Opinion

HETRICK: Learning to lead with Sister Souljah momentsRestricted Content

February 6, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Every once in a while, someone in power shows some chutzpah and surprises us.
More

BENNER: Super Bowl delegation's focus is two years outRestricted Content

February 6, 2010
Bill Benner
We can promise, at game time, a perfect environment: 70 degrees and dry.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Best-selling author's words take center stage

February 6, 2010
Lou Harry
Cincinnati’s Playhouse in the Park launches novelist Walter Mosley’s first play,"The Fall of Heaven," just in time for my cultural road trip.
More

Billboard decision was defiant

February 6, 2010
[In the Jan. 4 issue], IBJ covered the State Fair board’s decision to permit a digital billboard at the Fairgrounds on Fall Creek Parkway. One of the opening lines, “Take that, Indianapolis” in the article was apt.
More

You don't have to travel to find nature

February 6, 2010
I have learned that the exploration of natural areas can take place year-round, not just while on vacation.
More

PARENT: Why I'm rooting for the Saints in the land of Blue

February 3, 2010
Tawn Parent
The Indianapolis Colts may be the home team, but this Hoosier sits squarely in the New Orleans Saints' corner.
More

EDITORIAL: Lawmakers should save tobacco agency and ban smoking

January 30, 2010
 IBJ Staff
If the General Assembly wants to create some good news in this budget-conscious short session, it will continue our wise investment in Hoosier health, and go one better by passing a statewide smoking ban.
More

KATTERJOHN: Stupid Bowl not so stupid anymore

January 30, 2010
Chris Katterjohn
In recent years, my two brothers have been fond of referring to the Super Bowl as The Stupid Bowl. Disgusted by the crass commercialism that has overtaken professional sports, they view The Stupid Bowl as the zenith of hype.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Debate rages over the right to bear arms

January 30, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
House Bill 1065 would bar business owners from prohibiting an employee from keeping a legally owned firearm in his or her locked vehicle at work.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Race colors IRT's 'Romeo and Juliet'

January 30, 2010
Lou Harry
Shakespeare's iconic show gets a post-WWII redo.
More

BENNER: A different take - or not - on Super Bowl-bound Colts

January 30, 2010
Bill Benner
Once again, our city is blowing up over the Blue.
More

ALTOM: Does instant messaging make business sense?Restricted Content

January 30, 2010
Tim Altom
An instant messenger is one of those technologies that seems silly until you start using it.
More

HICKS: So far, federal stimulus plan isn't stimulating

January 30, 2010
Mike Hicks
It has been roughly a year since the passage of the economic stimulus, formally the more harmonious American Recovery and Reinvestment Act. This stimulus is a textbook example of what we economists call counter-cyclical fiscal policy.
More

MARCUS: A heavenly suggestion for economic recovery

January 30, 2010
Morton Marcus
The federal stimulus programs are based largely on borrowing, not on taxation.
More

WIEGAND: Who's monitoring home construction?

January 30, 2010
Kurt Wiegand
About 18 months ago, I watched as the entire exterior of an expensive condo on the Central Canal—originally built in 1996—was rebuilt. Among the issues: There was no building paper (Tyvek) under the siding, treated lumber wasn’t used on the exposed porches, and neither was there any drainage.
More

Salvation Army story deserved better

January 30, 2010
A little more research on the comparison of housing costs in Indianapolis vs. Needham, Mass., was needed [in the Jan. 25 story on Salvation Army].
More

Anyone can feel the power of mentoring

January 30, 2010
Your headline [on the Jan. 25 Viewpoint] said it all: “Find a mentor to make you better.” January was national mentoring month to raise awareness of the power of mentoring, which is often thought of as valuable for youth.
More

EDITORIAL: Legislators should stick to the basics and go home

January 23, 2010
 IBJ Staff
We like the Indiana General Assembly’s no-nonsense approach to this year’s short legislative session—at least it looks good on the surface.
More

MAURER: Here's how Katz Sapper Miller balanced its books

January 23, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Last November, Katz Sapper and Miller went back to schooll—Broad Ripple High School.
More

MARCUS: Is health care reform socialism?

