Opinion

Governor will damage public schools

March 5, 2011
Things are getting crazy as state resources diminish. Our governor is clearly out of touch with reality. He wants to abolish the 1:600 ratio for elementary school counselors to students on top of drastically cutting back state-supported mental-health programs.
More

DINING: If you go 2 1 new place 4 pizza ...

March 5, 2011
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of reviews of restaurants with numeric names.
More

EDITORIAL: Don't put reins on horse industry

February 26, 2011
 IBJ Staff
The current draft of the state budget calls for redirecting most of the money that has gone to horse racing to the general fund instead. The industry would receive $27 million in the next fiscal year, down from $60 million this year.
More

MORRIS: Don't have a job? Work anyway

February 26, 2011
Greg Morris
If recent graduates can’t find a job, they should do something while they continue to search. Take any kind of job you can get. Volunteer at church or at a not-for-profit organization. Take a wait-staff job. Take a part-time job. Do something.
More

MARCUS: Debt and taxes are not the devil's doing

February 26, 2011
Morton Marcus
This national debt business is being overplayed. Critics characterize the debt as a giant burden, our most important national issue. Borrowing for the future, however, makes good sense when the debt contributes to economic growth.
More

SLAUGHTER: When bosses behave like bullies

February 26, 2011
Robby Slaughter
Many supervisors seem to have the same demeaning, demoralizing attitudes we encountered as children at recess. What do you do when your boss is a bully?
More

FEIGENBAUM: Freshmen legislators' green is showing

February 26, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
The “new kids in the bloc” failed to heed their elders, and got a bit greedy too quickly, goading Democrats into the only recourse open to them.
More

ALTOM: Are iPods in the workplace music to an employer's ears?

February 26, 2011
Tim Altom
It’s rare to visit a workplace nowadays without seeing at least a few employees with tiny little earbuds trailing thread-sized wires down to a music player the size of an infant’s thumb.
More

HICKS: Uncertainty always leads to oil-price fluctuationsRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
Mike Hicks
Being a commodity, changes to oil prices are frequent and instantaneous. Changes to supply or demand of petroleum in the Middle East affect the price at the pump in the Midwest within hours.
More

DINING: At base of new hotel tower, a taste of Italy

February 26, 2011
Lou Harry
Last in our month-long series of reviews of new restaurants downtown. This week: Osteria Pronto at the JW Marriott.
More

HETRICK: Offing the wizard in the wonderful Land of Oz

February 26, 2011
Bruce Hetrick
Foreigners and unions and gays, oh my!
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Making history at arts venues

February 26, 2011
Lou Harry
Three leading Indiana institutions—the Indiana History Center, the Eiteljorg, and the IRT—look at volatile moments in American history.
More

BENNER: Bill Lynch leaves sidelines, comes full circleRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
Bill Benner
There's a high road out there, and former IU football Coach Bill Lynch is traveling it.
More

ACCETTURO: Each city has critical interest in the success of the otherRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
Unlike some elected officials in Carmel, I do not believe our city is an island. No one should want to stop progress in either community.
More

BRAINARD: Carmel and Indianapolis draw strength from each otherRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
Indianapolis and Carmel should continue working together to recognize and respond to the unique needs of each city and support each other in the formulation of public policy that will maintain strong balance sheets, low taxes and high quality of life.
More

SPIGELMAN: Cities should share joy of continued growth, developmentRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
Without adequate funds, [Carmel] has been forced to subsidize the [Center for the Performing Arts] with taxpayer money. This is unsustainable, and we therefore need the assistance of the citizens of Indianapolis to help patronize this center by attending many of the scheduled performances now and in the years ahead.
More

MAHERN: The unhitching of grades and knowledgeRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
Louis Mahern / Special to IBJ
When a child comes home with a grade, is it too much to expect that it reflect how much he or she has learned?
More

WAGNER: Here's to liquor laws that makes senseRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
Jennifer Wagner / Special to IBJ
What bothers me most about Indiana’s alcohol laws is the lack of rational thinking behind them.”
More

LADWIG: It's time to talk about the clocks—againRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
Craig Ladwig / Special to IBJ
Most troubling, though, considering the depressed economy, is Gaski’s discrediting of the state chamber, which claimed that the time change would serve the ‘convenience of commerce.'
More

