IBJNews

Holiday Wish List

IBJ Staff
December 15, 2012
Back to TopCommentsE-mailPrintBookmark and Share

The following is a list of Indianapolis-area not-for-profit organizations and the things each needs most. This is an opportunity for businesses and individuals to make tax-deductible gifts in the spirit of the season. Anyone who wishes to make a contribution should contact the organization directly.

This list is being published weekly through Dec. 24.

Requests should be limited to five items or services (not cash) and should include a contact name, telephone number and e-mail address. Submit requests by e-mail to bhoffman@ibj.com, fax to 263-5406, or mail to Holiday Wish List, Indianapolis Business Journal, 41 E. Washington St., 46204.


Art With a Heart, Andrew Lee, 602-7222, alee@artwithaheart.us. New server and up to three flat screen monitors at least 20” in size, specific art materials (contact for a list), volunteer assistance on marketing committee, donated printing valued at around $500 for a new parent engagement project.

Cancer Support Community Central Indiana, Brandi Truesdale, 257-1505, brandi@cancersupportindy.org. Multimedia TV stand to hold 46” television; desktop or laptop computer for resource library; Wii console and games for teen night; 15 yoga mats; Wal-Mart, Target, Kroger or Marsh gas and gift cards.

Girls on the Run of Hamilton County, Kelley Stokesbary, (859) 396-5612, kelley@gotrhamiltoncounty.org. Web site design services; gift cards to Marsh, Kroger or Sam’s Club; 15 reams of plain white copier paper; 10 packages of construction paper; copier service (or copier).

Hendricks Regional Health Foundation, Sue Bogan, 745-7376, sebogan@hendricks.org. Print services, video services, sleeves of golf balls, event tickets, restaurant gift cards.

Horizon House, Teresa Wessel, 423-8909 ext. 304, teresaw@horizonhouse.cc. Men’s winter gloves, disposable twin-blade razors, deodorant, toothbrushes, toothpaste.

Indy Reads, Alyssa Newerth, 275-4040, anewerth@indyreads.org. Coat rack, Karaoke machine, collapsible portable rolling cart, Keurig coffee maker, movie projection screen.

Institute for Affordable Transportation, Will Austin, 213-1088, will.austin@driveBUV.org. Roll-up exhibit displays (retractable banner device), gas station gift cards, freight to east coast (1200 lbs, 90 cubic feet), 35 mm SLR camera with HD video, thank you gifts for volunteers (value around $10).

Joy’s House, Leah Shattuck, 254-0828, leah@joyshouse.org. Generator, iPod Touch, lawn mower, rug shampooer, projector with computer hookup.

Marion County Commission on Youth, Stephanie Freeman, 921-1205, Stephanie.Freeman@mccoyouth.org. Box of 1,000 #10 business envelopes, 12 cases of copy paper, 12 Post-it easel pads (25x30), 12 cases of water, IT consulting for Joomla Website.

Mary Rigg Neighborhood Center, Erin Cartwright, 639-6106 ext. 202, ecartwright@maryrigg.org. Utility/cargo van for weekly food pantry pick-ups; up to 20,000 square feet of carpet tiles; 6-foot white, plastic tables; four foldable, pop-up canopy tents; staff cafeteria/lounge chairs.

St. Pius X Council of the Knights of Columbus, Jim Liston, 208-6344, jliston@catholicbusinessexchange.org. Outside Nativity scene for the lawn at the northside Knights of Columbus.

Training Inc., Raquel Ravinet, 264-6740, Raquel@traininginc-indy.org. Graphic design assistance, bus passes, winter outerwear, flash drives, $10 gift cards to grocery/big box stores.

Trusted Mentors Inc., Jeri Warner, 985-5041, jwarner@trustedmentors.org. Office supplies; tickets to events for our clients; $10 gift cards for Kroger, Speedway, Starbucks; white board; carafe coffee pot for training.

United Christmas Service, Lorna McClurkin, 921-1372, lorna.mcclurkin@uwci.org. Volunteers willing to adopt a family for Christmas.

