Opinion

BASILE: Three lessons from a harrowing trip to Paraguay

March 27, 2010
Frank Basile
Our trip to Uruguay and Paraguay did not get off to a good start. And it went downhill from there.
More

Story on prosecutor was inaccurate

March 27, 2010
I feel it’s necessary to question the fair and balanced reporting on the part of Cory Schouten in his article, “Brizzi’s lease deals benefited friend, donor,” published March 15.
More

EDITORIAL: Opportunities lost in 2010 legislative session

March 20, 2010
 IBJ Staff
After a legislative session short on fireworks but absent any major achievements, it’s fair to ask how long “do no harm” will pass for progress in the Indiana General Assembly.
More

MAURER: Doctor turned author is worth a readRestricted Content

March 20, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Dr. Douglas P. Zipes, retired director of the Krannert Institute of Cardiology at Indiana University School of Medicine, has devoted his last couple of years to scaring us half to death with his new novel, “The Black Widows.”
More

MARCUS: Lower business taxes don't stimulate hiring

March 20, 2010
Morton Marcus
A job is the foundation of self-esteem, the linchpin for connecting to the community, the instrument by and through which the individual connects with the greater international marketplace and derives the income that provides security for the family.
More

GUY: Do you want to travel or truly vacate?

March 20, 2010
John Guy
How does a busy person vacate, as in the dictionary reference, “to vacate one’s mind of worries?” One answer is to take a vacation, but an important choice remains: place or event?
More

FEIGENBAUM: Short session succeeded in doing no harmRestricted Content

March 20, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
The 2010 legislative session ended strangely: ahead of deadline, yet a week beyond the expected schedule, and the last full day saw more mood swings among lawmakers than Indianapolis Colts fans experienced during the Super Bowl.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: In Defense of Rodgers and Hammerstein

March 20, 2010
Lou Harry
Indianapolis Civic Theatre and Footlite Musicals take on musical theater milestones "Oklahoma!" and "Carousel."
More

HETRICK: A Greenwood High School senior stands up for individual rights.Restricted Content

March 20, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Contrary to popular-but-uninformed belief, religion is a matter of civil liberties, not majority rule.
More

SKARBECK: Amazing patience paid off for GraceRestricted Content

March 20, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
Back in 1935, she invested $180 in Abbott Laboratories stock and never sold it. This one decision became the entire investment career of Grace Groner.
More

HICKS: Taxation not top factor in attracting businessRestricted Content

March 20, 2010
Mike Hicks
Businesses care about taxes to be sure, but the availability of a pool of well-trained workers is at the forefront of most business-location decisions.
More

Lilly shareholders deserve protection

March 20, 2010
This is the wrong time, in my opinion, and I may not have all the facts, to open up Eli Lilly to an outside takeover.
More

We should all have Forsell's fortitude

March 20, 2010
Sometimes we think we’re having a bad day, until we consider the plight of others. I was recently reminded of this when I came across David Forsell’s article in the March 15 issue.
More

EDITORIAL: Citizens' utility deal is smart move

March 13, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Much work remains before the city’s water and sewer utilities are sold to Citizens Energy Group, but the general outline of the deal makes sense and deserves support—not political posturing—as final terms are hammered out.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dog days at Clowes with national tour of 'Dalmatians' musical

March 13, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, canines at Clowes, sisters in the suburbs, pals searching for Paul, and the Cabaret's new digs at the Columbia Club.
More

PARENT: Take your brain out for a walkRestricted Content

March 13, 2010
Tawn Parent
Urban life has serious costs; it actually impairs our ability to think.
More

DINING: Bearcats revs up for diners in the Stutz Building

March 13, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Third in our month-long series of reviews of animal-named eateries.
More

ALTOM: Who knew YouTube had potential as a free university?Restricted Content

March 13, 2010
Tim Altom
As much as I love and happily use technology, I come from a different age and time when, as they say, life was simpler. I have students who are aghast that I’d rather use a folded paper map to get around town than a GPS and Google Maps in a smart phone.
More

BENNER: Let Big Ten grow, but keep NCAA tournament as isRestricted Content

March 13, 2010
Bill Benner
The concept of more being better could be coming to a couple of institutions we know well.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Legislature heads toward bumpy conclusionRestricted Content

March 13, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
OK, I admit that I’m still wincing about last week’s column about a peaceful, easy feeling in the General Assembly as it approached the leadership-targeted early-adjournment date.
More

MARCUS: It's not too late for a high-speed stimulus

March 13, 2010
Morton Marcus
“Too little, too late” is the standard objection to the economic stimulus program now in effect. That criticism is based on opinion, not fact. It will take several years to know whether the stimulus (or stimuli, because there was more than a single stimulus) worked.
More

FORSELL: Look beyond results for reciprocity in health care

March 13, 2010
David Forsell
I want to matter to the nurse standing next to me. I want to be more than a number, more than just a name on a list of hundreds of patients on a research protocol.
More

HICKS: Recession slows with costly job creationRestricted Content

March 13, 2010
Mike Hicks
While economists share broad agreement on a surprisingly large number of issues, the most visible discord lies in how two groups view the causes of recession.
More

Bars should cater to smokers, too

March 13, 2010
I am replying to the article in the March 1 IBJ where [Indianapolis Convention and Visitors Association President Don] Welsh made his nebulous claims that Indy’s weak smoking ban hurts his ability to market the city to visitors and convention business.
More

Praise for Marcus

March 13, 2010
I am a probably [columnist Morton Marcus’] biggest fan in Indiana whom you never have met.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
thisissue1-092914.jpg 092914

Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT