IBJNews

Holiday Wish List - Dec. 12, 2011

IBJ Staff
December 10, 2011
Back to TopCommentsE-mailPrintBookmark and Share

The following is a list of Indianapolis-area not-for-profit organizations and the things each needs most. This is an opportunity for businesses and individuals to make tax-deductible gifts in the spirit of the season. Anyone who wishes to make a contribution should contact the organization directly.

This list is being published weekly through Dec. 19.

Requests should be limited to five items or services (not cash) and should include a contact name, telephone number and e-mail address. Submit requests by e-mail to bhoffman@ibj.com, fax to 263-5406, or mail to Holiday Wish List, IndianapolisBusiness Journal, 41 E. Washington St., 46204.

Agape Therapeutic Riding Resources Inc., Debbie Laird, 773-7433, ext. 11, dlaird@agaperiding.org. Postage stamps, shredder, dishwasher, chairs, Purina equine senior horse feed.

Assistance League of Indianapolis for Operation School Bell, Kathy Kerr Wylam, 872-1010, K1960@indy.rr.com. New warm winter coats for children ages 5-15; hygiene kits with shampoo, soap, toothbrush and toothpaste; school supplies kit with pencils, crayons, glue sticks, pens, ruler, notebooks and folders; black or brown belts in sizes 2x and 3x; white athletic socks, children’s sizes medium and large.

Best Buddies Indiana, B.J. Farrell, 436-8440, ext. 42, BJFarrell@bestbuddies.org. Digital camera; portable video camera; gift cards for entertainment and dining; gift cards for Target, Wal-Mart, Sam’s Club or Costco; grocery store gift cards.

Damar Services Inc., Donna Stutler, 856-5201, ext. 235, donnas@damar.org. Hats and gloves, sports equipment, coloring books, overnight sports bags, athletic socks.

Fairbanks, Katy Cummings, 572-9398, ccrichlow@fairbankscd.org. Bus passes, new and gently used bicycles, twin bed sheets, bath towels, blankets.

The Food Link, Wynn Tinkham, 846-9112, thefoodlink@aol.com. Food, particularly frozen meat and chicken; laundry soap; shampoo; diapers; wheel chair ramp; walk-in freezer installation.

Habitat for Humanity of Hamilton County, Gretta Troyer, 896-9423, gtroyer@hfhhc.org. Netbooks, fire proof file cabinet, desk and/or credenza.

Happy Hollow Children’s Camp, Rene Chamberlain, 638-3849, rchamberlain@happyhollowcamp.net. Printing services, arts and crafts supplies, personal care and hygiene items, cleaning supplies, HP printer.

Holy Cross St. Vincent de Paul, Maureen McLean, 631-4369, maureenmclean5533@sbcglobal.net. Adult bicycles with locks, backpacks, bus passes, adult winter coats, reading glasses.

HVAF of Indiana Inc., Debra Des Vignes, 951-0688, ddesvignes@hvaf.org. Men’s long johns, (all sizes), men’s coats, (all sizes), men’s winter gloves, canned meat, twin sheets.

Indiana Blind Children’s Foundation, Virginia Berry, 554-2742, ext. 803, vberry@isbvik12.org. Financial/accounting expertise, design and printing services for a new organization brochure, printer, large conference table, conference table chairs.

Loving Accurately Ministries, Emily Burford, 205-9085, Emily@LAMinc.org. Volunteers are needed to assist in the development and organization of a donor/volunteer database.

Mental Health America of Greater Indianapolis, Mark Rozales, 251-0005, ext. 1002, mrozales@mhaindy.net. Gift cards to Target, Wal-Mart or Marsh; an expandable phone system with 10 digital, programmable phones; window replacement; deck and fence repair; parking lot refinishing and striping.

St. Joseph Institute for the Deaf – Indianapolis, Jana Raymer, 471-8560, jraymer@sjid.org. Painting services, mulch and landscape services, window cleaning services, laminator, gently used flat screen monitors

St. Mary’s Child Center, Shannon Marschak, 361-4882, smarschak@stmaryschildcenter.org. Copy paper, Wal-Mart gift cards, digital cameras with SD cards, acrylic paint, unisex sweatpants sizes 3t – 6x.

Sisters of St. Benedict, Our Lady of Grace Monastery, Sr. Mary Luke Jones, 787-3287, ext. 3035, Ljonessosb@benedictine.com. Computer tables, room dividers.

Social Health Association of Indiana Inc., Billy White Jr., 638-3628, ext. 103, bwhite@socialhealth.org. Color laser printer, 26”-36” LCD/LED TV with DVD player, letter folding machine, Office All-in-One color printer/scanner, selected educational videos (eight copies per title, ask for title names).

Starfish Initiative, Chris Horty, 452-8579, chris@starfishinitiative.org. Picture framing services, gift cards for Walgreens and Staples, billboard space for one -month at three locations in Metro Indy, facility rental for Mentor Match Introduction event for 400 people in July.

Training Inc., Katie Short, 264-6740, ext. 11, Katie@traininginc-indy.org. Flash drives (1GB +), gloves, bus passes, coffee supplies, winter coats.

AYS Inc., Leslie Hankins, 283-3817, lhankins@ayskids.org. Volunteers for before-and-after-school programs and summer camps, canoe or kayak with life jackets, laptop computers and software, 500+ t-shirts with Camp AYS logo, educational games and books.

Beacon of Hope Center for Women Inc., Terry Moore, 731-6131, tmocean@aol.com. Six new computers, new laser jet printer, new 10-line phone system, copier that sorts and makes two-sided copies, postage.

Beech Grove Education Foundation, Amy DiStaulo, 313-1124, adistaulo@bgcs.k12.in.us. Lighting and sound upgrades for the high school auditorium, music storage and transportation, uniform expenses, band instruments, music classroom supplies.

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Indiana, Whitney Snider, 472-3705, wsnider@bbbsci.org. Child booster seats, new or gently used digital cameras, laminator and laminating sheets, bus passes, photography services for match activities throughout the year.

Boone County Senior Services Inc., Sue Ritz, (765) 482-5220, sritz@booneseniors.org. Perennial plant materials and planting labor, in-kind office space in Zionsville, “to-go” food containers, transportation coupons for low-income seniors, flash drives.

Boys and Girls Club of Noblesville, Becky Terry, 773-4372, bterry@bgcni.org. Professional interior paint and painting services; hair cut gift certificates (for locations near Noblesville); Shoe Carnival gift cards; pool sticks, board games, DVDs of children’s movies, fooseballs, ping pong balls and paddles.

Cancer Support Community of Central Indiana, Kerry Teague, 257-1505, Kerry@cancersupportindy.org. Coffee (regular and decaf), coffee cups, boxes of tissue, 8 ½ x 11 white paper, volunteers.

Cathedral Soup Kitchen and Food Pantry, Marge Pike, 632-4360, info@ssppc.org. Adult backpacks, sleeping bags, XL hoodies, adult men’s gloves, men’s white socks.

Central Indiana Youth for Christ, Jane Perkins, 925-2828, jperkins@ciyfc.org. $5 McDonald’s gift cards; automotive tools; quality color copier; 42” flat screen TV and DVD player; lawn equipment including a mower, weed eater and leaf blower.

Dreamapolis, Derrick Braziel, (216) 346-1053, derrick@dreamapolis.com. Office furniture, 10,000-square-feet of office or warehouse space for 12 months, printing services, outdoor building signage, vacant lots to be used for urban gardening.

Exodus Refugee Immigration Inc., Laurie Cuellar, 921-0836, lcuellar@exodusrefugee.org. Bus passes; Wal-Mart, Target and grocery store gift cards; coats, hats, gloves and boots for adults and children; bicycles for adults and youths; pots and pans.

Families First, Anita Owen, 644-7230, anitao@familiesfirstindiana.org. Bus passes or gas cards; twin beds with frames and mattresses; healthy, nonperishable snacks; Target, Wal-Mart and grocery store gift cards; baby supplies including blankets and infant seats.

Generation Empowered International Church, J. Marquis Garrett, 384-8985, jmarquisgarrett@generationempowered.org. Van or 15-passenger vehicle, digital image projector, printing services for 1,000 flyers, printing services for outdoor sign, video recording equipment.

Hendricks Regional Health Foundation, Sue Bogan, 745-7376, sebogan@hendricks.org. In-kind printing and video services, billboard for event promotion, stick blenders for cancer patients, digital scales.

Hollis Adams Foundation, Lisa Fohl, 841-1231, hollisadams@gmail.com. Used printer cartridges for recycling, seven cubic-foot chest freezer, sewing materials including fabric, heavy duty pots and pans, three eight-foot round tables.

