Opinion

VAUGHN: Privatization punishes many, rewards fewRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
The only winners in this game are the attorneys and bureaucrats who make, and often end up breaking, the deals.
More

WEB REVIEW: Searching, for free, for the next great song

July 2, 2011
Jim Cota
NoiseTrade helps you discover, download and keep songs...in exchange for your e-mail address and ZIP code.
More

EDITORIAL: Lessons to draw from Republic-Frontier dealRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Despite some post-acquisition stumbles, the moral of the story should not be that Hoosier executives need to proceed with greater caution.
More

MORRIS: Roadwork as far as the eye can seeRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Greg Morris
It doesn’t matter whether you are in the city, in the county, in the suburbs, or on state or interstate highways. You can’t avoid it. And that has a lot of people complaining.
More

MARCUS: Should we be offended by Times story?Restricted Content

July 2, 2011
Morton Marcus
Last month, The New York Times ran a story under the headline “Indiana: The Exception? Yes, but …” The story gave a factual presentation of our state’s economic circumstances, but with an overriding sarcasm that left a bad taste in Hoosier mouths.
More

KENNEDY: A regulatory no-brainer could save livesRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Cell phone users in the United States can’t choose to have radio on our phones because, when the ability to download first threatened the music industry’s business model, the carriers thought including broadcast radio would undermine their ability to sell music packages.
More

ALTOM: Smartphone makers rarely flip 'kill switch'Restricted Content

July 2, 2011
Tim Altom
When you bought your new smartphone, did the dealer tell you it had a remote “kill switch” that could summarily wipe out apps you’d downloaded to it? Probably not.
More

HICKS: Founding document holds lessons for todayRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Mike Hicks
The Declaration of Independence has some key tenets that bear mentioning in these times.
More

SKARBECK: Getting out of a hole requires digging by allRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
We live in a fantasy world if everyone thinks we need to cut back on spending unless it affects them.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Conner Prairie's best raid plans

July 2, 2011
Lou Harry
If you asked me a week ago what I knew about Indiana’s direct involvement in the Civil War, you would have been met with a blank stare. Then I was part of the regiment that helped kick the raiding party out of Indiana as part of the new “1863 Civil War Journey: Raid on Indiana” interactive exhibit at Conner Prairie.
More

DINING: Transitional signage masks above-average pizza

July 2, 2011
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of reviews of newish pizza places. This week: Eagle Creek Pizza.
More

Chipping away at our rightsRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Anita Woudenberg, [in her June 13 Forefront column “Indiana Supremes blew it with police case”] didn’t go far enough.
More

Indy Partnership has lost independenceRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
After reading [Morton Marcus’ June 13] column on regionalism and more specifically adding layers, my mind immediately went to the Indy Partnership.
More

A twisted definition of pro-lifeRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
A political movement that sacrificed the contraceptive continuity of low income families does not deserve to be called pro life.
More

WOJTOWICZ: Missed tax payments could affect business loans

July 1, 2011
Jean Wojtowicz
Property tax billing and collection were at their most confusing during the recession, when businesses were experiencing lost revenue, poor projections and, in general, toughing it out as best they could.
More

EDITORIAL: Star newsroom layoffs shortsightedRestricted Content

June 25, 2011
 IBJ Staff
There was no rejoicing when word of The Indianapolis Star’s most recent round of layoffs reached the IBJ newsroom, no celebratory toasts to the continued erosion of our once-mighty daily competitor.
More

MAURER: Eskenazi blazed path worth followingRestricted Content

June 25, 2011
Mickey Maurer
Entrepreneurship is a grand game and money is simply a means of keeping score. The essence of entrepreneurship is the joy of the game.
More

MARCUS: A tale of Colts, Packers and LonghornsRestricted Content

June 25, 2011
Morton Marcus
What we gain by having the Colts and Pacers is mainly a psychological benefit. We feel that we are big league because we have big-league teams carrying our name.
More

JOSEPH: Is working for yourself or for others riskier?Restricted Content

June 25, 2011
Hannah Kaufman Joseph
In business ownership, individual performance is the key indicator of success.
More

BENNER: Morning daily's losing streak is bad for all of usRestricted Content

June 25, 2011
Bill Benner
I know this is a sports column. Allow me to veer somewhat off course.
More

DINING: Heat, drink and be merry at Fireside Brewhouse

June 25, 2011
Lou Harry
Last in a month-long series of reviews of “heated” eateries.
More

HICKS: Jobless compensation and the incentive to workRestricted Content

June 25, 2011
Mike Hicks
In essence, the body of research tells us that longish periods of unemployment compensation tend to cause longish periods of unemployment.
More

SKARBECK: Businessws with 'moats' more likely to succeedRestricted Content

June 25, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
In economic terms, consider a business that has a “sustainable competitive advantage” that serves as a moat against the competition. A business that can stave off the competition is likely to produce attractive profits.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: In the City of Angels, the stars aren't only on screen

June 25, 2011
Lou Harry
Greetings from California, where the question of the week was, “Is L.A. a theater town?
More

HETRICK: Does then and there top here and now?

June 25, 2011
Bruce Hetrick
In a meeting last week, I found myself reminiscing with my first client about a conversation we’d had with then-Indianapolis mayor Steve Goldsmith 17 years ago.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. If I were a developer I would be looking at the Fountain Square and Fletcher Place neighborhoods instead of Broad Ripple. I would avoid the dysfunctional BRVA with all of their headaches. It's like deciding between a Blackberry or an iPhone 5s smartphone. BR is greatly in need of updates. It has become stale and outdated. Whereas Fountain Square, Fletcher Place and Mass Ave have become the "new" Broad Ripples. Every time I see people on the strip in BR on the weekend I want to ask them, "How is it you are not familiar with Fountain Square or Mass Ave? You have choices and you choose BR?" Long vacant storefronts like the old Scholar's Inn Bake House and ZA, both on prominent corners, hurt the village's image. Many business on the strip could use updated facades. Cigarette butt covered sidewalks and graffiti covered walls don't help either. The whole strip just looks like it needs to be power washed. I know there is more to the BRV than the 700-1100 blocks of Broad Ripple Ave, but that is what people see when they think of BR. It will always be a nice place live, but is quickly becoming a not-so-nice place to visit.

  2. I sure hope so and would gladly join a law suit against them. They flat out rob people and their little punk scam artist telephone losers actually enjoy it. I would love to run into one of them some day!!

  3. Biggest scam ever!! Took 307 out of my bank ac count. Never received a single call! They prey on new small business and flat out rob them! Do not sign up with these thieves. I filed a complaint with the ftc. I suggest doing the same ic they robbed you too.

  4. Woohoo! We're #200!!! Absolutely disgusting. Bring on the congestion. Indianapolis NEEDS it.

  5. So Westfield invested about $30M in developing Grand Park and attendance to date is good enough that local hotel can't meet the demand. Carmel invested $180M in the Palladium - which generates zero hotel demand for its casino acts. Which Mayor made the better decision?

ADVERTISEMENT