Indy lands Big Ten championships through 2022

Back to TopCommentsE-mailPrintBookmark and Share

Indianapolis has scored another event-hosting coup by landing the Big Ten Football Championship through 2021 and sharing hosting duties for the conference’s Basketball Tournament with Chicago through 2020, the Big Ten announced Thursday.

The announcement allays suspicion that the conference intended to shift championship play to East Coast venues, with the inclusion of Rutgers University and University of Maryland later this year.

The football championship will continue to be hosted in Lucas Oil Stadium through 2021. Chicago’s United Center will stage the basketball tourney in 2019 and 2021, alternating with Bankers Life Fieldhouse in 2020 and 2022.

The women's basketball tournament will be played in Indianapolis from 2017-22.

“These two cities (Indianapolis and Chicago) have been tremendous hosts and partners with first-class facilities and an outstanding base of Big Ten alumni and fans who support conference events,” said Big Ten Commissioner James E. Delany in a prepared release. “We are proud of the history that we have developed with these two great cities and look forward to maintaining a significant presence in both locations.”

The championships are considered big prizes for host cities. The economic impact of the football championship wavers depending on the opponents, but it typically is ballparked between $12 million and $15 million when hosted in Indianapolis. The impact is similar for the basketball tournament—between $11 million and $14 million, hospitality officials have said.

With the addition of Maryland and New Jersey-based Rutgers this July, some observers had questioned whether the Big Ten would take advantage of their locations to host championship events in large East Coast media markets. The conference had previously awarded the 2017 men's basketball tournament to Washington, D.C.

After the city failed to land the 2018 Super Bowl last month, tourism officials said they were immediately headed into negotiations for Big Ten football and basketball events, as well as future Final Fours and 2020 Olympic trials.

Here is the full schedule for the championship events through 2020:

Big Ten Football Championship Game
Previously awarded – Indianapolis (2014-2015)
Thursday’s announcement – Indianapolis (2016-2021)

Big Ten Men’s Basketball Tournament
Previously awarded – Chicago (2015), Indianapolis (2016), Washington, D.C. (2017)
Thursday’s snnouncement – Chicago (2019, 2021) and Indianapolis (2020, 2022)
(The 2018 tournament will be announced by the Big Ten at a later date).
Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament
Previously awarded – Chicago (2015), Indianapolis (2016)
Thursday's announcement – Indianapolis (2017-2022)


Post a comment to this story

We reserve the right to remove any post that we feel is obscene, profane, vulgar, racist, sexually explicit, abusive, or hateful.
You are legally responsible for what you post and your anonymity is not guaranteed.
Posts that insult, defame, threaten, harass or abuse other readers or people mentioned in IBJ editorial content are also subject to removal. Please respect the privacy of individuals and refrain from posting personal information.
No solicitations, spamming or advertisements are allowed. Readers may post links to other informational websites that are relevant to the topic at hand, but please do not link to objectionable material.
We may remove messages that are unrelated to the topic, encourage illegal activity, use all capital letters or are unreadable.

Messages that are flagged by readers as objectionable will be reviewed and may or may not be removed. Please do not flag a post simply because you disagree with it.

Sponsored by

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. This is still my favorite Mexican restaurant in town. What I do love about the new version is it is much quieter than the most recent version. TV's were off, the music wasn't too loud, and the wait staff were not hyperactive like they had been the past few times I had been there. I just wish they would bring back the MOLE for the enchiladas!

  2. Not a bad paper. There is a need for local community news and city government issues. Don't really need the owner's constant national political rants. We all know where they stand by now.

  3. What nice people. Menard should've known better than to team up with the guy who robbed and drove Conseco to ashes. I'm surprised Timothy Durham isn't involved in this.

  4. Hello, I am Maris Peters, currently living in Texas city, USA. I am a widow at the moment with three kids and i was stuck in a financial situation in August 2014 and i needed to refinance and pay my bills. I tried seeking loans from various loan Companies both private and corporate but never with success, and most banks declined my credit. But as God would have it, I was introduced to a Man of God a private loan lender who gave me a loan of $65,000USD and today am a business owner and my kids are doing well at the moment, if you must contact any firm or company with reference to securing a loan without collateral , no credit check, no co signer with just 2% interest rate and better repayment plans and schedule, please contact Mr William David. He doesn’t know that am doing this but am so happy now and i decided to let people know more about him and also i want God to bless him more.You can contact him through his email: Davidloanfirm@yahoo.com

  5. It is beyond me how anyone can think this was a "bad deal" for the state! If they could take the money back then, yes, but they can't! Protections were built in the agreement. Now, if they roll the roads up and take them away, I will agree that it was a bad deal. Otherwise, the only way to have paid for the infrastructure that was badly needed was for the state to issue bonds....that is a four letter synonym for debt folks!!