Opinion

MAURER: Now is not the time to fear failureRestricted Content

October 31, 2009
Mickey Maurer
Failure does not have to mean you’re through. Mistakes are inevitable in all businesses. A better test of the character of someone in business is how he or she reacts to failure.
More

EDITORIAL: Take the lead on smoking ban, Mayor Ballard

October 31, 2009
 IBJ Staff
Maddening? Disappointing? Choose your adjective. The failure of the latest proposal to prohibit smoking in almost all Indianapolis workplaces was clearly a setback for public health and a city that markets itself as a medical and life sciences hub.
More

MARCUS: The people speak - who is listening?

October 31, 2009
Morton Marcus
Occasionally, I go to hear the voice of the people at the mall. Rainy days are good for this exercise. No one is in a hurry to get drenched in the parking lot.
More

HENDERSON: Airport terminal, one long year later

October 31, 2009
Tom Henderson
As an all-too-frequent flier, I’ve had a chance to get the full-love experience of the new airport terminal numerous times in its first year. The summary is that it’s both tolerable, and I have no choice.
More

Vote no on Wishard

October 31, 2009
“Get out and Vote (no) for Wishard” should have been [Chris Katterjohn’s Oct. 26 column] for two simple reasons:
More

Let's add math to driver's test

October 31, 2009
Mitch Roob has it exactly right in his [Oct. 12] viewpoint “Math proficiency a must for workplace.”
More

Bundle medicine with care

October 31, 2009
I would like to thank IBJ for highlighting the role of interdisciplinary (“bundled”) medicine in the Oct. 19 article, “Huddling on Health Care.”
More

Here's another Hoosier hero

October 31, 2009
[In response to Mickey Maurer’s Oct. 19 column asking for Hoosier heroes] Jimmy O’Donnell, survivor, U.S.S. Indianapolis. He is approaching 90 years old.
More

DINING: Zionsville's Oobatz! earns its punctuation

October 31, 2009
Lou Harry
New restaurant serves up pizza, pasta and more.
More

LEADERSHIP: Use objective measures to evaluate employeesRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
CJ McClanahan
To improve the productivity of your management team, it’s critical to have an objective plan for measuring performance. That means clear job descriptions, goals, and key performance indicators to track progress.
More

ALTOM: Why can't we use cell phones on a plane?Restricted Content

October 24, 2009
Tim Altom
Who among us hasn’t pondered life’s great questions? Why are we here? Why aren’t we somewhere else? Why do some people never learn how to parallel park? And perhaps most mysterious of all—is it true that operating electronic devices on an airplane may cause it to go out of control and crash? Perhaps surprisingly, the answer is that nobody really knows.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Phoenix show shipshape/Marxing time in Chicago

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
The Phoenix Theatre's "Shipwrecked!" and "Animal Crackers" at Chicago's Goodman Theatre offer two kinds of stage pleasures.
More

DINING: Beyond the bread at new Northside bakery

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
We finish off our 86th and Ditch month of reviews with treats from Great Cooks: The Bakery.
More

BENNER: Pacers revival has to happen on the hardwoodRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
Bill Benner
"This is not a year to make excuses," says Pacers President Larry Bird.
More

EDITORIAL: State can't rely on gambling revenue

October 24, 2009
 IBJ Staff
State and, to some extent, local government has come to rely on gambling revenue. And now that neighboring states are launching a competitive assault on Indiana casinos, it’s time to get back to the original intent before the revenue shrivels and leaves necessary government services high and dry.
More

KATTERJOHN: Get out and vote for WishardRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
You know, there’s an election on Nov. 3, right? We’re not voting for president, governor, mayor, or even dog catcher. We’re voting for a critical piece of the health care delivery system in central Indiana: whether to allow Marion County Health & Hospital Corp. to sell bonds to build a new Wishard Hospital.
More

MARCUS: Today's data tell yesterday's story

October 24, 2009
Morton Marcus
Most economists are of the opinion that we have seen the bottom of the recession and are in recovery mode. However, the evidence is scarce to support that position.
More

JOSEPH: Will new rules end blog pay for play?

October 24, 2009
Hannah Kaufman Joseph
This month, the Federal Trade Commission announced new rules aimed at increasing transparency in social media advertising. Starting Dec. 1, bloggers and other users of social media tools, such as Twitter and Facebook, must disclose if they have received any type of payment in exchange for promotion, advertising or endorsement.
More

Abandoned houses should be torn down

October 24, 2009
[In response to the Oct. 19 viewpoint] Some of [Kurt] Wiegand’s points were spot-on, but his analysis of the economic impact regarding Mayor Ballard’s plan to demolish abandoned homes misses the mark by a wide margin.
More

HETRICK: My Washington day in the war for health reformRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
Bruce Hetrick
I awoke long before the alarm sounded Tuesday. It’s not every day one testifies before Congress, so I was eager and anxious.
More

HICKS: Non-market valuation is an important planning toolRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
Mike Hicks
One of the more intriguing things economists are called upon to do is what is known as non-market valuation. This is a process for estimating a â??priceâ?? of something that isnâ??t typically bought or sold.
More

EDITORIAL: City water utility in over its head

October 17, 2009
As missteps by the city’s water utility threaten to drown local ratepayers with dramatically higher bills, Mayor Greg Ballard’s administration is exploring a complete overhaul of the system. The mayor’s initiative can’t produce results soon enough.
More

MAURER: Hoosier Quentin Smith's heroics worth noting

October 17, 2009
Mickey Maurer
Quentin Smith served as a first lieutenant in the U.S. Army Air Force from 1942 to 1945. He is one of at least seven surviving Tuskegee Airmen who live in Indiana.
More

MARCUS: Indiana loses a devoted and native son

October 17, 2009
Morton Marcus
Chris Linn drove the roads and noted the telltale signs of lifestyle unseen by most researchers. His eyes told him what the demographic and economic numbers did not reveal.
More

WIEGAND: Does Indianapolis suffer from 'economic apartheid'?

October 17, 2009
Kurt Wiegand
I see Mayor Greg Ballard’s plan to demolish abandoned homes as a sign of failure, an acknowledgment that our leaders—those whom we elected, business leaders, policy people, and leaders of not-for-profits—have failed us, much in the same way leaders dramatically failed the auto companies, investment banks and mortgage companies.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT