Opinion

EDITORIAL: Pre-K opposition smells political

September 20, 2014
 IBJ Staff
Democrats are digging in on the wrong issue.
More

KENNEDY: The age of propagandaRestricted Content

September 20, 2014
Sheila Suess Kennedy
We live in an age of disinformation. Fox News, MSNBC, CNN. Some are better than others, but not much.
More

VIEWPOINT: Don’t delay Pence’s health planRestricted Content

September 20, 2014
Daniel Evans Jr./Special to IBJ, Kevin Leahy/Special to IBJ, Bryan Mills/Special to IBJ, Jonathan Nalli/Special to IBJ
As the chief executive officers of the four largest health systems in central Indiana, we understand the dire situation facing hundreds of thousands of Hoosiers who lack health insurance.
More

MORRIS: Commercial real estate has an energy we haven't seen in awhileRestricted Content

September 20, 2014
Greg Morris
Panelists, and attendance, at IBJ's Commercial Real Estate Power Breakfast brought a positive vibe.
More

LOPRESTI: For a letter to Coach Knight, a few possible additions

September 20, 2014
Has the IU legend changed his tune on late games? What about mending fences while there's time?
More

Hicks: Traditional economic development doesn't workRestricted Content

September 20, 2014
Mike Hicks
The cost of luring a firm to town has skyrocketed, while the benefits have plummeted. The United States has created more than 90 million net new jobs over the past 45 years, but fewer “attractable” jobs are available today than in 1969.
More

Skarbeck: A new type of index fund is gaining investor interest

September 20, 2014
Ken Skarbeck
Recently, financial academics, like Rob Arnott of Research Affiliates, have published white papers supporting a different type of index investing. They call their creation “smart beta.
More

Cut casinos loose to fend for themselvesRestricted Content

September 20, 2014
Do Indiana legislators have any kind of collective vision and perspective [Sept. 15]?
More

Council should pass Ballard preschool planRestricted Content

September 20, 2014
Those of us interested in reforming public education should urge support from the Democrats on the City-County Council for Mayor Ballard’s preschool funding plan that was delayed recently.
More

DINING: Washington Street staple rises again under new name

September 18, 2014
Lou Harry
Javier's Hacienda takes over the spot formerly occupied by El Sol. And, yes, the donkey is still there.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Actors Theatre creates a loverly ‘My Fair Lady’

September 18, 2014
Lou Harry
A good production needs to treat these familiar characters as people instead of icons and the songs as spontaneous bursts of emotional truth, not as a greatest-hits package.
More

RUSTHOVEN: No dispute about civil illiteracyRestricted Content

September 13, 2014
Peter J. Rusthoven / Special to IBJ
My friend and Taking Issues counterpart Sheila Kennedy and I disagree on many things. But Kennedy, who heads Indiana University’s Center for Civic Literacy, is dead right about the woeful ignorance among Americans about our history and governmental system.
More

CONTERNO: Attack diabetes epidemic togetherRestricted Content

September 13, 2014
Enrique Conterno / Special to IBJ
The numbers tell an urgent story: Diabetes is a global epidemic that strikes close to home.
More

LOPRESTI: Gods of sport, our list of grievances knows no bounds

September 13, 2014
Someone has an Indianapolis voodoo doll with a pin stuck in it.
More

MAURER: Roll up your sleeves for Indy Do DayRestricted Content

September 13, 2014
Service event is as good for you and your customers as for the causes you will help.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Eiteljorg show evokes many stories

September 13, 2014
Lou Harry
Annual "Quest for the West" exhibition stresses the familiar over the innovative. And that's just how collectors like it.
More

DINING: Sandwich shop pleases with cheeses

September 13, 2014
Lou Harry
Thanks to a "Shark Tank" score, Tom + Chee is spreading. Thoughts on its first Indy location.
More

HICKS: Focus on shrinking the federal governmentRestricted Content

September 13, 2014
Mike Hicks
Small-government sentiment runs strong in Indiana, and we can be pleased with the resulting low taxes, thoughtful regulatory environment and greater personal freedom. Still, I think much of the small-government movement in Indiana targets the wrong problems.
More

KIM: Worlds of sports, finance continue to collideRestricted Content

September 13, 2014
Mickey Kim
Instead of assembling a pretend roster for your fantasy football league, how would you like to actually own a piece of Andrew Luck or your favorite player?
More

Kennedy criticized wrong interest groupRestricted Content

September 13, 2014
Sheila Kennedy again shows her liberal bias in her [Sept. 8] commentary on civics. She complains about the lack of knowledge of “we the people” about our government and our electoral processes, but decides to tie it to political contributions.
More

