Opinion

SWAYZE: Lugar has strayed; it's time to replace himRestricted Content

May 21, 2011
Sue Swayze / Special to IBJ
I never dreamed I’d compare Lugar with moderate Democrats, but his record speaks for itself.
More

LUGAR: The real thing is rooted in religion and flowers as libertyRestricted Content

May 21, 2011
Dick Lugar / Special to IBJ
True conservatism embraces core economic and cultural beliefs that center on individual liberty—the freedom to believe, say and do what your conscience dictates, without reprisal from any government or group.
More

MOURDOCK: Return conservatism to its constitutional roots of equalityRestricted Content

May 21, 2011
Richard Mourdock / Special to IBJ
Conservatism: Activities in defense of the U.S. Constitution so that the federal government is limited in power, individual liberty is enhanced, and American prosperity is assured.
More

MYERS: Our long conversation about race isn't overRestricted Content

May 21, 2011
Woodrow Myers / Special to IBJ
“Minority” is rapidly evolving to “majority,” and that makes a lot of people uncomfortable.
More

BANTZ: What works in education and what doesn'tRestricted Content

May 21, 2011
Charles R. Bantz / Special to IBJ
We must develop a standard assessment instrument for kindergarten readiness and close the gaps in cognitive development that inhibit school performance.
More

FERGUSON: Take redistricting away from the politiciansRestricted Content

May 21, 2011
Margaret Ferguson / Special to IBJ
Safe districts essentially decide elections and take the power out of the hands of voters today and for the next 10 years.
More

HOWEY: Bosma oversees calm, compelling changeRestricted Content

May 21, 2011
Brian A. Howey / Special to IBJ
A younger Bosma during an earlier stint as speaker might have responded with acid rhetoric and ultimatums.
More

STYRING: This sergeant at arms would bust chopsRestricted Content

May 21, 2011
Bill Styring / Special to IBJ
[The sergeant at arms] might request the assistance of a police officer in making the arrest, but he would be the official arresting officer, acting in the name of the House.
More

MAHERN: Democrats go nuclear to defend townshipRestricted Content

May 21, 2011
Louis Mahern / Special to IBJ
It must be understood that Democrats even implying that other Democrats are racist is much worse than Republicans calling one another socialist.
More

MUTZ: Small communities aren't destined to decayRestricted Content

May 21, 2011
John Mutz / Special to IBJ
Although many planners and economists say some communities are a lost cause, local determination and leadership can make a difference.
More

FARGO: Transparency's value for economic growthRestricted Content

May 21, 2011
Anthony L. Fargo / Special to IBJ
It is difficult to sell the benefits of democracy to your citizens or the stability of your government to foreign investors if too much information is kept hidden.
More

WAGNER: The complete dynamo who is Pete ButtigiegRestricted Content

May 21, 2011
Jennifer Wagner / Special to IBJ
Unless something goes horribly awry in November, he’s going to be the next mayor of South Bend.
More

LADWIG: Democracy, complex government don't mixRestricted Content

May 21, 2011
Craig Ladwig / Special to IBJ
It is reasonable to believe ... that Custer thought he was running to ground a relatively small party of warriors when in fact he was about to be surrounded by what may have been three times as many.
More

MORRIS: May is time for pride, patriotism and speed

May 21, 2011
Greg Morris
As we head into the Memorial Day weekend, I’m taking time to pause from the day-to-day madness and allow myself the opportunity to reflect a bit and be thankful for life’s treasures.
More

EDITORIAL: Interstate network isn't enough

May 14, 2011
 IBJ Staff
Our country’s transportation future is too uncertain for Hoosiers to be almost entirely dependent on cars.
More

MAURER: Sage advice from the late Bill CookRestricted Content

May 14, 2011
Mickey Maurer
We had been friends for less than a decade, but in a sense those were some of his best years—years of philanthropy, of passionate restoration.
More

MARCUS: High school principals as economic drivers

May 14, 2011
Morton Marcus
From time to time, I am asked: “What is the best investment for Indiana’s economic development”? The answer: our high-school-age young men and women.
More

SLAUGHTER: We need a remote-work revolution

May 14, 2011
Robby Slaughter
It turns out that, although we think of glass towers, cubicles and filing cabinets as the places where we go to accomplish something, the office is a terrible place to get anything done.
More

BENNER: In the history of Indy 500, these are my top 15 startersRestricted Content

May 14, 2011
Bill Benner
As part of the celebration of the 100th anniversary of America’s greatest race—the Indianapolis 500—I am joining the Speedway’s invitation at thegreatest33.com to name the 33 greatest drivers ever to be on the starting grid.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Home is where the art is

