Opinion

Simons already support library

May 1, 2010
In response to IBJ’s April 26 editorial, “Simon could score for city library,” I thought it important for your readers to know members of the Simon family have a long history of supporting Indianapolis’ public library system and continue to be regular donors.
More

WEB REVIEW: Save the long words for Scrabble

May 1, 2010
Jim Cota
The golden rule should be to communicate clearly.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Take a seat for 2010/2011

May 1, 2010
Lou Harry
It's not too early to think about next season at the Indiana Repertory Theatre, the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, and more.
More

BENNER: Balancing academics, big business is part of NCAA jobRestricted Content

May 1, 2010
Bill Benner
On April 27, the NCAA unveiled its fifth president: Dr. Mark Emmert, currently president of the University of Washington.
More

HICKS: How competition sped up broadband adoptionRestricted Content

May 1, 2010
Mike Hicks
Our study found that simply permitting deregulation of cable TV caused a pleasing increase in broadband adoption.
More

Donations to Brizzi were appropriate

May 1, 2010
Over the course of my 41 years as a member of the Indiana Bar, I have worked to help improve the justice system in Marion County and the state.
More

Losing Pacers wouldn't help library

May 1, 2010
The truth is all it takes to keep [the Pacers] is paying the expenses of a building we would have to pay for anyway.
More

Benner column is a must-read

May 1, 2010
I wanted to let you know that I have really enjoyed reading your articles about Butler, especially the [April 19] “in another universe” piece. As a Butler alum, I still cannot believe we were in the championship and almost won it.
More

Health by Design deserves publicity

May 1, 2010
Thank you for [columnist Tom Harton’s] well-thought-out piece in [the April 26] edition on Health by Design. As Kim Irwin noted, this coalition is primarily aimed at obesity prevention.
More

Woman performed work as contractor

May 1, 2010
I read your article on Vida Aventura and Deseri Garcia in the April 12 issue with interest since Garcia once worked for my company, Team Summit. However, I feel it is important to clarify some of the information contained in the story.
More

EDITORIAL: Simon could score for city library

April 24, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Perhaps it’s time for Pacers owner Herb Simon—a billionaire like his late brother—to burnish his credentials as a philanthropist who makes the city a better place to live and work.
More

HARTON: Our environment provides another path to better health

April 24, 2010
Tom Harton
One recent study showed that medical costs fall more than $3 for every $1 spent on wellness programs. But something doesn’t add up.
More

MARCUS: Privatization not the only answer

April 24, 2010
Morton Marcus
Privatization is a popular political parlor game. Instead of providing thoughtful reasoning for consideration by an informed electorate, officials try to meet public needs through artfulness.
More

COOK: Restoring buildings revitalizes communities

April 24, 2010
William A. Cook
I got involved in restoration projects more than 30 years ago when a serious cardiac illness sidelined me from my medical-device business.
More

ALTOM: Is your smartphone good for business use?

April 24, 2010
Tim Altom
I love smartphones. No other form of biz-tech allows me so much opportunity to be so curmudgeonly about something so popular.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: You won't be bored with Weegee

April 24, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, photographs by the legendary Weegee at the Indianapolis Museum of Art. Plus a visit from the national tour of “A Chorus Line.”
More

DINING: Experiencing pub style, the Brockway way

April 24, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Carmel eatery bills itself as the country's first Dublin-inspired "industrial" pub.
More

BENNER: Think twice before ripping the blue and goldRestricted Content

April 24, 2010
Bill Benner
I defy anyone to tell me that losing the Pacers would be a positive thing for Indianapolis.
More

HETRICK: Job-seeking advice for graduates and grownups, tooRestricted Content

April 24, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
My advice has undergone a course correction to adapt to these challenging times.
More

HICKS: Unemployment situation brings up questionsRestricted Content

April 24, 2010
Mike Hicks
Perhaps the biggest problem is in estimating who is in and not in the formal work force. Even in good times, a surprising number of workers labor in the shadow economy, invisible to government statisticians.
More

Let Citizens take over sports venues

April 24, 2010
There may be a solution to the Capital Improvement Board’s financial problems, described in [the April 19] IBJ, that are further complicated by the Pacers wanting to renegotiate their Conseco agreement.
More

Citizens' takeover of water will be a relief

April 24, 2010
Tom Henderson gets it wrong in his [April 12] view that “Part of the overall utility problem is that lack of government oversight and public policy vision has made Indianapolis one of the highest-polluting and just plain ugliest cities in the Midwest.”
More

