Indianapolis Business Journal

Indiana Lawyer’s annual Leadership in Law program honors members of the legal community who have shown a commitment to their profession and the clients and communities they serve. Click below to learn more about the Distinguished Barrister, Up and Coming Lawyer and Legal Support Stars awards.

{{ }}

Today’s event will unveil Indiana Lawyer’s 2023 class of Distinguished Barristers, Up & Coming Lawyers and Legal Support Stars! Thank you for joining us in honoring Lifetime Achievement Award recipient former Indiana Chief Justice Randall Shepard.



Nate Feltman
President & CEO
IBJ Media

Christiana Ochoa
IU Maurer School of Law

Presentation of Lifetime Achievement Award

Nate Feltman
President & CEO
IBJ Media

Keynote Remarks

Retired Indiana Chief Justice Randall Shepard
Senior Judge
Court of Appeals of Indiana, Indianapolis


Award Presentation

Olivia Covington
Indiana Lawyer

Lesley Weidenbener
Indianapolis Business Journal

Closing Remarks & Adjourn


Retired Indiana Chief Justice Randall Shepard

Senior Judge
Court of Appeals of Indiana, Indianapolis

Randall T. Shepard of Evansville was appointed to the Indiana Supreme Court by Governor Robert D. Orr in 1985 at the age of 38. He became Chief Justice of Indiana in March 1987 and retired from the Court in March 2012, at which point he was the longest-serving Chief Justice in Indiana history and the senior Chief Justice in the country’s state supreme courts.

A seventh generation Hoosier, Shepard graduated from Princeton University cum laude and from the Yale Law School. He earned a Master of Laws degree in the judicial process from the University of Virginia.

Shepard was Judge of the Vanderburgh Superior Court from 1980 until his appointment. He earlier served as executive assistant to Mayor Russell Lloyd of Evansville and as special assistant to the Under Secretary of the U.S. Department of Transportation.

Chief Justice Shepard has served as chair of the ABA Appellate Judges Conference and of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar and as President of the National Conference of Chief Justices. Chief Justice John Roberts recently appointed him to the U.S. Judicial Conference Advisory Committee on Civil Rules. He is a trustee emeritus of the National Trust for Historic Preservation and a former chair of Indiana Landmarks, Inc.

He teaches periodically at the law schools of Indiana, NYU, and Yale.

He is married and has one daughter.

Since leaving the Court, Shepard has served as a Senior Judge in the Indiana Court of Appeals and as Executive in Residence at I.U.’s Public Policy Institute. He now chairs the ABA Task Force on the Future of Legal Education and has become a director of Old National Bancorp.

Distinguished Barristers

Cynthia Baker
IU McKinney School of Law

Jeffrey Featherstun
Plews Shadley Racher & Braun

Rob Foos
Lewis Wagner

Joseph Heerens
Office of Governor Eric J. Holcomb

Leslie Craig Henderzahs
Church Church Hittle + Antrim

Robert Hill
Marion County Chief Public Defender

David Hensel
Hoover Hull Turner

Shontrai Irving
Purdue University Northwest

Judge Dana Kenworthy
Court of Appeals of Indiana

David McGimpsey
Dentons Bingham Greenebaum

Charles Meyer
Woodard Emhardt Henry Reeves & Wagner

Marisol Sanchez
Endress + Hauser

Rebecca Seamands
Ice Miller

Mark Wright
Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath

Judge Richard Young
US District Court for the Southern District of Indiana

Up and Coming Lawyers

Lacey Berkshire
Ice Miller

William Cartwright
Stoll Keenon Ogden

Matthew Ciulla
MacGill P.C.

Lynsey David
Lewis Wagner

Stephanie Gutwein
Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath

Andrew Hanna
Madison County Chief Deputy Prosecutor

April Keaton
Office of the Indiana Attorney General

Elizabeth Klesmith

Christopher Kozak
Plews Shadley Racher & Braun

Thomas Lyons
Barnes & Thornburg

Kyle Montrose
Dentons Bingham Greenebaum

Roya Porter

Elizabeth Roberson
Krieg DeVault LLP

Amina Thomas
Cohen & Malad

Emily VanTyle
Wilson Kehoe Winingham

Legal Support Stars

JoAnn Chamberlain
Athora Law Group

Anne Cohn
Quarles & Brady

Diane Greene
Taft Stettinius & Hollister

Sarah Johnson
Kroger Gardis & Regas

Lottie Wathen
Barnes & Thornburg