Opinion

MEREDITH: Diplomas don't guarantee mastery of work or life skillsRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Teresa Meredith / Special to IBJ
A diploma cannot guarantee commendable performance in college, respectable employment or even success in life.
More

EARLY: Loudly singing praises of education reformRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Rex Early / Special to IBJ
Vince Lombardi would want Bennett and Daniels on his team. These two bold leaders refused to quit on our kids.
More

WOUDENBERG: Feds don't call all shots on MedicaidRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Anita Y. Woudenberg / Special to IBJ
The states are free to exclude a provider from its Medicaid program for any reason provided under state law.
More

VAUGHN: Privatization punishes many, rewards fewRestricted Content

July 9, 2011
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
The only winners in this game are the attorneys and bureaucrats who make, and often end up breaking, the deals.
More

WEB REVIEW: Searching, for free, for the next great song

July 2, 2011
Jim Cota
NoiseTrade helps you discover, download and keep songs...in exchange for your e-mail address and ZIP code.
More

EDITORIAL: Lessons to draw from Republic-Frontier dealRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Despite some post-acquisition stumbles, the moral of the story should not be that Hoosier executives need to proceed with greater caution.
More

MORRIS: Roadwork as far as the eye can seeRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Greg Morris
It doesn’t matter whether you are in the city, in the county, in the suburbs, or on state or interstate highways. You can’t avoid it. And that has a lot of people complaining.
More

MARCUS: Should we be offended by Times story?Restricted Content

July 2, 2011
Morton Marcus
Last month, The New York Times ran a story under the headline “Indiana: The Exception? Yes, but …” The story gave a factual presentation of our state’s economic circumstances, but with an overriding sarcasm that left a bad taste in Hoosier mouths.
More

KENNEDY: A regulatory no-brainer could save livesRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Cell phone users in the United States can’t choose to have radio on our phones because, when the ability to download first threatened the music industry’s business model, the carriers thought including broadcast radio would undermine their ability to sell music packages.
More

ALTOM: Smartphone makers rarely flip 'kill switch'Restricted Content

July 2, 2011
Tim Altom
When you bought your new smartphone, did the dealer tell you it had a remote “kill switch” that could summarily wipe out apps you’d downloaded to it? Probably not.
More

HICKS: Founding document holds lessons for todayRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Mike Hicks
The Declaration of Independence has some key tenets that bear mentioning in these times.
More

SKARBECK: Getting out of a hole requires digging by allRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
We live in a fantasy world if everyone thinks we need to cut back on spending unless it affects them.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Conner Prairie's best raid plans

July 2, 2011
Lou Harry
If you asked me a week ago what I knew about Indiana’s direct involvement in the Civil War, you would have been met with a blank stare. Then I was part of the regiment that helped kick the raiding party out of Indiana as part of the new “1863 Civil War Journey: Raid on Indiana” interactive exhibit at Conner Prairie.
More

DINING: Transitional signage masks above-average pizza

July 2, 2011
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of reviews of newish pizza places. This week: Eagle Creek Pizza.
More

Chipping away at our rightsRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
Anita Woudenberg, [in her June 13 Forefront column “Indiana Supremes blew it with police case”] didn’t go far enough.
More

Indy Partnership has lost independenceRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
After reading [Morton Marcus’ June 13] column on regionalism and more specifically adding layers, my mind immediately went to the Indy Partnership.
More

A twisted definition of pro-lifeRestricted Content

July 2, 2011
A political movement that sacrificed the contraceptive continuity of low income families does not deserve to be called pro life.
More

WOJTOWICZ: Missed tax payments could affect business loans

July 1, 2011
Jean Wojtowicz
Property tax billing and collection were at their most confusing during the recession, when businesses were experiencing lost revenue, poor projections and, in general, toughing it out as best they could.
More

EDITORIAL: Star newsroom layoffs shortsightedRestricted Content

June 25, 2011
 IBJ Staff
There was no rejoicing when word of The Indianapolis Star’s most recent round of layoffs reached the IBJ newsroom, no celebratory toasts to the continued erosion of our once-mighty daily competitor.
More

MAURER: Eskenazi blazed path worth followingRestricted Content

June 25, 2011
Mickey Maurer
Entrepreneurship is a grand game and money is simply a means of keeping score. The essence of entrepreneurship is the joy of the game.
More

MARCUS: A tale of Colts, Packers and LonghornsRestricted Content

June 25, 2011
Morton Marcus
What we gain by having the Colts and Pacers is mainly a psychological benefit. We feel that we are big league because we have big-league teams carrying our name.
More

JOSEPH: Is working for yourself or for others riskier?Restricted Content

June 25, 2011
Hannah Kaufman Joseph
In business ownership, individual performance is the key indicator of success.
More

BENNER: Morning daily's losing streak is bad for all of usRestricted Content

June 25, 2011
Bill Benner
I know this is a sports column. Allow me to veer somewhat off course.
More

DINING: Heat, drink and be merry at Fireside Brewhouse

June 25, 2011
Lou Harry
Last in a month-long series of reviews of “heated” eateries.
More

HICKS: Jobless compensation and the incentive to workRestricted Content

June 25, 2011
Mike Hicks
In essence, the body of research tells us that longish periods of unemployment compensation tend to cause longish periods of unemployment.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. "This was a very localized, Indiana issue," he said. As in, Indiana failed to expand Medicaid to cover its poor citizens resulting in the loss of essential medical services, including this EMS company. Well done, Indiana GOP. Here are the real death panels: GOP state governments who refuse to expand Medicaid for political reasons.

  2. In the "one for all, all for none" socialist doctrine the sick die...this plus obama"care" equates to caucasian genocide plus pushed flight to cities thus further eroding the conservative base and the continualed spiral toward complete liberal/progressive/marxist America.

  3. There is a simple reason why WISH is not reporting on this story. LIN has others stations in different markets that are affiliated with CBS. Reporting about CBS blindsiding WISH/LIN due to CBS's greed and bullying tatics would risk any future negoations LIN will have with CBS in other markets.

  4. My best always! Dave Wilson

  5. How did Columbus, Ohio pull off a car share service without a single dollar of public subsidies? They must not have a mayor who is on the take like Indianapolis. Daimler Benz offers Columbus residents their Smart Cars on a market-driven basis: "This has some neat features. Cars don’t have to be picked up and dropped off at fixed points. You find one with your smart phone based on GPS, and drop it off anywhere in the service area you can find a spot – even at a meter. These cars aren’t required to feed the meter so you get free on street parking while using them. I was told this system was put in place on a market basis without subsidies – and that the vendor actually pays the city for the use of the meters." http://www.urbanophile.com/2014/05/26/checking-in-on-columbus/

ADVERTISEMENT