Colleges should target learning, not time

April 24, 2010
The Morton Marcus [March 29] column on graduation rates hit home. I too do not like credentialism as an excuse to avoid evaluating performance.
More

Educational quantity sacrifices quality

April 24, 2010
Morton Marcus is right to question postsecondary completion rates as the litmus test for evidence of learning (in the March 29 issue).
More

To grow economy, support small biz

April 24, 2010
Indianapolis, home to a higher convergence of chain restaurants per capita than most any U.S. city (44-percent higher than the national average), retained its crown last week.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Good Day I am Mr (Victoria Wright) from United state of America, i stayed in NEW YORK, and i have a broke up business, until i found this company email who help me to gain a loan for business,, and now i want to used this short medium to congratulate the below company for the fast and safe money they loan to me without any form of collateral, i loan 500,000USD from the company to save my business and lots more, i saw their mail on the internet, everyone always give testimony for what they did, so i quickly contacted them and they all did everything for me without stress and my money was sent to my account just 3 days later, i was surprise and i feel so glad, now i have a standard business control agent who help me, now i will advice those who need urgent loan to contact him at the bellow email:zenithfirm12@gmail.com

  2. NOTICE:This is to inform the general public that Vampires are real. My name is James Franklyn.,am an agent of vampire,am here to introduce our new world trend to you,a world of vampire where life get easier,we have made so many persons vampires and have turned them rich,you will be assured long life and prosperity,you shall be made to be very sensitive to mental alertness,stronger and also very fast,you will not be restricted to walking at night only even at the very middle of broad day light you will be made to walk.In case you are wildly oppressed by some unscrupulous persons we can still help you fight them.Your protection is assured immediately you join.Just contact the bellow email if you are interested we are here to attend to you anytime you want us. Contact the bellow email for more details. Email:vampirescreed@hotmail.com Sincerely: James Franklyn.

  3. Bravo! Someone else that is willing to speak the truth! Bravo!_____NBCSN is available in almost 2 MILLION more homes than just a few years ago, but Indycar STILL gets less total viewers than it did just a few years ago when NBC took over Versus. Attendance and ratings cratered with the end of season races (just when the title battle got "interesting" HAH!__________And now...new race in Basilia, where Miles celebrated the "rich history" of Indycar racing there. Rich history? What, 7 events in the 100 years of AOW? Yep, some history. Well, at least its an oval. It's not??? Are you kidding me??? Gosh darn road racin furriners.

  4. PURITY RAY LOAN OFFER........ Have you been denied by your banks,or are you in need of of an urgent loan to pay of your bills we are capable of giving loans @ cheaper rate to interested individuals, student, companies and members of the public in need of finance to settle bills, we do offer considerable loans which you can count on. For more information on our various types of loan,then you will have to contact PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM, to help you achieve your desire LOAN APPLICATION FORM TO BE FILLED BORROWERS INFORMATION * Full name:………………………. * SEX * ……………………………. * Country………………………….. * State:……………………………. * Land:…………………………….. * Occupation:…………………….. * phone number:…………………. * Telephone: ………………………….. * Age:………………………………. * Amount needed as loan:……… * Loan Duration:………………….. * Propose of Loan:……………….. * Annual revenue:………………… * Monthly Income:……………….. * Guarantee:………………………. * Payment: monthly or annually Email.....purityrayloanfirm@gmail.com Thank you and God bless Mr Purity Ray PURITY RAY LOAN FIRM we tend to serve you better

  5. Problem: most of the people responding to this article don't know about this service AT ALL! Why? Lack of awareness. This isn't IndyGo. This is CIRTA: might as well be the mattress company because they are asleep at the wheel - something like 3 directors over the last year? Playing with federal grant money is great! This "region" wants commuter rail service, has spent MILLIONS on Transportation studies yet can't even support a commuter bus line? This is largely for suburban riders to get to downtown - not for "service people to work in our hotels and restaurants" ! Get your head out of your backside!! These are professionals, students etc. that don't want to fight traffic, save some money on parking, gas, stress.... if CIRTA would put their federal money into widely promoting the sevive to Greenwood, Fishers & Carmel instead of finding directors and studies - this would be a successful service. Our family uses(d) it daily for the last several years - but the recent uncertainty & now unreliability due to cuts from Carmel has been a problem. Now, costs us an additional $350/month for gas & parking ( $4200/year) plus vehicle wear, service, environmental impact ... YES - this REGION needs this this type of service in order to keep growing and getting the people it needs to fill skilled positions in downtown Indianapolis. Think outside of your own car !!!

ADVERTISEMENT