Opinion

MARCUS: The economic exorcism was successful

November 7, 2009
Morton Marcus
The damage done by the recession is still with us, even if the recession itself has ended. But sufficient evidence is available to suggest that the demon recession has left the nation’s economic body.
More

GROSSMAN: Just what are 'green jobs,' anyway?

November 7, 2009
Peter Z. Grossman
Indiana officials appear to be working hard to get our share of the 5 million “green jobs” President Obama says he’ll create. Sounds like a good idea, except for one problem: No one can really say just what a green job is.
More

Durham's woes resemble Firstmark's

November 7, 2009
The financial legerdemain surrounding Tim Durham and his ownership of Fair Finance [described in an Oct. 26 story] brings back memories.
More

Let's focus on medical errors

November 7, 2009
Debra Smith’s column in your Oct. 19 [Focus section] needs some clarification and correction.
More

HICKS: Families of veterans also serve their countryRestricted Content

November 7, 2009
Mike Hicks
I have to note that Nov. 11 is Veterans Day. It is rightfully a time we thank those among us who have served.
More

Health care reform should slow down

November 7, 2009
I am writing because I have closely followed the debate on health care reform and am questioning some of the decisions being made by our legislators in Congress.
More

Have you hired a veteran today?

November 7, 2009
With Veterans Day upon us, we are reminded to thank a veteran for his or her service and to honor the memories of those who fought for our country and did not come home. But in the business community, we can do more than that, all year long, by bringing veterans into our organizations.
More

Sallie Mae jobs are in jeopardy

November 7, 2009
There are 2,300 hard-working and well-paid professionals here in Indiana whose jobs are hanging in the balance while Congress debates a bill (H.R. 3221) that would eliminate the private student loan industry as we know it.
More

DINING: Frosting is tops at Holy Cow, Cupcakes!

November 7, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
At this Rangeline Road cupcakery, it's the sweet stuff that counts.
More

BENNER: Former volunteer Stevens now coaches a contenderRestricted Content

October 31, 2009
Bill Benner
Count Butler University basketball on the short list of teams that could make it to the Final Four.
More

HICKS: Recession results in 'great deleveraging'Restricted Content

October 31, 2009
Mike Hicks
On virtually every meaningful measure, this recession stacks up as only the third or fourth worst post-World War II recession, but its effects are much more profound in a few areas. One area that will be most apparent is the changes the economy has wrought on consumer credit.
More

SKARBECK: Lenders still not serious about serious reformRestricted Content

October 31, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
The early signs point to meek efforts by the Obama administration to address gaping regulatory issues.
More

MAURER: Now is not the time to fear failureRestricted Content

October 31, 2009
Mickey Maurer
Failure does not have to mean you’re through. Mistakes are inevitable in all businesses. A better test of the character of someone in business is how he or she reacts to failure.
More

EDITORIAL: Take the lead on smoking ban, Mayor Ballard

October 31, 2009
 IBJ Staff
Maddening? Disappointing? Choose your adjective. The failure of the latest proposal to prohibit smoking in almost all Indianapolis workplaces was clearly a setback for public health and a city that markets itself as a medical and life sciences hub.
More

MARCUS: The people speak - who is listening?

October 31, 2009
Morton Marcus
Occasionally, I go to hear the voice of the people at the mall. Rainy days are good for this exercise. No one is in a hurry to get drenched in the parking lot.
More

HENDERSON: Airport terminal, one long year later

October 31, 2009
Tom Henderson
As an all-too-frequent flier, I’ve had a chance to get the full-love experience of the new airport terminal numerous times in its first year. The summary is that it’s both tolerable, and I have no choice.
More

Vote no on Wishard

October 31, 2009
“Get out and Vote (no) for Wishard” should have been [Chris Katterjohn’s Oct. 26 column] for two simple reasons:
More

Let's add math to driver's test

October 31, 2009
Mitch Roob has it exactly right in his [Oct. 12] viewpoint “Math proficiency a must for workplace.”
More