United Way of Central Indiana, Melissa Jackson, 921-1335, melissa.jackson@uwci.org. Computers; picture books; sponsors for Early Readers Club; volunteer readers, mentors and tutors.

United Way of Central Indiana, Liz Odle, 921-1216, elizabeth.odle@uwci.org. Businesses to partner with a school for special events and volunteer experiences.

Young Actors Theatre, Catherine Wade, 432-8352, catherine@yatkids.org. Office copier; help with set building in January; couch, coffee table and armchair for Ramona Quimby set; photographer for January productions; Adobe Creative Suite.

* * *

Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Indiana, Whitney Snider, 472-3705, wsnider@bbbsci.org. White copy paper, DVDs and board games for children, mini refrigerator, professional photography services, battery charger and rechargeable AA batteries.

Brooke’s Place for Grieving Children, Sherry Sutton, 705-9650 ext. 12, sherrysutton@brookesplace.org. Gift cards to Costco, Wal-Mart, Marsh, etc.; oil pastels; Play-doh; washable markers; bubble wrap.

Cathedral Soup Kitchen, Margie Pike, 632-4360, margiepike@sbcglobal.net. Dark colored hoodies in size XL, white men’s socks, white t-shirts in size XL, woolen hats.

Damar Services, Donna Stutler, 856-5201, donnas@damar.org. Hats and gloves of all sizes, men’s athletic socks and gently used suits, event tickets, three-ring binders, gently used sporting equipment.

Dreamapolis, Jaron Garrett, 759-1255, jaron@dreamapolis.com. Office furniture and supplies for incubator spaces, printing services, PitchFest restaurant donors.

Exodus Refugee Immigration Inc., Laurie Cuellar, 921-0836, lcuellar@exodusrefugee.org. Gift cards to Target, Wal-Mart and grocery stores; IndyGo bus passes; rice cookers; cold weather outerwear; warm blankets.

Fairbanks, Katy Cummings, 572-9398, ccrichlow@fairbankscd.org. Bus passes, iPads, bath towels, blankets.

Freewheelin Community Bikes, Nancy Stimson, 926-5440, nancystimson@freewheelinbikes.org. Locking four-drawer file cabinet, folding chairs, video projector for meetings and educational purposes

Heritage Place, Ruth Ann Schroeder, 283-6662, heritageplaceindy@gmail.com. White board markers and cleaner, white and colored copy paper, white adhesive name badges, postage stamps, card stock paper.

Indiana Blind Children’s Foundation, Teresa Brun, 554-2742, TBrun@isbvik12.org. Volunteer with social media/Web expertise, design and printing services for a new brochure, color printer, bottled water for volunteers, artwork for office.

Indianapolis International Film Festival, Craig Mince, 730-7267, craig.mince@indyfilmfest.org. Postage stamps, printing services, wireless printer, iPad(s), Mac computer(s).

JCC Indianapolis, Martha Karatz, 251-9467 ext. 2209, mkaratz@jccindy.org. Videographer to create library of “how to” videos for JCC fitness center users, art project materials, books for preschool and early readers, costumes and accessories for preschool-age dress up, Automated External Defibrillator (AED).

JDRF Indiana State Chapter, Katie Graham, 308-4929, kgraham@jdrf.org. Volunteers for various office duties and event preparation, assistance in securing auction items for events.

Keep Indianapolis Beautiful Inc., Beth Kloote, 264-7555 ext. 107, bkloote@kibi.org. Brooms and dustpans, two pop-up tents, printing and signage services, trailer jack, five-gallon buckets.

Lebanon Area Boys and Girls Club, Steve Carr, (765) 482-5110, scarr@lebanonboysgirlsclub.org. Cafeteria flooring (approximately 1,000 sq. ft.), commercial kitchen equipment, art supplies, game room equipment, computer equipment including smart boards and color printers.

Local Initiatives Support Corp., Bill Taft, 454-8496, WTaft@lisc.org. Reception area furnishings including modern-style sofas and chairs, a rolling coat rack and a podium.

