Opinion

TENBARGE: School takeovers will do students a favorRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Barrett Tenbarge / Special to IBJ
When schools have well over half of their students not even passing end-of-course assessments for core subjects, how can they prepare students for life in the real world?
More

HARRIS: 'Parent trigger' would force improvement on schoolsRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
David Harris / Special to IBJ
To continue our educational transformation, legislators should consider four important issues in future sessions.
More

MEREDITH: Early childhood education offers huge bang for the buckRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Teresa Meredith / Special to IBJ
It is vital that Indiana legislators begin to address the growing need for quality pre-kindergarten experiences.
More

EARLY: Prognostications for the congressional racesRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Rex Early / Special to IBJ
The new 6th District will be a real Chinese fire drill. With Mike Pence running for governor, the battle for his seat will be on.
More

HEIN: Africa is the next horizon for global tradeRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Jay Hein / Special to IBJ
Opportunities abound for Hoosiers to get in the game. One notable industry is agriculture.
More

BOEHM: Cultural jewel deserves ongoing supportRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Ted Boehm / Special to IBJ
National and local awareness of Indy’s cultural riches adds real value to this community.
More

EDITORIAL: TIF-district plan deserves supportRestricted Content

June 4, 2011
The tax districts allow the city to capture new property tax payments within specific boundaries and apply those funds to infrastructure upgrades and other incentives designed to lure private investment.
More

MORRIS: Making a case for Dillard's in IndyRestricted Content

June 4, 2011
Greg Morris
Indianapolis has been ignored long enough. It’s time to bring Dillard’s here, and the Circle Centre opening presents a great opportunity.
More

MARCUS: Should we have commuting policies?Restricted Content

June 4, 2011
Morton Marcus
In 2009, 80 percent of Hoosiers worked in the county where they lived, with the other 20 percent going elsewhere to work. Hardly a change from data 10 years earlier.
More

HICKS: Recession took its toll on under-educatedRestricted Content

June 4, 2011
Mike Hicks
The hard truth is that all the jobs lost in the economy that will return already have. So what will become of those who lost jobs to the recession for which none await them now? The prognosis is none too optimistic.
More

SKARBECK: Finding a bright spot in dismal housing newsRestricted Content

June 4, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
One analyst even declared that, relative to disposable income, housing is more undervalued than at any time in the last 35 years. So it is an attractive time to buy a house if you plan to be a long-term owner.
More

Multiple tenants likely needed to plug Nordstrom holeRestricted Content

June 4, 2011
Greg Andrews
Nordstrom occupies a staggering 210,000 square feet spread across three floors—60 percent more space than the Seattle-based chain occupies at the Fashion Mall at Keystone and likely more than any single retailer would be willing to lease.
More

KENNEDY: We need to get our civics game onRestricted Content

June 4, 2011
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Right now, Americans are deeply involved in one of our periodic debates about government spending and the budget deficit. Important as that is, I am more concerned about our civic deficit—the widespread lack of basic constitutional literacy.
More

Maurer takes unfair political shotsRestricted Content

June 4, 2011
Mickey Maurer’s May 31 commentary was a nice tribute to Gov. [Mitch] Daniels and was a somewhat humorous and tongue-in-cheek piece, that is, until he decided to take some cheap shots.
More

Indianapolis libraries need fundingRestricted Content

June 4, 2011
On a recent visit to my local library, I couldn’t help but notice the buzz of activity—a mother reading to her toddler, children and adults taking advantage of computer and Internet access, a middle-aged gentleman working with spread sheets on his laptop, and a line of people at the main desk waiting to check out items.
More

ALTOM: Will WiFI remote revolution help business?Restricted Content

June 4, 2011
Tim Altom
Google is already staking out its territory by writing Google @Home, an ambitious attempt to make Android into a one-place home remote-control station.
More

EDITORIAL: Nordstrom loss not death knell for downtownRestricted Content

May 28, 2011
 IBJ Staff
The news that Nordstrom Inc. will close its Circle Centre mall store July 31 is proof that the suburbs still rule where retail is concerned, but it shouldn’t signal a repeat of the gradual decline downtown suffered when merchants began leaving the city’s core in the 1950s.
More

