Opinion

HICKS: Reducing deficit imperative for national prosperity

December 26, 2009
Mike Hicks
The end of this decade is as good a time as any to reflect upon what has passed. We’ve had wars, two recessions, three presidents, five Congresses and 10 Bowl Championship Series teams. Our population has risen, employment has risen, and personal income has risen. The average American family is healthier, wealthier and, ideally, wiser. However, to listen to political rhetoric today, you’d think we’ve been living in the darkest of ages.
More

EDITORIAL: IndyTalks gives the public a civil way to speak up

December 26, 2009
 IBJ Staff
There’s no shortage of opinions about what our city and state need to do to prosper in the 21st century. But much of what comes across is screamed in blogs or in stinging press releases issued by political parties whose only purpose is to paint the opposition as out of touch.
More

MAURER: How many words can you find?

December 26, 2009
Mickey Maurer
As is the custom of the last few holiday seasons, I am pleased to present a puzzle. This year’s challenge, 3-D Word Hunt, is derived from a format conceived by Will Shortz, puzzle editor of The New York Times.
More

SKARBECK: What we need is a tax on stock transactions

December 26, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
The word “tax” tends to immediately raise the blood pressure of most Americans. And while the purpose of most taxes is to raise revenue for the assessing government body, taxes can also be targeted toward changing individual and corporate behavior.
More

ALTOM: Here are some technology glitches to put behind us in 2010Restricted Content

December 19, 2009
Tim Altom
If you’re not involved in one of these massive failures, you can take solace in the much smaller problems you have every day.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Merits of Barbie exhibit debatable

December 19, 2009
Lou Harry
IBJ Style columnist Gabrielle Poshadlo joins in to discuss the latest Children's Museum show.
More

DINING: New Conrad eatery offers a taste of the good life

December 19, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
We take a taste of the offerings at the new wine bar at the Conrad.
More

EDITORIAL: Bold moves show results

December 19, 2009
 IBJ Staff
There’s something refreshing and inspiring about individuals who set ambitious goals and throw themselves into meeting them.
More

KATTERJOHN: My Top 11 personalities of 2009Restricted Content

December 19, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
I saw where Barbara Walters did her 10 Most Fascinating People of 2009 shtick on television recently. So with a nod to the venerable newswoman, here’s my list of locals who got my attention this year.
More

MARCUS: Kindle depresses elf in Santa's workshop

December 19, 2009
Morton Marcus
Elvin has been one of Santa’s elves for decades. Normally a jolly fellow, he called me last week with desperation in his voice.
More

PAYNE: How we can improve our 'talent dividend'

December 19, 2009
Brian Payne
We Hoosiers are starting to treat education with a sense of urgency and as something worth achieving. This response to our city’s, state’s and country’s education crisis is reassuring, because the stakes couldn’t be higher.
More

Losing tennis event is a sad moment

December 19, 2009
As a local business owner and someone who grew up just off of Dean Road, where the first U.S. Open Clay Courts were played, I am very saddened that the Indy Tennis Championships is leaving our city.
More

Focus of NCAA story was all about money

December 19, 2009
Simultaneously disturbing and telling is how I found “Big Dance may get bigger” in the Dec. 14 edition of the IBJ.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Expect uncertainty in the 2010 General Assembly

December 19, 2009
Ed Feigenbaum
About the only certainty for the upcoming legislative session is that it will be over in March.
More

HICKS: Recession may help close job-skills gapRestricted Content

December 12, 2009
Mike Hicks
One of the most important effects of the recession â??lower employment â?? is likely to be stubbornly persistent.
More

EDITORIAL: Loss of tennis tournament an ominous sign for city

December 12, 2009
 IBJ Staff
It’s hard to fathom how Indianapolis lost the Indianapolis Tennis Championships—an event with 90 years of history—without anyone in the city sounding an alarm.
More

MAURER: Cousin Eddie is a fine doctor and a special guyRestricted Content

December 12, 2009
Mickey Maurer
Remember Cousin Eddie? He is the obstetrician/gynecologist in Houston I wrote about who tried to cut the mustard in the hot dog business (“There ain’t no hog in the Yoso Dog”). He dreamed of having his own restaurant and, against the advice of friends, he went to the dogs.
More

MARCUS: Where are 108,000 missing Hoosiers?

December 12, 2009
Morton Marcus
In my fantasy world, the country singer asks, “Are you ready for some data, some labor market data, for the nation, for the states, and for Indiana counties?” Now those are words that stir the blood and stimulate the imagination.
More

GUY: Ethical collapses offer many lessons

December 12, 2009
John Guy
“The Seven Signs of Ethical Collapse,” by Marianne M. Jennings, caused me to wonder whether investors could have avoided various corporate disasters in Indiana.
More

Health care issues haven't changed much

December 12, 2009
[In response to Chris Katterjohn’s Nov. 21 column] In ’73 I was a grad student in a master’s health care management program and the same issues were the topic of the day, especially in the econ class.
More

Fix what's broken first

December 12, 2009
As a physician, I owe it to my patients to help get health care reform right. From the front line, physicians can offer changes that could result in more cost-effective, efficient and accessible health care. That’s why I joined the Coalition to Protect Patients’ Rights, along with 10,000 other doctors.
More

Column overlooked airport parking option

December 12, 2009
In your Nov. 2 edition, Tom Henderson weighed in on the new Indy Airport experience. One of his complaints about the new midfield terminal was that, without competition, available parking options have you where they want you. He realized, why complain when it is a fait accompli? There is, however, another option.
More

Property taxes are out of whack

December 12, 2009
I have always found Morton Marcus’ columns both entertaining and informative. I read the Dec. 7 column, in which Marcus seems to insinuate that property taxes were acceptable as they were and do not require modifications. As a resident of Marion County, I could not disagree more.
More

DINING: Broad Ripple staple expands to downtown

December 12, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
The restaurant space at 15 E. Maryland St. has come a long way since its beer-drenched days as a Buffalo Wild Wings franchise.
More

HETRICK: Let's have a little holiday faith ... in one anotherRestricted Content

December 12, 2009
Bruce Hetrick
One might hope that we could accept a simple seasonal greeting for its thoughtful intent.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT