Opinion

GROSS: Toward a more welcoming IndianaRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Annette Gross / Special to IBJ
As co-president of Indianapolis Parents, Families, Friends & Allies of Lesbians and Gays, I hear stories of heartbreak as mom after mom tell me about their children leaving because they do not feel welcome in Indiana. We as moms want to be together as a family during important times. However, because our children are moving out at such a feverish pace we miss out on so much.
More

MORRIS: Financial success is a bad thing?

May 17, 2014
Greg Morris
Income inequality isn't a non-issue, but the rhetoric surrounding it discourages meaningful discourse.
More

LOPRESTI: Saddest day in May

May 17, 2014
The fiery crash that killed Dave MacDonald and Eddie Sachs left its mark on Foyt, Rutherford and racing.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Glick glass exhibition at IMA shimmers with variety

May 17, 2014
Lou Harry
When Dale Chihuly’s work is among the least interesting pieces on display, you know you’ve got a strong glass art show. Such is the case with Indianapolis Museum of Art’s “Masters of Contemporary Glass: Highlights from the Marilyn and Eugene Glick Collection.”
More

Hicks: Hoosiers voting to pay for better public servicesRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Mike Hicks
I have long argued that Hoosier taxpayers are willing to spend more in places where they can see results. The results of the recent election suggest I am right about that.
More

Skarbeck: Understand accounting--or pay the consequencesRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Ken Skarbeck
Throughout history, good accounting practices have promoted trust in government and capitalist systems, while inadequate accounting has led to financial chaos and even revolutions.
More

KETZENBERGER: We've got to stop running elections like thisRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
It always was a little awkward entering a polling place during the primary and declaring to the poll judges which ballot I wanted. As a news reporter, I didn’t like having to declare my affinity for one party or the other.
More

Loves Uber, LyftRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
I needed to get downtown the other day. My Uber driver was friendly, had classical music going, and it turned out I was going to one of his favorite places!
More

BOEHM: Another credible voice for helping voters chooseRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Ted Boehm / Special to IBJ
Justice John Paul Stevens retired in 2011 after 35 years of distinguished service on the U.S. Supreme Court. He has now published a book advocating adoption of six amendments to the Constitution.
More

MASSON: Repealing the 17th Amendment would be step backwardRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Doug Masson / Special to IBJ
In 1854, the Indiana Democratic Party was led by Jesse Bright, a man described as “hateful and extraordinarily ambitious.” He rose to power as a bully and apparently remained one. His pugnaciousness was no small part of the events that led to a two-year period in which Indiana had only one U.S. senator.
More

Indiana on right trackRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Shaw Friedman writes in his [April 29 Viewpoint] that “tax cuts undermine prosperity” and laments the move to cut business taxes over the past decade of Republican leadership. I suspect that the governmental entities’ prosperity will be undermined but maybe not the entire state’s.
More

SPALDING: Glad Indiana doesn't ban lies in the political arenaRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Ronnetta Spalding / Special to IBJ
Like you, I am eager to pull up a seat to watch candidates throw caution aside in their political ads. It’s like dissecting a mystery where you piece together parts of what the candidate says, what their opponents say about them, and what you end up believing.
More

SOUDER: Pence presidential bid more plausible than most thinkRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Mark Souder / Special to IBJ
In the interest of disclosure, I encouraged Mike Pence to run for president in early 2010, for the 2012 nomination. House Majority Leader Dick Armey frequently told us that every senator woke up in the morning, looked in the mirror, and saw a potential president. The curse has spread to governors as well as far beyond. Give a good speech and you are suddenly the great new hope.
More

LANOSGA: Citizens need better access to government Big DataRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Gerry Lanosga / Special to IBJ
Gov. Mike Pence recently signed an executive order creating a data-sharing project called the Governor’s Management and Performance Hub. The idea is to have a centralized clearinghouse for public data that top policymakers can use to systematically analyze problems—child fatalities and infant mortality, for instance—and the state’s handling of them.
More

SHELLA: Pence still keeping options wide open for 2016Restricted Content

May 17, 2014
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
Take a second, please, to think back to the evening of May 2. It was just a couple of weeks ago, a Saturday, and, just possibly, a day worth remembering.
More

TAFT: Another chance to enlist neighborhoods to fight crimeRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Bill Taft / Special to IBJ
Indianapolis is grappling with one of its most violent years, leading citizens to ask hard questions about why such crime is growing and what we can do about it. While this crime spike has generated loud calls for a much larger police force, the city’s lean budget cannot be our only solution.
More

ANDREWS: Circuits fry in outbreak of local government warfareRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Pat Andrews / Special to IBJ
I am an accidental tourist in the land of government finance. The natives are friendly enough to me, but they seem to like one another less and less.
More