May 14, 2011
Lou Harry
With the Miller House open, Columbus becomes even more of a design draw.
More

SKARBECK: Microsoft stuck in 1990s when acquiring companiesRestricted Content

May 14, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
Microsoft Corp.’s acquisition of Skype for $8.5 billion, announced May 10, continues a long history of a lack of price discipline in Silicon Valley.
More

HICKS: Gas prices explained by simple economicsRestricted Content

May 14, 2011
Mike Hicks
Oil prices are affected by the demand for petroleum products, the available supply of oil, the value of the currency in which it is denominated, and uncertainty about future supply or demand.
More

Good riddance to abortion funding

May 14, 2011
Congratulations are due Gov. Daniels and the Indiana Legislature for taking action to suspend public dollars to “family planning” organizations who perpetuate the continuing slaughter of the tiniest, most innocent human beings.
More

Powerful must learn hard lessons

May 14, 2011
In light of our most recent General Assembly, I believe the top 1 percent of Indiana went to bat for the top 1 percent and then kicked the other 99 percent [who were] fooled into electing them in the teeth.
More

EDITORIAL: Bad bills temper legislative achievements

May 7, 2011
 IBJ Staff
On the face of it, the just-concluded session of the Indiana General Assembly was one to savor for business interests. Yet in other ways, we’re forlorn, even embarrassed, by what emanated from the Statehouse this year.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
thisissue1-092914.jpg 092914

Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Cramer agrees...says don't buy it and sell it if you own it! Their "pay to play" cost is this issue. As long as they charge customers, they never will attain the critical mass needed to be a successful on company...Jim Cramer quote.

  2. My responses to some of the comments would include the following: 1. Our offer which included the forgiveness of debt (this is an immediate forgiveness and is not "spread over many years")represents debt that due to a reduction of interest rates in the economy arguably represents consideration together with the cash component of our offer that exceeds the $2.1 million apparently offered by another party. 2. The previous $2.1 million cash offer that was turned down by the CRC would have netted the CRC substantially less than $2.1 million. As a result even in hindsight the CRC was wise in turning down that offer. 3. With regard to "concerned Carmelite's" discussion of the previous financing Pedcor gave up $16.5 million in City debt in addition to the conveyance of the garage (appraised at $13 million)in exchange for the $22.5 million cash and debt obligations. The local media never discussed the $16.5 million in debt that we gave up which would show that we gave $29.5 million in value for the $23.5 million. 4.Pedcor would have been much happier if Brian was still operating his Deli and only made this offer as we believe that we can redevelop the building into something that will be better for the City and City Center where both Pedcor the citizens of Carmel have a large investment. Bruce Cordingley, President, Pedcor

  3. I've been looking for news on Corner Bakery, too, but there doesn't seem to be any info out there. I prefer them over Panera and Paradise so can't wait to see where they'll be!

  4. WGN actually is two channels: 1. WGN Chicago, seen only in Chicago (and parts of Canada) - this station is one of the flagship CW affiliates. 2. WGN America - a nationwide cable channel that doesn't carry any CW programming, and doesn't have local affiliates. (In addition, as WGN is owned by Tribune, just like WTTV, WTTK, and WXIN, I can't imagine they would do anything to help WISH.) In Indianapolis, CW programming is already seen on WTTV 4 and WTTK 29, and when CBS takes over those stations' main channels, the CW will move to a sub channel, such as 4.2 or 4.3 and 29.2 or 29.3. TBS is only a cable channel these days and does not affiliate with local stations. WISH could move the MyNetwork affiliation from WNDY 23 to WISH 8, but I am beginning to think they may prefer to put together their own lineup of syndicated programming instead. While much of it would be "reruns" from broadcast or cable, that's pretty much what the MyNetwork does these days anyway. So since WISH has the choice, they may want to customize their lineup by choosing programs that they feel will garner better ratings in this market.

  5. The Pedcor debt is from the CRC paying ~$23M for the Pedcor's parking garage at City Center that is apprased at $13M. Why did we pay over the top money for a private businesses parking? What did we get out of it? Pedcor got free parking for their apartment and business tenants. Pedcor now gets another building for free that taxpayers have ~$3M tied up in. This is NOT a win win for taxpayers. It is just a win for Pedcor who contributes heavily to the Friends of Jim Brainard. The campaign reports are on the Hamilton County website. http://www2.hamiltoncounty.in.gov/publicdocs/Campaign%20Finance%20Images/defaultfiles.asp?ARG1=Campaign Finance Images&ARG2=/Brainard, Jim

ADVERTISEMENT