Opinion

Woman performed work as contractor

May 1, 2010
I read your article on Vida Aventura and Deseri Garcia in the April 12 issue with interest since Garcia once worked for my company, Team Summit. However, I feel it is important to clarify some of the information contained in the story.
More

EDITORIAL: Simon could score for city library

April 24, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Perhaps it’s time for Pacers owner Herb Simon—a billionaire like his late brother—to burnish his credentials as a philanthropist who makes the city a better place to live and work.
More

HARTON: Our environment provides another path to better health

April 24, 2010
Tom Harton
One recent study showed that medical costs fall more than $3 for every $1 spent on wellness programs. But something doesn’t add up.
More

MARCUS: Privatization not the only answer

April 24, 2010
Morton Marcus
Privatization is a popular political parlor game. Instead of providing thoughtful reasoning for consideration by an informed electorate, officials try to meet public needs through artfulness.
More

COOK: Restoring buildings revitalizes communities

April 24, 2010
William A. Cook
I got involved in restoration projects more than 30 years ago when a serious cardiac illness sidelined me from my medical-device business.
More

ALTOM: Is your smartphone good for business use?

April 24, 2010
Tim Altom
I love smartphones. No other form of biz-tech allows me so much opportunity to be so curmudgeonly about something so popular.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: You won't be bored with Weegee

April 24, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, photographs by the legendary Weegee at the Indianapolis Museum of Art. Plus a visit from the national tour of “A Chorus Line.”
More

DINING: Experiencing pub style, the Brockway way

April 24, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Carmel eatery bills itself as the country's first Dublin-inspired "industrial" pub.
More

BENNER: Think twice before ripping the blue and goldRestricted Content

April 24, 2010
Bill Benner
I defy anyone to tell me that losing the Pacers would be a positive thing for Indianapolis.
More

HETRICK: Job-seeking advice for graduates and grownups, tooRestricted Content

April 24, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
My advice has undergone a course correction to adapt to these challenging times.
More

HICKS: Unemployment situation brings up questionsRestricted Content

April 24, 2010
Mike Hicks
Perhaps the biggest problem is in estimating who is in and not in the formal work force. Even in good times, a surprising number of workers labor in the shadow economy, invisible to government statisticians.
More

Let Citizens take over sports venues

April 24, 2010
There may be a solution to the Capital Improvement Board’s financial problems, described in [the April 19] IBJ, that are further complicated by the Pacers wanting to renegotiate their Conseco agreement.
More

Citizens' takeover of water will be a relief

April 24, 2010
Tom Henderson gets it wrong in his [April 12] view that “Part of the overall utility problem is that lack of government oversight and public policy vision has made Indianapolis one of the highest-polluting and just plain ugliest cities in the Midwest.”
More

Colleges should target learning, not time

April 24, 2010
The Morton Marcus [March 29] column on graduation rates hit home. I too do not like credentialism as an excuse to avoid evaluating performance.
More

Educational quantity sacrifices quality

April 24, 2009
Morton Marcus is right to question postsecondary completion rates as the litmus test for evidence of learning (in the March 29 issue).
More

To grow economy, support small biz

April 24, 2010
Indianapolis, home to a higher convergence of chain restaurants per capita than most any U.S. city (44-percent higher than the national average), retained its crown last week.
More

EDITORIAL: Shed more light on Pacers' plight

April 17, 2010
 IBJ Staff
It would be a sad day in our civic history if the Indiana Pacers packed up and left for a place with more financial firepower. But there’s a limit to how far the city should go to keep the team from leaving home.
More

MAURER: Local diva enlightens operaRestricted Content

April 17, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Angela Brown has a voice that reaches extraordinary heights from roots that are set deep in Hoosier soil. She is a diva with a heart as big and as soft as her magnificent voice.
More

MARCUS: How much is too much when it comes to compensation?

April 17, 2010
Morton Marcus
This month, as you watched the gallant Butler University basketball team uphold the honor of the Hoosier state, did you wonder about the compensation of college coaches and their future NBA stars?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Chicago joins the 'Billy' club

April 17, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, the Broadway sensation “Billy Elliot” dances into Chicago for an extended run. And, closer to home, the Phoenix indulges in some conspiracy theorizing.
More

DINING: Ice House offers cold comfort

April 17, 2010
Lou Harry
One of the advantages of our month-long restaurant themes is that it gives us an excuse to visit old favorites, and this landmark certainly qualifies.
More

Senator should be strong, not 'moderate'

April 17, 2010
So Mickey Maurer is not enthralled with the Republican field for the U.S. Senate. His answer [in his April 5 column] is some home-grown “big-leaguer” who is a “moderate.” In other words, another Sen. Lugar. Ho-hum indeed!
More

BENNER: One last look at the Bulldogs ... in another universeRestricted Content

April 17, 2010
Bill Benner
In the two weeks since the NCAA title game, I can barely go a waking hour without someone asking me The Question: What if Gordon Hayward’s shot had gone in?
More

STYLE: Should we knock the knock-offs?

April 17, 2010
Gabrielle Poshadlo
In light of the copyright infringement lawsuits Coach has brought against two Indianapolis retailers, I find myself wondering if my purchase would be an ethical one, especially as someone who appreciates apparel (and accessories) as an art form.
More

GIGERICH: Happiness is factor in location choices

April 17, 2010
Larry Gigerich
State-by-state comparisons ranking residents' satisfaction levels are gaining traction in economic development circles. While rankings do not drive site-selection decisions, they do play a role.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Uh, sorry Johnnie, but you are incorrect. Despite the assertions by yourself and various defenders and captains, sports attendance is NOT off significantly at most sporting events in the US. Variances in attendance has been in the range of single digits, both + & - for years now. MLB has had most of its best overall attendance nubers in the last decade, and that trend has been consistent for most major sporting events. The number one issue cited by most fans when asked about attendance is the overall cost of attending. The presence of HD and big screen televisions in home doesn't even register, as a factor for not attending an event. VALUE in the product is the key, and apparently is something lacking in the current ICS. What other explanation is there when with what is routinely touted as the "best" racing on the planet, fans are staying away in DROVES. A "close" title battle into the last event at Fontana, with the "cars and stars" of the ICS, and who showed up? MAYBE 8K. Sorry, but HD TV isn't to blame for that kind of fan apathy.

  2. Do you need finance to establish your business ? Are you interested in getting a loan at 3% from our private company? If so please Email: suntrust_oil@blumail.org

  3. If she was worth the $ the public outcry over direct tv dropping them would have kept them on their dishes as we have seen with other companies. I too quit watching channel 13 after she showed up since I left channel 8 because of her all show rather than production results. When Randy on 8 corrected her she had a big head and incorrectly challenged his correction for pronunciation of a city. Other antics while she matures was too much for me with her very inaccurate forecasts. All the forecasters were predicting rain until Thursday except Chris. They predicted sunny on Thursday but instead of rain until Thursday upon which the sun would finally make it out in full glory Chris was right on the money just as I too predicted looking at the radar on weather.gov. One thing I love about Angela is the fear you can see in her every time it thunders in the winter. It far exceeds the entertainment value of her body language (high heel noise drags, depression, etc) when her forecasts are so incorrect. Her hair stands on end, you have to see it!!!

  4. Good Day, Apply For A Loan I am Mr Fernadez Antonio, a private Loan lender and a cooperate financial for real estate and any kinds of business financing. I also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at 3% interest rate We offer any kind of loans. email us via fernadezloaninvest@outlook.com LOAN APPLICATION FORM First name:......................... Middle name:......................... Last name:........................................ Date of birth (yyyy-mm-dd):....................... Gender:........................................... Marital status:................................... Total Amount Needed............................... Loan Duration.................................... Address:.......................................... City:............................................. State/province:................................... Zip/postal code:.................................. Country:.......................................... Phone:............................................ Fax:.............................................. Mobile/cellular:.................................. Monthly Income.................................... Occupation:....................................... Best Regard, Mr Fernadez Antonio.

  5. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.okoro how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. okoro on his email:okorospell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr okoro the great spell caster on his email addresses spellcasterforlove@outlook.com

ADVERTISEMENT