Opinion

Democracy requires representation

March 26, 2011
In Wisconsin and Indiana, elected Democrats have fled to Illinois in order to avoid making the difficult decisions facing their states.
More

Column was OK, but tone wasn't

March 26, 2011
Mickey Maurer has achieved much in his career, but he should leave sarcastic humor to real comedians.
More

Should redheads be mistreated?

March 26, 2011
I have often used the example of people with red hair, why don’t we pass a law which would only affect people with red hair and treat them differently?
More

'Purple' column hit the mark

March 26, 2011
The following is to thank you for [Mickey Maurer’s] column in the March 19 IBJ: “The Indiana we’ve always wanted.”
More

Discrimination is hard to stop

March 26, 2011
Thank you so much for your article “The Indiana we’ve always wanted.”
More

Keep Benner's column coming

March 26, 2011
I’m a regular reader of [Bill Benner’s] column. Matter of fact, I read the columns written by you and Bruce Hetrick before I read the front page.
More

EDITORIAL: Democrats test public patience

March 19, 2011
The stalemate that sent Democrats across state lines more than four weeks ago started as a principled stand against a Republican overreach. But it’s the Democrats who will be remembered for overreaching.
More

MAURER: The Indiana we've always wanted

March 19, 2011
Mickey Maurer
My fellow Tea Party Republicans, I have an idea. Let’s enact legislation requiring immigrants and homosexuals to wear purple hats. What difference does it make if we precipitate an economic disaster?
More

MARCUS: Opposing ideas need not demand respect

March 19, 2011
Morton Marcus
Failure to cooperate with an unethical power is a commendable ethical stand.
More

WILLIAMS: What is the IU name worth to us?

March 19, 2011
Brian Williams
Who has the right to give away a state asset, as the IU name is, for what reasons and under what terms?
More

FEIGENBAUM: Thoughts turn to truncated state budget process

March 19, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
As the legislative standoff continued, those who were concerned about policy turned their attention to the budget process.
More

DINING: Seasons eatings at new restaurant

March 19, 2011
Lou Harry
Third in a month-long series of numeric restaurant reviews. This week: Seasons 52.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Indy Opera's 'Carmen' shows upside of downsizing

March 19, 2011
Lou Harry
When word went out that one of the three Indianapolis Opera presentations this season would be a production of “Carmen,” sans chorus, sans full orchestra, sans biggie-size sets, and sans Clowes Hall stage, it was perfectly understandable that some patrons may have lowered their expectations.
More

BENNER: March Madness 2011 comes with some sadnessRestricted Content

March 19, 2011
Bill Benner
Recent weeks saw the passing of a handful of the Hoosier sport’s key figures, among them former Shortridge High School and Butler University basketball coach George Theofanis.
More

STYLE: A pair of local designers rack up retail space

March 19, 2011
Gabrielle Poshadlo
While most local designers have thus far forgone the operating cost of a brick-and-mortar boutique, these opt for a tangible location
More

SKARBECK: Japan's rebuilding effort offers bargain opportunitiesRestricted Content

March 19, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
Economically, the next couple of quarters will be tough for Japanese citizens. But we wouldn’t bet against their resolve to rebuild their country.
More

HICKS: Education reform deserves bipartisan supportRestricted Content

March 19, 2011
Mike Hicks
The goal of the legislation is to give public schools more incentives to improve.
More

Smoking laws are slippery slope

March 19, 2011
I finally have reached my breaking point and felt compelled to write a letter in response to last week’s editorial.
More

What about worker safety?

March 19, 2011
Am I correct in reading this that the Republicans are the ones voting against a real smoking ban? This is a very hot button item for me.
More

EDITORIAL: Indianapolis doesn't need 'ashtray' label

March 12, 2011
Boosters want to keep building on the city’s progress, educating visitors and residents alike about all that Indiana has to offer. But we’re running the risk of losing our shine in a cloud of smoke.
More

MORRIS: Online posts still the wild, wild West

March 12, 2011
Greg Morris
The Internet is a wonderful and amazing thing. But navigating it is like operating in the Wild West. There is little conformity and there are few rules.
More

MARCUS: Fewer Hoosier children means less retail

March 12, 2011
Morton Marcus
Indiana added 369,400 adults, compared with just 33,900 children, a ratio of nearly 11 to 1. This imbalance was hardly uniform, but its consequences are important for all of us.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Will Democrats hold out until some warm April day?

March 12, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
Indiana House Democrats largely remain bunkered en masse in Urbana, Ill., save occasional individual appearances back at town hall events in their respective districts.
More

ALTOM: Supermarkets simplify life for grocers, not customers

March 12, 2011
Tim Altom
I have a fetish for efficiency. It pains me to watch people doing things two, three or more times when they should be doing it only once.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Youth appeal at the Phoenix and Butler U. theaters

March 12, 2011
Lou Harry
Is theater dead? Three different productions from three different companies over the past few weeks point to some ways to counter—or at least hold off—the decline.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
thisissue1-092914.jpg 092914

Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT