Opinion

Future Fund's start is not so slow

January 9, 2010
n response to your Dec. 21 article labeling the Indiana Future Fund as “off to slow start,” I believe some additional historical perspective is warranted.
More

Here are some ways to help the CIB

January 9, 2010
Is there enough money coming in to keep the city's world-class sports facilities maintained, pay them off, put enough away for the inevitable refurbishing that they will need over time and also promote Indianapolis?
More

Goals are different than a decade ago

January 9, 2010
Bruce Hetrick's [Dec. 28] “Could we start again?” article really made me remember the hope and excitement of the new millennium 10 years ago.
More

Smoking should be part of health reform

January 9, 2010
As Congress debates health care reform, it’s easy to lose sight of what we agree on—and what we know works to prevent disease and lower costs. Helping people quit smoking and keeping young people from starting are proven ways to reduce the awful toll of cancer, heart attacks and other serious illnesses.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Democrats start to embrace constitutional amendmentRestricted Content

January 9, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
What changed over the last year to make House Democrats so eager to allow Hoosier voters to amend the property-tax caps into the Indiana Constitution? The calendar.
More

EDITORIAL: City should phase in new fees

January 2, 2010
 IBJ Staff
Mayor Greg Ballard is on the right track with his plan to ask the City-Council to raise fees on businesses in order to improve code enforcement. But the push-back he’s receiving from the business community is understandable.
More

KATTERJOHN: Rise to the challenge in 2010Restricted Content

January 2, 2010
Chris Katterjohn
Multiple challenges remain, no doubt. But I feel a whole lot better about our prospects than I did a year ago at this time.
More

MARCUS: Don't learn economics from announcers

January 2, 2010
Morton Marcus
We don’t support the library or most government services with adequate taxes.
More

RYAN: Recession could prompt tax reform

January 2, 2010
Earl Ryan
A new study by the National Conference of State Legislatures shows that states have narrowed a collective budget gap by $145.9 billion in the fiscal year that began July 1, only to be faced with another $28.2 billion gap for the remainder of the fiscal year. And fiscal 2011 and 2012 are equally bleak.
More

Yuletide show rocked

January 2, 2010
For the eighth consecutive year, we took our family (22 this year) to the Yuletide Celebration. The show was one of the best.
More

Return of business name is gratifying

January 2, 2010
I am writing in response to the Dec. 14 On the Beat article (“Firm undergoes name change”). First, since leaving my former company, which had still been using the Sponsel name, I’m happy to have my name back solely for my use.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Early committee hearings were mostly theaterRestricted Content

January 2, 2010
Ed Feigenbaum
The December hearings by Indiana General Assembly committees focused on issues that legislative leaders designated as key session priorities, but the committee work was largely unremarkable, with predictable testimony derived from the usual suspects.
More

ALTOM: How does 3G matter to your cell phone?Restricted Content

January 2, 2010
Tim Altom
3G is the third generation of cell technology and is designed to make it easier to send video and other bandwidth-hungry material.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: 'Love Letters' requires reading between the lines

January 2, 2010
Lou Harry
Indiana Repertory Theatre gives a rare, full staging of A.R. Gurney's epistolary play.
More

HICKS: Bloomington's chain store debate a tough sellRestricted Content

January 2, 2010
Mike Hicks
We have this little thing called an equal protection clause that prevents us singling out so clearly a chain store.
More

COTA: Getting things done is more than just a resolution

January 2, 2010
Jim Cota
When the work seems to pile up, OmniFocus and Things can help productivity.
More

Indianapolis business supports community

January 2, 2010
I loved [Benner’s Dec. 14] column [about Indiana Sports Corp.]. Thirty years is not a long history, but I’ll bet most folks in Indy don’t know about this.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: A ballet blockbuster tops 2009's list of favorites

December 26, 2009
Lou Harry
Here are the 10 offerings that I most enthusiastically recommended to friends and readers in the past year.
More

HETRICK: As a new decade dawns, could we start again?Restricted Content

December 26, 2009
Bruce Hetrick
Ten years ago this week, a new century dawned. A lot has changed since.
More

MARCUS: 'Tis the season for getting for giving

December 26, 2009
Morton Marcus
Not-for-profits know we want something more than good deeds for our contributions.
More

SLAUGHTER: Imagine a world without deadlines

December 26, 2009
Robby Slaughter
The reason we have deadlines is that they act as inflection points in the hierarchy of work. Each phase of work has a deadline: an opportunity for failure and rejection.
More

Editorial on Durham was worth posting

December 26, 2009
Thanks for your [editorial] in [the Dec. 7] IBJ. I really appreciated the comparison [between businessmen Tim Durham and Jim Dodson] and plan to reference this article (now hanging in my office) as a reality check.
More

Ballard is right to oppose smoking ban

December 26, 2009
[Mickey Maurer’s Nov. 30 column] was the second article criticizing Mayor [Greg] Ballard on his position against a stronger non-smoking ban for Indy.
More

HICKS: Reducing deficit imperative for national prosperity

December 26, 2009
Mike Hicks
The end of this decade is as good a time as any to reflect upon what has passed. We’ve had wars, two recessions, three presidents, five Congresses and 10 Bowl Championship Series teams. Our population has risen, employment has risen, and personal income has risen. The average American family is healthier, wealthier and, ideally, wiser. However, to listen to political rhetoric today, you’d think we’ve been living in the darkest of ages.
More

EDITORIAL: IndyTalks gives the public a civil way to speak up

December 26, 2009
 IBJ Staff
There’s no shortage of opinions about what our city and state need to do to prosper in the 21st century. But much of what comes across is screamed in blogs or in stinging press releases issued by political parties whose only purpose is to paint the opposition as out of touch.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I never thought I'd see the day when a Republican Mayor would lead the charge in attempting to raise every tax we have to pay. Now it's income taxes and property taxes that Ballard wants to increase. And to pay for a pre-K program? Many studies have shown that pre-K offer no long-term educational benefits whatsoever. And Ballard is pitching it as a way of fighting crime? Who is he kidding? It's about government provided day care. It's a shame that we elected a Republican who has turned out to be a huge big spending, big taxing, big borrowing liberal Democrat.

  2. Why do we blame the unions? They did not create the 11 different school districts that are the root of the problem.

  3. I was just watching an AOW race from cleveland in 1997...in addition to the 65K for the race, there were more people in boats watching that race from the lake than were IndyCar fans watching the 2014 IndyCar season finale in the Fontana grandstands. Just sayin...That's some resurgence modern IndyCar has going. Almost profitable, nobody in the grandstands and TV ratings dropping 61% at some tracks in the series. Business model..."CRAZY" as said by a NASCAR track general manager. Yup, this thing is purring like a cat! Sponsors...send them your cash, pronto!!! LOL, not a chance.

  4. I'm sure Indiana is paradise for the wealthy and affluent, but what about the rest of us? Over the last 40 years, conservatives and the business elite have run this country (and state)into the ground. The pendulum will swing back as more moderate voters get tired of Reaganomics and regressive social policies. Add to that the wave of minority voters coming up in the next 10 to 15 years and things will get better. unfortunately we have to suffer through 10 more years of gerrymandered districts and dispropionate representation.

  5. Funny thing....rich people telling poor people how bad the other rich people are wanting to cut benefits/school etc and that they should vote for those rich people that just did it. Just saying..............

ADVERTISEMENT