My Sister’s Place Inc., Carol Wellman, 509-1219, cwell@sbcglobal.net. Pallet jack, scale to weigh up to 1,000 pounds, pallet jack with attached scale.

Outrun the Sun Inc., Mary Beth Dedman, 253-2121, marybeth@outrunthesun.org. Heavy duty, multi-function copy machine; digital postal scale; office supply gift cards; print design services for print materials, banners and signage; billboard space for three months in Indianapolis-area.

Partners In Housing, Christopher Maples, 633-1861 ext.108, cmaples@partnersinhousingindy.org. Shelving, folding chairs, folding tables, IndyGo bus passes, baby formula.

Pink Ribbon Connection, Dori Sparks-Unsworth, 255-7465, dsparksunsworth@gmail.com. Folding machine, laptop computer, envelopes and stationary, carpet laying services, wiring to accommodate an electric range

Promising Futures of Central Indiana, Stephanie Lyons, 773-6342, slyons@promisingfutures.org. Diapers (all sizes); laundry detergent, fabric softener and dryer sheets; vacuum; African-American hair care products; fresh food.

Rock Steady Boxing Inc., Joyce Johnson, 205-9198, jjohnson@rocksteadyboxing.org. Bosu balls, medicine ball tree, Title 140-lb water heavy bag, Title boxing jumbo ball, Title classic freestanding reflex bag.

Ronald McDonald House of Indiana, Joe Schultz, 269-2247, JSchulz@rmh-indiana.org. New bed pillows; new pots, pans and baking sheets; new kitchen utensils and accessories; Wal-Mart, Meijer and Walgreen’s gift cards; copy paper.

SENSE Charter School, Kate Voss, 423-0204, kvoss@senseindy.org. Non-perishable food items and cleaning supplies; uniforms, winter coats and underwear; haircut services; volunteer tutors and mentors; field trips.

The Social of Greenwood, Bob Goodrum, 882-4810, bob@thesocialofgreenwood.org. New or used pickup truck, new or used passenger van, painting services, copier paper, carpet cleaning services.

The Villages, Katee Franson, (800) 874-6880, kfranson@villages.org. Infant and toddler clothing and diapers; toys and books for children of all ages; personal care items; gift cards to Wal-Mart, Target, Meijer, Best Buy and grocery stores; children’s coats, hats and gloves.

Volunteers of America of Indiana, Sara Pugh, 224-2616, Spugh@voain.org. Donations of toys for all ages.

WaterStep – Indy, CoraLyn Turentine, 354-6491, CJTurentine@gmail.com. A van or truck to pick up shoe donations, donated office space, marketing materials, assistance in developing an affiliate business plan, publicity services.

* * *

The Food Link, Wynn Tinkham, 846-9112, thefoodlink@aol.com. Two laptop computers (new or slightly used) for intake recording at our pantry.

Gennesaret Free Clinics, Rebecca Seifert, 639-5645 ext. 201, rseifert@gennesaret.org. Men’s knit stocking hats, men’s white tube socks, toothpaste and toothbrushes, travel hygiene products.

Hendricks County Community Foundation, William Rhodehamel, 268-6240, william@hendrickscountycf.org. IT services, video production services, restaurant gift cards, flat screen monitor, photo printing.

HVAF of Indiana Inc., Debra Des Vignes, 333-8976, ddesvignes@hvaf.org. Bath towels, twin sheets, deodorant and shaving cream, long johns, winter gloves (all sizes).

Kiwanis Foundation of Indianapolis Inc., Brad Boyd, 636-9700, bboyd@indykiwanis.org. Corporate sponsor partners for youth scholarship programs; file cabinets (four-drawer and/or lateral files); public relations, Web site and social media marketing services; photo and video “storytelling” services; print and sign-making services.

Indiana Mothers Milk Bank, Janice O’Rourke, 536-1670, jorourke@immb.org. New computer server, hardware for 12 work stations, new phone system.

Indianapolis Air Show, Beth Vahle, 335-7252, bvahle@indyairshow.com. Gift cards to Staples, Office Depot, Office Max, etc.; one or two color LaserJet printers; ink cartridges for an HP color LaserJet 2840, an Epson Stylus CX3810 or an HP PSC 2210 printer.

