Opinion

MAURER: How many words can you find?

December 26, 2009
Mickey Maurer
As is the custom of the last few holiday seasons, I am pleased to present a puzzle. This year’s challenge, 3-D Word Hunt, is derived from a format conceived by Will Shortz, puzzle editor of The New York Times.
More

SKARBECK: What we need is a tax on stock transactions

December 26, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
The word “tax” tends to immediately raise the blood pressure of most Americans. And while the purpose of most taxes is to raise revenue for the assessing government body, taxes can also be targeted toward changing individual and corporate behavior.
More

ALTOM: Here are some technology glitches to put behind us in 2010Restricted Content

December 19, 2009
Tim Altom
If you’re not involved in one of these massive failures, you can take solace in the much smaller problems you have every day.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Merits of Barbie exhibit debatable

December 19, 2009
Lou Harry
IBJ Style columnist Gabrielle Poshadlo joins in to discuss the latest Children's Museum show.
More

DINING: New Conrad eatery offers a taste of the good life

December 19, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
We take a taste of the offerings at the new wine bar at the Conrad.
More

EDITORIAL: Bold moves show results

December 19, 2009
 IBJ Staff
There’s something refreshing and inspiring about individuals who set ambitious goals and throw themselves into meeting them.
More

KATTERJOHN: My Top 11 personalities of 2009Restricted Content

December 19, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
I saw where Barbara Walters did her 10 Most Fascinating People of 2009 shtick on television recently. So with a nod to the venerable newswoman, here’s my list of locals who got my attention this year.
More

MARCUS: Kindle depresses elf in Santa's workshop

December 19, 2009
Morton Marcus
Elvin has been one of Santa’s elves for decades. Normally a jolly fellow, he called me last week with desperation in his voice.
More

PAYNE: How we can improve our 'talent dividend'

December 19, 2009
Brian Payne
We Hoosiers are starting to treat education with a sense of urgency and as something worth achieving. This response to our city’s, state’s and country’s education crisis is reassuring, because the stakes couldn’t be higher.
More

Losing tennis event is a sad moment

December 19, 2009
As a local business owner and someone who grew up just off of Dean Road, where the first U.S. Open Clay Courts were played, I am very saddened that the Indy Tennis Championships is leaving our city.
More

Focus of NCAA story was all about money

December 19, 2009
Simultaneously disturbing and telling is how I found “Big Dance may get bigger” in the Dec. 14 edition of the IBJ.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Expect uncertainty in the 2010 General Assembly

December 19, 2009
Ed Feigenbaum
About the only certainty for the upcoming legislative session is that it will be over in March.
More

HICKS: Recession may help close job-skills gapRestricted Content

December 12, 2009
Mike Hicks
One of the most important effects of the recession â??lower employment â?? is likely to be stubbornly persistent.
More

EDITORIAL: Loss of tennis tournament an ominous sign for city

December 12, 2009
 IBJ Staff
It’s hard to fathom how Indianapolis lost the Indianapolis Tennis Championships—an event with 90 years of history—without anyone in the city sounding an alarm.
More

MAURER: Cousin Eddie is a fine doctor and a special guyRestricted Content

December 12, 2009
Mickey Maurer
Remember Cousin Eddie? He is the obstetrician/gynecologist in Houston I wrote about who tried to cut the mustard in the hot dog business (“There ain’t no hog in the Yoso Dog”). He dreamed of having his own restaurant and, against the advice of friends, he went to the dogs.
More

MARCUS: Where are 108,000 missing Hoosiers?

December 12, 2009
Morton Marcus
In my fantasy world, the country singer asks, “Are you ready for some data, some labor market data, for the nation, for the states, and for Indiana counties?” Now those are words that stir the blood and stimulate the imagination.
More

GUY: Ethical collapses offer many lessons

December 12, 2009
John Guy
“The Seven Signs of Ethical Collapse,” by Marianne M. Jennings, caused me to wonder whether investors could have avoided various corporate disasters in Indiana.
More

Health care issues haven't changed much

December 12, 2009
[In response to Chris Katterjohn’s Nov. 21 column] In ’73 I was a grad student in a master’s health care management program and the same issues were the topic of the day, especially in the econ class.
More

Fix what's broken first

December 12, 2009
As a physician, I owe it to my patients to help get health care reform right. From the front line, physicians can offer changes that could result in more cost-effective, efficient and accessible health care. That’s why I joined the Coalition to Protect Patients’ Rights, along with 10,000 other doctors.
More

Column overlooked airport parking option

December 12, 2009
In your Nov. 2 edition, Tom Henderson weighed in on the new Indy Airport experience. One of his complaints about the new midfield terminal was that, without competition, available parking options have you where they want you. He realized, why complain when it is a fait accompli? There is, however, another option.
More

Property taxes are out of whack

December 12, 2009
I have always found Morton Marcus’ columns both entertaining and informative. I read the Dec. 7 column, in which Marcus seems to insinuate that property taxes were acceptable as they were and do not require modifications. As a resident of Marion County, I could not disagree more.
More

DINING: Broad Ripple staple expands to downtown

December 12, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
The restaurant space at 15 E. Maryland St. has come a long way since its beer-drenched days as a Buffalo Wild Wings franchise.
More

HETRICK: Let's have a little holiday faith ... in one anotherRestricted Content

December 12, 2009
Bruce Hetrick
One might hope that we could accept a simple seasonal greeting for its thoughtful intent.
More

HICKS: Short-term thinking won't yield long-term payoffsRestricted Content

December 12, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
Macroeconomic forecasting is a tough â??science.â?? One may have the economy completely right, but that doesnâ??t mean it will make you any money as an investor.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Symphony's annual Yuletide show doesn't need Vegas dress-up

December 11, 2009
Lou Harry
When this year’s edition of “Yuletide Celebration” maintains its focus on the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, guest host Maureen McGovern and the tap-dancing Santas, it’s as comforting as the show has ever been.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I never thought I'd see the day when a Republican Mayor would lead the charge in attempting to raise every tax we have to pay. Now it's income taxes and property taxes that Ballard wants to increase. And to pay for a pre-K program? Many studies have shown that pre-K offer no long-term educational benefits whatsoever. And Ballard is pitching it as a way of fighting crime? Who is he kidding? It's about government provided day care. It's a shame that we elected a Republican who has turned out to be a huge big spending, big taxing, big borrowing liberal Democrat.

  2. Why do we blame the unions? They did not create the 11 different school districts that are the root of the problem.

  3. I was just watching an AOW race from cleveland in 1997...in addition to the 65K for the race, there were more people in boats watching that race from the lake than were IndyCar fans watching the 2014 IndyCar season finale in the Fontana grandstands. Just sayin...That's some resurgence modern IndyCar has going. Almost profitable, nobody in the grandstands and TV ratings dropping 61% at some tracks in the series. Business model..."CRAZY" as said by a NASCAR track general manager. Yup, this thing is purring like a cat! Sponsors...send them your cash, pronto!!! LOL, not a chance.

  4. I'm sure Indiana is paradise for the wealthy and affluent, but what about the rest of us? Over the last 40 years, conservatives and the business elite have run this country (and state)into the ground. The pendulum will swing back as more moderate voters get tired of Reaganomics and regressive social policies. Add to that the wave of minority voters coming up in the next 10 to 15 years and things will get better. unfortunately we have to suffer through 10 more years of gerrymandered districts and dispropionate representation.

  5. Funny thing....rich people telling poor people how bad the other rich people are wanting to cut benefits/school etc and that they should vote for those rich people that just did it. Just saying..............

ADVERTISEMENT