Lou Harry's A&E

Yes, you've found Lou Harry's A&E, IBJ's home for opinion, debate and discussion on arts and entertainment matters in Indy and beyond.  Thanks for stopping by.

Arts & Entertainment, etc.

'Lady Bird' tops Indiana Film Journalists' year-end list

December 18, 2017

We are individuals and we are part of a community. No, I’m not getting big-picture philosophical. I’m talking about the members of the Indiana Film Journalists Association, a small tribe of writers who annually gather to make our selections of the best cinematic work of the year.

While you can find my own list here, I’d also like to offer the collective decisions of the IFJA to help you in your entertainment decision making.

This year, the IFJA piled the awards on “Lady Bird, including Best Picture, Best Director and Best Original Screenplay (Greta Gerwig for both), Best Actress (Saoirse Ronan) and Best Supporting Actress (Laurie Metcalf).

Best Actor went to the late Harry Dean Stanton for his role in “Lucky,” and Willem Dafoe won Best Supporting Actor for “The Florida Project,” both of which were featured at local festivals.

IFJA also gives an annual award for Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance. This year, it went to Andy Serkis for “War for the Planet of the Apes.”

“Coco” was named Best Animated film; “Faces Places” won the Best Foreign Language Film prize; and “Let It Fall: Los Angeles 1982-1992” won Best Documentary Film. 

Best Adapted Screenplay went to screenwriters Scott Frank, James Mangold and Michael Green for “Logan.”

“The Shape of Water” won Best Musical Score for Alexandre Desplat. 

IFJA’s Original Vision Award went to “Loving Vincent,” an oil-painted animation film. The Breakout of the Year went to Timothée Chalamet for his work in “Call Me By Your Name” and “Lady Bird.”

The Hoosier Award, recognizing a project or person with roots in Indiana went to “Columbus,” the debut feature film of director Kogonada.

According to the IFJA release, “Writer and director Kogonada made the architectural haven of Columbus, Indiana, an integral part of his debut film. As a meditation on time, responsibility and the influence of art on everyday life, ‘Columbus’ shows the introspective side of Hoosiers that is often left out in stereotypical portrayals.”

Here’s a complete list of honorees:

Best Film

Winner: “Lady Bird”

Runner-up: “The Shape of Water”

Other Finalists (listed alphabetically):

“Blade Runner 2049”

“Brigsby Bear”

“The Florida Project”

“Get Out”

“The Post”

“Star Wars: The Last Jedi”

“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”


Best Animated Feature

Winner: “Coco”

Runner-Up: “Loving Vincent”


Best Foreign Language Film

Winner: “Faces Places”

Runner-Up: “BPM (Beats Per Minute)”


Best Documentary

Winner: “Let It Fall: Los Angeles 1982-1992”

Runner-Up: “Liyana”


Best Original Screenplay

Winner: Greta Gerwig, “Lady Bird”

Runner-up: Jordan Peele, “Get Out”


Best Adapted Screenplay

Winner: Scott Frank, James Mangold and Michael Green, “Logan”

Runner-up: Hampton Fancher and Michael Green, “Blade Runner 2049”


Best Director

Winner: Greta Gerwig, “Lady Bird”

Runner-up: Guillermo del Toro, “The Shape of Water”


Best Actress

Winner: Saoirse Ronan, “Lady Bird”

Runner-up: Sally Hawkins, “Maudie”


Best Supporting Actress

Winner: Laurie Metcalf, “Lady Bird”

Runner-up: Allison Janney, “I, Tonya”


Best Actor

Winner: Harry Dean Stanton, “Lucky”

Runner-up: Gary Oldman, “Darkest Hour”


Best Supporting Actor

Winner: Willem Dafoe, “The Florida Project”

Runner-up: Doug Jones, “The Shape of Water”


Best Vocal/Motion Capture Performance

Winner: Andy Serkis, “War for the Planet of the Apes”

Runner-up: Sean Gunn & Bradley Cooper, “Guardians of the Galaxy, Vol. 2”


Best Ensemble Acting

Winner: “The Florida Project”

Runner-up: “The Post”


Best Musical Score

Winner: Alexandre Desplat, “The Shape of Water”

Runner-up: Hans Zimmer and Benjamin Wallfisch, “Blade Runner 2049”


Breakout of the Year

Winner: Timothée Chalamet, “Call Me By Your Name” and “Lady Bird”

Runner-up: Kogonada, “Columbus”


Original Vision Award

Winner: “Loving Vincent”

Runner-up: “Brigsby Bear


The Hoosier Award

Winner: “Columbus”

 (As a special award, no runner-up is declared in this category.)


About IFJA: The Indiana Film Journalists Association was established in February 2009. Members must reside in the Hoosier State and produce consistent, quality film criticism or commentary in any medium.



Comments powered by Disqus