Noble of Indiana, Rita Davis, 375-4256, rita.davis@nobleofindiana.org. Windows 7, or newer Windows XP, laptops with WiFi; HP network laser printers; digital cameras; an awning; commercial-size icemaker.

Starfish Initiative, Bob Kizer, 955-7912, bob@starfishinitiative.org. New phone system with up to ten duplex Cisco speaker handsets with monochrome or color screens, conference station 7937G for our training center, a UC560-FXO-K9 gateway.

Teachers Treasures, Barb Sweeney, 264-1758, barb@teacherstreasures.org  Wrap for box-truck, 10’ ft. rolling safety ladder, printing and signage services, IT help in automating inventory, new or used school and office supplies.•
 

ADVERTISEMENT

Post a comment to this story

COMMENTS POLICY
We reserve the right to remove any post that we feel is obscene, profane, vulgar, racist, sexually explicit, abusive, or hateful.
 
You are legally responsible for what you post and your anonymity is not guaranteed.
 
Posts that insult, defame, threaten, harass or abuse other readers or people mentioned in IBJ editorial content are also subject to removal. Please respect the privacy of individuals and refrain from posting personal information.
 
No solicitations, spamming or advertisements are allowed. Readers may post links to other informational websites that are relevant to the topic at hand, but please do not link to objectionable material.
 
We may remove messages that are unrelated to the topic, encourage illegal activity, use all capital letters or are unreadable.
 

Messages that are flagged by readers as objectionable will be reviewed and may or may not be removed. Please do not flag a post simply because you disagree with it.

Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Of what value is selling alcoholic beverages to State Fair patrons when there are many families with children attending. Is this the message we want to give children attending and participating in the Fair, another venue with alooholic consumption onsite. Is this to promote beer and wine production in the state which are great for the breweries and wineries, but where does this end up 10-15 years from now, lots more drinkers for the alcoholic contents. If these drinks are so important, why not remove the alcohol content and the flavor and drink itself similar to soft drinks would be the novelty, not the alcoholic content and its affects on the drinker. There is no social or material benefit from drinking alcoholic beverages, mostly people want to get slightly or highly drunk.

  2. I did;nt know anyone in Indiana could count- WHY did they NOT SAY just HOW this would be enforced? Because it WON;T! NOW- with that said- BIG BROTHER is ALIVE in this Article-why take any comment if it won't appease YOU PEOPLE- that's NOT American- with EVERYTHING you indicated is NOT said-I can see WHY it say's o Comments- YOU are COMMIES- BIG BROTHER and most likely- voted for Obama!

  3. In Europe there are schools for hairdressing but you don't get a license afterwards but you are required to assist in turkey and Italy its 7 years in japan it's 10 years England 2 so these people who assist know how to do hair their not just anybody and if your an owner and you hire someone with no experience then ur an idiot I've known stylist from different countries with no license but they are professional clean and safe they have no license but they have experience a license doesn't mean anything look at all the bad hairdressers in the world that have fried peoples hair okay but they have a license doesn't make them a professional at their job I think they should get rid of it because stateboard robs stylist and owners and they fine you for the dumbest f***ing things oh ur license isn't displayed 100$ oh ur wearing open toe shoes fine, oh there's ONE HAIR IN UR BRUSH that's a fine it's like really? So I think they need to go or ease up on their regulations because their too strict

  4. Exciting times in Carmel.

  5. Twenty years ago when we moved to Indy I was a stay at home mom and knew not very many people.WIBC was my family and friends for the most part. It was informative, civil, and humerous with Dave the KING. Terri, Jeff, Stever, Big Joe, Matt, Pat and Crumie. I loved them all, and they seemed to love each other. I didn't mind Greg Garrison, but I was not a Rush fan. NOW I can't stand Chicks and all their giggly opinions. Tony Katz is to abrasive that early in the morning(or really any time). I will tune in on Saturday morning for the usual fun and priceless information from Pat and Crumie, mornings it will be 90.1

ADVERTISEMENT