Opinion

RENN: Hoosiers shouldn't gloat over Illinois taxesRestricted Content

February 12, 2011
Aaron M. Renn / Special to IBJ
Illinois may be content to tax itself into oblivion, but just because Indiana has taken care of fiscal business, it still has plenty more work to do.
More

KETZENBERGER: State taxes will suffer until wages recoverRestricted Content

February 12, 2011
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
Wages in the state’s manufacturing sector are falling as two-tier wage structures and other pressures reduce workers’ income.
More

HOLCOMB: Courageous Republican style will grow on Hoosier votersRestricted Content

February 12, 2011
Eric Holcomb / Special to IBJ
To suggest voters were only intent on sending a message to the president, Nancy Pelosi, or Pat Bauer is missing a significant electoral mood shift that occurred.
More

MALONE: Project will boost dormant area of downtownRestricted Content

February 12, 2011
Barbara Malone / Special to IBJ
The real story is the work by council members and council consultants in renegotiating the financial risks from a worst-case-scenario framework.
More

TENBARGE: Politicians wanting 'magis,' step forwardRestricted Content

February 12, 2011
Barrett Tenbarge / Special to IBJ
The next governor must continue on the path toward more reform, and at the center of this reform should be my generation.
More

BONIFIELD: Finding Mr. Watson amid education reformRestricted Content

February 12, 2011
Jake Bonifield / Special to IBJ
If House and Senate Republicans truly believe they can identify which teachers should go and which deserve rewards, let them write legislation that does it.
More

EARLY: Parties should go back to conventionsRestricted Content

February 12, 2011
Rex Early / Special to IBJ
You can buy name ID (it’s expensive), but no one has figured out how to buy elected delegates.
More

HERBERT: Raising false alarms about Social SecurityRestricted Content

February 12, 2011
Bob Herbert / New York Times Syndicate
The folks who want to raise the retirement age and hack away at benefits for ordinary working Americans are inevitably those who have not the least worry about their own retirement.
More

EDITORIAL: North of South project worth the risk

February 5, 2011
We understand the concern expressed by some on the City-County Council over Indianapolis’ role in financing the $155 million project, but there are compelling reasons to approve it.
More

MAURER: Workforce Inc. recycles peopleRestricted Content

February 5, 2011
Mickey Maurer
Now that football season is over, I suggest we turn our attention to a real hero: Gregg Keesling, CEO of Workforce Inc., an organization that populates practically its entire work force with ex-offenders.
More

MARCUS: Recession's recovery persistently denied

February 5, 2011
Morton Marcus
Indiana's recovery is only 75-percent complete, lagging the nation.
More

HENDERSON: The great school massacre of 2011

February 5, 2011
Tom Henderson
What a great way to slime our public school education infrastructure: educational vouchers.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Unemployment insurance bill's path surprisingly smooth

February 5, 2011
Ed Feigenbaum
Once in a legislative blue moon, a bill will zip through the labyrinthine process with alacrity.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Palladium premieres

February 5, 2011
Lou Harry
I’m not ready to use the word “perfect” but, in my lifetime, I honestly don’t expect to hear chamber music in a better-sounding venue than I did Jan. 30.
More

DINING: Tavern on South has obvious appeal

February 5, 2011
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Despite its obvious appeal to fans of teams that suit up within spitting distance, Tavern on South avoids the raucous sports-bar atmosphere.
More

WEB REVIEW: Online help for escaping dinner rut and menu freeze

February 5, 2011
Jim Cota
Probably the most interesting online grocery service in Indianapolis is Green B.E.A.N Delivery.
More

SKARBECK: If consultants take over, ownership is relinquishedRestricted Content

February 5, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
Unfortunately, there are numerous examples of mishap when the investment decision-making process is farmed out.
More

BENNER: Super Bowls Radio Row is a non-stop PR machineRestricted Content

February 5, 2011
Bill Benner
The National Football League has created this monster and couldn’t be happier about it.
More

Tobacco subsidies support smoking

February 5, 2011
I am usually amused and even sometimes intellectually stimulated by Bruce Hetrick’s opinion pieces. However, his piece (Jan. 24) drawing parallels between the tragic shootings in Tucson and tobacco related deaths is over the top.
More

Anti-smoking column went too far

February 5, 2011
I do not think I have ever read a more disgustingly disrespectful column as the one printed in the Jan. 24-30 issue, written by Bruce Hetrick.
More

MORRIS: Palladium spotlights a Carmel all can be proud of

January 29, 2011
Greg Morris
As the debut of the Palladium in Carmel has taken center stage, I have been reflecting on the amazing ascent of what used to be a sleepy town.
More

MARCUS: Indiana says, 'If it's broken, throw it out'

January 29, 2011
Morton Marcus
Indiana’s new policy is, “If it is broken, throw it out.” We applied that policy to township assessors and now we are applying it to township government. Soon we may do the same to urban school districts.
More

WILLIAMS: Light rail to airport is key for downtown

January 29, 2011
Brian Williams
If Union Station was linked to an urban transportation system extending from downtown to the Hendricks County border, workers in the gargantuan warehouses west of Indianapolis would have access to a reliable transit system.
More

ALTOM: Why Microsoft Word has so many questionable features

January 29, 2011
Tim Altom
The out-of-the-box, standard interface wasn’t primarily for boosting productivity, but for giving demonstrations. It was marketing, and not usability, that was driving interface design.
More

HICKS: President should focus on reducing debt burdenRestricted Content

January 29, 2011
Mike Hicks
What worried me most about the president’s speech was not what he said, but what he didn’t.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I'm sure Indiana is paradise for the wealthy and affluent, but what about the rest of us? Over the last 40 years, conservatives and the business elite have run this country (and state)into the ground. The pendulum will swing back as more moderate voters get tired of Reaganomics and regressive social policies. Add to that the wave of minority voters coming up in the next 10 to 15 years and things will get better. unfortunately we have to suffer through 10 more years of gerrymandered districts and dispropionate representation.

  2. Funny thing....rich people telling poor people how bad the other rich people are wanting to cut benefits/school etc and that they should vote for those rich people that just did it. Just saying..............

  3. Good try, Mr. Irwin, but I think we all know the primary motivation for pursuing legal action against the BMV is the HUGE FEES you and your firm expect to receive from the same people you claim to be helping ~ taxpayers! Almost all class action lawsuits end up with the victim receiving a pittance and the lawyers receiving a windfall.

  4. Fix the home life. We're not paying for your child to color, learn letters, numbers and possible self control. YOU raise your children...figure it out! We did. Then they'll do fine in elementary school. Weed out the idiots in public schools, send them well behaved kids (no one expects perfection) and watch what happens! Oh, and pray. A mom.

  5. To clarify, the system Cincinnati building is just a streetcar line which is the cheapest option for rail when you consider light rail (Denver, Portland, and Seattle.) The system (streetcar) that Cincy is building is for a downtown, not a city wide thing. With that said, I think the bus plan make sense and something I shouted to the rooftops about. Most cities with low density and low finances will opt for BRT as it makes more financial and logistical sense. If that route grows and finances are in place, then converting the line to a light rail system is easy as you already have the protected lanes in place. I do think however that Indy should build a streetcar system to connect different areas of downtown. This is the same thing that Tucson, Cincy, Kenosha WI, Portland, and Seattle have done. This allows for easy connections to downtown POI, and allows for more dense growth. Connecting the stadiums to the zoo, convention center, future transit center, and the mall would be one streetcar line that makes sense.

ADVERTISEMENT