Opinion

Lilly shareholders deserve protection

March 20, 2010
This is the wrong time, in my opinion, and I may not have all the facts, to open up Eli Lilly to an outside takeover.
More

We should all have Forsell's fortitude

March 20, 2010
Sometimes we think we’re having a bad day, until we consider the plight of others. I was recently reminded of this when I came across David Forsell’s article in the March 15 issue.
More

EDITORIAL: Citizens' utility deal is smart move

March 13, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Much work remains before the city’s water and sewer utilities are sold to Citizens Energy Group, but the general outline of the deal makes sense and deserves support—not political posturing—as final terms are hammered out.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dog days at Clowes with national tour of 'Dalmatians' musical

March 13, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, canines at Clowes, sisters in the suburbs, pals searching for Paul, and the Cabaret's new digs at the Columbia Club.
More

PARENT: Take your brain out for a walkRestricted Content

March 13, 2010
Tawn Parent
Urban life has serious costs; it actually impairs our ability to think.
More

DINING: Bearcats revs up for diners in the Stutz Building

March 13, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Third in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries.
More

ALTOM: Who knew YouTube had potential as a free university?Restricted Content

March 13, 2010
Tim Altom
As much as I love and happily use technology, I come from a different age and time when, as they say, life was simpler. I have students who are aghast that I’d rather use a folded paper map to get around town than a GPS and Google Maps in a smart phone.
More

BENNER: Let Big Ten grow, but keep NCAA tournament as isRestricted Content

March 13, 2010
Bill Benner
The concept of more being better could be coming to a couple of institutions we know well.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Legislature heads toward bumpy conclusionRestricted Content

March 13, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
OK, I admit that I’m still wincing about last week’s column about a peaceful, easy feeling in the General Assembly as it approached the leadership-targeted early-adjournment date.
More

MARCUS: It's not too late for a high-speed stimulus

March 13, 2010
Morton Marcus
“Too little, too late” is the standard objection to the economic stimulus program now in effect. That criticism is based on opinion, not fact. It will take several years to know whether the stimulus (or stimuli, because there was more than a single stimulus) worked.
More

FORSELL: Look beyond results for reciprocity in health care

March 13, 2010
David Forsell
I want to matter to the nurse standing next to me. I want to be more than a number, more than just a name on a list of hundreds of patients on a research protocol.
More

HICKS: Recession slows with costly job creationRestricted Content

March 13, 2010
Mike Hicks
While economists share broad agreement on a surprisingly large number of issues, the most visible discord lies in how two groups view the causes of recession.
More

Bars should cater to smokers, too

March 13, 2010
I am replying to the article in the March 1 IBJ where [Indianapolis Convention and Visitors Association President Don] Welsh made his nebulous claims that Indy’s weak smoking ban hurts his ability to market the city to visitors and convention business.
More

Praise for Marcus

March 13, 2010
I am a probably [columnist Morton Marcus’] biggest fan in Indiana whom you never have met.
More

EDITORIAL: Run for president, Gov. Daniels

March 6, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Gov. Mitch Daniels should step through the door he cracked open last month and throw his hat in the ring. Voters would benefit from a new voice.
More

MAURER: WellPoint's Braly bravely takes on fussRestricted Content

March 6, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Wellpoint CEO Angela Braly was criticized by President Obama on national television. She incurred the wrath of health insurance policyholders in California and Indiana. She reignited debate on the moribund national health care reform bill. A woman hasn’t caused this much turmoil since all those ships were launched by Helen of Troy.
More

DINING: With a bit of pluck, wing chain takes first Indy outpost

March 6, 2010
Lou Harry
Second in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries. This week: Buffalo Wings and Rings.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Bill T. Jones' company dances through history at IU

March 6, 2010
Lou Harry
A few weeks back, I wrote about the two collections of Abraham Lincoln memorabilia on display at the Indiana State Museum. Over the past week, two additional encounters with Abe reminded me that there is no shortage of material to be mined from the life of the 16th president.
More

