Opinion

Consumers too connected to TV, telephone noiseRestricted Content

May 25, 2009
Carol Faenzi
Why are we so addicted to being "connected?" The cell phone, the BlackBerry, the television, all have "power off" buttons, but maybe that's itâ??when we turn the power off, does the sense of being disconnected makes us feel less powerful?
More

Journalism is the value propositionRestricted Content

May 25, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
The newspaper business isn't dying; it's morphing.
More

Tourism should not be our focusRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
If a city really wants to attract people to its city (to live and visit), it has to become a better city, but to become a better city it has to know what it is and what it wants to be and what it can be.
More

General Assembly heeds public mayhem, not public policyRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
Morton Marcus
Which group should make the spending decisions? Consumers or elected officials?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Rickey's sculptures, Phoenix's 'Zoomerville' advance Indy's art reputation

May 18, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, art in the wind and an original musical.
More

State tourism advertising poses tough questionRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
Mike Hicks
If Indiana is to be marketed as a region, government will be the one to do it.
More

Prepare for Indiana's low-carbon economyRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
Jesse Kharbanda
No doubt the transition to a low-carbon economy will bring great challenges for Hoosier businesses, given how carbon-intensive our society is. However, if we take proactive steps, Indiana can emerge as a standout success story.
More

Visible progress in the city hides other troublesRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
Indianapolis still looks like a city with momentum, despite the dismal economy. But appearances can be deceiving.
More

Top investment minds weigh in on erratic marketRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
Ken SkarbeckMore

Stop funding CIBRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
Well-intentioned or not, competent or not, the so-called "leaders" [sports columnist Bill Benner] referenced in your [May 4] column failed miserably in representing the best interests of taxpayers and instead presided over an unconscionable transfer of wealth from "We the people" to a small number of professional sports owners and players.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Rate expectations ... reviewing without stars

May 11, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, two community theater productions reinforce my decision not to give "star" ratings.
More

EPA policies cannot force economic choicesRestricted Content

May 11, 2009
Mike Hicks
We are at a critical moment in environmental policy. We suffer a dearth of frankness on the matter that imperils the quality of our decision-making.
More

Legislators, governor disagree about special sessionRestricted Content

May 11, 2009
Ed Feigenbaum
Assigning responsibility for what stuck us with a special session is a political post-session must, but playing the blame game usually isn't a productive exercise.
More

Volunteers want meaningful workRestricted Content

May 11, 2009
There are many factors involved in the decision to volunteer in the community—including time commitment, the opportunities for building social networks, the skill set needed for the volunteer position, and of course the mission of the organization.
More

Cities shouldn't subsidize leisureRestricted Content

May 11, 2009
To hold Carmel up as a healthy community is to turn a blind eye to the mountain of debt run up by that city's mayor. Healthy communities provide the fundamental necessities in a balanced way that does not put undue burden on those who live in that "time and space."
More

Author's work may go unfinishedRestricted Content

May 11, 2009
Morton Marcus
There are four main points I want to cover directly and simply: oil prices, the obsession with homeownership, the usual desire for more, and the need to understand economic history.
More

Tough times require determined leaderRestricted Content

May 11, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
Someone once told me it's easy to run an organization when times are good. It's when times are tough that things get difficult. Well, we're definitely there.
More

Here is a sustainable plan for the CIBRestricted Content

May 11, 2009
Brian Williams
A vibrant Indianapolis powers a dynamic Indiana and the governor, the mayor and the members of the General Assembly should all recognize that.
More

Community leaders grateful to SimonsRestricted Content

May 4, 2009
Most of us were taught to give thanks to those who do well and make our lives better. Some of us would like to give our hearty thanks to Mel and Herb Simon and their families for all they've done in our community and statewide.
More

DINING: Granite City is a chain champion

May 2, 2009
Lou Harry
People will always make the case that Indianapolis doesn't need any more chain or franchised restaurants. I understand the big-picture argument. I understand the desire for a greater regional culinary identity and the wish for a more adventurous restaurant clientele. To be honest, though, a good meal can temporarily dismantle my regional pride.
More