Horizon House, Teresa Wessel, 423-8909, ext. 304, teresaw@horizonhouse.cc. Men’s winter socks, peanut butter and jelly, deodorant, bath towels, blankets.

Indianapolis Symphonic Choir, Michael Pettry, 940-9057, info@indychoir.org. Supplies for Indianapolis Public Schools music programs, including copy paper, pencils and blank CDs.

Indianapolis Urban Theater and Dance Co., Ashley Garrett, 500-4882, ashley@indyurbantheater.org. Electrical and plumbing labor, full color vinyl outdoor sign, 100 sheets of drywall, 250 pieces of 2x4x10 lumber.

Indy Car Ministry, Bob Hills, 716-8850, bhills@indycar.com. Small office space on the Westside.

Institute for Affordable Transportation, Will Austin, 213-1088, will.austin@driveBUV.org. Roll-up exhibit displays, gasoline gift cards, three-minute time lapse video work, tool boxes, freight (1,200 pounds) to St. Paul, Minn.

Interfaith Hospitality Network, Mitch Katz, 823-8440, mkatzihn@yahoo.com. Floor lamp, chairs for a conference table, sofa, bus passes.

Marion County Commission on Youth (MCCOY), Alyssa Starr Newerth, 921-1229, Alyssa.Newerth@mccoyouth.org. iPad, two gallons of chalkboard paint, HTML techie to assist with Joomla website, two boxes of 8 ½ x 11 printer paper, Office 2010 Enterprise and Windows 7 Professional for office of 13.

Mary Rigg Neighborhood Center, Jenna Wachtmann, 639-6106, ext. 211, jwachtmann@maryrigg.org. Coat racks, freezer, corkboards, dolly, 15-passenger or utility van.

Prevail, Sue Hacker Nelson, 773-6942, ext. 116, sue@prevailinc.com. Used cell phones, individually wrapped snacks, gasoline gift cards, Post-it flip chart pads, paper towels.

Providence Cristo Rey High School, Victoria Petersen-Elia, 860-1000, ext. 106, vpetersen@pcrhs.org. Heavy-duty cross cut shredder, 10 laptops, one SMART Board System, teen entertainment gift cards, in-kind advertisements.

Safe Sitter, Inc., Dave Strantz, 596-5001, dave@safesitter.org. Multimedia projector, voice recorder.

United Christmas Service, Lorna McClurkin, 921-1372, lorna.mcclurkin@uwci.org. Volunteers willing to sponsor a family for Christmas.

United Way of Central Indiana, Mary Kinney, 921-1224, Mary.Kinney@uwci.org. Volunteers to read to 4 and 5-year-olds; computers, low bookshelves and gently-used picture books; Early Readers Club sponsors to provide children’s books for a year; volunteers to tutor 3rd, 4th and 5th graders in reading; partnerships for school special events and volunteer programs.

Volunteers of America, Diana Anderson, 686-5807, DAnderson@voain.org. Five flat screen TVs with screens no smaller than 46”, two TVs with carts and built-in DVD players, four basic desktop computers, two desktop printers, child and family DVDs.

Coburn Place, Marina Keers, 923-5750, marina@coburnplace.org. Toilet paper, shower curtain liners, microwave ovens, cleaning supplies, new bath towels.

Heritage Place of Indianapolis Inc., Ruth Ann Schroeder, 283-6662, heritageplaceindy@gmail.com. Copy paper in assorted colors, whiteboard markers and cleaner, printing services, postage stamps, paper cups.

Indiana Afterschool Network, Elizabeth Crouch, 920-0181, ecrouch@indianaafterschool.org. Transportation for 150 people in March (three-mile route); Target, Wal-Mart or Meijer gift cards; five flip video cameras; advertising space; printing services.

Indiana Air Search and Rescue, Jill Fewell, 549-5900, Jill@IASAR.org. Portable heaters / salamanders, large covered trailer, gas grill, Go Pro camera, gasoline gift cards.

Julian Center, Molly Barrick, 941-2220, donate@juliancenter.org. Non-perishable food items; towels and washcloths; twin bed sheets; diapers; cold weather items including Kleenex, cold medications, hats, gloves, scarves and coats.

Keep Indianapolis Beautiful Inc., Beth Kloote, 264-7555, ext. 107, bkloote@kibi.org. Brooms and dustpans, two pop-up tents, printing and signage services, trailer jack, five-gallon buckets.

