Opinion

EDITORIAL: Time for Brizzi to heed calls to step down

April 10, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Carl Brizzi’s once-promising political career is coming to an end. He won’t become a mayor or a congressman or win election to any of the posts that seemed within his grasp when he was an up-and-coming Republican.
More

HARTON: Escape your 'information cocoon'

April 10, 2010
Tom Harton
The information age is almost always spoken of in glowing terms. Information is empowering, so we’re told, even if it comes from a cave in the Middle East or a basement down the block or a corporate media machine that needs something—anything—to fill the gaps between the advertising on a 24-hour news channel.
More

ALTOM: Going green here may not be going green thereRestricted Content

April 10, 2010
Tim Altom
The idea behind the green office is to have a slightly smaller damaging effect on the environment in general. That sounds great, but I never forget that you can’t make ripples in only one part of a pond.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Tara Donovan at the IMA and thoughts on 'spoilers'

April 10, 2010
Lou Harry
In this artist's world, millions of cups blend into massive waves, pencils become an alien landscape, and stacks of tar paper evoke the apocalypse.
More

DINING: Barbecue joint offers smoked Southern comfort (food)

April 10, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Second in our month-long series of "House" restaurant reviews.
More

BENNER: Winners and more winners from the 2010 Final FourRestricted Content

April 10, 2010
Bill Benner
Praise for Brad Stevens, the Butler seniors, and more.
More

MARCUS: Not all business owners are entrepreneurs

April 10, 2010
Morton Marcus
A serial entrepreneur often thrives on getting a business going, making it a success, then selling it off by taking the firm public, or selling it to private investors or to another firm. The business owner, by contrast, often remains in the same place, doing the same thing year after year.
More

HENDERSON: The real reasons not to merge utilities

April 10, 2010
Tom Henderson
Part of the overall utility problem is that lack of government oversight and public policy vision has made Indianapolis one of the highest-polluting and just plain ugliest cities in the Midwest.
More

HICKS: Educated athletes add value to the magicRestricted Content

April 10, 2010
Mike Hicks
The greater truth is that what we learn from athletics might be just as important as what we learn in the classroom.
More

Brizzi story was misleading

April 10, 2010
As a longstanding member of the Indianapolis Bar and reader of IBJ, I was surprised and very disappointed to see an article appearing in this week’s issue [about Marion County Prosecutor Carl Brizzi] suggesting that a sentence reduction provided to Guilford Forney was based not solely on the merits.
More

Airport's ideas are a joke

April 10, 2010
I was more than a bit taken aback by the lame revenue generation suggestions offered in the lead story of [the March 29] IBJ (“Airport seeking revenue boost”).
More

Small schools give bang for buck

April 10, 2010
Economist Morton Marcus [on March 29] took issue with the notion that college and university graduation rates can be improved by tying compensation to increases (or decreases) in institutional graduation rates.
More

Need quality, quantity in higher ed

April 10, 2010
In his [March 29] column, “Set sights on education, not graduation,” Morton Marcus raises a vital point about Indiana’s higher education reform efforts—but he overlooks a larger one.
More

Editorial understated MIBOR commitment

April 10, 2010
Your editorial in the March 29 edition praising State Farm and city leaders for the commitment to the [2012 Super Bowl] housing “legacy project” was very commendable. But we do have a correction to what you stated about our piece of the project.
More

Column captured Hinkle's magic

April 10, 2010
My dad took me to Butler Fieldhouse to see Oscar [Robertson] play for Attucks—against Broad Ripple in the sectionals—and to see Tony’s Bulldogs.
More

Hinkle would be proud of Butler

April 10, 2010
Butler showed the “big boys” what true Indiana basketball is about and that the kids from the small cities and towns can keep up with the big schools.
More

HETRICK: Much more than economic impact from a Final FourRestricted Content

April 10, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
This year's events delivered a return on investment far more powerful than the estimated economic impact.
More

McCLANAHAN: Does e-mail boost or bust productivity?

April 9, 2010
CJ McClanahan
The more I deal with e-mail, the more I believe that, despite these extremely valuable benefits, e-mail is hurting our ability to effectively grow our businesses.
More

EDITORIAL: It takes money to raise graduation rates

April 3, 2010
 IBJ Staff
After the 2008-2009 school year—the first of the Greater Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce’s four-year Common Goal program, the overall graduation rate among public schools in Marion County had jumped from 69 percent to almost 74 percent.
More

MAURER: GOP missing golden opportunity for Bayh replacementRestricted Content

April 3, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Memo to the state Republican Party: Show me the candidate. We have a right to expect much from the party that gave us Sen. Richard Lugar.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Bottoms Up Burlesque offers a strip down memory lane

April 3, 2010
Lou Harry
Retro event proves more playful than provocative.
More

SURF THIS: Foursquare attempts to corner walk-in business market

April 3, 2010
Jim Cota
Why would you want to check in at various locations on your smart phone?
More

DINING: Scotty's spin-off offers pier-less dining at Lakehouse

April 3, 2010
Lou Harry
There's no water in view, but Scotty's Lakehouse is true to its subtitle: A Burger Joint.
More

BENNER: Hey, Hink? You'd be proud of this Butler teamRestricted Content

April 3, 2010
Bill Benner
Itâ??s all about the whole, not the parts. They cut and move, move, move on offense. They defend like their scholarships depend on it.
More

MARCUS: Small gains do not deserve a celebration

April 3, 2010
Morton Marcus
Both the Indiana and U.S. income growth rates are extremely small and each rounds off to a measly 0.6 percent. To be somewhat healthier than your sickly neighbors does not mean that you are well.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Hiking blocks to an office after fighting traffic is not logical. Having office buildings around the loop, 465 and in cities in surrounding counties is logical. In other words, counties around Indianapolis need office buildings like Keystone, Meridian, Michigan Road/College Park and then no need to go downtown. Financial, legal, professional businesses don't need the downtown when Carmel, Fishers, North Indy are building their own central office buildings close to the professionals. The more Hamilton, Boone county attract professionals, the less downtown is relevant. Highrises have no meaning if they don't have adequate parking for professionals and clients. Great for show, but not exactly downtown Chicago, no lakefront, no river to speak of, and no view from highrises of lake Michigan and the magnificent mile. Indianapolis has no view.

  2. "The car count, THE SERIES, THE RACING, THE RATINGS, THE ATTENDANCE< AND THE MANAGEMENT, EVERY season is sub-par." ______________ You're welcome!

  3. that it actually looked a lot like Sato v Franchitti @Houston. And judging from Dario's marble mouthed presentation providing "color", I'd say that he still suffers from his Dallara inflicted head injury._______Considering that the Formula E cars weren't going that quickly at that exact moment, that was impressive air time. But I guess we shouldn't be surprised, as Dallara is the only car builder that needs an FAA certification for their cars. But flying Dallaras aren't new. Just ask Dan Wheldon.

  4. Does anyone know how and where I can get involved and included?

  5. While the data supporting the success of educating our preschoolers is significant, the method of reaching this age group should be multi-faceted. Getting business involved in support of early childhood education is needed. But the ways for businesses to be involved are not just giving money to programs and services. Corporations and businesses educating their own workforce in the importance of sending a child to kindergarten prepared to learn is an alternative way that needs to be addressed. Helping parents prepare their children for school and be involved is a proven method for success. However, many parents are not sure how to help their children. The public is often led to think that preschool education happens only in schools, daycare, or learning centers but parents and other family members along with pediatricians, librarians, museums, etc. are valuable resources in educating our youngsters. When parents are informed through work lunch hour workshops in educating a young child, website exposure to exceptional teaching ideas that illustrate how to encourage learning for fun, media input, and directed community focus on early childhood that is when a difference will be seen. As a society we all need to look outside the normal paths of educating and reaching preschoolers. It is when methods of involving the most important adult in a child's life - a parent, that real success in educating our future workers will occur. The website www.ifnotyouwho.org is free and illustrates activities that are research-based, easy to follow and fun! Businesses should be encouraging their workers to tackle this issue and this website makes it easy for parents to be involved. The focus of preschool education should be to inspire all the adults in a preschooler's life to be aware of what they can do to prepare a child for their future life. Fortunately we now know best practices to prepare a child for a successful start to school. Is the business community ready to be involved in educating preschoolers when it becomes more than a donation but a challenge to their own workers?

ADVERTISEMENT