Opinion

LOU'S VIEWS: Indy Opera's 'Carmen' shows upside of downsizing

March 19, 2011
Lou Harry
When word went out that one of the three Indianapolis Opera presentations this season would be a production of “Carmen,” sans chorus, sans full orchestra, sans biggie-size sets, and sans Clowes Hall stage, it was perfectly understandable that some patrons may have lowered their expectations.
More

BENNER: March Madness 2011 comes with some sadnessRestricted Content

March 19, 2011
Bill Benner
Recent weeks saw the passing of a handful of the Hoosier sport’s key figures, among them former Shortridge High School and Butler University basketball coach George Theofanis.
More

STYLE: A pair of local designers rack up retail space

March 19, 2011
Gabrielle Poshadlo
While most local designers have thus far forgone the operating cost of a brick-and-mortar boutique, these opt for a tangible location
More

SKARBECK: Japan's rebuilding effort offers bargain opportunitiesRestricted Content

March 19, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
Economically, the next couple of quarters will be tough for Japanese citizens. But we wouldn’t bet against their resolve to rebuild their country.
More

HICKS: Education reform deserves bipartisan supportRestricted Content

March 19, 2011
Mike Hicks
The goal of the legislation is to give public schools more incentives to improve.
More

Smoking laws are slippery slope

March 19, 2011
I finally have reached my breaking point and felt compelled to write a letter in response to last week’s editorial.
More

What about worker safety?

March 19, 2011
Am I correct in reading this that the Republicans are the ones voting against a real smoking ban? This is a very hot button item for me.
More

EDITORIAL: Indianapolis doesn't need 'ashtray' label

March 12, 2011
Boosters want to keep building on the city’s progress, educating visitors and residents alike about all that Indiana has to offer. But we’re running the risk of losing our shine in a cloud of smoke.
More

MORRIS: Online posts still the wild, wild West

March 12, 2011
Greg Morris
The Internet is a wonderful and amazing thing. But navigating it is like operating in the Wild West. There is little conformity and there are few rules.
More

MARCUS: Fewer Hoosier children means less retail

March 12, 2011
Morton Marcus
Indiana added 369,400 adults, compared with just 33,900 children, a ratio of nearly 11 to 1. This imbalance was hardly uniform, but its consequences are important for all of us.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Will Democrats hold out until some warm April day?

March 12, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
Indiana House Democrats largely remain bunkered en masse in Urbana, Ill., save occasional individual appearances back at town hall events in their respective districts.
More

ALTOM: Supermarkets simplify life for grocers, not customers

March 12, 2011
Tim Altom
I have a fetish for efficiency. It pains me to watch people doing things two, three or more times when they should be doing it only once.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Youth appeal at the Phoenix and Butler U. theaters

March 12, 2011
Lou Harry
Is theater dead? Three different productions from three different companies over the past few weeks point to some ways to counter—or at least hold off—the decline.
More

HETRICK: Singing the oft-unpopular praises of minority rule

March 12, 2011
Bruce Hetrick
When it comes to individual liberties, we’re among the most fortunate citizens on Earth that our government guarantees that the majority will not always prevail.
More

MERHOFF: Let's rethink what businesses want

March 12, 2011
Mo Merhoff
Today’s lifestyle preferences have trumped yesterday’s corporate loyalty, just as flatter organizational structures leading to greater employee interaction have replaced pyramid-shaped corporate structures.
More

DINING: Salivating over Salvadoran cuisine on the westside

March 12, 2011
Lou Harry
Second in a month-long series of numeric restaurant reviews. This week: 3 in 1 Restaurant on the west side.
More

BENNER: Who might be this year's Butler? Maybe ButlerRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Bill Benner
A year ago this week, the Butler men’s basketball team was preparing to play the University of Texas-El Paso in the opening round of the NCAA tournament. Who knew what was about to unfold?
More

Marcus is naive

March 12, 2011
Reading the [Feb. 28] column by Morton Marcus was akin to reading the Sunday morning comics.
More

Krull column was out of line

March 12, 2011
[Columnist] John Krull, in an attempt [in the Feb. 28 Forefront] to slam U.S. Rep. Mike Pence [R-Indiana] and State Sen. Mike Delph [R-Carmel], used a very flawed premise.
More

Forefront one-sided

March 12, 2011
I was disappointed and frankly astounded at the incredible lack of balance and clear anti-Republican, anti-conservative message delivered in the Feb. 28 Forefront.
More

Indiana must limit immigration

March 12, 2011
It always amazes me that the obvious results of exporting jobs, importing workers and engaging in other forms of labor and environmental arbitrage are a mystery to newspaper editorialists and many of our so-called public leaders.
More

State should go smoke-free

March 12, 2011
Less than a month ago, it seemed almost certain that Indiana would join the ranks of two dozen other states and the District of Columbia—including our neighbors Illinois, Ohio, Michigan and Wisconsin—in enacting a statewide, comprehensive smoke-free-air law.
More

HOLCOMB: Americans should make Indiana's Story their own storyRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Eric Holcomb / Special to IBJ
There is no more compelling story or record to inspect than My Man Mitch’s should the country hope to make a presidential change.
More

PARKER: Primaries, spotty record undermine Daniels' chancesRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Dan Parker / Special to IBJ
Ultimately, I suspect all this presidential talk is much ado about nothing, but Daniels isn’t tamping down the speculation because it doesn’t hurt to be talked about.
More

HEIN: Sports more than a game in Green Bay, IndyRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Jay Hein / Special to IBJ
Both cities consider sports to be a reflection of not only their spirit but also their character.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT