Opinion

Lung cancer strikes nonsmokers

November 6, 2010
Last November I was hospitalized with H1N1 and pneumonia. In January I had a biopsy that confirmed non-small-cell lung cancer, stage IV.
More

EDITORIAL: A last chance for City Market

October 30, 2010
 IBJ Staff
We like the changes afoot at City Market. But if the latest attempt to reposition it doesn’t work, the city should consider mothballing the beloved old building until its surroundings become a benefit rather than a liability.
More

MAURER: Have patience with profitsRestricted Content

October 30, 2010
Mickey Maurer
To create a disciplined investment philosophy, I evolved “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship You Didn’t Learn in School.”—Over the course of 10 columns, I will feature each of these essential principles. This is the eighth installment.
More

MARCUS: Only tell the good news; why excite people?

October 30, 2010
Morton Marcus
You have to love them—the professional spinners, public and private. These are not the public relations people who work for large companies and government agencies. No. These are the corporate leaders and the public officials who listen to the PR people.
More

HENDERSON: Thinking outside the neurotypical hiring box

October 30, 2010
Tom Henderson
There’s a screening process we often use in the human resources process that’s meant to identify prospective candidates. It needs re-thinking.
More

SKARBECK: Changes on horizon for mutual fund fees

October 30, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
The U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission is proposing significant changes to the structure of the annual marketing or distribution fee on mutual funds known as a 12(b)-1 fee.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Old favorites still satisfy

October 30, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, some top picks from Indianapolis museums' and attractions' permanent collections
More

DINING: Jazz Kitchen also makes beautiful music

October 30, 2010
Lou Harry
Is it fair to review a restaurant when it is trying to serve a packed house of customers who all have arrived and leave at roughly the same time?
More

BENNER: Misperceptions swirl around college agent issueRestricted Content

October 30, 2010
Bill Benner
How many collegians accept money? The percentage could not possibly rise above the low single digits, if that.
More

Time for townships has passed

October 30, 2010
I am in agreement with the IBJ position [stated in the Oct. 25 editorial]. It is time to abolish townships and shift their revenue and responsibilities to their respective counties.
More

WEB REVIEW: With Groupon and its ilk, daily deals drive demand

October 30, 2010
Jim Cota
All of these work on the same basic premise: Make an offer to customers that is at or better than 50-percent off, use the power of the deal and their social networks to spread the word, and wait for the sales to roll in.
More

Meter deal not in city's interest

October 30, 2010
It’s easy to see that a deal that gives away billions of dollars over 50 years to a private company might not be the best deal for the citizens of our city.
More

EDITORIAL: State can't afford to keep townships

October 23, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Indiana lawmakers are gearing up for another legislative session, and township government reform will return to the agenda. We hope proponents can finally hit a home run.
More

MORRIS: Not all economic news is bad news

October 23, 2010
Greg Morris
If we listen too much to the financial channels, it will make us want to bury our money in a hole in the yard and get a Rottweiler to guard it.
More

MARCUS: A penny is not worth a cent anymore

October 23, 2010
Morton Marcus
Ordinary saving by the ordinary citizen became a self-destructive activity in the 1970s and has shown only little improvement since then.
More

GIGERICH: Education, economy are closely tied

October 23, 2010
Larry Gigerich
Ten years into the 21st century, most people understand that a strong education system is vital to ensuring long-term economic development success. Where things become fuzzy is in defining what comprises a strong education system and, more important, the required outcomes of that system.
More

ALTOM: Can new technology make a toilet cleaner?

October 23, 2010
Tim Altom
In a previous issue of IBJ, another columnist wrote that technology can raise the productivity of toilet cleaners. It wasn’t a central part of his argument, but as you might imagine, it caught my eye. I couldn’t resist looking into bathroom technology.
More

BENNER: Will Pacers put up wins and finally win back fans?Restricted Content

October 23, 2010
Bill Benner
The Indiana Pacers open their National Basketball Association season Wednesday night with two questions overriding other concerns.
More

HETRICK: You gotta be civil on the long road out of EdenRestricted Content

October 23, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Etiquette at Eagles concert in short supply.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Why Gilbert & Sullivan?