BOHANON: Tax burdens are significantly worse outside IndianaRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Cecil Bohanon / Special to IBJ
Two years into the Pence administration, claims and counterclaims abound about its tax policy. Critics claim the policies shower unwarranted benefits on those who need it least at the expense of the middle class, while supporters claim the policies promote economic growth and prosperity.
More

GARRISON: Fierce hatred of the T.E.A. Party is a conundrumRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Greg Garrison / Special to IBJ

T.E.A Party: Taxed Enough Already. How hard is that? I was privileged to speak at the first rally of these fine folks April 15, 2009, when about 3,000 Hoosiers gathered on the south lawn of the Statehouse in a 40-degree drizzling rain. No burning underwear, no stolen bicycles, no tussles with the police and not a single potty-mouth slogan or sign. Just folks who could make it to the event because it was held late enough in the day that they were finished with the day’s work. Yes, work, as in “having a job.”

More

PARR: Poli sci class was glimpse of liberal IU cultureRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Riley Parr / Special to IBJ
As the end of the school year quickly approaches, it seems prudent to let you, the Hoosier taxpayer, know exactly what your hard-earned dollars are going to support.
More

ODLE: Money, people better directed at preventing crimeRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Samuel L. Odle / Special to IBJ
Donald Sterling has caught the attention of America and reminds that the struggle to combat inequality and discrimination is ongoing and that the idea that we are living in a post-racial America is truly inaccurate. Every now and then, the negative perceptions we harbor about those different from us become public and we declare how unacceptable it is in our modern society.
More

MADISON: Lamenting the young politicos missing in actionRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
James H. Madison / Special to IBJ
There have been times young Hoosiers flooded into the political arena. Indiana’s first territorial governor, William Henry Harrison, was in his late 20s when he assumed office. Jonathan Jennings just turned 30 when he became the first state governor.
More

No place to hideRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
I am definitely a free speech advocate, even if the opinion being expressed is reprehensible [May 5 Lopresti column].
More

VOSS: Core supporters count more than ever with new mediaRestricted Content

May 13, 2014
Jonathan Voss / Special to IBJMore

MATTHEWS: Lawmakers increasingly edge into ideological cornersRestricted Content

May 13, 2014
Christine Matthews / Special to IBJMore
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Uh, sorry Johnnie, but you are incorrect. Despite the assertions by yourself and various defenders and captains, sports attendance is NOT off significantly at most sporting events in the US. Variances in attendance has been in the range of single digits, both + & - for years now. MLB has had most of its best overall attendance nubers in the last decade, and that trend has been consistent for most major sporting events. The number one issue cited by most fans when asked about attendance is the overall cost of attending. The presence of HD and big screen televisions in home doesn't even register, as a factor for not attending an event. VALUE in the product is the key, and apparently is something lacking in the current ICS. What other explanation is there when with what is routinely touted as the "best" racing on the planet, fans are staying away in DROVES. A "close" title battle into the last event at Fontana, with the "cars and stars" of the ICS, and who showed up? MAYBE 8K. Sorry, but HD TV isn't to blame for that kind of fan apathy.

  2. Do you need finance to establish your business ? Are you interested in getting a loan at 3% from our private company? If so please Email: suntrust_oil@blumail.org

  3. If she was worth the $ the public outcry over direct tv dropping them would have kept them on their dishes as we have seen with other companies. I too quit watching channel 13 after she showed up since I left channel 8 because of her all show rather than production results. When Randy on 8 corrected her she had a big head and incorrectly challenged his correction for pronunciation of a city. Other antics while she matures was too much for me with her very inaccurate forecasts. All the forecasters were predicting rain until Thursday except Chris. They predicted sunny on Thursday but instead of rain until Thursday upon which the sun would finally make it out in full glory Chris was right on the money just as I too predicted looking at the radar on weather.gov. One thing I love about Angela is the fear you can see in her every time it thunders in the winter. It far exceeds the entertainment value of her body language (high heel noise drags, depression, etc) when her forecasts are so incorrect. Her hair stands on end, you have to see it!!!

  4. Good Day, Apply For A Loan I am Mr Fernadez Antonio, a private Loan lender and a cooperate financial for real estate and any kinds of business financing. I also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at 3% interest rate We offer any kind of loans. email us via fernadezloaninvest@outlook.com LOAN APPLICATION FORM First name:......................... Middle name:......................... Last name:........................................ Date of birth (yyyy-mm-dd):....................... Gender:........................................... Marital status:................................... Total Amount Needed............................... Loan Duration.................................... Address:.......................................... City:............................................. State/province:................................... Zip/postal code:.................................. Country:.......................................... Phone:............................................ Fax:.............................................. Mobile/cellular:.................................. Monthly Income.................................... Occupation:....................................... Best Regard, Mr Fernadez Antonio.

  5. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.okoro how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. okoro on his email:okorospell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr okoro the great spell caster on his email addresses spellcasterforlove@outlook.com

ADVERTISEMENT