Opinion

HETRICK: Singing the oft-unpopular praises of minority rule

March 12, 2011
Bruce Hetrick
When it comes to individual liberties, we’re among the most fortunate citizens on Earth that our government guarantees that the majority will not always prevail.
More

MERHOFF: Let's rethink what businesses want

March 12, 2011
Mo Merhoff
Today’s lifestyle preferences have trumped yesterday’s corporate loyalty, just as flatter organizational structures leading to greater employee interaction have replaced pyramid-shaped corporate structures.
More

DINING: Salivating over Salvadoran cuisine on the westside

March 12, 2011
Lou Harry
Second in a month-long series of numeric restaurant reviews. This week: 3 in 1 Restaurant on the west side.
More

BENNER: Who might be this year's Butler? Maybe ButlerRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Bill Benner
A year ago this week, the Butler men’s basketball team was preparing to play the University of Texas-El Paso in the opening round of the NCAA tournament. Who knew what was about to unfold?
More

Marcus is naive

March 12, 2011
Reading the [Feb. 28] column by Morton Marcus was akin to reading the Sunday morning comics.
More

Krull column was out of line

March 12, 2011
[Columnist] John Krull, in an attempt [in the Feb. 28 Forefront] to slam U.S. Rep. Mike Pence [R-Indiana] and State Sen. Mike Delph [R-Carmel], used a very flawed premise.
More

Forefront one-sided

March 12, 2011
I was disappointed and frankly astounded at the incredible lack of balance and clear anti-Republican, anti-conservative message delivered in the Feb. 28 Forefront.
More

Indiana must limit immigration

March 12, 2011
It always amazes me that the obvious results of exporting jobs, importing workers and engaging in other forms of labor and environmental arbitrage are a mystery to newspaper editorialists and many of our so-called public leaders.
More

State should go smoke-free

March 12, 2011
Less than a month ago, it seemed almost certain that Indiana would join the ranks of two dozen other states and the District of Columbia—including our neighbors Illinois, Ohio, Michigan and Wisconsin—in enacting a statewide, comprehensive smoke-free-air law.
More

HOLCOMB: Americans should make Indiana's Story their own storyRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Eric Holcomb / Special to IBJ
There is no more compelling story or record to inspect than My Man Mitch’s should the country hope to make a presidential change.
More

PARKER: Primaries, spotty record undermine Daniels' chancesRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Dan Parker / Special to IBJ
Ultimately, I suspect all this presidential talk is much ado about nothing, but Daniels isn’t tamping down the speculation because it doesn’t hurt to be talked about.
More

HEIN: Sports more than a game in Green Bay, IndyRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Jay Hein / Special to IBJ
Both cities consider sports to be a reflection of not only their spirit but also their character.
More

RENN: Beyond brain drain to talent magnetRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Aaron M. Renn / Special to IBJ
Indy is no longer a sleepy, backwater state capital. While it certainly has a way to go in some departments, it is at the point where it can compete at a much higher level than many think.
More

CAMPBELL: The absurdity of our immigration politicsRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Steve Campbell / Special to IBJ
If proponents were serious about the issue, they would make it a crime to hire an illegal immigrant. Not a slap on the wrist, not a fine, not an audit, but a felony.
More

VAUGHN: Time to end two-timing public employeesRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
Shouldn’t the right of citizens to have government untainted by conflicts prevail over the perceived right of an individual to run for office and hold a public job at the same time?
More

BOEHM: Put redistricting in hands of citizen groupRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Ted Boehm / Special to IBJ
Although there is no one right answer to the “best” map, a group of respected citizens charged with drawing fair maps will take that obligation seriously.
More

KETZENBERGER: Referenda may divide school funding equityRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
The recession and slow recovery have made it harder for schools to win approval for tax increases for both general spending and construction.
More

HARRIS: The amount of quality classroom time is the real issueRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
David Harris / Special to IBJ
It’s not when to start and when to end that matters, it’s the amount of time kids spend actually learning that will keep us competing in the global economy.
More

MEREDITH: Community leaders know what's best for their schoolsRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Teresa Meredith / Special to IBJ
It seems clear that local control of school calendar issues should be based on what is best for the students in local settings and not about the bottom dollar of profit.
More

SHELLA: Indiana has no shortage of stupid lawsRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
A law designed to make politics more transparent has given politicians a reason to hide their motives, their actions, and wink at the public in the meantime.
More

EARLY: My fond memories of President ReaganRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Rex Early / Special to IBJ
Soon-to-be President Reagan seemed to enjoy the fact that some of my uninvited pals from White River Yacht Club showed up on the river in two pontoon boats.
More

TENBARGE: Please, cut Indiana University's budgetRestricted Content

March 12, 2011
Barrett Tenbarge / Special to IBJ
Of all the areas for potential cuts, higher education makes the most sense. Not only are there great opportunities for cuts, but our higher education institutions are well-prepared to handle them.
More