October 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Thoughts on Indianapolis Opera's "The Mikado." Plus, the holiday season arrives early with Beef & Boards' "White Christmas."
More

DINING: Easy-to-miss eatery deserves a look ... and taste

October 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Last in a month-long series of reviews of "street" restaurants. This week: 106th St. Grill.
More

City can improve meters itself

October 23, 2010
You do not have to sell off the parking meters to bring the rates and service hours up to par with other Midwest cities.
More

Maurer columns hit home

October 23, 2010
I want to express how much I’ve enjoyed reading [Mickey Maurer’s] commentaries the last few weeks.
More

EDITORIAL: Judge North of South project on its merits

October 16, 2010
The city’s plan to provide an $86 million loan for the mixed-use North of South real estate development adjacent to the Eli Lilly and Co. campus has drawn criticism from those who think the city should focus first on other needs, such as IndyGo and public libraries.
More

MAURER: Make a statement this HalloweenRestricted Content

October 16, 2010
Mickey Maurer
What to wear? What to wear? You are probably having difficulty trying to decide on a costume for Halloween. Lady Gaga is reported to be the best-selling costume this year, but if you cannot abide her wacky style, here are some better choices.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Uh, sorry Johnnie, but you are incorrect. Despite the assertions by yourself and various defenders and captains, sports attendance is NOT off significantly at most sporting events in the US. Variances in attendance has been in the range of single digits, both + & - for years now. MLB has had most of its best overall attendance nubers in the last decade, and that trend has been consistent for most major sporting events. The number one issue cited by most fans when asked about attendance is the overall cost of attending. The presence of HD and big screen televisions in home doesn't even register, as a factor for not attending an event. VALUE in the product is the key, and apparently is something lacking in the current ICS. What other explanation is there when with what is routinely touted as the "best" racing on the planet, fans are staying away in DROVES. A "close" title battle into the last event at Fontana, with the "cars and stars" of the ICS, and who showed up? MAYBE 8K. Sorry, but HD TV isn't to blame for that kind of fan apathy.

  2. Do you need finance to establish your business ? Are you interested in getting a loan at 3% from our private company? If so please Email: suntrust_oil@blumail.org

  3. If she was worth the $ the public outcry over direct tv dropping them would have kept them on their dishes as we have seen with other companies. I too quit watching channel 13 after she showed up since I left channel 8 because of her all show rather than production results. When Randy on 8 corrected her she had a big head and incorrectly challenged his correction for pronunciation of a city. Other antics while she matures was too much for me with her very inaccurate forecasts. All the forecasters were predicting rain until Thursday except Chris. They predicted sunny on Thursday but instead of rain until Thursday upon which the sun would finally make it out in full glory Chris was right on the money just as I too predicted looking at the radar on weather.gov. One thing I love about Angela is the fear you can see in her every time it thunders in the winter. It far exceeds the entertainment value of her body language (high heel noise drags, depression, etc) when her forecasts are so incorrect. Her hair stands on end, you have to see it!!!

  4. Good Day, Apply For A Loan I am Mr Fernadez Antonio, a private Loan lender and a cooperate financial for real estate and any kinds of business financing. I also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at 3% interest rate We offer any kind of loans. email us via fernadezloaninvest@outlook.com LOAN APPLICATION FORM First name:......................... Middle name:......................... Last name:........................................ Date of birth (yyyy-mm-dd):....................... Gender:........................................... Marital status:................................... Total Amount Needed............................... Loan Duration.................................... Address:.......................................... City:............................................. State/province:................................... Zip/postal code:.................................. Country:.......................................... Phone:............................................ Fax:.............................................. Mobile/cellular:.................................. Monthly Income.................................... Occupation:....................................... Best Regard, Mr Fernadez Antonio.

  5. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.okoro how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. okoro on his email:okorospell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr okoro the great spell caster on his email addresses spellcasterforlove@outlook.com

ADVERTISEMENT