Opinion

LOU'S VIEWS: Phoenix show shipshape/Marxing time in Chicago

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
The Phoenix Theatre's "Shipwrecked!" and "Animal Crackers" at Chicago's Goodman Theatre offer two kinds of stage pleasures.
More

DINING: Beyond the bread at new Northside bakery

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
We finish off our 86th and Ditch month of reviews with treats from Great Cooks: The Bakery.
More

BENNER: Pacers revival has to happen on the hardwoodRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
Bill Benner
"This is not a year to make excuses," says Pacers President Larry Bird.
More

EDITORIAL: State can't rely on gambling revenue

October 24, 2009
 IBJ Staff
State and, to some extent, local government has come to rely on gambling revenue. And now that neighboring states are launching a competitive assault on Indiana casinos, it’s time to get back to the original intent before the revenue shrivels and leaves necessary government services high and dry.
More

KATTERJOHN: Get out and vote for WishardRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
You know, there’s an election on Nov. 3, right? We’re not voting for president, governor, mayor, or even dog catcher. We’re voting for a critical piece of the health care delivery system in central Indiana: whether to allow Marion County Health & Hospital Corp. to sell bonds to build a new Wishard Hospital.
More

MARCUS: Today's data tell yesterday's story

October 24, 2009
Morton Marcus
Most economists are of the opinion that we have seen the bottom of the recession and are in recovery mode. However, the evidence is scarce to support that position.
More

JOSEPH: Will new rules end blog pay for play?

October 24, 2009
Hannah Kaufman Joseph
This month, the Federal Trade Commission announced new rules aimed at increasing transparency in social media advertising. Starting Dec. 1, bloggers and other users of social media tools, such as Twitter and Facebook, must disclose if they have received any type of payment in exchange for promotion, advertising or endorsement.
More

Abandoned houses should be torn down

October 24, 2009
[In response to the Oct. 19 viewpoint] Some of [Kurt] Wiegand’s points were spot-on, but his analysis of the economic impact regarding Mayor Ballard’s plan to demolish abandoned homes misses the mark by a wide margin.
More

HETRICK: My Washington day in the war for health reformRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
Bruce Hetrick
I awoke long before the alarm sounded Tuesday. It’s not every day one testifies before Congress, so I was eager and anxious.
More

HICKS: Non-market valuation is an important planning toolRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
Mike Hicks
One of the more intriguing things economists are called upon to do is what is known as non-market valuation. This is a process for estimating a â??priceâ?? of something that isnâ??t typically bought or sold.
More

EDITORIAL: City water utility in over its head

October 17, 2009
As missteps by the city’s water utility threaten to drown local ratepayers with dramatically higher bills, Mayor Greg Ballard’s administration is exploring a complete overhaul of the system. The mayor’s initiative can’t produce results soon enough.
More

MAURER: Hoosier Quentin Smith's heroics worth noting

October 17, 2009
Mickey Maurer
Quentin Smith served as a first lieutenant in the U.S. Army Air Force from 1942 to 1945. He is one of at least seven surviving Tuskegee Airmen who live in Indiana.
More

MARCUS: Indiana loses a devoted and native son

October 17, 2009
Morton Marcus
Chris Linn drove the roads and noted the telltale signs of lifestyle unseen by most researchers. His eyes told him what the demographic and economic numbers did not reveal.
More

WIEGAND: Does Indianapolis suffer from 'economic apartheid'?

October 17, 2009
Kurt Wiegand
I see Mayor Greg Ballard’s plan to demolish abandoned homes as a sign of failure, an acknowledgment that our leaders—those whom we elected, business leaders, policy people, and leaders of not-for-profits—have failed us, much in the same way leaders dramatically failed the auto companies, investment banks and mortgage companies.
More

DINING: At 86th and Ditch, a revamped pearl among bistros

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
Third in a series of reviews near the north-side intersection.
More

SKARBECK: Market a bright spot amid worrisome economyRestricted Content

October 17, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
The financial media have the corks ready to pop as the Dow Jones industrial average re-crosses what pundits claim is the â??psychologically importantâ?? 10,000 level.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Graven image conscious