Think long term for Asherwood’s futureRestricted Content

September 13, 2014
IBJ’s [Sept. 8] report on the for-sale listing of the Simon family’s 106-acre estate, Asherwood, in Carmel presents a great opportunity for a new owner to reforest the 18-hole golf course.
More

EDITORIAL: Digital billboards could fill coffersRestricted Content

September 6, 2014
The city should put another bargaining chip on the table: revenue.
More

KENNEDY: In the country of the blindRestricted Content

September 6, 2014
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Two unrelated articles in the Aug. 31 New York Times brought me up short. The first was yet another analysis of (un)representative government in Ferguson, Mo.; the second addressed the growing power of Americans for Prosperity, the Koch brothers’ political organization.
More

HENDERSON: No, you can’t hide anymoreRestricted Content

September 6, 2014
Tom Henderson
Customer retention and new sales can be trendy. If you’re Comcast/Xfinity, as an example, you’re reeling from the insane firestorm of social media castigation as regards to how you’ve trained, monitored and improved the quality of your customer service representatives.
More

Lopresti: Time for the main course: NFL rivalries now in season

September 6, 2014
Sink your teeth into these anticipated Colts match-ups.
More
Page  1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
thisissue1-092914.jpg 092914

Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Cramer agrees...says don't buy it and sell it if you own it! Their "pay to play" cost is this issue. As long as they charge customers, they never will attain the critical mass needed to be a successful on company...Jim Cramer quote.

  2. My responses to some of the comments would include the following: 1. Our offer which included the forgiveness of debt (this is an immediate forgiveness and is not "spread over many years")represents debt that due to a reduction of interest rates in the economy arguably represents consideration together with the cash component of our offer that exceeds the $2.1 million apparently offered by another party. 2. The previous $2.1 million cash offer that was turned down by the CRC would have netted the CRC substantially less than $2.1 million. As a result even in hindsight the CRC was wise in turning down that offer. 3. With regard to "concerned Carmelite's" discussion of the previous financing Pedcor gave up $16.5 million in City debt in addition to the conveyance of the garage (appraised at $13 million)in exchange for the $22.5 million cash and debt obligations. The local media never discussed the $16.5 million in debt that we gave up which would show that we gave $29.5 million in value for the $23.5 million. 4.Pedcor would have been much happier if Brian was still operating his Deli and only made this offer as we believe that we can redevelop the building into something that will be better for the City and City Center where both Pedcor the citizens of Carmel have a large investment. Bruce Cordingley, President, Pedcor

  3. I've been looking for news on Corner Bakery, too, but there doesn't seem to be any info out there. I prefer them over Panera and Paradise so can't wait to see where they'll be!

  4. WGN actually is two channels: 1. WGN Chicago, seen only in Chicago (and parts of Canada) - this station is one of the flagship CW affiliates. 2. WGN America - a nationwide cable channel that doesn't carry any CW programming, and doesn't have local affiliates. (In addition, as WGN is owned by Tribune, just like WTTV, WTTK, and WXIN, I can't imagine they would do anything to help WISH.) In Indianapolis, CW programming is already seen on WTTV 4 and WTTK 29, and when CBS takes over those stations' main channels, the CW will move to a sub channel, such as 4.2 or 4.3 and 29.2 or 29.3. TBS is only a cable channel these days and does not affiliate with local stations. WISH could move the MyNetwork affiliation from WNDY 23 to WISH 8, but I am beginning to think they may prefer to put together their own lineup of syndicated programming instead. While much of it would be "reruns" from broadcast or cable, that's pretty much what the MyNetwork does these days anyway. So since WISH has the choice, they may want to customize their lineup by choosing programs that they feel will garner better ratings in this market.

  5. The Pedcor debt is from the CRC paying ~$23M for the Pedcor's parking garage at City Center that is apprased at $13M. Why did we pay over the top money for a private businesses parking? What did we get out of it? Pedcor got free parking for their apartment and business tenants. Pedcor now gets another building for free that taxpayers have ~$3M tied up in. This is NOT a win win for taxpayers. It is just a win for Pedcor who contributes heavily to the Friends of Jim Brainard. The campaign reports are on the Hamilton County website. http://www2.hamiltoncounty.in.gov/publicdocs/Campaign%20Finance%20Images/defaultfiles.asp?ARG1=Campaign Finance Images&ARG2=/Brainard, Jim

ADVERTISEMENT