Bundle medicine with care

October 31, 2009
I would like to thank IBJ for highlighting the role of interdisciplinary (“bundled”) medicine in the Oct. 19 article, “Huddling on Health Care.”
More

Here's another Hoosier hero

October 31, 2009
[In response to Mickey Maurer’s Oct. 19 column asking for Hoosier heroes] Jimmy O’Donnell, survivor, U.S.S. Indianapolis. He is approaching 90 years old.
More

DINING: Zionsville's Oobatz! earns its punctuation

October 31, 2009
Lou Harry
New restaurant serves up pizza, pasta and more.
More

LEADERSHIP: Use objective measures to evaluate employeesRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
CJ McClanahan
To improve the productivity of your management team, it’s critical to have an objective plan for measuring performance. That means clear job descriptions, goals, and key performance indicators to track progress.
More

ALTOM: Why can't we use cell phones on a plane?Restricted Content

October 24, 2009
Tim Altom
Who among us hasn’t pondered life’s great questions? Why are we here? Why aren’t we somewhere else? Why do some people never learn how to parallel park? And perhaps most mysterious of all—is it true that operating electronic devices on an airplane may cause it to go out of control and crash? Perhaps surprisingly, the answer is that nobody really knows.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Phoenix show shipshape/Marxing time in Chicago

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
The Phoenix Theatre's "Shipwrecked!" and "Animal Crackers" at Chicago's Goodman Theatre offer two kinds of stage pleasures.
More

DINING: Beyond the bread at new Northside bakery

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
We finish off our 86th and Ditch month of reviews with treats from Great Cooks: The Bakery.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. So much for Eric Holder's conversation about race. If white people have got something to say, they get sued over it. Bottom line: white people have un-freer speech than others as a consequence of the misnamed "Civil rights laws."

  2. I agree, having seen three shows, that I was less than wowed. Disappointing!!

  3. Start drilling, start fracking, and start using our own energy. Other states have enriched their citizens and nearly elminated unemployment by using these resources that are on private land. If you are against the 'low prices' of discount stores, the best way to allow shoppers more choice is to empower them with better earnings. NOT through manipulated gov mandated min wage hikes, but better jobs and higher competitive pay. This would be direct result of using our own energy resources, yet Obama knows that Americans who arent dependent of gov welfare are much less likely to vote Dem, so he looks for ways to ensure America's decline and keep its citizens dependent of gov.

  4. Say It Loud, I'm Black and Ashamed: It's too bad that with certain "black" entertainment events, it seems violence and thuggery follows and the collateral damage that it leaves behinds continues to be a strain on the city in terms of people getting hurt, killed or becoming victims of crimes and/or stretching city resources. I remember shopping in the Meadows area years ago until violence and crime ended make most of the business pack you and leave as did with Lafayette Square and Washington Square. Over the past 10 to 12 years, I remember going to the Indiana Black Expo Soul Picnic in Washington Park. Violence, gang fights and homicides ended that. My great grandmother still bears the scares on her leg from when she was trampled by a group of thugs running from gun fire from a rival gang. With hundreds of police offices downtown still multiple shootings, people getting shot downtown during Black Expo. A number of people getting shots or murdered at black clubs around the city like Club Six on the west side, The Industry downtown, Jamal Tinsley's shot out in front of the Conrad, multiple fights and shootings at the skating rinks, shootings at Circle Center Mall and shooting and robberies and car jackings at Lafayette Mall. Shootings and gang violence and the State Fair. I can go on and on and on. Now Broad Ripple. (Shaking head side to side) Say It Loud, I'm Black and I'm Ashamed.

  5. Ballard Administration. Too funny. This is the least fiscally responsive administration I have ever seen. One thing this article failed to mention, is that the Hoosier State line delivers rail cars to the Amtrak Beech Grove maintenance facility for refurbishment. That's an economic development issue. And the jobs there are high-paying. That alone is worth the City's investment.

ADVERTISEMENT