Opinion

RUSTHOVEN: The union vote proved toothlessRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Peter J. Rusthoven / Special to IBJ
Two races on my 2014 watch list were challenges to GOP state representatives Bob Behning of Indianapolis and Jerry Torr of Carmel. The issues differed, but each race showed continued erosion of union political power.
More

KEY: End the end-runs around public businessRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Steve Key / Special to IBJ
Technology that makes a vast amount of public records available with a few keystrokes can also make monitoring government actions more difficult for Hoosiers.
More

Hicks: Many women sacrifice careers for their childrenRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Mike Hicks
Mother’s Day is a splendid opportunity to think about the evolving economic effects of women as parents, how this influences their economic lives, and how women value motherhood in economic terms.
More

Kim: Graduating from college entitles you to nothingRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Mickey Kim
Despite your newly obtained degree, you don’t know anything. You have no skills. If you are really lucky, you will soon land your first job. You are not entitled to that job. If you get it, you should be grateful for your good fortune and make the most of it.
More

Senators to sausage—Mickey's Camp has it allRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Mickey Maurer
Spaces fill up fast in the annual men's and women's camps that send money to favorite charities.
More

LOPRESTI: Indiana—that northern school that plays good baseball

May 10, 2014
IU beats the odds by creating a baseball power in Bloomington.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Children’s Museum brings 2,200-year-old statues to Indy

May 10, 2014
Lou Harry
Terra Cotta Warriors make rare U.S. appearance. Chinese treasures were commissioned by the first emperor of China.
More

DINING: Newcomer Chuy’s stands out in crowded Tex-Mex field

May 10, 2014
Lou Harry
It's difficult to imagine a chain Tex-Mex restaurant generating much excitement. But crowds are flocking to the Hamilton Town Center newcomer.
More

Citizens deal is workingRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Recently, Citizens Energy Group received regulatory approval to raise rates [April 23 IBJ] to continue updating the community’s aging water and wastewater systems.
More

EDITORIAL: Fadness agenda should advanceRestricted Content

May 8, 2014
Fishers voters made their second forward-thinking choice in as many years on May 6 when they picked Town Manager Scott Fadness in the primary election to run as the Republican nominee for mayor.
More

EDITORIAL: Justice center move can benefit downtownRestricted Content

May 3, 2014
Most of the conversation surrounding the city’s proposed criminal justice center has focused on what the heart of downtown stands to lose when the courts and jails move out Rarely discussed is what downtown can gain from the new center, which is now officially slated for about a third of the 110-acre GM Stamping Plant site just west of White River.
More

MORRIS: Your vote counts this primary seasonRestricted Content

May 3, 2014
Not sure about races and who's running? Here's where you can find what you need to know.
More

KENNEDY: The tax-cutters are too clever by halfRestricted Content

May 3, 2014
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Tax cuts have consequences as predictable as the sunrise. The politicians who cut taxes boast about their concern for taxpayers and their superior efficiency; they assure us that our low taxes will lure new business, then they run for higher office or otherwise head for greener pastures where the accuracy of those claims is unlikely to be tested. The politicians who have been left to operate with less money engage in equally predictable behaviors.
More

Hicks: State, local government unbalanced in IndianaRestricted Content

May 3, 2014
Mike Hicks
Having lived and worked in three states over the past decade, I have watched how state policy influences local government.
More

Skarbeck: Companies using mergers to sidestep taxes in U.S.Restricted Content

May 3, 2014
Ken Skarbeck
Merger activity has exploded this year, and a key factor behind many of the deals is the ability to use cash stockpiles held overseas.
More

RACE: Storefronts, sidewalks can make or break a retail nodeRestricted Content

May 3, 2014
Bruce Race / Special to IBJ
A street's appeal and economic potential depends on good design principles.
More

LOPRESTI: NBA’s verdict satisfies, but Sterling case begs tough question

May 3, 2014
Sad case of Los Angeles Clippers owner leaves us wondering about the future of privacy.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: No mystery why IRT closes season with whodunit