MAURER: Reflecting on what could have been for 'Our Man Mitch'Restricted Content

May 28, 2011
Mickey Maurer
The media gauntlet is one of the reasons we rarely have an opportunity to elect the most qualified of our public servants.
More

MARCUS: Numbers say Indiana's economy isn't healthyRestricted Content

May 28, 2011
Morton Marcus
Usually, when an unemployed person gets a job, the number of people unemployed goes down and the number employed goes up. That’s a healthy economy.
More

HENDERSON: On power players and the future of kidsRestricted Content

May 28, 2011
Tom Henderson
We expect IPS to take its students to the very pillars of academic success after thoroughly hog-tying them. It’s difficult to find more breathless insanity than this.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Urbanski impresses during weekend with symphony

May 28, 2011
Lou Harry
While his official tenure doesn’t begin until September, Krzysztof Urbanski’s unofficial coming-out party came May 20-21 when he led the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra for the first time since being named music director.
More

HICKS: Remembering those who fought, and whyRestricted Content

May 28, 2011
Mike Hicks
Three times as many Hoosiers perished in the Civil War than the nation as a whole has lost to battle since Vietnam.
More

SKARBECK: Debt-ceiling issue has no easy solutionsRestricted Content

May 28, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
The public must understand that the arguing in Washington over raising of the debt ceiling is just political posturing.
More

BENNER: Good news locked out until NFL makes peaceRestricted Content

May 28, 2011
Bill Benner
Columnist ruminates on this, that and the other.
More

DINING: Inspired sushi with a side of glow sticks

May 28, 2011
Gabrielle Poshadlo
Fourth in our month-long series of reviews of newer ethnic eateries. This week, a trip to Sensu.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Aaron is my fav!

  2. Let's see... $25M construction cost, they get $7.5M back from federal taxpayers, they're exempt from business property tax and use tax so that's about $2.5M PER YEAR they don't have to pay, permitting fees are cut in half for such projects, IPL will give them $4K under an incentive program, and under IPL's VFIT they'll be selling the power to IPL at 20 cents / kwh, nearly triple what a gas plant gets, about $6M / year for the 150-acre combined farms, and all of which is passed on to IPL customers. No jobs will be created either other than an handful of installers for a few weeks. Now here's the fun part...the panels (from CHINA) only cost about $5M on Alibaba, so where's the rest of the $25M going? Are they marking up the price to drive up the federal rebate? Indy Airport Solar Partners II LLC is owned by local firms Johnson-Melloh Solutions and Telemon Corp. They'll gross $6M / year in triple-rate power revenue, get another $12M next year from taxpayers for this new farm, on top of the $12M they got from taxpayers this year for the first farm, and have only laid out about $10-12M in materials plus installation labor for both farms combined, and $500K / year in annual land lease for both farms (est.). Over 15 years, that's over $70M net profit on a $12M investment, all from our wallets. What a boondoggle. It's time to wise up and give Thorium Energy your serious consideration. See http://energyfromthorium.com to learn more.

  3. Markus, I don't think a $2 Billion dollar surplus qualifies as saying we are out of money. Privatization does work. The government should only do what private industry can't or won't. What is proven is that any time the government tries to do something it costs more, comes in late and usually is lower quality.

  4. Some of the licenses that were added during Daniels' administration, such as requiring waiter/waitresses to be licensed to serve alcohol, are simply a way to generate revenue. At $35/server every 3 years, the state is generating millions of dollars on the backs of people who really need/want to work.

  5. I always giggle when I read comments from people complaining that a market is "too saturated" with one thing or another. What does that even mean? If someone is able to open and sustain a new business, whether you think there is room enough for them or not, more power to them. Personally, I love visiting as many of the new local breweries as possible. You do realize that most of these establishments include a dining component and therefore are pretty similar to restaurants, right? When was the last time I heard someone say "You know, I think we have too many locally owned restaurants"? Um, never...

ADVERTISEMENT