Opinion

MEREDITH: Questions are legion as critical reform details fall into placeRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
Teresa Meredith / Special to IBJ
In the end, the unintended consequences may be that Indiana is left without the high-quality teachers it needs to prepare our students for success.
More

RENN: How about it? 'Naptown' as Indy's brandRestricted Content

May 7, 2011
Aaron M. Renn / Special to IBJ
Naptown is easy to connect to Indianapolis and can easily be imbued with positive connotations, implying a cool, urban, edgy vibe. Think Naptown Roller Girls and you’ve got the right idea.
More

EDITORIAL: Education bills rise above legislative noise

April 30, 2011
 IBJ Staff
In a legislative session that saw puzzling attempts to move the state backward on issues such as smoking cessation and public transportation, the success of Gov. Mitch Daniels’ education agenda stands out as a bold step forward.
More

MARCUS: Evansville is the least loser or best of the bad

April 30, 2011
Morton Marcus
Recent data from the bottom of the recession reveal all seven economic areas that include Indiana counties experienced declines in per-capita personal income.
More

KENNEDY: Legislature's bottom line is political

April 30, 2011
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Many Indiana citizens have been hit hard by the recession, and the General Assembly has reacted by kicking them while they’re down.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Lessons learned from an unconventional session

April 30, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
Hoosiers were on notice headed into the session that they would not see four months marked by a “business as usual” attitude.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'The 39 Steps' is spoof positive of laughs in Hitchcock's work

April 30, 2011
Lou Harry
There’s a blissfully funny sequence in the first act of the Indiana Repertory Theatre’s production of “The 39 Steps,” the local premiere of the Broadway hit.
More

DINING: Indonesian eatery offers Garuda awakening

April 30, 2011
Andrea Muirragui Davis
First in our month-long series of reviews of newer ethnic eateries. This week: Garuda.
More

WEB REVIEW: In often-frivolous app world, these can save lives

April 30, 2011
Jim Cota
Dad isn’t just recording workout data or accessing records that already exist, he’s creating his own diagnostic information.
More

HICKS: Raising taxes won’t increase federal revenueRestricted Content

April 30, 2011
Mike Hicks
Hauser’s Law, which is really an empirical observation, notes that U.S. income tax revenue has hovered within a percentage point of 19 percent of our total economy for more than 50 years.
More

Butler was 'inept' and 'unparalleled'

April 30, 2011
Regarding [Bill Benner’s] Butler comments in the April 18 issue, quite possibly the reason Clark Kellogg referred to the “unparalleled ineptitude” of Butler was, well, because it was both inept and unparalleled.
More

Consumer cutbacks may cost us

April 30, 2011
I was looking over IBJ today, and I thought to myself, I find all of this depressing, and I was about to set it aside and take it up again later. Then I came to [Bruce Hetrick’s April 25] article, and I realized there was somebody with some sanity in this world.
More

MAURER: Legislators finish hatchet job

April 29, 2011
Mickey Maurer
Appreciate the cruel irony. We elected this Legislature and gave them that ax handle to be fiscally responsible, but each of the following actions has the opposite effect on the budget.
More

EDITORIAL: Township reform must not fail again

April 23, 2011
 IBJ Staff
With property tax caps putting the squeeze on budgets, it’s foolhardy for townships to be sitting on millions that could be funding needed services.
More

MORRIS: It's time to show the Pacers some love

April 23, 2011
Greg Morris
The Pacers made the playoffs for the first time since 2006. And they did it with a good group of players who are decent human beings and who represent themselves and the city well.
More

MARCUS: Uptight music for uncertain times

April 23, 2011
Morton Marcus
The blues resonate with the tough people living tough lives.
More

CROWTHER: The future needs a Hoosier attitude

April 23, 2011
Michael Crowther
We need futurists, people with a sense of balance, people who want generations to come to be blessed with the same riches we grew up with.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Conference committees may offer fewer fireworks

April 23, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
Given the historical context, it would not be unexpected that there wouldn’t be much left to argue about as the 2011 legislative session approaches its scheduled April 29 conclusion.
More

ALTOM: The New York Times reinvents the 'paywall'

April 23, 2011
Tim Altom
The New York Times has decided to once again huddle behind a “paywall,” a decision that’s galvanized the Web world. But this paywall is different from ones the paper has tried in the past.
More

BENNER: Another Hoosier legend now belongs to the agesRestricted Content

April 23, 2011
Bill Benner
Morris Pollard, coach at Speedway High School from 1956 to 1983, died April 17. He simply was one of the best basketball coaches—and finest men—I ever knew.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Landmark event turns into celebration of Bill Cook

April 23, 2011
Lou Harry
Benefactor's presence strongly felt at opening of new arts center.
More

HETRICK: 'Jesus Christ Superstar' takes on federal deficit

April 23, 2011
Bruce Hetrick

One “Superstar” scene always reminds me of our entitlement society—and how some react to the notion of helping “the least among us.”

More

SKARBECK: Look beyond gold for inflation hedgesRestricted Content

April 23, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
gold has been in a 10-year bull market, so today’s investors aren’t exactly discovering the metal at cheap prices.
More

HICKS: Corporate profits don't deserve condescensionRestricted Content

April 23, 2011
Mike Hicks
Profits are much maligned, and the profit motive is oft depicted as synonymous with greed. This is disheartening. Disdain drawn from ignorance is intellectually lazy.
More

DINING: H2O Sushi offers titillating surprises

April 23, 2011
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Parental advisory: This review contains suggestive language and encourages poor dining habits.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT