Opinion

Open the Circle to food trucks

May 7, 2011
Here’s an opportunity to enliven the city with al fresco dining in a spectacular yet casual party-like atmosphere amidst the architectural splendor of Monument Circle.
More

SHEPARD: The Indiana way of picking appellate judgesRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
Randall Shepard / Special to IBJ
We should not want judges who put their fingers in the air to see which way the political wind is blowing.
More

SHELLA: A theater review of the General AssemblyRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
Indianapolis Democrat Greg Taylor goes to the microphone so much he makes Don Quixote look lethargic. Carmel Republican Mike Delph seems to scour the Drudge Report looking for new ways to make the electorate adopt his values.
More

VAUGHN: Republicans miss opportunity to build trustRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
Despite all the rhetoric about fairness and transparency, the 2011 round of redistricting remained shrouded in secrecy and conducted mostly behind closed doors.
More

KRULL: Fewer Statehouse reporters, more mayhemRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
John Krull / Special to IBJ
Without someone to ring the bell and call out the low blows, there isn’t much stopping political tussles from escalating to fights and then to brawls.
More

CAMPBELL: Politics through the lens of a football fanaticRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
Steve Campbell / Special to IBJ
I’ve learned what everyday people have known for years: Unlike the media, we don’t pay attention to the fight.
More

EARLY: Plenty of time, and prospects, for presidentRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
Rex Early / Special to IBJ
Come to think of it, I would vote for Charlie White, regardless where he is living, before I would vote for Obama.
More

BOEHM: Ignorance of civics undermines democracyRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
Ted Boehm / Special to IBJ
To identify and reject abuses of power, citizens need to understand the wisdom in the constitutional limits on the role of each branch of government and the respective domains of federal and state governments.
More

KETZENBERGER: Cook and Durham are a study in contrastsRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
Cook took wealth for himself, no doubt, but not before he made sure the companies and the employees had what they needed, and we’re all the better for it.
More

TENBARGE: Don't overlook Lugar's history of serviceRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
Barrett Tenbarge / Special to IBJ
Though I have enormous admiration and respect for Mourdock, I stand firmly behind Lugar for the good of this nation and this state.
More

HARRIS: Revised schools would free money to pay best teachers moreRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
David Harris / Special to IBJ
Of all the school factors that affect how much students learn, nothing is more important than the quality of the teachers in their classrooms.
More

MEREDITH: Questions are legion as critical reform details fall into placeRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
Teresa Meredith / Special to IBJ
In the end, the unintended consequences may be that Indiana is left without the high-quality teachers it needs to prepare our students for success.
More

RENN: How about it? 'Naptown' as Indy's brandRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
Aaron M. Renn / Special to IBJ
Naptown is easy to connect to Indianapolis and can easily be imbued with positive connotations, implying a cool, urban, edgy vibe. Think Naptown Roller Girls and you’ve got the right idea.
More

EDITORIAL: Education bills rise above legislative noise

April 30, 2011
 IBJ Staff
In a legislative session that saw puzzling attempts to move the state backward on issues such as smoking cessation and public transportation, the success of Gov. Mitch Daniels’ education agenda stands out as a bold step forward.
More

MARCUS: Evansville is the least loser or best of the bad

April 30, 2011
Morton Marcus
Recent data from the bottom of the recession reveal all seven economic areas that include Indiana counties experienced declines in per-capita personal income.
More

KENNEDY: Legislature's bottom line is political

April 30, 2011
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Many Indiana citizens have been hit hard by the recession, and the General Assembly has reacted by kicking them while they’re down.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Lessons learned from an unconventional session

April 30, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
Hoosiers were on notice headed into the session that they would not see four months marked by a “business as usual” attitude.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'The 39 Steps' is spoof positive of laughs in Hitchcock's work

April 30, 2011
Lou Harry
There’s a blissfully funny sequence in the first act of the Indiana Repertory Theatre’s production of “The 39 Steps,” the local premiere of the Broadway hit.
More