January 23, 2010
Morton Marcus
The time is coming when everyone will recognize that, as every structure in a city is entitled fire department services, so, too, each individual should receive appropriate health care, whether or not he or she can pay for it.
More

GARNER: Find a mentor to make you better

January 23, 2010
Sanford Garner
Most people muddle through, often learning the hard way. But those who are successful will point to mentors who helped them find their way.
More

Bring back IBJ stock charts

January 23, 2010
Your decision to discontinue the printing of stock prices and economic activity charts, as announced in your Jan. 17 issue, was extremely disappointing to us as well as, surely, to other paid subscribers.
More

Why more taxes for education?

January 23, 2010
Re: Bruce Hetrick’s [Jan. 11 column] “Hey kids! Come and get your pound of flesh,” at first I was stunned. Then I was speechless. After that I was just plain mad.
More

Are fans ready to forgive Polian?

January 23, 2010
By the time the next IBJ hits the newsstands we’ll know whether it’s the Colts or The Team the Colts Enabled (the Jets) that will be playing in the Super Bowl.
More

Concert review was right on

January 23, 2010
Since I canâ??t summarize this exciting four-plus-hour [Hoosier Dylan] concert nearly as well as [the Jan. 18 Louâ??s Views column], I will merely agree with you verbatim on your precise review—including your disappointment with Indianaâ??s poet laureate.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Uh, sorry Johnnie, but you are incorrect. Despite the assertions by yourself and various defenders and captains, sports attendance is NOT off significantly at most sporting events in the US. Variances in attendance has been in the range of single digits, both + & - for years now. MLB has had most of its best overall attendance nubers in the last decade, and that trend has been consistent for most major sporting events. The number one issue cited by most fans when asked about attendance is the overall cost of attending. The presence of HD and big screen televisions in home doesn't even register, as a factor for not attending an event. VALUE in the product is the key, and apparently is something lacking in the current ICS. What other explanation is there when with what is routinely touted as the "best" racing on the planet, fans are staying away in DROVES. A "close" title battle into the last event at Fontana, with the "cars and stars" of the ICS, and who showed up? MAYBE 8K. Sorry, but HD TV isn't to blame for that kind of fan apathy.

  2. Do you need finance to establish your business ? Are you interested in getting a loan at 3% from our private company? If so please Email: suntrust_oil@blumail.org

  3. If she was worth the $ the public outcry over direct tv dropping them would have kept them on their dishes as we have seen with other companies. I too quit watching channel 13 after she showed up since I left channel 8 because of her all show rather than production results. When Randy on 8 corrected her she had a big head and incorrectly challenged his correction for pronunciation of a city. Other antics while she matures was too much for me with her very inaccurate forecasts. All the forecasters were predicting rain until Thursday except Chris. They predicted sunny on Thursday but instead of rain until Thursday upon which the sun would finally make it out in full glory Chris was right on the money just as I too predicted looking at the radar on weather.gov. One thing I love about Angela is the fear you can see in her every time it thunders in the winter. It far exceeds the entertainment value of her body language (high heel noise drags, depression, etc) when her forecasts are so incorrect. Her hair stands on end, you have to see it!!!

  4. Good Day, Apply For A Loan I am Mr Fernadez Antonio, a private Loan lender and a cooperate financial for real estate and any kinds of business financing. I also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at 3% interest rate We offer any kind of loans. email us via fernadezloaninvest@outlook.com LOAN APPLICATION FORM First name:......................... Middle name:......................... Last name:........................................ Date of birth (yyyy-mm-dd):....................... Gender:........................................... Marital status:................................... Total Amount Needed............................... Loan Duration.................................... Address:.......................................... City:............................................. State/province:................................... Zip/postal code:.................................. Country:.......................................... Phone:............................................ Fax:.............................................. Mobile/cellular:.................................. Monthly Income.................................... Occupation:....................................... Best Regard, Mr Fernadez Antonio.

  5. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.okoro how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. okoro on his email:okorospell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr okoro the great spell caster on his email addresses spellcasterforlove@outlook.com

ADVERTISEMENT