Indianapolis Business Journal

The Health Care Heroes Awards will honor companies, individuals and organizations for their contributions to improving health care in the Indianapolis metropolitan area.

{{ }}

Meet the people and programs who put patients first! At today’s program you will discover who is being named a 2023 Health Care Hero.


7:30 am


Nathan Feltman
Publisher, President & CEO
Indianapolis Business Journal

8:00 am


8:10 am

Awards Presentation 

Lesley Weidenbener
Indianapolis Business Journal

Greg Weaver
Managing Editor
Indianapolis Business Journal

8:35 am

Community Achievement in Health Care

  • Burmese Outreach Team
    Franciscan Health
  • CHOICE: Pregnancy and Substance Use Treatment Program
    Community Health Network
  • Hoosier Heartland Healing Collaborative
    Eskenazi Health
  • Paws to Heal, a Paws to Think Program
    Ascension St. Vincent Indianapolis

Innovations in Health Care

  • Center for Physician Well-Being & Professional Development
    Community Health Network
  • Kurt Kroenke, MD, MACP
    Research Scientist, Regenstrief Institute; Chancellor’s Professor, IUPUI; Professor of Medicine, Indiana University School of Medicine
  • The Fetal Center
    Riley Children’s Health


  • Robert C. Cater, MD
    Medical Director
    Rophe Free Clinic
  • Andrew R. O’Brien, MD
    Director, Adult Sickle Cell Disease Program, Indiana University Health; Assistant
    Professor of Clinical Medicine, Indiana University School of Medicine
  • Maria Wilson, MD
    Executive Medical Director – Central Division
    Oak Street Health


  • Yvonne Lu, PhD, RN, FGSA, FAAN
    Professor, Science of Nursing Care Department
    Indiana University School of Nursing
  • Thomas McDorr, MDiv, BCC
    Chaplain, Trauma Services/TSN Coordinator
    Indiana University Health Methodist Hospital
  • Gloria Rivera
    Nurse Home Visitor
    Goodwill of Central & Southern Indiana
    Nurse-Family Partnership


  • Sherry Brown
    Indiana University Health
  • Ellen Mutzl
    Ascension St. Vincent
  • Elyse Turula
    Indiana University Melvin and Bren Simon Comprehensive Cancer Center