Opinion

DINING: At 86th and Ditch, a revamped pearl among bistros

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
Third in a series of reviews near the north-side intersection.
More

SKARBECK: Market a bright spot amid worrisome economyRestricted Content

October 17, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
The financial media have the corks ready to pop as the Dow Jones industrial average re-crosses what pundits claim is the â??psychologically importantâ?? 10,000 level.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Graven image conscious

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, Spanish artists explore the sacred and the IRT’s playwright-in-residence presents a haunted Abe Lincoln.
More

STYLE: Add Refind to the reduce/reuse/recycle trilogy

October 17, 2009
Gabrielle Poshadlo
Anita Hopper's got a brand new bag ... made from an old leather coat.
More

BENNER: Bad news hard to come by as Colts take a breakRestricted Content

October 17, 2009
Bill Benner
Here we are at the bye week of what is looking like another exceptional Indianapolis Colts season.
More

HICKS: Flu season offers prelude to health care reformRestricted Content

October 17, 2009
Mike Hicks
This flu season looks to provide us an inkling of the real dangers inherent in large-scale health care reform, most especially a full-blown national health care option.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Heartland fest's bests ... and the rest

October 10, 2009
Rebecca Berfanger, Lou Harry
We review this year's Heartland Film Festival offerings. Check back often as we add entries throughout the event, which starts Oct. 15.
More

ALTOM: Is it worth tracking employees and their vehicles?Restricted Content

October 10, 2009
Tim Altom
Employees often react badly to, as they see it, being followed around. There are even privacy laws to consider.
More

KATTERJOHN: Newspapers still deliver - for YOU

October 10, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
The Hoosier State Press Association, a trade group representing 175 paid-circulation Hoosier newspapers, including IBJ, has launched a campaign designed to remind the public of the important role newspapers play in our democracy. So this week, I’m ceding my space to David Stamps, executive director of the HSPA
More

EDITORIAL: Indiana Fever deserves support

October 10, 2009
 IBJ Staff
Running a professional sports franchise isn’t just a dollars-and-cents proposition. It also requires heart. And that’s what the Fever have in abundance, from ownership to management to the players on the floor.
More

EDITORIAL: Another blow to a deadly habit?

October 10, 2009
 IBJ Staff
An ordinance that would ban smoking in enclosed spaces where it’s still allowed—primarily bars and bowling alleys—is once again being considered by the City-County Council. And again we urge councilors to adopt the measure.
More

MARCUS: The recession will leave a residue

October 10, 2009
Morton Marcus
Wouldn’t it be refreshing if we focused on a different way of looking at the recession? What if we talked in real terms about how much we lost in work days or goods and services?
More

ROOB: Math proficiency a must for work force

October 10, 2009
Mitch Roob / Special to IBJ
The recent slump in the domestic auto industry reminds us of the importance of innovation and creating something that will be attractive to the consumer tomorrow. Companies that don’t foresee and adapt to the changing needs of their consumers ultimately fail.
More

HETRICK: Will healthy workplace hopes go up in smoke?Restricted Content

October 10, 2009
Bruce Hetrick
I can predict as well as any seer what witnesses will say as the City-County Council considers a workplace smoking ban.
More

Legislator promotes fair redistricting

October 10, 2009
Sometimes I agree with Morton Marcus’ opinions and sometimes I don’t, but I was incredulous when I read his “Let’s help keep legislators in check” in the [Sept. 28] IBJ.
More

Chicago Olympics? What a joke

October 10, 2009
I can appreciate, but heartily disagree, with the arguments [Bill Benner] advanced [in his Oct. 5 column] that Chicago getting the 2012 Olympics would have benefited Indianapolis.
More

This is time to step up at work, not back off

October 10, 2009
I read the [Sept. 21 viewpoint] “Learn to say no at work” with disbelief that this is among the best advice that can be given, when companies are now being required to do more with less.
More

Forget visiting the Berry Bowl

October 10, 2009
[In response to Bill Benner’s Oct. 5 column] You can cross off your list watching basketball at the Berry Bowl. A new school was built in Logansport in the early ’70s and the old school, including the wonderful Berry Bowl, was torn down.
More

BENNER: We've got the Fever, but will we be able to keep it?Restricted Content

October 10, 2009
Bill Benner
Indifference has been the Indiana Fever’s greatest enemy.
More

Here's how to help future work force

October 10, 2009
I encourage businesspeople—well, everyone, really—to volunteer in and visit our schools, if for no other reason than to expose kids to the professional world and let the kids see that the professional world cares.
More

DINING: Eclectic menu highlights flower-powered eatery

October 10, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It may be situated smack-dab in the middle of a strip mall, but Tulip Noir is not just another cookie-cutter eatery serving up the same old food
More

HICKS: Labor market woes persist as recession wanesRestricted Content

October 10, 2009
Mike Hicks
So, the problem isn't necessarily a big spike in job losses, but in much lower job-creation numbers.
More

HUDNUT: In appreciation of Mel Simon

October 3, 2009
Bill Hudnut
I happened to be in Indianapolis the week before Mel Simon passed away on Sept. 16, and talked with his secretary about visiting him briefly, because I knew he was very ill. But he was too ill to see me.
More

MARCUS: Madison on the river, future on the line

October 3, 2009
Morton Marcus
One recurring pleasure for me is learning how different communities in our state are making progress in economic development. This past week I learned how Madison (Jefferson County) is battling to sustain its heritage while improving opportunities for its citizens.
More

Hotel water plan is wasteful

October 3, 2009
I would like to take exception to the topic and the quote in [Scott] Olson’s article in the Sept. 21 IBJ regarding the de-watering system planned for the new Marriott Hotel.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. If what you stated is true, then this article is entirely inaccurate. "State sells bonds" is same as "State borrows money". Supposedly the company will "pay for them". But since we are paying the company, we are still paying for this road with borrowed money, even though the state has $2 billion in the bank.

  2. Andrew hit the nail on the head. AMTRAK provides terrible service and that is why the state has found a contractor to improve the service. More trips, on-time performance, better times, cleanliness and adequate or better restrooms. WI-FI and food service will also be provided. Transit from outlying areas will also be provided. I wouldn't take it the way it is but with the above services and marketing of the service,ridership will improve and more folks will explore Indy and may even want to move here.

  3. They could take the property using eminent domain and save money by not paying the church or building a soccer field and a new driveway. Ctrwd has monthly meetings open to all customers of the district. The meetings are listed and if the customers really cared that much they would show. Ctrwd works hard in every way they can to make sure the customer is put first. Overflows damage the surrounding environment and cost a lot of money every year. There have been many upgrades done through the years to help not send flow to Carmel. Even with the upgrades ctrwd cannot always keep up. I understand how a storage tank could be an eye sore, but has anyone thought to look at other lift stations or storage tanks. Most lift stations are right in the middle of neighborhoods. Some close to schools and soccer fields, and some right in back yards, or at least next to a back yard. We all have to work together to come up with a proper solution. The proposed solution by ctrwd is the best one offered so far.

  4. Fox has comments from several people that seem to have some inside information. I would refer to their website. Changed my whole opionion of this story.

  5. This place is great! I'm piggy backing and saying the Cobb salad is great. But the ribs are awesome. $6.49 for ribs and 2 sides?! They're delicious. If you work downtown, head over there.

ADVERTISEMENT