FARGO: Solve transparency problems with oversightRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
Anthony L. Fargo / Special to IBJ
Transparency walks hand in hand with accountability. It is hard to trust what you cannot see.
More

HOWEY: Retool government into classes of countiesRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
Brian A. Howey / Special to IBJ
Counties with one or two major cities could have their townships within the urban areas terminated. Townships serving rural areas would continue, but their numbers could be greatly consolidated.
More

KRULL: Pence, Delph turn Constitution on its headRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
John Krull / Special to IBJ
The states’ rights argument that Pence and Delph advance is the one Lincoln waged war to defeat.
More

MUTZ: Getting economic development rightRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
John Mutz / Special to IBJ
As an IEDC board member and former lieutenant governor responsible for economic development in the 1980s, I believe IEDC is one of the most successful economic development agencies in the nation.
More

BONIFIELD: Balanced appeal will resuscitate DemocratsRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
Jake Bonifield / Special to IBJ
Democrats need to forge a coherent pact with their constituents, detailing how they will reform education without undermining educators; shepherd sensible, pro-taxpayer policies through the General Assembly without becoming distracted by fringe issues; and provide private citizens and municipalities with the tools and revenue they need to evolve Indiana into an economic leader.
More

OSILI: Invest in social services and infrastructureRestricted Content

February 26, 2011
The high costs of social service needs must never lead to initial under-investment or inconsistent long-term maintenance of a community’s infrastructure.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Uh, sorry Johnnie, but you are incorrect. Despite the assertions by yourself and various defenders and captains, sports attendance is NOT off significantly at most sporting events in the US. Variances in attendance has been in the range of single digits, both + & - for years now. MLB has had most of its best overall attendance nubers in the last decade, and that trend has been consistent for most major sporting events. The number one issue cited by most fans when asked about attendance is the overall cost of attending. The presence of HD and big screen televisions in home doesn't even register, as a factor for not attending an event. VALUE in the product is the key, and apparently is something lacking in the current ICS. What other explanation is there when with what is routinely touted as the "best" racing on the planet, fans are staying away in DROVES. A "close" title battle into the last event at Fontana, with the "cars and stars" of the ICS, and who showed up? MAYBE 8K. Sorry, but HD TV isn't to blame for that kind of fan apathy.

  2. Do you need finance to establish your business ? Are you interested in getting a loan at 3% from our private company? If so please Email: suntrust_oil@blumail.org

  3. If she was worth the $ the public outcry over direct tv dropping them would have kept them on their dishes as we have seen with other companies. I too quit watching channel 13 after she showed up since I left channel 8 because of her all show rather than production results. When Randy on 8 corrected her she had a big head and incorrectly challenged his correction for pronunciation of a city. Other antics while she matures was too much for me with her very inaccurate forecasts. All the forecasters were predicting rain until Thursday except Chris. They predicted sunny on Thursday but instead of rain until Thursday upon which the sun would finally make it out in full glory Chris was right on the money just as I too predicted looking at the radar on weather.gov. One thing I love about Angela is the fear you can see in her every time it thunders in the winter. It far exceeds the entertainment value of her body language (high heel noise drags, depression, etc) when her forecasts are so incorrect. Her hair stands on end, you have to see it!!!

  4. Good Day, Apply For A Loan I am Mr Fernadez Antonio, a private Loan lender and a cooperate financial for real estate and any kinds of business financing. I also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at 3% interest rate We offer any kind of loans. email us via fernadezloaninvest@outlook.com LOAN APPLICATION FORM First name:......................... Middle name:......................... Last name:........................................ Date of birth (yyyy-mm-dd):....................... Gender:........................................... Marital status:................................... Total Amount Needed............................... Loan Duration.................................... Address:.......................................... City:............................................. State/province:................................... Zip/postal code:.................................. Country:.......................................... Phone:............................................ Fax:.............................................. Mobile/cellular:.................................. Monthly Income.................................... Occupation:....................................... Best Regard, Mr Fernadez Antonio.

  5. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.okoro how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. okoro on his email:okorospell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr okoro the great spell caster on his email addresses spellcasterforlove@outlook.com

ADVERTISEMENT