Opinion

A bit of Lauth historyRestricted Content

June 1, 2009
Regarding the May 25 story, ["Lauth granted reprieve,"] please note that Lauth Property Group is an offshoot of the original company founded by myself and Terry Eaton in 1976. It was then known as Ernst/Eaton Associates.
More

MARCUS: Let's reassess reassessmentRestricted Content

June 1, 2009
Morton Marcus
The process of assessment could be simplified and performed uniformly and inexpensively.
More

Civility is admired in life and deathRestricted Content

June 1, 2009
Mickey Maurer
What would you want said in your obituary that would set you apart from your peers?
More

HICKS: Administration demonized 'investors' in Chrysler dealRestricted Content

June 1, 2009
Mike Hicks
Almost one-third of Chrysler's investors are schoolteachers, college administrators, firefighters and police officers. These "vultures" of Wall Street finance have seen the value of their hard work severely hampered by the Chrysler bankrutcy plan.
More

Recession toughens faith communitiesRestricted Content

June 1, 2009
More

DINING: Quick-serve Roscoe's Tacos keeps quality intact

June 1, 2009
Lou Harry
I'll make the case that Roscoe's Tacos (642 S. Madison Ave., Greenwood) deserves a spot among those who rotate among the area's many Mexican restaurants. That's because this eatery's operators know what they want to do and do it well.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IRT's 'Interpreting William' needs rewriting

June 1, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, William Conner on stage at the IRT and another chorus of  "Tomorrow," courtesy of Beef & Boards.
More

Remove barriers to lower costsRestricted Content

June 1, 2009
Todd Roberson
By preserving residency as a condition to distribute booze, our Legislature is protecting Indiana's existing liquor distributors, many of whom do business in neighboring states like Illinois and Michigan. This antiquated standard is anti-competitive and ultimately means higher prices and reduced selection for Indiana residents.
More

Are new, low-cost laptops good for business?Restricted Content

May 25, 2009
Tim Altom
Today, there are some small "notebook" machines on the market that mock the high prices of their bigger siblings. These can be had for $200 to $400, and have enough features to make them real business tools if you're not too demanding.
More

Holiday a reminder of the value of public serviceRestricted Content

May 25, 2009
Mike Hicks
Many lament the loss of what might be called timeless values. I place these into two categories; both are exemplified and sustained by military service.
More

Pay for diplomas is smart incentiveRestricted Content

May 25, 2009
Incentives have long been used as an effective tool in business to improve employee performance. But can a concept that helps companies motivate workers also work in public education?
More

In tough times, remember the arts as a civic dutyRestricted Content

May 25, 2009
Attend arts events, visit our cultural organizations, and support our sports teams. If you don't make regular donations to arts and cultural organizations, there has never been a better and more important time to give.
More

DINING: Cobblestone Grill offers tasty lunch until 5

May 25, 2009
Lou Harry

One of the pleasures—and there are numerous ones—of Zionsville’s Cobblestone Grill (160 S. Main St., Zionsville, 873-4745) is that its lunch menu is offered beyond the traditional midday-meal hours.

More

Consumers too connected to TV, telephone noiseRestricted Content

May 25, 2009
Carol Faenzi
Why are we so addicted to being "connected?" The cell phone, the BlackBerry, the television, all have "power off" buttons, but maybe that's itâ??when we turn the power off, does the sense of being disconnected makes us feel less powerful?
More

Journalism is the value propositionRestricted Content

May 25, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
The newspaper business isn't dying; it's morphing.
More

Tourism should not be our focusRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
If a city really wants to attract people to its city (to live and visit), it has to become a better city, but to become a better city it has to know what it is and what it wants to be and what it can be.
More

General Assembly heeds public mayhem, not public policyRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
Morton Marcus
Which group should make the spending decisions? Consumers or elected officials?
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Rickey's sculptures, Phoenix's 'Zoomerville' advance Indy's art reputation

May 18, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, art in the wind and an original musical.
More

State tourism advertising poses tough questionRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
Mike Hicks
If Indiana is to be marketed as a region, government will be the one to do it.
More

Prepare for Indiana's low-carbon economyRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
Jesse Kharbanda
No doubt the transition to a low-carbon economy will bring great challenges for Hoosier businesses, given how carbon-intensive our society is. However, if we take proactive steps, Indiana can emerge as a standout success story.
More

Visible progress in the city hides other troublesRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
Indianapolis still looks like a city with momentum, despite the dismal economy. But appearances can be deceiving.
More

Top investment minds weigh in on erratic marketRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
Ken SkarbeckMore

Stop funding CIBRestricted Content

May 18, 2009
Well-intentioned or not, competent or not, the so-called "leaders" [sports columnist Bill Benner] referenced in your [May 4] column failed miserably in representing the best interests of taxpayers and instead presided over an unconscionable transfer of wealth from "We the people" to a small number of professional sports owners and players.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Rate expectations ... reviewing without stars

May 11, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, two community theater productions reinforce my decision not to give "star" ratings.
More

EPA policies cannot force economic choicesRestricted Content

May 11, 2009
Mike Hicks
We are at a critical moment in environmental policy. We suffer a dearth of frankness on the matter that imperils the quality of our decision-making.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT