Opinion

EDITORIAL: Redistricting disappoints again

April 16, 2011
 IBJ Staff
If anything is clear from the latest round of drawing new lines for legislative and congressional districts, it’s that the system is still broken.
More

MARCUS: What is it worth? TV has the answer

April 16, 2011
Morton Marcus
Discovering value emerged as a TV staple long before the recent economic tsunami.
More

KHARBANDA: The case for a diverse energy policy

April 16, 2011
Jesse Kharbanda
Key utility executives and state legislators argue that Indiana’s power should come predominantly from coal and nuclear power.
More

FEIGENBAUM: New legislative maps matter over the long term

April 16, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
District lines largely will guide the partisan composition of the Indiana House of Representatives and the delegation we send to Congress for the next decade.
More

DINING: Using the ol' Noodle for more than music

April 16, 2011
Lou Harry
Third in a month-long series of reviews of restaurants that sound wet—just like spring in Indiana. This week: Slippery Noodle Inn.
More

STYLE: Green your closet with consignment bargains

April 16, 2011
Gabrielle Poshadlo
I like to picture my cast-off clothes in a nice shop like The Toggery.
More

SKARBECK: Inflation worries growing, and for good reasonsRestricted Content

April 16, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
As much as Federal Reserve Chairman Ben Bernanke would like to think he can pull in the reins at the right moment, the beast of inflation is difficult to control.
More

HICKS: Economic activity stalls when taxes riseRestricted Content

April 16, 2011
Mike Hicks
We know from long experience that, if you raise taxes, you get less economic activity, even if higher tax rates make some people work harder.
More

Where are stories about Bobby Fong?

April 16, 2011
The individual who seemed to get lost in all the hype leading up to the NCAA men’s national championship basketball game is Bobby Fong, president of Butler University.
More

Bulldogs made entire city proud

April 16, 2011
Kudos to Bill Benner for his fine [April 4] column about a fine team, the Butler Bulldogs. Despite the outcome, our city has reason to be proud.
More

Church network helps homeless

April 16, 2011
I appreciated your comments in [the April 4] IBJ about the Horizon House and the general efforts of the Coalition for Homelessness Intervention and Prevention to help the many experiencing homelessness in our community.
More

Let's find ways to house the homeless

April 16, 2011
I read [Mickey Maurer’s] column in the April 4 issue. There is not one way to describe “the homeless.”
More

Indianapolis loses a quiet giant

April 16, 2011
Ken Thompson passed away on March 25. Ken was a quiet giant in the real estate development field in Indianapolis, Carmel and Fishers.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IU Opera premieres 'Vincent'

April 15, 2011
Lou Harry
As ambitious an arts project as you are likely to find so far this century in central Indiana, IU Opera’s world premiere production of “Vincent” overflowed with stunning design and strong music.
More

EDITORIAL: Rolls-Royce abatements worth the cost

April 9, 2011
We think city officials have made a compelling case for stepping up big to secure the future of one of Indianapolis’ largest employers.
More

MARCUS: No statistics on death by pothole

April 9, 2011
Morton Marcus
Nothing stirs the imagination like a near-death experience.
More

GUY: Where are the progressives?

April 9, 2011
John Guy
Today, a political leader who proposes a higher appropriation to clean streets would be criticized. If he proposed going to the moon, he would be impeached.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Wrangling over budget takes center stage in Legislature

April 9, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
Budget cuts became more painful in the past several years as the national recession drew the fiscal noose tighter on Indiana government income.
More

ALTOM: Maybe laptops should come with safety warnings

April 9, 2011
Tim Altom
My laptop has been my willing companion when putting numbers through the centrifuge or springboarding me out into cyberspace.
More

MORRIS: Firefighters fill convention center

April 9, 2011
Greg Morris
I recently had the opportunity to walk through the exhibit space at the Fire Department Instructor’s Conference at the newly expanded Indiana Convention Center. It gave me a great firsthand look at why we invested $275 million expanding the convention center.
More

BENNER: Hink, you would be darn proud of these BulldogsRestricted Content

April 9, 2011
Bill Benner
I’ll be darned if Butler didn’t reach the championship game again.
More

VAUGHN: No excuse for keeping tainted Durham fundsRestricted Content

April 9, 2011
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
Continuing to use the excuse that the money is already spent amounts to a slap in the face of the Ohio victims of Durham’s illegal scheme, many who lost their life savings.
More

KETZENBERGER: Drafting Daniels for corporate IndianaRestricted Content

April 9, 2011
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
If his first run for governor is any indication, he’d make a heckuva presidential candidate. I hope he doesn’t.
More

BOEHM: State employees hang in court balanceRestricted Content

April 9, 2011
Ted Boehm / Special to IBJ
If the Supreme Court agrees with the 1984 opinion, the effect would presumably be to bar state employees from serving in the Legislature, a holding of no small consequence.
More

HARRIS: Education reform would elevate, not denigrate, teachersRestricted Content

April 9, 2011
David Harris / Special to IBJ
What is especially troubling about this tactic is that it denies us a chance to debate these critical issues. The policies being proposed in Indiana to evaluate and reward teachers would benefit from a robust debate.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Really, taking someone managing the regulation of Alcohol and making himthe President of an IVY Tech regional campus. Does he have an education background?

  2. Jan, great rant. Now how about you review the report and offer rebuttal of the memo. This might be more conducive to civil discourse than a wild rant with no supporting facts. Perhaps some links to support your assertions would be helpful

  3. I've lived in Indianapolis my whole and been to the track 3 times. Once for a Brickyard, once last year on a practice day for Indy 500, and once when I was a high school student to pick up trash for community service. In the past 11 years, I would say while the IMS is a great venue, there are some upgrades that would show that it's changing with the times, just like the city is. First, take out the bleachers and put in individual seats. Kentucky Motor Speedway has individual seats and they look cool. Fix up the restrooms. Add wi-fi. Like others have suggested, look at bringing in concerts leading up to events. Don't just stick with the country music genre. Pop music would work well too I believe. This will attract more young celebrities to the Indy 500 like the kind that go to the Kentucky Derby. Work with Indy Go to increase the frequency of the bus route to the track during high end events. That way people have other options than worrying about where to park and paying for parking. Then after all of this, look at getting night lights. I think the aforementioned strategies are more necessary than night racing at this point in time.

  4. Talking about congestion ANYWHERE in Indianapolis is absolutely laughable. Sure you may have to wait in 5 minutes of traffic to travel down BR avenue during *peak* times. But that is absolutely nothing compared to actual big cities. Indy is way too suburban to have actual congestion problems. So please, never bring up "congestion" as an excuse to avoid development in Indianapolis. If anything, we could use a little more.

  5. Oh wait. Never mind.

ADVERTISEMENT