EDITORIAL: Hulman & Co.'s new board is good sign

March 5, 2011
 IBJ Staff
The Indianapolis Motor Speedway and the IndyCar racing series are far too important to the Indianapolis economy for their fate to rest entirely in the hands of a small board populated by members of the same family.
More

MAURER: Conner Prairie's allure keeps growing

March 5, 2011
Mickey Maurer
Conner Prairie, an outdoor immersion history museum, offers modern-day time travelers an opportunity to experience long-ago life on the prairie at the Conner residence in what is now Fishers.
More

MARCUS: The nightmare in my neighborhood

March 5, 2011
Morton Marcus
Clearly, any group of workers with incomes in excess of their proportion in the economy are villains.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Good Day I am Mr (Victoria Wright) from United state of America, i stayed in NEW YORK, and i have a broke up business, until i found this company email who help me to gain a loan for business,, and now i want to used this short medium to congratulate the below company for the fast and safe money they loan to me without any form of collateral, i loan 500,000USD from the company to save my business and lots more, i saw their mail on the internet, everyone always give testimony for what they did, so i quickly contacted them and they all did everything for me without stress and my money was sent to my account just 3 days later, i was surprise and i feel so glad, now i have a standard business control agent who help me, now i will advice those who need urgent loan to contact him at the bellow email:zenithfirm12@gmail.com

  2. NOTICE:This is to inform the general public that Vampires are real. My name is James Franklyn.,am an agent of vampire,am here to introduce our new world trend to you,a world of vampire where life get easier,we have made so many persons vampires and have turned them rich,you will be assured long life and prosperity,you shall be made to be very sensitive to mental alertness,stronger and also very fast,you will not be restricted to walking at night only even at the very middle of broad day light you will be made to walk.In case you are wildly oppressed by some unscrupulous persons we can still help you fight them.Your protection is assured immediately you join.Just contact the bellow email if you are interested we are here to attend to you anytime you want us. Contact the bellow email for more details. Email:vampirescreed@hotmail.com Sincerely: James Franklyn.

  3. Bravo! Someone else that is willing to speak the truth! Bravo!_____NBCSN is available in almost 2 MILLION more homes than just a few years ago, but Indycar STILL gets less total viewers than it did just a few years ago when NBC took over Versus. Attendance and ratings cratered with the end of season races (just when the title battle got "interesting" HAH!__________And now...new race in Basilia, where Miles celebrated the "rich history" of Indycar racing there. Rich history? What, 7 events in the 100 years of AOW? Yep, some history. Well, at least its an oval. It's not??? Are you kidding me??? Gosh darn road racin furriners.

  4. PURITY RAY LOAN OFFER........ Have you been denied by your banks,or are you in need of of an urgent loan to pay of your bills we are capable of giving loans @ cheaper rate to interested individuals, student, companies and members of the public in need of finance to settle bills, we do offer considerable loans which you can count on. For more information on our various types of loan,then you will have to contact PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM, to help you achieve your desire LOAN APPLICATION FORM TO BE FILLED BORROWERS INFORMATION * Full name:………………………. * SEX * ……………………………. * Country………………………….. * State:……………………………. * Land:…………………………….. * Occupation:…………………….. * phone number:…………………. * Telephone: ………………………….. * Age:………………………………. * Amount needed as loan:……… * Loan Duration:………………….. * Propose of Loan:……………….. * Annual revenue:………………… * Monthly Income:……………….. * Guarantee:………………………. * Payment: monthly or annually Email.....purityrayloanfirm@gmail.com Thank you and God bless Mr Purity Ray PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM we tend to serve you better

  5. Problem: most of the people responding to this article don't know about this service AT ALL! Why? Lack of awareness. This isn't IndyGo. This is CIRTA: might as well be the mattress company because they are asleep at the wheel - something like 3 directors over the last year? Playing with federal grant money is great! This "region" wants commuter rail service, has spent MILLIONS on Transportation studies yet can't even support a commuter bus line? This is largely for suburban riders to get to downtown - not for "service people to work in our hotels and restaurants" ! Get your head out of your backside!! These are professionals, students etc. that don't want to fight traffic, save some money on parking, gas, stress.... if CIRTA would put their federal money into widely promoting the sevive to Greenwood, Fishers & Carmel instead of finding directors and studies - this would be a successful service. Our family uses(d) it daily for the last several years - but the recent uncertainty & now unreliability due to cuts from Carmel has been a problem. Now, costs us an additional $350/month for gas & parking ( $4200/year) plus vehicle wear, service, environmental impact ... YES - this REGION needs this this type of service in order to keep growing and getting the people it needs to fill skilled positions in downtown Indianapolis. Think outside of your own car !!!

ADVERTISEMENT