Opinion

HETRICK: Will healthy workplace hopes go up in smoke?Restricted Content

October 10, 2009
Bruce Hetrick
I can predict as well as any seer what witnesses will say as the City-County Council considers a workplace smoking ban.
More

Legislator promotes fair redistricting

October 10, 2009
Sometimes I agree with Morton Marcus’ opinions and sometimes I don’t, but I was incredulous when I read his “Let’s help keep legislators in check” in the [Sept. 28] IBJ.
More

Chicago Olympics? What a joke

October 10, 2009
I can appreciate, but heartily disagree, with the arguments [Bill Benner] advanced [in his Oct. 5 column] that Chicago getting the 2012 Olympics would have benefited Indianapolis.
More

This is time to step up at work, not back off

October 10, 2009
I read the [Sept. 21 viewpoint] “Learn to say no at work” with disbelief that this is among the best advice that can be given, when companies are now being required to do more with less.
More

Forget visiting the Berry Bowl

October 10, 2009
[In response to Bill Benner’s Oct. 5 column] You can cross off your list watching basketball at the Berry Bowl. A new school was built in Logansport in the early ’70s and the old school, including the wonderful Berry Bowl, was torn down.
More

BENNER: We've got the Fever, but will we be able to keep it?Restricted Content

October 10, 2009
Bill Benner
Indifference has been the Indiana Fever’s greatest enemy.
More

Here's how to help future work force

October 10, 2009
I encourage businesspeople—well, everyone, really—to volunteer in and visit our schools, if for no other reason than to expose kids to the professional world and let the kids see that the professional world cares.
More

DINING: Eclectic menu highlights flower-powered eatery

October 10, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It may be situated smack-dab in the middle of a strip mall, but Tulip Noir is not just another cookie-cutter eatery serving up the same old food
More

HICKS: Labor market woes persist as recession wanesRestricted Content

October 10, 2009
Mike Hicks
So, the problem isn't necessarily a big spike in job losses, but in much lower job-creation numbers.
More

HUDNUT: In appreciation of Mel Simon

October 3, 2009
Bill Hudnut
I happened to be in Indianapolis the week before Mel Simon passed away on Sept. 16, and talked with his secretary about visiting him briefly, because I knew he was very ill. But he was too ill to see me.
More

MARCUS: Madison on the river, future on the line

October 3, 2009
Morton Marcus
One recurring pleasure for me is learning how different communities in our state are making progress in economic development. This past week I learned how Madison (Jefferson County) is battling to sustain its heritage while improving opportunities for its citizens.
More

Hotel water plan is wasteful

October 3, 2009
I would like to take exception to the topic and the quote in [Scott] Olson’s article in the Sept. 21 IBJ regarding the de-watering system planned for the new Marriott Hotel.
More

Rights don't come from government

October 3, 2009
Bruce Hetrick is wrong in asserting that “We pray and protest under the protection of government” and that “We … freely publish columns … because of government.” His assertions reveal the progressive mind-set and belief that we receive our rights from government, and thus man
More

Government does deserve some credit

October 3, 2009
Kudos to Bruce Hetrick’s comments in the [Sept. 28] edition. It shows rational thinking instead of fear mongering.
More

Maurer column hit the mark

October 3, 2009
[Mickey Maurer’s Sept. 21] column was right on! Totally to the point and about time someone stated the obvious. When will this country begin once again to make people pay for their crime(s)?
More

Kudos for 'off-the-wall' Maurer column

October 3, 2009
I really enjoyed your column “Off-the-wall advice for unemployed.”
More

More offbeat advice for job-seekers

October 3, 2009
Mickey Maurer’s article on job openings had some excellent suggestions, but let me add the following:
More

Are blue laws wrong or are we immoral?

October 3, 2009
When I was a kid growing up in Kentucky, no business was conducted on Sunday at all. On a rare occasion my dad would load up the car and we would cross the river and shop in Indiana.
More

Simon embodied customer loyalty

October 3, 2009
I sat in Beth-El Zedeck Temple for the funeral services of Melvin Simon. The various speakers spoke of Mel’s desire to create a real estate empire and his desire to give back to the community.
More

EDITORIAL: Program gives people a financial leg up

October 3, 2009
 IBJ Staff
Nearly 80,000 people in the city are “unbanked” and therefore lack this basic building block to financial health. A new program called Bank on Indy aims to change that.
More

MAURER: Teach your children to reject hateRestricted Content

October 3, 2009
Mickey Maurer
God hates fags. That’s the declaration we heard Sept. 24 from the Westboro Baptist Church road show that appeared at North Central High School and other Indianapolis venues throughout the day.
More

SKARBECK: Trading in failed firms really isn't 'investing'

October 3, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
Who is “investing” in these stocks and why? It is safe to say they are not investors who have done the exhaustive work of valuing the assets and liabilities, who then reached a conclusion that they were getting good value for their money.
More

HICKS: What a third-grader gets about economic policy

October 3, 2009
Mike Hicks
Business and people now, and in the future, will choose to locate in places that have the right mix of taxes and public services.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Of 'Glee' they sing

October 3, 2009
Lou Harry
Fox's musical high school comedy is generating buzz in the A&E world.
More

DINING: 'Bucket' pales next to others at busy intersection

October 3, 2009
Lou Harry
This month, we’ll hit a quartet of recent restaurant arrivals near the already competitive culinary intersection of 86th Street and Ditch Road. First up: Rusty Bucket Corner Tavern.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I keep wondering why I keep hearing about this problem of corporations leaving America, and I never hear a reasonable proposal to lower corporate tax rates and raise personal rates on income from capital gains and dividends, especially for high earners. It is just too simple of a solution for Congress to embrace?

  2. Are you financially down and you need money to settle your dept,or you need money to start up a business or to invest on a huge business,we also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at low interest rate , loan terms determinant,Loan amount between the sum of $5,000.00 to $100,000,000.00. US Dollars And Euro. Loan for developing businesses a competitive edge/ business expansion. We Offer The Following Kinds Of Loans. Personal Loans (Secure and Unsecured) Business Loans (Secure and Unsecured) Consolidation Loan FIRST INFORMATIONS NEEDED ARE: BORROWER’S DATA’S INFORMATION,FILL AND RETURN FOR QUICK START UP PROCESS. Name:_________ Last Name:_________ Age:_________ Contact Address:_________ Country:_________ Amount Needed as Loan:_________ Loan Duration:_________ Phone Number__________ Monthly Income/Yearly Income:_________ Purpose for Loan:_________ Occupation:_________ How Soon is Loan Needed__________ Email via: albertbrownfirm@outlook.com

  3. is a disaster. SR37 already needs to be built to interstate standards between 465 and SR144. Southport Road is a mess each morning and evening.

  4. Bass Pro Shops would be good for the mall as well as a Giant Eagle Market District or a Jungle Jim's International Market Place grocery store like the one near Cincinnati Ohio.A Disney quest indoor theme park would be good.An Academy outdoor store would be good too.Indoor Circus shows and magic shows would be good as well. A casino with sports bar would be good.A Disney theater inside that shows movies and Broadway shows would work.Nashville Tennessee concert shops with indoor neon lights would be good.How about a theater that shows travel shows and theme parks. A train store would be good.How about a giant toy store with high tech video games.

  5. This development is in addition to Allpoints Midwest 5, Aitrtek, a recent FedEx and more in Plainfield. Greenwood and Brownsburg also have similar projects.

ADVERTISEMENT