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, Spanish artists explore the sacred and the IRT’s playwright-in-residence presents a haunted Abe Lincoln.
More

STYLE: Add Refind to the reduce/reuse/recycle trilogy

October 17, 2009
Gabrielle Poshadlo
Anita Hopper's got a brand new bag ... made from an old leather coat.
More

BENNER: Bad news hard to come by as Colts take a breakRestricted Content

October 17, 2009
Bill Benner
Here we are at the bye week of what is looking like another exceptional Indianapolis Colts season.
More

HICKS: Flu season offers prelude to health care reformRestricted Content

October 17, 2009
Mike Hicks
This flu season looks to provide us an inkling of the real dangers inherent in large-scale health care reform, most especially a full-blown national health care option.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Heartland fest's bests ... and the rest

October 10, 2009
Rebecca Berfanger, Lou Harry
We review this year's Heartland Film Festival offerings. Check back often as we add entries throughout the event, which starts Oct. 15.
More

ALTOM: Is it worth tracking employees and their vehicles?Restricted Content

October 10, 2009
Tim Altom
Employees often react badly to, as they see it, being followed around. There are even privacy laws to consider.
More

KATTERJOHN: Newspapers still deliver - for YOU

October 10, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
The Hoosier State Press Association, a trade group representing 175 paid-circulation Hoosier newspapers, including IBJ, has launched a campaign designed to remind the public of the important role newspapers play in our democracy. So this week, I’m ceding my space to David Stamps, executive director of the HSPA
More

EDITORIAL: Indiana Fever deserves support

October 10, 2009
 IBJ Staff
Running a professional sports franchise isn’t just a dollars-and-cents proposition. It also requires heart. And that’s what the Fever have in abundance, from ownership to management to the players on the floor.
More

EDITORIAL: Another blow to a deadly habit?

October 10, 2009
 IBJ Staff
An ordinance that would ban smoking in enclosed spaces where it’s still allowed—primarily bars and bowling alleys—is once again being considered by the City-County Council. And again we urge councilors to adopt the measure.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I am a Lyft driver who is a licensed CDL professional driver. ALL Lyft drivers take pride in providing quality service to the Indianapolis and surrounding areas, and we take the safety of our passengers and the public seriously.(passengers are required to put seat belts on when they get in our cars) We do go through background checks, driving records are checked as are the personal cars we drive, (these are OUR private cars we use) Unlike taxi cabs and their drivers Lyft (and yes Uber) provide passengers with a clean car inside and out, a friendly and courteous driver, and who is dressed appropriately and is groomed appropriately. I go so far as to offer mints, candy and/or small bottle of water to the my customers. It's a mutual respect between driver and passenger. With Best Regards

  2. to be the big fish in the little pond of IRL midwest racin' when yer up against Racin' Gardner

  3. In the first sentance "As a resident of one of these new Carmel Apartments the issue the local governments need to discuss are build quality & price." need a way to edit

  4. As a resident of one of these new Carmel Apartments the issue the local governments need to discuss is build quality & price. First none of these places is worth $1100 for a one bedroom. Downtown Carmel or Keystone at the Crossing in Indy. It doesn't matter. All require you to get in your car to get just about anywhere you need to go. I'm in one of the Carmel apartments now where after just 2.5 short years one of the kitchen cabinet doors is crooked and lawn and property maintenance seems to be lacking my old Indianapolis apartment which cost $300 less. This is one of the new star apartments. As they keep building throughout the area "deals" will start popping up creating shoppers. If your property is falling apart after year 3 what will it look like after year 5 or 10??? Why would one stay here if they could move to a new Broad Ripple in 2 to 3 years or another part of the Far Northside?? The complexes aren't going to let the "poor" move in without local permission so that's not that problem, but it the occupancy rate drops suddenly because the "Young" people moved back to Indy then look out.

  5. Why are you so concerned about Ace hardware? I don't understand why anyone goes there! Every time ive gone in the past, they don't have what I need and I end up going to the big box stores. I understand the service aspect and that they try to be helpful but if they are going to survive I think they might need to carry more specialty parts.

ADVERTISEMENT