Opinion

Anyone can feel the power of mentoring

January 30, 2010
Your headline [on the Jan. 25 Viewpoint] said it all: “Find a mentor to make you better.” January was national mentoring month to raise awareness of the power of mentoring, which is often thought of as valuable for youth.
More

EDITORIAL: Legislators should stick to the basics and go home

January 23, 2010
 IBJ Staff
We like the Indiana General Assembly’s no-nonsense approach to this year’s short legislative session—at least it looks good on the surface.
More

MAURER: Here's how Katz Sapper Miller balanced its books

January 23, 2010
Mickey Maurer
Last November, Katz Sapper and Miller went back to schooll—Broad Ripple High School.
More

MARCUS: Is health care reform socialism?

January 23, 2010
Morton Marcus
The time is coming when everyone will recognize that, as every structure in a city is entitled fire department services, so, too, each individual should receive appropriate health care, whether or not he or she can pay for it.
More

GARNER: Find a mentor to make you better

January 23, 2010
Sanford Garner
Most people muddle through, often learning the hard way. But those who are successful will point to mentors who helped them find their way.
More

Bring back IBJ stock charts

January 23, 2010
Your decision to discontinue the printing of stock prices and economic activity charts, as announced in your Jan. 17 issue, was extremely disappointing to us as well as, surely, to other paid subscribers.
More

Why more taxes for education?

January 23, 2010
Re: Bruce Hetrick’s [Jan. 11 column] “Hey kids! Come and get your pound of flesh,” at first I was stunned. Then I was speechless. After that I was just plain mad.
More

Are fans ready to forgive Polian?

January 23, 2010
By the time the next IBJ hits the newsstands we’ll know whether it’s the Colts or The Team the Colts Enabled (the Jets) that will be playing in the Super Bowl.
More

Concert review was right on

January 23, 2010
Since I canâ??t summarize this exciting four-plus-hour [Hoosier Dylan] concert nearly as well as [the Jan. 18 Louâ??s Views column], I will merely agree with you verbatim on your precise review—including your disappointment with Indianaâ??s poet laureate.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Daniels' agenda built on avoiding new taxes, programs

January 23, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
The State of the State address delivered by Gov. Mitch Daniels Jan. 19 contained no surprises at all, except, perhaps in his optimism.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Flagrant fouls make Globetrotter win dubious

January 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Thoughts on the Globetrotters, Phoenix Theatre's "Housewives of Mannheim," and Beef & Boards' "The Foreigner."
More

HETRICK: Awed by America's generous help for HaitiRestricted Content

January 23, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
I much prefer a nation that can be more the world's benefactor and less the world's cop.
More

SKARBECK: Stocks that pay dividends can provide yield, safetyRestricted Content

January 23, 2010
Ken Skarbeck
These are challenging times for savers who demand a high level of safety from their investments.
More

HICKS: When it comes to migration, people follow the moneyRestricted Content

January 23, 2010
Mike Hicks
Folks tend to migrate to warmer, sunnier and more tax-friendly places.
More

DINING: New chain wedges in to Indy market

January 23, 2010
Lou Harry
Fox's Pizza Den is latest to set up shop here.
More

HICKS: Urban-to-rural state tax flow makes senseRestricted Content

January 16, 2010
Mike Hicks
With only a few exceptions, tax dollars flow from urban counties to rural counties.
More

ALTOM: See the light, and get on the fluorescent bandwagonRestricted Content

January 16, 2010
Tim Altom
It’s hard to imagine an invention more commonly used than the light bulb. It’s a shame that by 2014 we probably won’t be able to buy them anymore, at least not as readily as we do now.
More

EDITORIAL: Booze bill is a small step for Sunday sales

January 16, 2010
 IBJ Staff
More than once, we have used this space to rail against legislation that would further restrict alcohol sales in Indiana. So we are happy to be patting lawmakers on the back for advancing a measure that would begin to ease the onerous limitations on when Hoosiers can buy booze.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Bills flying through Legislature at Castroneves' paceRestricted Content

January 16, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
At a torrid pace, major pieces of legislation are flying through the Indiana General Assembly, leaving lawmakers with an envious decision: Adjourn early and make Hoosier voters happy, or stick around and devote attention to other major issues that deserve close scrutiny, but receive short shrift in sessions bogged down by battles over high-profile partisan matters.
More

MARCUS: Opportunity to Think in Elkhart County

January 16, 2010
Morton Marcus
Maybe Elkhart County needs to ask itself if there is long-term economic value in being the RV or even the electric-vehicle capital of the nation.
More

DOUGLAS: Regulate the raters, but not too much

January 16, 2010
Chris Douglas
In Washington, the Senate Banking Committee is considering far-reaching legislation regulating the financial services industry in the wake of the recent and ongoing crisis. This legislation will dramatically change the relationship between the federal government and some of our financial institutions.
More

Insurance should not pay for all doctor visits

January 16, 2010
It is not the government’s (taxpayers’) responsibility to provide for an individual’s health care. The “general welfare” clause in the Constitution is just that—general.
More

Good government shows our humanity

January 16, 2010
After reading [Morton Marcus’ Jan. 4 column] on the economics of government, I would like to nominate you for the Nobel Prize for Economics and Government 101.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Dylan tribute Bob-bob-bobs along

January 16, 2010
Lou Harry
This week, a Bob Dylan tribute at the Athenaeum and tell-all tales at Theatre on the Square.
More

DINING: Italia Mia's pie has strong pedigree

January 16, 2010
Lou Harry
Third in a month-long series of visits to new pizza places.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. why oh why does this state continue to elect these people....do you wonder how much was graft out of the 3.8 billion?

  2. i too think this is a great idea. I think the vision and need is there as well. But also agree with Wendy that there may be better location in our city to fulfill this vision and help grow the sports of hockey and figure skating in Indy. Also to help further develop other parts of the city that seem often forgotten. Any of the other 6 townships out side of the three northernmost could benefit greatly from a facility and a vision like this. For a vision that sounds philanthropic, the location is appears more about the money. Would really like to see it elsewhere, but still wish the development the best of luck, as we can always use more ice in the city. As for the Ice growth when they return, if schedules can be coordinated with the Fuel, what could be better than to have high level hockey available to go see every weekend of the season? Good luck with the development and the return of the Ice.

  3. How many parking spaces do they have at Ironworks? Will residents have reserved spaces or will they have to troll for a space among the people that are there at Ruth Chris & Sangiovese?

  4. You do not get speeding ticket first time you speed and this is not first time Mr.Page has speed. One act should not define a man and this one act won't. He got off with a slap on the wrist. I agree with judge no person was injured by his actions. The state was robbed of money by paying too much rent for a building and that money could have been used for social services. The Page family maybe "generous" with their money but for most part all of it is dirty money that he obtained for sources that are not on the upright. Page is the kind of lawyer that gives lawyers a bad name. He paid off this judge like he has many other tine and walked away. Does he still have his license. I believe so. Hire him to get you confiscated drug money back. He will. It will cost you.

  5. I remain amazed at the level of expertise of the average Internet Television Executive. Obviously they have all the answers and know the business inside and out.

ADVERTISEMENT