Redefining community in virtual and political realityRestricted Content

April 27, 2009
Bruce Hetrick
Last week, I made a presentation about social media to several hundred people at a Carmel Chamber of Commerce luncheon. We talked about Facebook and Twitter, YouTube and Flickr, LinkedIn, blogging and more. I didn't answer the "how-to" question. I answered the "whether-to" question. With some important cautions, my answer was "yes."
More

'Buy local' offers no protection for bad businessesRestricted Content

April 27, 2009
Mike Hicks
These days, the "buy local" crowd seems to have a stronger voice. I am gleeful about this for a variety of reasons, but it is helpful to view some of their claims with a bit of skepticism. At least that is what economists should do.
More

Lawmakers think 'gloomy' in spite of rosy forecastRestricted Content

April 27, 2009
Ed Feigenbaum
Sometimes the news is just so good you can't believe it, and that is just what happened with the state revenue forecast this month.
More

Central Indiana could lead economic recoveryRestricted Content

April 27, 2009
Drew Klacik
Every day, we get more bad economic news. While I'm not smart enough to know when the global economy will rebound or how strong the rebound will be, I do believe central Indiana and the Midwest are well-positioned to lead the recovery.
More

Is poor management Indiana's problem?Restricted Content

April 27, 2009
Morton Marcus
Hoosiers identify many factors contributing to our state's long-term economic difficulties. It is fashionable to blame our workers. It is easy to decry a lack of natural amenities: no mountains, no coral reefs. Our public schools are inferior and perhaps our higher education is overrated. Our taxes are too high but we have substandard government services. We ain't got no culture. Rarely do we hear anyone say that our problem is management.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Of what value is selling alcoholic beverages to State Fair patrons when there are many families with children attending. Is this the message we want to give children attending and participating in the Fair, another venue with alooholic consumption onsite. Is this to promote beer and wine production in the state which are great for the breweries and wineries, but where does this end up 10-15 years from now, lots more drinkers for the alcoholic contents. If these drinks are so important, why not remove the alcohol content and the flavor and drink itself similar to soft drinks would be the novelty, not the alcoholic content and its affects on the drinker. There is no social or material benefit from drinking alcoholic beverages, mostly people want to get slightly or highly drunk.

  2. I did;nt know anyone in Indiana could count- WHY did they NOT SAY just HOW this would be enforced? Because it WON;T! NOW- with that said- BIG BROTHER is ALIVE in this Article-why take any comment if it won't appease YOU PEOPLE- that's NOT American- with EVERYTHING you indicated is NOT said-I can see WHY it say's o Comments- YOU are COMMIES- BIG BROTHER and most likely- voted for Obama!

  3. In Europe there are schools for hairdressing but you don't get a license afterwards but you are required to assist in turkey and Italy its 7 years in japan it's 10 years England 2 so these people who assist know how to do hair their not just anybody and if your an owner and you hire someone with no experience then ur an idiot I've known stylist from different countries with no license but they are professional clean and safe they have no license but they have experience a license doesn't mean anything look at all the bad hairdressers in the world that have fried peoples hair okay but they have a license doesn't make them a professional at their job I think they should get rid of it because stateboard robs stylist and owners and they fine you for the dumbest f***ing things oh ur license isn't displayed 100$ oh ur wearing open toe shoes fine, oh there's ONE HAIR IN UR BRUSH that's a fine it's like really? So I think they need to go or ease up on their regulations because their too strict

  4. Exciting times in Carmel.

  5. Twenty years ago when we moved to Indy I was a stay at home mom and knew not very many people.WIBC was my family and friends for the most part. It was informative, civil, and humerous with Dave the KING. Terri, Jeff, Stever, Big Joe, Matt, Pat and Crumie. I loved them all, and they seemed to love each other. I didn't mind Greg Garrison, but I was not a Rush fan. NOW I can't stand Chicks and all their giggly opinions. Tony Katz is to abrasive that early in the morning(or really any time). I will tune in on Saturday morning for the usual fun and priceless information from Pat and Crumie, mornings it will be 90.1

ADVERTISEMENT