## City of Fishers PROCLAMATION

WHEREAS, the City of Fishers aspires to become a smart, vibrant, and entrepreneurial community;

WHEREAS, in order to reach our goal of becoming a smart, vibrant, and entrepreneurial community, the City of Fishers must attract the next generation of talented workforce;

WHEREAS, in order to attract a dynamic and talented workforce, the City of Fishers must create an environment of equality, in which human dignity, inclusiveness, and diversity are celebrated values, and an environment in which discrimination of any kind is not tolerated;

WHEREAS, the City of Fishers does not believe that any individual should be discriminated against by another individual or body based upon that individual's sex, race, color, national origin, religion, disability, age, or sexual orientation;

WHEREAS, the Indiana General Assembly passed Senate Bill 101-2015, ("Religious Freedom and Restoration Act"), which was signed into law on March 26, 2015 (Senate Enrolled Act 101-2015) (Indiana Code section 34-13-9, *et seq.*);

WHEREAS, Indiana Code section 34-13-9-2 prohibits the City of Fishers from adopting an ordinance or resolution, exempting the application of the Religious Freedom and Restoration Act.

NOW THEREFORE, I, SCOTT FADNESS, MAYOR OF THE CITY OF FISHERS, INDIANA ALONG WITH THE HONORABLE MEMBERS OF THE COMMON COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF FISHERS, DO HEREBY PROCLAIM THE CITY OF FISHERS AS AN INCLUSIVE CITY, PROUD OF ITS GROWING DIVERSITY, INTOLLERANT OF DISCRIMINATION OF ANY KIND, AND EXPECTING ALL GOVERNMENTAL AGENCIES, BUSINESSES, AND INDIVIDUALS RESIDING IN FISHERS TO ADHERE TO THE CORE VALUES OF EQUALITY, TOLERANCE, HUMAN DIGNITY, DIVERSITY AND INCLUSIVENESS SO THAT TOGETHER WE CAN BUILD A SMART, VIBRANT, AND ENTREPRENEURIAL CITY.

	Signed this first day of April, 2015	
Scott Fadness, Mayor	Pete Peterson, City Council President	
John Weingardt, City Council Vice President	Richard Block, City Council, At Large	
Cecilia Coble, City Council, At Large	Stuart F. Easley, City Council, District Six	
David C. George, City Council, District Five	Eric Moeller, City Council, District Three	
Selina Stoller, City Council, District Two	Todd Zimmerman, City Council, At Large	