HETRICK: Like natural disasters, aftershocks of grief lingerRestricted Content

March 6, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Five years ago this week, I took figurative bullets to the head and heart. My personal Richter scale was shaken more violently than by any tremor ever measured on any anthill, or Port-au-Prince or Concepción.
More

BENNER: Erskine shows us why he's a Hoosier gem -- twiceRestricted Content

March 6, 2010
Bill Benner
Carl Erskine isn't just from Anderson, Indiana. He is Anderson, Indiana.
More

MARCUS: Hoosiers hear gospel of gambling

March 6, 2010
Morton Marcus
Gamblers wagered nearly $30 billion in 13 Indiana casinos last year. Now, fellow taxpayers, if I understand these numbers, 91 percent of these dollars were returned as winnings and an additional $876 million (3 percent) went to our state and local governments for our benefit.
More

SHOBERT: Who's your in-house entrepreneur?

March 6, 2010
Benjamin A. Shobert
Times like this are ripe for pioneering activities. Now that your business knows it can operate profitably even in a down economy—no small thing—the next question is what you need to be doing to grow.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Session heads toward early, quiet completion

March 6, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
The buzz as the days ran out suggested that nothing on the agenda was “must-pass” legislation, leaving Democrats and Republicans, the House and the Senate, and the governor and the General Assembly with little leverage to exert.
More

SKARBECK: Financial reform should start with derivativesRestricted Content

March 6, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
At the very least, regulators need to get control of derivative trading—transactions need to be more transparent and carried out on an exchange.
More

HICKS: Courage will be necessary to curb inflationRestricted Content

March 6, 2010
Mike Hicks
Inflation causes lenders to raise interest rates. Businesses slow their borrowing, produce less and require fewer workers. Within a year or so, inflation becomes everyoneâ??s problem.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I keep wondering why I keep hearing about this problem of corporations leaving America, and I never hear a reasonable proposal to lower corporate tax rates and raise personal rates on income from capital gains and dividends, especially for high earners. It is just too simple of a solution for Congress to embrace?

  2. Are you financially down and you need money to settle your dept,or you need money to start up a business or to invest on a huge business,we also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at low interest rate , loan terms determinant,Loan amount between the sum of $5,000.00 to $100,000,000.00. US Dollars And Euro. Loan for developing businesses a competitive edge/ business expansion. We Offer The Following Kinds Of Loans. Personal Loans (Secure and Unsecured) Business Loans (Secure and Unsecured) Consolidation Loan FIRST INFORMATIONS NEEDED ARE: BORROWER’S DATA’S INFORMATION,FILL AND RETURN FOR QUICK START UP PROCESS. Name:_________ Last Name:_________ Age:_________ Contact Address:_________ Country:_________ Amount Needed as Loan:_________ Loan Duration:_________ Phone Number__________ Monthly Income/Yearly Income:_________ Purpose for Loan:_________ Occupation:_________ How Soon is Loan Needed__________ Email via: albertbrownfirm@outlook.com

  3. is a disaster. SR37 already needs to be built to interstate standards between 465 and SR144. Southport Road is a mess each morning and evening.

  4. Bass Pro Shops would be good for the mall as well as a Giant Eagle Market District or a Jungle Jim's International Market Place grocery store like the one near Cincinnati Ohio.A Disney quest indoor theme park would be good.An Academy outdoor store would be good too.Indoor Circus shows and magic shows would be good as well. A casino with sports bar would be good.A Disney theater inside that shows movies and Broadway shows would work.Nashville Tennessee concert shops with indoor neon lights would be good.How about a theater that shows travel shows and theme parks. A train store would be good.How about a giant toy store with high tech video games.

  5. This development is in addition to Allpoints Midwest 5, Aitrtek, a recent FedEx and more in Plainfield. Greenwood and Brownsburg also have similar projects.

ADVERTISEMENT