Opinion

BENNER: Pacers revival has to happen on the hardwoodRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
Bill Benner
"This is not a year to make excuses," says Pacers President Larry Bird.
More

EDITORIAL: State can't rely on gambling revenue

October 24, 2009
 IBJ Staff
State and, to some extent, local government has come to rely on gambling revenue. And now that neighboring states are launching a competitive assault on Indiana casinos, it’s time to get back to the original intent before the revenue shrivels and leaves necessary government services high and dry.
More

KATTERJOHN: Get out and vote for WishardRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
You know, there’s an election on Nov. 3, right? We’re not voting for president, governor, mayor, or even dog catcher. We’re voting for a critical piece of the health care delivery system in central Indiana: whether to allow Marion County Health & Hospital Corp. to sell bonds to build a new Wishard Hospital.
More

MARCUS: Today's data tell yesterday's story

October 24, 2009
Morton Marcus
Most economists are of the opinion that we have seen the bottom of the recession and are in recovery mode. However, the evidence is scarce to support that position.
More

JOSEPH: Will new rules end blog pay for play?

October 24, 2009
Hannah Kaufman Joseph
This month, the Federal Trade Commission announced new rules aimed at increasing transparency in social media advertising. Starting Dec. 1, bloggers and other users of social media tools, such as Twitter and Facebook, must disclose if they have received any type of payment in exchange for promotion, advertising or endorsement.
More

Abandoned houses should be torn down

October 24, 2009
[In response to the Oct. 19 viewpoint] Some of [Kurt] Wiegand’s points were spot-on, but his analysis of the economic impact regarding Mayor Ballard’s plan to demolish abandoned homes misses the mark by a wide margin.
More

HETRICK: My Washington day in the war for health reformRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
Bruce Hetrick
I awoke long before the alarm sounded Tuesday. It’s not every day one testifies before Congress, so I was eager and anxious.
More

HICKS: Non-market valuation is an important planning toolRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
Mike Hicks
One of the more intriguing things economists are called upon to do is what is known as non-market valuation. This is a process for estimating a â??priceâ?? of something that isnâ??t typically bought or sold.
More

EDITORIAL: City water utility in over its head

October 17, 2009
As missteps by the city’s water utility threaten to drown local ratepayers with dramatically higher bills, Mayor Greg Ballard’s administration is exploring a complete overhaul of the system. The mayor’s initiative can’t produce results soon enough.
More

MAURER: Hoosier Quentin Smith's heroics worth noting

October 17, 2009
Mickey Maurer
Quentin Smith served as a first lieutenant in the U.S. Army Air Force from 1942 to 1945. He is one of at least seven surviving Tuskegee Airmen who live in Indiana.
More

MARCUS: Indiana loses a devoted and native son

October 17, 2009
Morton Marcus
Chris Linn drove the roads and noted the telltale signs of lifestyle unseen by most researchers. His eyes told him what the demographic and economic numbers did not reveal.
More

WIEGAND: Does Indianapolis suffer from 'economic apartheid'?

October 17, 2009
Kurt Wiegand
I see Mayor Greg Ballard’s plan to demolish abandoned homes as a sign of failure, an acknowledgment that our leaders—those whom we elected, business leaders, policy people, and leaders of not-for-profits—have failed us, much in the same way leaders dramatically failed the auto companies, investment banks and mortgage companies.
More

DINING: At 86th and Ditch, a revamped pearl among bistros

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
Third in a series of reviews near the north-side intersection.
More

SKARBECK: Market a bright spot amid worrisome economyRestricted Content

October 17, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
The financial media have the corks ready to pop as the Dow Jones industrial average re-crosses what pundits claim is the â??psychologically importantâ?? 10,000 level.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Graven image conscious

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, Spanish artists explore the sacred and the IRT’s playwright-in-residence presents a haunted Abe Lincoln.
More

STYLE: Add Refind to the reduce/reuse/recycle trilogy

October 17, 2009
Gabrielle Poshadlo
Anita Hopper's got a brand new bag ... made from an old leather coat.
More

BENNER: Bad news hard to come by as Colts take a breakRestricted Content

October 17, 2009
Bill Benner
Here we are at the bye week of what is looking like another exceptional Indianapolis Colts season.
More

HICKS: Flu season offers prelude to health care reformRestricted Content

October 17, 2009
Mike Hicks
This flu season looks to provide us an inkling of the real dangers inherent in large-scale health care reform, most especially a full-blown national health care option.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Heartland fest's bests ... and the rest

October 10, 2009
Rebecca Berfanger, Lou Harry
We review this year's Heartland Film Festival offerings. Check back often as we add entries throughout the event, which starts Oct. 15.
More

ALTOM: Is it worth tracking employees and their vehicles?Restricted Content

October 10, 2009
Tim Altom
Employees often react badly to, as they see it, being followed around. There are even privacy laws to consider.
More

KATTERJOHN: Newspapers still deliver - for YOU

October 10, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
The Hoosier State Press Association, a trade group representing 175 paid-circulation Hoosier newspapers, including IBJ, has launched a campaign designed to remind the public of the important role newspapers play in our democracy. So this week, I’m ceding my space to David Stamps, executive director of the HSPA
More

EDITORIAL: Indiana Fever deserves support

October 10, 2009
 IBJ Staff
Running a professional sports franchise isn’t just a dollars-and-cents proposition. It also requires heart. And that’s what the Fever have in abundance, from ownership to management to the players on the floor.
More

EDITORIAL: Another blow to a deadly habit?

October 10, 2009
 IBJ Staff
An ordinance that would ban smoking in enclosed spaces where it’s still allowed—primarily bars and bowling alleys—is once again being considered by the City-County Council. And again we urge councilors to adopt the measure.
More

MARCUS: The recession will leave a residue

October 10, 2009
Morton Marcus
Wouldn’t it be refreshing if we focused on a different way of looking at the recession? What if we talked in real terms about how much we lost in work days or goods and services?
More

ROOB: Math proficiency a must for work force

October 10, 2009
Mitch Roob / Special to IBJ
The recent slump in the domestic auto industry reminds us of the importance of innovation and creating something that will be attractive to the consumer tomorrow. Companies that don’t foresee and adapt to the changing needs of their consumers ultimately fail.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT