Opinion

HICKS: The end of a recession doesn't feel like oneRestricted Content

September 25, 2010
Mike Hicks
It is good to look back on the recession and think about where we've been and how this recession stacked up against others.
More

ALTOM: Think before selling your old software

September 25, 2010
Tim Altom
The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals has made it official: You don’t own your software if the software maker says you don’t own it.
More

Parking meter deal is boon for city

September 25, 2010
The proposed parking transaction with ACS is another example of the mayor streamlining government, maximizing the value of existing assets, and securing millions of dollars for infrastructure improvements.
More

NFL lockout risky

September 25, 2010
I hope NFL owners and players take into account, while contemplating a lockout, the effect on the fans.
More

EDITORIAL: City's parking plan needs work

September 18, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Mayor Greg Ballard strikes us as someone who puts pragmatism over politics. That’s why we’re hopeful he’ll reconsider details of the controversial plan to turn over the city’s metered parking to a private vendor.
More

MAURER: Get and keep controlRestricted Content

September 18, 2010
Mickey Maurer
To create a disciplined investment philosophy, I evolved from my experience, “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship You Didn’t Learn in School”. Over the course of 10 columns, I will feature each of these essential principles. This is the sixth installment.
More

MARCUS: Airport conversations reveal concerns

September 18, 2010
Morton Marcus
There’s no reason to use the valuable land at the airport for new hotels that will drive out existing facilities nearby.
More

GARNER: Multifamily housing is not the enemy

September 18, 2010
Sanford Garner
It would be easy to blame the economy for our blighted urban neighborhoods. True, these tough economic times have led to more vacant and foreclosed houses than we can count. But the key to revitalizing a neighborhood stretches far beyond boarded-up houses.
More

DINING: Square Rootz Deli shapes sandwiches with style

September 18, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It's easy to miss this new Fountain Square eatery, but it's worth finding.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: City Ballet benefit rises to the occasion again

September 18, 2010
Lou Harry
Ballet's “An Evening with the Stars” fundraising event featured stars of the Bolshoi Ballet, American Ballet Theatre and much more.
More

STYLE: Fashion students don't want to be part of brain drain

September 18, 2010
Gabrielle Poshadlo
While guest-speaking at a fashion history class at the Art Institute of Indianapolis, I became curious what the roomful of students planned to do with their education.<
More

SKARBECK: Expect more battles over public pensions

September 18, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
This year, 15 states have enacted legislation to reduce future public pension obligations.
More

Meter deal is a bad idea

September 18, 2010
I read with interest [Cory Schouten’s] article in the Aug. 30 IBJ, “City vendor may get $1.2B,” detailing aspects of the city’s proposed deal to privatize the city’s parking meters.
More

Biglari Holdings not worth covering

September 18, 2010
I find the continued press coverage about Steak-n-Shake and Biglari Holdings to be irrelevant to our community and a waste of IBJ’s valuable resources.
More

Maurer 'walks the talk'

September 18, 2010
Re: Mickey Maurer’s Sept. 6 article, “Kindness is a measure of success,” my experiences with him show he “walks the talk.”
More

Praise for Maurer columns

September 18, 2010
I am enjoying [Mickey Maurer’s] articles in IBJ about the essential principles of entrepreneurship. They are very worthwhile and well-written.
More

Indiana leads charge on electric cars

September 18, 2010
In Indianapolis, it looks like the electric car is much closer to rounding the corner, with Energy Systems Network’s recent announcement that the partnership is launching a pilot project that will, it seems, make electric commutes a reality here and eventually across the United States.
More

EDITORIAL: Revive 21st Century Fund, boost entrepreneurship

September 11, 2010
 IBJ Staff
One damper on Indiana's entrepreneurial growth has been the shrinking of the 21st Century Research and Technology Fund, which has lost half its support because of state budget woes. As soon as state revenue permits, the state should bring this key program back to its funding level of $37 million a year, or boost it even higher.
More

MORRIS: Another app, and some perspective

September 11, 2010
Greg Morris
As Indianapolis Business Journal launches its mobile phone application, I’m struck by how swiftly communication channels are changing.
More

MARCUS: Gutless government avoids political risk

September 11, 2010
Morton Marcus
When a government entity does not want to assume the political risk of managing its resources, it finds a private firm that, for a price, will do the job.
More

SLAUGHTER: Don't fall victim to 'imposter syndrome'

September 11, 2010
Robby Slaughter
We might think entrepreneurs, managers and highly paid professionals would be awash in self-confidence. Yet in a 1978 paper, Pauline Rose Clance and Suzanne Imes of Georgia State University wrote that, “Despite outstanding academic and professional accomplishments [many] persist in believing that they are really not bright and have fooled anyone who thinks otherwise.”
More

ALTOM: Praise the unsung device ... the ubiquitous paper clip

September 11, 2010
Tim Altom
To me, the most versatile piece of equipment in an office isn’t the computer. It’s the paper clip.
More

BENNER: NFL TV blackouts aren't our problem ... for nowRestricted Content

September 11, 2010
Bill Benner
Last season, 22 games were blacked out. It's the highest number in five years.
More

HETRICK: Hey, material girls and guys, Uncle Sam needs you!Restricted Content

September 11, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
I wondered what would happen if, someday, we started fending for ourselves instead of hiring others.
More

DINING: It's goodbye SI, hello Mesh in Mass Ave makeover

September 11, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
The service is stellar. The menu is creative. The food is, well, yummy.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. From the story: "The city of Indianapolis also will consider tax incentives and funding for infrastructure required for the project, according to IEDC." Why would the City need to consider additional tax incentives when Lowe's has already bought the land and reached an agreement with IEDC to bring the jobs? What that tells me is that the City has already pledged the incentives, unofficially, and they just haven't had time to push it through the MDC yet. Either way, subsidizing $10/hour jobs is going to do nothing toward furthering the Mayor's stated goal of attracting middle and upper-middle class residents to Marion County.

  2. Ron Spencer and the entire staff of Theater on the Square embraced IndyFringe when it came to Mass Ave in 2005. TOTS was not only a venue but Ron and his friends created, presented and appeared in shows which embraced the 'spirit of the fringe'. He's weathered all the storms and kept smiling ... bon voyage and thank you.

  3. Not sure how many sushi restaurants are enough, but there are three that I know of in various parts of downtown proper and all are pretty good.

  4. First off, it's "moron," not "moran." 2nd, YOU don't get to vote on someone else's rights and freedoms that are guaranteed by the US Constitution. That's why this is not a state's rights issue...putting something like this to vote by, well, people like you who are quite clearly intellectually challenged isn't necessary since the 14th amendment has already decided the issue. Which is why Indiana's effort is a wasted one and a waste of money...and will be overturned just like this has in every other state.

  5. Rick, how does granting theright to marry to people choosing to marry same-sex partners harm the lives of those who choose not to? I cannot for the life of me see any harm to people who choose not to marry someone of the same sex. We understand your choice to take the parts of the bible literally in your life. That is fine but why force your religious beliefs on others? I'm hoping the judges do the right thing and declare the ban unconstitutional so all citizens of Wisconsin and Indiana have the same marriage rights and that those who chose someone of the same sex do not have less rights than others.

ADVERTISEMENT