Opinion

FEIGENBAUM: Lawmakers wrestle with when and how to regulate

January 29, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
What may be appropriate regulatory reform to one person or industry may be anathema to another.
More

DINING: Delicious deli ideal for pre- or post-show nosh

January 29, 2011
Lou Harry
In 2002, the 86th Street staple relocated to Carmel. Now, that move could pay off as Shapiro's becomes the unofficial cafeteria for the new Center for the Performing Arts.
More

EDITORIAL: Let districts decide when to start classes

January 29, 2011
 IBJ Staff
It isn’t difficult to understand why state Sen. Mike Delph wants to force school districts to start their academic years after Labor Day; what’s perplexing is why Delph would want to slap a restriction on districts at a time they need more freedom to manage their own affairs.
More

We keep taxes low at our peril

January 29, 2011
As we have seen our already poor-quality educational system and libraries cut every year, while raising expectations—it is darkly ironic that the same politicians are making these contradictory decisions.
More

Renn adds value

January 29, 2011
Congrats to IBJ for publishing the article, “Indianapolis must reinvent itself—again” by Aaron Renn [in the Jan. 10 Forefront].
More

Volunteer today

January 29, 2011
Thank you for [Greg Morris’ Jan. 17 column]. Like a lot of adults, I’ve had “volunteer” on my to-do list for quite some time, and that time just never seems to come.
More

EDITORIAL: Time for mayor to clear the air, back smoking ban

January 22, 2011
 IBJ Staff
Another year, another parade of editorials, opinion pieces and studies that call for Indiana to join its neighbors in banning smoking in all workplaces.
More

MAURER: This is a broker's tale worth readingRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Mickey Maurer
“Twelve years after I popped out, I learned to sell. During the next three, I began to write. Fifty years later, I discovered how to kill.” Thus begins the journal of investment adviser Jack Chap, protagonist in John Guy’s novel “Middle Man, a Broker’s Tale.”
More

MARCUS: A good bill benefits dinosaur buildings

January 22, 2011
Morton Marcus
Building owners or developers use the Indiana Industrial Recovery Income Tax Credit to reduce their costs in restoring or rehabilitating dinosaur industrial structures.
More

COX: Shrinking government can increase costs

January 22, 2011
Wendell Cox
Legislation will likely be introduced in the Indiana General Assembly to abolish township governments and consolidate their functions into counties. As in the past, the proponents claim this would save money for taxpayers. Nothing could be further from the truth.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Daniels experiences pushback even from Republicans

January 22, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
Assorted issues advanced by Republican Gov. Mitch Daniels are confronting political pushback—from his Republican legislative majority.
More

HICKS: Earmarks need overhaul, but they aren't entirely badRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Mike Hicks
Our influential senior senator, Richard Lugar, and 6th District congressman, Mike Pence, disagree on an outright ban on earmarks. This is a rare case in which the differing concerns of both men are right.
More

SKARBECK: Big banks still face issues over soured mortgagesRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
The U.S. banking system continues on its path toward healing—with many thanks to the ongoing generosity of U.S. taxpayers.
More

DINING: Come, sit, eat with Donatello's Italian family

January 22, 2011
-Andrea Davis
Located just west of Range Line Road in Carmel’s Art & Design District, Donatello’s Italian Restaurant is a true family affair.
More

BENNER: Athletes, like politicians, should dial down the rhetoricRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Bill Benner
Trash talk seems so silly. Pointless. Childish.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Many are talented, but few are stars ... what makes the difference?

January 22, 2011
Lou Harry
As someone addicted to the arts, I’ve seen a lot of talent on stage. Every once in a while, though, I see star power.
More

HETRICK: From Indiana and Tucson, a tale of two tragedies

January 22, 2011
Bruce Hetrick
The biggest killer of all—cigarette smoke—knocks off 450,000 Americans a year—400,000 of those smokers themselves, 50,000 innocent bystanders.
More

GIBSON: A multi-part plan to address wide swathe of issuesRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Ron Gibson / Special to IBJ
My vision and passion for Indianapolis and all of its citizens will clearly separate me from my opponents.
More

KENNEDY: Public safety, economic development demand attentionRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Melina Kennedy / Special to IBJ
Above all, I will continue to listen to the needs, hopes and ideas of residents across the city. That diversity of ideas, opinion and people will help define my campaign.
More

KRULL: School choice not as simple as it seemsRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
John Krull / Special to IBJ
The fight over public education has become a way for entrenched interests—the business community and teachers’ unions—to lob shells at each other.
More

HOWEY: Daniels still thinking outside the rutRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Brian A. Howey / Special to IBJ
With just two years left in his second term—and beginning only his third year with Republican legislative majorities—Gov. Mitch Daniels presides over a state that has been trapped in a jobless rate hovering around 10 percent for two years.
More

MUTZ: Improve our existing utility regulationsRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
John Mutz / Special to IBJ
The actions by utility representatives, the regulatory commission chairman and one of his employees created the appearance of impropriety.
More

LADWIG: Local property rights, Zimbabwe styleRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Craig Ladwig / Special to IBJ
Is it hyperbolic to relate anti-colonialism in the African Corn Belt to the machinations of the Capital Improvement Board, the Metropolitan Development Commission or the Indianapolis mayor’s office?
More

TORR: Right-to-work freedom would stoke Indiana's economyRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Jerry Torr / Special to IBJ
There is one simple change we could make in state law that would put more Hoosiers back to work: Make Indiana the nation’s 23rd right-to-work state.
More

GUYOTT: Legislation threatens established stability, prosperityRestricted Content

January 22, 2011
Nancy Guyott / Special to IBJ
Passage of right-to-work legislation would mean unions could not negotiate contracts that say all workers must pay for union representation.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. So much for Eric Holder's conversation about race. If white people have got something to say, they get sued over it. Bottom line: white people have un-freer speech than others as a consequence of the misnamed "Civil rights laws."

  2. I agree, having seen three shows, that I was less than wowed. Disappointing!!

  3. Start drilling, start fracking, and start using our own energy. Other states have enriched their citizens and nearly elminated unemployment by using these resources that are on private land. If you are against the 'low prices' of discount stores, the best way to allow shoppers more choice is to empower them with better earnings. NOT through manipulated gov mandated min wage hikes, but better jobs and higher competitive pay. This would be direct result of using our own energy resources, yet Obama knows that Americans who arent dependent of gov welfare are much less likely to vote Dem, so he looks for ways to ensure America's decline and keep its citizens dependent of gov.

  4. Say It Loud, I'm Black and Ashamed: It's too bad that with certain "black" entertainment events, it seems violence and thuggery follows and the collateral damage that it leaves behinds continues to be a strain on the city in terms of people getting hurt, killed or becoming victims of crimes and/or stretching city resources. I remember shopping in the Meadows area years ago until violence and crime ended make most of the business pack you and leave as did with Lafayette Square and Washington Square. Over the past 10 to 12 years, I remember going to the Indiana Black Expo Soul Picnic in Washington Park. Violence, gang fights and homicides ended that. My great grandmother still bears the scares on her leg from when she was trampled by a group of thugs running from gun fire from a rival gang. With hundreds of police offices downtown still multiple shootings, people getting shot downtown during Black Expo. A number of people getting shots or murdered at black clubs around the city like Club Six on the west side, The Industry downtown, Jamal Tinsley's shot out in front of the Conrad, multiple fights and shootings at the skating rinks, shootings at Circle Center Mall and shooting and robberies and car jackings at Lafayette Mall. Shootings and gang violence and the State Fair. I can go on and on and on. Now Broad Ripple. (Shaking head side to side) Say It Loud, I'm Black and I'm Ashamed.

  5. Ballard Administration. Too funny. This is the least fiscally responsive administration I have ever seen. One thing this article failed to mention, is that the Hoosier State line delivers rail cars to the Amtrak Beech Grove maintenance facility for refurbishment. That's an economic development issue. And the jobs there are high-paying. That alone is worth the City's investment.

ADVERTISEMENT