Opinion

BENNER: Fixing dysfunctional NBA will take time, flexibilityRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Bill Benner
Unlike the NFL, which is swimming in money, the NBA is drowning in red ink.
More

Lugar respondsRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
A [June 27] letter to the editor entitled “Lugar column sparks policy questions” asks for some examples of actions that have generated my claims of regulatory overreach at the Environmental Protection Administration.
More

Hudnut merits honorRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
I wish to give a resounding “second” to Louis Mahern’s “Call to properly honor civic giant Hudnut” in [Forefront, June 27].
More

BOEHM: Mayor's touch is key to IPS improvementRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Ted Boehm / Special to IBJ
We are at risk of ... bad outcomes from the way we choose the top leadership of our school systems.
More

CAMPBELL: Let's hear more trees falling in IndianapolisRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Steve Campbell / Special to IBJ
The campaigns for these new developments were essentially commercials for all these nice and livable communities outside the city.
More

HUDNUT: Nordstrom loss is setback ... and opportunityRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Bill Hudnut
When I first heard about the downtown Nordstrom store closing, of course I was disappointed.
More

GARCIA: Demonize one minority, demonize them allRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Charles J. Garcia / Special to IBJ
Reasonable politicians begin their descent into hell as they look away while others within their constituency have their civil rights eroded.
More

KETZENBERGER: Polarizing politics paralyzes public policyRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
If we’re not careful with this increasingly all-or-nothing mentality, we’ll find ourselves living with tumbleweeds and dirt streets.
More

SHELLA: Print's decline is bad for this news junkieRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
I appreciate the fact that a team of people go through a day’s worth of information and try to prioritize it for me.
More

HARRIS: We need a system to make high school diplomas countRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
David Harris / Special to IBJ
Unfortunately, too many students who make it through high school aren’t well prepared for what comes next.
More

MEREDITH: Diplomas don't guarantee mastery of work or life skillsRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Teresa Meredith / Special to IBJ
A diploma cannot guarantee commendable performance in college, respectable employment or even success in life.
More

EARLY: Loudly singing praises of education reformRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Rex Early / Special to IBJ
Vince Lombardi would want Bennett and Daniels on his team. These two bold leaders refused to quit on our kids.
More

WOUDENBERG: Feds don't call all shots on MedicaidRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Anita Y. Woudenberg / Special to IBJ
The states are free to exclude a provider from its Medicaid program for any reason provided under state law.
More

VAUGHN: Privatization punishes many, rewards fewRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
The only winners in this game are the attorneys and bureaucrats who make, and often end up breaking, the deals.
More

WEB REVIEW: Searching, for free, for the next great song

July 2, 2011
Jim Cota
NoiseTrade helps you discover, download and keep songs...in exchange for your e-mail address and ZIP code.
More

EDITORIAL: Lessons to draw from Republic-Frontier dealRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Despite some post-acquisition stumbles, the moral of the story should not be that Hoosier executives need to proceed with greater caution.
More

MORRIS: Roadwork as far as the eye can seeRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Greg Morris
It doesn’t matter whether you are in the city, in the county, in the suburbs, or on state or interstate highways. You can’t avoid it. And that has a lot of people complaining.
More

MARCUS: Should we be offended by Times story?Restricted Content

July 2, 2011
Morton Marcus
Last month, The New York Times ran a story under the headline “Indiana: The Exception? Yes, but …” The story gave a factual presentation of our state’s economic circumstances, but with an overriding sarcasm that left a bad taste in Hoosier mouths.
More

KENNEDY: A regulatory no-brainer could save livesRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Cell phone users in the United States can’t choose to have radio on our phones because, when the ability to download first threatened the music industry’s business model, the carriers thought including broadcast radio would undermine their ability to sell music packages.
More

ALTOM: Smartphone makers rarely flip 'kill switch'Restricted Content

July 2, 2011
Tim Altom
When you bought your new smartphone, did the dealer tell you it had a remote “kill switch” that could summarily wipe out apps you’d downloaded to it? Probably not.
More

HICKS: Founding document holds lessons for todayRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Mike Hicks
The Declaration of Independence has some key tenets that bear mentioning in these times.
More

SKARBECK: Getting out of a hole requires digging by allRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
We live in a fantasy world if everyone thinks we need to cut back on spending unless it affects them.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Conner Prairie's best raid plans

July 2, 2011
Lou Harry
If you asked me a week ago what I knew about Indiana’s direct involvement in the Civil War, you would have been met with a blank stare. Then I was part of the regiment that helped kick the raiding party out of Indiana as part of the new “1863 Civil War Journey: Raid on Indiana” interactive exhibit at Conner Prairie.
More

DINING: Transitional signage masks above-average pizza

July 2, 2011
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of reviews of newish pizza places. This week: Eagle Creek Pizza.
More

Chipping away at our rightsRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Anita Woudenberg, [in her June 13 Forefront column “Indiana Supremes blew it with police case”] didn’t go far enough.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. These liberals are out of control. They want to drive our economy into the ground and double and triple our electric bills. Sierra Club, stay out of Indy!

  2. These activist liberal judges have gotten out of control. Thankfully we have a sensible supreme court that overturns their absurd rulings!

  3. Maybe they shouldn't be throwing money at the IRL or whatever they call it now. Probably should save that money for actual operations.

  4. For you central Indiana folks that don't know what a good pizza is, Aurelio's will take care of that. There are some good pizza places in central Indiana but nothing like this!!!

  5. I am troubled with this whole string of comments as I am not sure anyone pointed out that many of the "high paying" positions have been eliminated identified by asterisks as of fiscal year 2012. That indicates to me that the hospitals are making responsible yet difficult decisions and eliminating heavy paying positions. To make this more problematic, we have created a society of "entitlement" where individuals believe they should receive free services at no cost to them. I have yet to get a house repair done at no cost nor have I taken my car that is out of warranty for repair for free repair expecting the government to pay for it even though it is the second largest investment one makes in their life besides purchasing a home. Yet, we continue to hear verbal and aggressive abuse from the consumer who expects free services and have to reward them as a result of HCAHPS surveys which we have no influence over as it is 3rd party required by CMS. Peel the onion and get to the root of the problem...you will find that society has created the problem and our current political landscape and not the people who were fortunate to lead healthcare in the right direction before becoming distorted. As a side note, I had a friend sit in an ED in Canada for nearly two days prior to being evaluated and then finally...3 months later got a CT of the head. You pay for what you get...

ADVERTISEMENT