DINING: Indonesian eatery offers Garuda awakening

April 30, 2011
Andrea Muirragui Davis
First in our month-long series of reviews of newer ethnic eateries. This week: Garuda.
More

WEB REVIEW: In often-frivolous app world, these can save lives

April 30, 2011
Jim Cota
Dad isn’t just recording workout data or accessing records that already exist, he’s creating his own diagnostic information.
More

HICKS: Raising taxes won’t increase federal revenueRestricted Content

April 30, 2011
Mike Hicks
Hauser’s Law, which is really an empirical observation, notes that U.S. income tax revenue has hovered within a percentage point of 19 percent of our total economy for more than 50 years.
More

Butler was 'inept' and 'unparalleled'

April 30, 2011
Regarding [Bill Benner’s] Butler comments in the April 18 issue, quite possibly the reason Clark Kellogg referred to the “unparalleled ineptitude” of Butler was, well, because it was both inept and unparalleled.
More

Consumer cutbacks may cost us

April 30, 2011
I was looking over IBJ today, and I thought to myself, I find all of this depressing, and I was about to set it aside and take it up again later. Then I came to [Bruce Hetrick’s April 25] article, and I realized there was somebody with some sanity in this world.
More

MAURER: Legislators finish hatchet job

April 29, 2011
Mickey Maurer
Appreciate the cruel irony. We elected this Legislature and gave them that ax handle to be fiscally responsible, but each of the following actions has the opposite effect on the budget.
More

EDITORIAL: Township reform must not fail again

April 23, 2011
 IBJ Staff
With property tax caps putting the squeeze on budgets, it’s foolhardy for townships to be sitting on millions that could be funding needed services.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. So much for Eric Holder's conversation about race. If white people have got something to say, they get sued over it. Bottom line: white people have un-freer speech than others as a consequence of the misnamed "Civil rights laws."

  2. I agree, having seen three shows, that I was less than wowed. Disappointing!!

  3. Start drilling, start fracking, and start using our own energy. Other states have enriched their citizens and nearly elminated unemployment by using these resources that are on private land. If you are against the 'low prices' of discount stores, the best way to allow shoppers more choice is to empower them with better earnings. NOT through manipulated gov mandated min wage hikes, but better jobs and higher competitive pay. This would be direct result of using our own energy resources, yet Obama knows that Americans who arent dependent of gov welfare are much less likely to vote Dem, so he looks for ways to ensure America's decline and keep its citizens dependent of gov.

  4. Say It Loud, I'm Black and Ashamed: It's too bad that with certain "black" entertainment events, it seems violence and thuggery follows and the collateral damage that it leaves behinds continues to be a strain on the city in terms of people getting hurt, killed or becoming victims of crimes and/or stretching city resources. I remember shopping in the Meadows area years ago until violence and crime ended make most of the business pack you and leave as did with Lafayette Square and Washington Square. Over the past 10 to 12 years, I remember going to the Indiana Black Expo Soul Picnic in Washington Park. Violence, gang fights and homicides ended that. My great grandmother still bears the scares on her leg from when she was trampled by a group of thugs running from gun fire from a rival gang. With hundreds of police offices downtown still multiple shootings, people getting shot downtown during Black Expo. A number of people getting shots or murdered at black clubs around the city like Club Six on the west side, The Industry downtown, Jamal Tinsley's shot out in front of the Conrad, multiple fights and shootings at the skating rinks, shootings at Circle Center Mall and shooting and robberies and car jackings at Lafayette Mall. Shootings and gang violence and the State Fair. I can go on and on and on. Now Broad Ripple. (Shaking head side to side) Say It Loud, I'm Black and I'm Ashamed.

  5. Ballard Administration. Too funny. This is the least fiscally responsive administration I have ever seen. One thing this article failed to mention, is that the Hoosier State line delivers rail cars to the Amtrak Beech Grove maintenance facility for refurbishment. That's an economic development issue. And the jobs there are high-paying. That alone is worth the City's investment.

ADVERTISEMENT