North of 96th - Lindsey

Welcome to North of 96th, your source for business news from Carmel, Fishers, Noblesville, Westfield and Zionsville. Your host, Lindsey Erdody, can be reached at lerdody@ibj.com.

Boone County / Hamilton County / Regional News

Hamilton County councilor enters Senate race to replace Kenley

July 21, 2017

A fourth candidate has emerged in the race to replace retiring state Sen. Luke Kenley.

Hamilton County Council member Brad Beaver sent a letter to precinct committeemen earlier this week saying that he would run in the caucus for the District 20 seat, which covers the northeast side of Carmel, Noblesville and Westfield.

Beaver, who owns Beaver Heating & Air Conditioning, has served on the county council for 20 years.

“My years of experience have given me an insight on how laws passed at the state level impact local government, small business owners, citizens and their children in our local school systems,” Beaver wrote in the letter. “I have been on the receiving end of laws passed by the state and have worked through them to help maintain Hamilton County to be a great place to live and raise a family.”

Other Republican candidates who have already announced are Victoria Spartz, chief financial officer for the Office of the Indiana Attorney General; Sue Finkam, Carmel City Council president; and Megan Wiles, Noblesville City Council president.

Kenley, who is a key budget writer as the Indiana Senate Appropriations chairman, announced earlier in July that he would retire in September after serving in the seat since 1992. His current term doesn’t expire until 2020.

Westfield businessman Scott Willis, who opposed Kenley in the Republican primary in 2016, had been considering running, but announced Sunday that he would not enter the race.

“Since my campaign in 2016, I have realized my passion lies closer to home in Westfield,” Willis said in a prepared statement. “I will remain engaged in Westfield and look forward to future opportunities to serve my community.”

State Sen. Ryan Mishler, R-Bremen, has been chosen to replace kenley as chairman of the Senate Appropriations Committee.

Comments powered by Disqus