K.I.D.S. Inc., Jake Medlong, 946-0335, jake4kids@yahoo.com/ Amazon gift cards, Wal-Mart gift cards, printing services, flat screen TV, video game system with games.

Meals on Wheels of Central Indiana, Barb Renshaw, 252-5558, brenshaw@mealsonwheelsindy.org. Gasoline gift cards; Dell 1510X , or larger, projector; office supplies store gift cards, tire store gift cards, 52-gallon cooler on wheels.

Prevent Blindness Indiana, Sara Miller, 815-9943, ext. 230, smiller@pbeye.org. Postage stamps, Staples or Office Depot gift cards, bottled water and snacks, paper shredder, copy paper.

Second Helpings, Jennifer Vigran, 632-2664, ext. 16, Jennifer@secondhelpings.org. Carpeting and installation, flatbed carts and dollies, battery-powered pallet jack, office workspace design consultation, heavy-duty truck tire pressure gauges.

Special Olympics Indiana, Lynn Enterline, 328-2000, ext. 223, lenterline@soindiana.org. Bottled water, regulation high school volleyballs, printers for use at events, two-way radios, carnival-style prizes for athletes.

Tangram, Lindsey VanDyck, 968-9048, lvandyck@thetangramway.org. Wal-Mart gift cards, Lowes or Home Depot gift cards, gasoline gift cards, building sign; fencing.

The Refuge, Kerry Jones, 889-7338, kjones@therefugeinc.com. Portable cubicles, office furniture, five laptops, copy machine, box truck.•
 

ADVERTISEMENT

Post a comment to this story

COMMENTS POLICY
We reserve the right to remove any post that we feel is obscene, profane, vulgar, racist, sexually explicit, abusive, or hateful.
 
You are legally responsible for what you post and your anonymity is not guaranteed.
 
Posts that insult, defame, threaten, harass or abuse other readers or people mentioned in IBJ editorial content are also subject to removal. Please respect the privacy of individuals and refrain from posting personal information.
 
No solicitations, spamming or advertisements are allowed. Readers may post links to other informational websites that are relevant to the topic at hand, but please do not link to objectionable material.
 
We may remove messages that are unrelated to the topic, encourage illegal activity, use all capital letters or are unreadable.
 

Messages that are flagged by readers as objectionable will be reviewed and may or may not be removed. Please do not flag a post simply because you disagree with it.

Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Great article and post scripts by Mike L (Great addition to IBJ BTW). Bobby's stubborn as a mule, and doubt if he ever comes back to IU. But the love he would receive would be enormous. Hope he shows some time, but not counting on it.

  2. When the Indiana GOP was going around the State selling the Voucher bill they were promising people that the vouchers would only be for public charter schools. They lied. As usual.

  3. I am Mr. Morris Ray, a Legitimate And a Reputable money Lender. We lend funds out to individuals in need of financial assistance, we give loan to people that have a bad credit or in need of money to pay bills, to invest on business. Have you been looking for loan? you have not to worry, because you are in the right place i offer loan at low interest rate of 2% so if you are in need of a loan i want you to just contact me via this email Address: morris_ray123@outlook.com

  4. Jim, your "misleading" numbers comment is spot on. This is the spin these posers are putting on it. News flash, fans: these guys lie. They are not publicly traded so no one holds them accountable for anything they say. The TV numbers are so miniscule to begin with any "increase" produces double digit "growth" numbers. It's ridiculous to think that anything these guys have done has awakened the marketplace. What have they done? Consolidate the season so they run more races on consecutive weekends? And this creates "momentum." Is that the same momentum you enjoy when you don't race between August and March? Keep in mind that you are running teams who barely make ends meet ragged over the summer to accomplish this brilliant strategy of avoiding the NFL while you run your season finale at midnight on the East Coast. But I should not obfuscate my own point: any "ratings increase" is exactly what Jim points to - the increased availability of NBC Sports in households. Look fans, I love the sport to but these posers are running it off a cliff. Miles wants to declare victory and then run for Mayor. I could go on and on but bottom line for God's sake don't believe a word they say. Note to Anthony - try doing just a little research instead of reporting what these pretenders say and then offering an "opinion" no more informed than the average fan.

  5. If he's finally planning to do the right thing and resign, why not do it before the election? Waiting until after means what - s special election at tax payer expense? Appointment (by whom?) thus robbing the voters of their chance to choose? Does he accrue some additional financial advantage to waiting, like extra pension payments? What's in it for him? That's the question that needs to be asked.

ADVERTISEMENT