May 3, 2014
Lou Harry
Sure-footed and with no real desire to explore new territory, Ken Ludwig's 'The Game's Afoot,' grafts a fictional mystery onto a real-life actor.
More

DINING: Delicia’s ‘little mule’ of a neighbor offers big flavors

May 3, 2014
Lou Harry
La Mulita has a roadside cantina vibe, a street-food menu, and an emphasis on lunch.
More

‘Illinoyed’ for good reasonRestricted Content

May 3, 2014
In his [April 28 Viewpoint], Shaw Friedman apparently tried his hand at fiction writing. I prefer non-fiction, and I’m confident my fellow Hoosiers will join me in celebrating the factual victories Indiana has earned that other states are noticing—especially Illinois.
More

RUSTHOVEN: High court opted for common senseRestricted Content

April 26, 2014
Peter J. Rusthoven / Special to IBJ
In Plessy vs. Ferguson, decided in 1896, the U.S. Supreme Court held it constitutional for states to discriminate on the basis of race, pronouncing the now-discredited notion that “separate but equal” comported with the Fourteenth Amendment’s guarantee of “equal protection of the laws.”
More

FRIEDMAN: Tax cuts undermine prosperityRestricted Content

April 26, 2014
Shaw Friedman / Special to IBJ
State Sen. Brandt Hershman, key sponsor of the reduction in state corporate and bank taxes, is still insisting that more business tax cuts are the way to prosperity.
More

MAURER: Good science—and some creativity—keep Lilly on its gameRestricted Content

April 26, 2014
Mickey Maurer
Things look bright for the city's pharma giant even if it doesn't borrow marketing slogans.
More

LOPRESTI: Pacers fans get two teams for price of one: Good and BadRestricted Content

April 26, 2014
The Good Pacers will be facing Miami in a couple of weeks ... the Bad Pacers will be playing golf.
More

DINING: Will Nameless Pizza make name for itself?

April 26, 2014
Lou Harry
Fountain Square pizza joint opts for secret location and simple pricing. We gathered some nameless reviewers for a taste.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I am a Lyft driver who is a licensed CDL professional driver. ALL Lyft drivers take pride in providing quality service to the Indianapolis and surrounding areas, and we take the safety of our passengers and the public seriously.(passengers are required to put seat belts on when they get in our cars) We do go through background checks, driving records are checked as are the personal cars we drive, (these are OUR private cars we use) Unlike taxi cabs and their drivers Lyft (and yes Uber) provide passengers with a clean car inside and out, a friendly and courteous driver, and who is dressed appropriately and is groomed appropriately. I go so far as to offer mints, candy and/or small bottle of water to the my customers. It's a mutual respect between driver and passenger. With Best Regards

  2. to be the big fish in the little pond of IRL midwest racin' when yer up against Racin' Gardner

  3. In the first sentance "As a resident of one of these new Carmel Apartments the issue the local governments need to discuss are build quality & price." need a way to edit

  4. As a resident of one of these new Carmel Apartments the issue the local governments need to discuss is build quality & price. First none of these places is worth $1100 for a one bedroom. Downtown Carmel or Keystone at the Crossing in Indy. It doesn't matter. All require you to get in your car to get just about anywhere you need to go. I'm in one of the Carmel apartments now where after just 2.5 short years one of the kitchen cabinet doors is crooked and lawn and property maintenance seems to be lacking my old Indianapolis apartment which cost $300 less. This is one of the new star apartments. As they keep building throughout the area "deals" will start popping up creating shoppers. If your property is falling apart after year 3 what will it look like after year 5 or 10??? Why would one stay here if they could move to a new Broad Ripple in 2 to 3 years or another part of the Far Northside?? The complexes aren't going to let the "poor" move in without local permission so that's not that problem, but it the occupancy rate drops suddenly because the "Young" people moved back to Indy then look out.

  5. Why are you so concerned about Ace hardware? I don't understand why anyone goes there! Every time ive gone in the past, they don't have what I need and I end up going to the big box stores. I understand the service aspect and that they try to be helpful but if they are going to survive I think they might need to carry more specialty parts.

ADVERTISEMENT