Kudos for 'off-the-wall' Maurer column

October 3, 2009
I really enjoyed your column “Off-the-wall advice for unemployed.”
More

More offbeat advice for job-seekers

October 3, 2009
Mickey Maurer’s article on job openings had some excellent suggestions, but let me add the following:
More

Are blue laws wrong or are we immoral?

October 3, 2009
When I was a kid growing up in Kentucky, no business was conducted on Sunday at all. On a rare occasion my dad would load up the car and we would cross the river and shop in Indiana.
More

Simon embodied customer loyalty

October 3, 2009
I sat in Beth-El Zedeck Temple for the funeral services of Melvin Simon. The various speakers spoke of Mel’s desire to create a real estate empire and his desire to give back to the community.
More

EDITORIAL: Program gives people a financial leg up

October 3, 2009
 IBJ Staff
Nearly 80,000 people in the city are “unbanked” and therefore lack this basic building block to financial health. A new program called Bank on Indy aims to change that.
More

MAURER: Teach your children to reject hateRestricted Content

October 3, 2009
Mickey Maurer
God hates fags. That’s the declaration we heard Sept. 24 from the Westboro Baptist Church road show that appeared at North Central High School and other Indianapolis venues throughout the day.
More

SKARBECK: Trading in failed firms really isn't 'investing'

October 3, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
Who is “investing” in these stocks and why? It is safe to say they are not investors who have done the exhaustive work of valuing the assets and liabilities, who then reached a conclusion that they were getting good value for their money.
More

HICKS: What a third-grader gets about economic policy

October 3, 2009
Mike Hicks
Business and people now, and in the future, will choose to locate in places that have the right mix of taxes and public services.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Of 'Glee' they sing

October 3, 2009
Lou Harry
Fox's musical high school comedy is generating buzz in the A&E world.
More

DINING: 'Bucket' pales next to others at busy intersection

October 3, 2009
Lou Harry
This month, we’ll hit a quartet of recent restaurant arrivals near the already competitive culinary intersection of 86th Street and Ditch Road. First up: Rusty Bucket Corner Tavern.
More

COTA: For cool toys to covet, Playgrounder's the thing

October 3, 2009
Jim Cota
Just keep repeating to yourself: Stuff won't make me happy...stuff won't make me happy...
More

BASILE: PBS film could return national parks to national discourse

September 26, 2009
Frank Basile
One of the best things our government ever did was to set aside land for national parks and to keep each in pristine condition while making them accessible for people to visit. Each is different and has its own unique setting and breathtaking beauty.
More

DINING: In Whitestown, a culinary wonder

September 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Fourth in IBJ's month-long series of reviews of reborn cafes. This week: L.A. Cafe.
More

ALTOM: Take the time to set up smartphone securityRestricted Content

September 26, 2009
Tim Altom
It’s remarkable how many people don’t bother setting security features on their expensive smartphones. Because they keep the phone somewhere close to them most of the time, they believe it’s secure, but that’s not true.
More

MARCUS: Let's help keep legislators in check

September 26, 2009
Morton Marcus
All last week, I felt good that Todd Rokita, Indiana’s secretary of state, is pushing for less partisan redistricting of political offices after the 2010 census.
More

FAENZI: Can Kindle and books co-exist?

September 26, 2009
Carol Faenzi
While on a long flight recently, I noticed that the woman sitting next to me was using a “Kindle,” the e-book device that allows one to download books and click through pages. I mourn the fading away of the tangible, the sensual—books, newspapers, letters.
More

Hartman story hit close to home

September 26, 2009
I worked with Mike Hartman at Lauth briefly. Your [Sept. 14] story about him is heart-wrenching and hits very close to home.
More

Novel partnership promotes peace

September 26, 2009
Through partnership with Indy Parks, Peace Learning Center is making a difference in the lives of central Indiana youth and families while enhancing Indy Parks’ mission.
More

Survey showed need for mass transit

September 26, 2009
Last summer, we said central Indiana was experiencing the perfect storm for mass transit. But this summer, the story was different.
More

Nucor story was fair and balanced

September 26, 2009
We understand that it’s never easy to report on a dispute between two local companies and we appreciate the balanced way in which you reported the [Sept. 14] Nucor story.
More

Health care reform: Prepare for change

September 26, 2009
With the uncertainty surrounding health care reform, only one thing seems definite: Some level of change is coming. In that light, employers have two options: Fret over the impact these changes might have on their businesses, or act now, meeting the needs of today while forging a plan for addressing a changed landscape.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Thank you to the scientists who care enough to find a cure. We are so lucky that their intelligence has brought them to these understandings because it is through these understandings that we have new hope. Certainly the medicine will be expensive, these drugs usually are, especially the ones that are not mass produced. If I know anything from the walks that my town has put on for FA it is this: people care and people want to help. Donations and financial support can and will come to those who need it. All we need is a cure, the money will come. I mean, look at what these scientists have done thanks to the generosity of donors. 30 million dollars brings us here where we can talk about a drug's existence! There is so much to be frustrated about in this world, but this scientific break is not one of them. I am so happy for this new found hope. Thank you so much to the scientists who have been slaving away to help my friends with FA. We wish you speedy success in the time to come!

  2. I love tiny neighborhood bars-- when I travel city to city for work, it's my preference to find them. However, too many still having smoking inside. So I'm limited to bars in the cities that have smoking bans. I travel to Kokomo often, and I can promise, I'll be one of those people who visit the ma and pa bars once they're smoke free!

  3. I believe the issue with keystone & 96th was due to running out of funds though there were other factors. I just hope that a similar situation does not befall ST RD 37 where only half of the overhaul gets built.

  4. It's so great to see a country founded on freedom uphold the freedom for all people to work and patronize a public venue without risking their health! People do not go to bars to smoke, they can take it outside.

  5. So, Hurko, mass transit has not proven itself in Indy so we should build incredibly expensive train lines? How would that fix the lack of demand? And as far as those double decker buses to bus people in from suburbs, we can't fill up a regular sized buses now and have had to cancel lines and greatly subsidize others. No need for double decker buses there.

ADVERTISEMENT