Opinion

MARCUS: The economic exorcism was successful

November 7, 2009
Morton Marcus
The damage done by the recession is still with us, even if the recession itself has ended. But sufficient evidence is available to suggest that the demon recession has left the nation’s economic body.
More

GROSSMAN: Just what are 'green jobs,' anyway?

November 7, 2009
Peter Z. Grossman
Indiana officials appear to be working hard to get our share of the 5 million “green jobs” President Obama says he’ll create. Sounds like a good idea, except for one problem: No one can really say just what a green job is.
More

Durham's woes resemble Firstmark's

November 7, 2009
The financial legerdemain surrounding Tim Durham and his ownership of Fair Finance [described in an Oct. 26 story] brings back memories.
More

Let's focus on medical errors

November 7, 2009
Debra Smith’s column in your Oct. 19 [Focus section] needs some clarification and correction.
More

HICKS: Families of veterans also serve their countryRestricted Content

November 7, 2009
Mike Hicks
I have to note that Nov. 11 is Veterans Day. It is rightfully a time we thank those among us who have served.
More

Health care reform should slow down

November 7, 2009
I am writing because I have closely followed the debate on health care reform and am questioning some of the decisions being made by our legislators in Congress.
More

Have you hired a veteran today?

November 7, 2009
With Veterans Day upon us, we are reminded to thank a veteran for his or her service and to honor the memories of those who fought for our country and did not come home. But in the business community, we can do more than that, all year long, by bringing veterans into our organizations.
More

Sallie Mae jobs are in jeopardy

November 7, 2009
There are 2,300 hard-working and well-paid professionals here in Indiana whose jobs are hanging in the balance while Congress debates a bill (H.R. 3221) that would eliminate the private student loan industry as we know it.
More

DINING: Frosting is tops at Holy Cow, Cupcakes!

November 7, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
At this Rangeline Road cupcakery, it's the sweet stuff that counts.
More

BENNER: Former volunteer Stevens now coaches a contenderRestricted Content

October 31, 2009
Bill Benner
Count Butler University basketball on the short list of teams that could make it to the Final Four.
More

HICKS: Recession results in 'great deleveraging'Restricted Content

October 31, 2009
Mike Hicks
On virtually every meaningful measure, this recession stacks up as only the third or fourth worst post-World War II recession, but its effects are much more profound in a few areas. One area that will be most apparent is the changes the economy has wrought on consumer credit.
More

SKARBECK: Lenders still not serious about serious reformRestricted Content

October 31, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
The early signs point to meek efforts by the Obama administration to address gaping regulatory issues.
More

MAURER: Now is not the time to fear failureRestricted Content

October 31, 2009
Mickey Maurer
Failure does not have to mean you’re through. Mistakes are inevitable in all businesses. A better test of the character of someone in business is how he or she reacts to failure.
More

EDITORIAL: Take the lead on smoking ban, Mayor Ballard

October 31, 2009
 IBJ Staff
Maddening? Disappointing? Choose your adjective. The failure of the latest proposal to prohibit smoking in almost all Indianapolis workplaces was clearly a setback for public health and a city that markets itself as a medical and life sciences hub.
More

MARCUS: The people speak - who is listening?

October 31, 2009
Morton Marcus
Occasionally, I go to hear the voice of the people at the mall. Rainy days are good for this exercise. No one is in a hurry to get drenched in the parking lot.
More

HENDERSON: Airport terminal, one long year later

October 31, 2009
Tom Henderson
As an all-too-frequent flier, I’ve had a chance to get the full-love experience of the new airport terminal numerous times in its first year. The summary is that it’s both tolerable, and I have no choice.
More

Vote no on Wishard

October 31, 2009
“Get out and Vote (no) for Wishard” should have been [Chris Katterjohn’s Oct. 26 column] for two simple reasons:
More

Let's add math to driver's test

October 31, 2009
Mitch Roob has it exactly right in his [Oct. 12] viewpoint “Math proficiency a must for workplace.”
More

Bundle medicine with care

October 31, 2009
I would like to thank IBJ for highlighting the role of interdisciplinary (“bundled”) medicine in the Oct. 19 article, “Huddling on Health Care.”
More

Here's another Hoosier hero

October 31, 2009
[In response to Mickey Maurer’s Oct. 19 column asking for Hoosier heroes] Jimmy O’Donnell, survivor, U.S.S. Indianapolis. He is approaching 90 years old.
More

DINING: Zionsville's Oobatz! earns its punctuation

October 31, 2009
Lou Harry
New restaurant serves up pizza, pasta and more.
More

LEADERSHIP: Use objective measures to evaluate employeesRestricted Content

October 24, 2009
CJ McClanahan
To improve the productivity of your management team, it’s critical to have an objective plan for measuring performance. That means clear job descriptions, goals, and key performance indicators to track progress.
More

ALTOM: Why can't we use cell phones on a plane?Restricted Content

October 24, 2009
Tim Altom
Who among us hasn’t pondered life’s great questions? Why are we here? Why aren’t we somewhere else? Why do some people never learn how to parallel park? And perhaps most mysterious of all—is it true that operating electronic devices on an airplane may cause it to go out of control and crash? Perhaps surprisingly, the answer is that nobody really knows.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Phoenix show shipshape/Marxing time in Chicago

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
The Phoenix Theatre's "Shipwrecked!" and "Animal Crackers" at Chicago's Goodman Theatre offer two kinds of stage pleasures.
More

DINING: Beyond the bread at new Northside bakery

October 24, 2009
Lou Harry
We finish off our 86th and Ditch month of reviews with treats from Great Cooks: The Bakery.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. to mention the rest of Molly's experience- she served as Communications Director for the Indianapolis Department of Public Works and also did communications for the state. She's incredibly qualified for this role and has a real love for Indianapolis and Indiana. Best of luck to her!

  2. Shall we not demand the same scrutiny for law schools, med schools, heaven forbid, business schools, etc.? How many law school grads are servers? How many business start ups fail and how many business grads get low paying jobs because there are so few high paying positions available? Why does our legislature continue to demean public schools and give taxpayer dollars to charters and private schools, ($171 million last year), rather than investing in our community schools? We are on a course of disaster regarding our public school attitudes unless we change our thinking in a short time.

  3. I agree with the other reader's comment about the chunky tomato soup. I found myself wanting a breadstick to dip into it. It tasted more like a marinara sauce; I couldn't eat it as a soup. In general, I liked the place... but doubt that I'll frequent it once the novelty wears off.

  4. The Indiana toll road used to have some of the cleanest bathrooms you could find on the road. After the lease they went downhill quickly. While not the grossest you'll see, they hover a bit below average. Am not sure if this is indicative of the entire deal or merely a portion of it. But the goals of anyone taking over the lease will always be at odds. The fewer repairs they make, the more money they earn since they have a virtual monopoly on travel from Cleveland to Chicago. So they only comply to satisfy the rules. It's hard to hand public works over to private enterprise. The incentives are misaligned. In true competition, you'd have multiple roads, each build by different companies motivated to make theirs more attractive. Working to attract customers is very different than working to maximize profit on people who have no choice but to choose your road. Of course, we all know two roads would be even more ridiculous.

  5. The State is in a perfect position. The consortium overpaid for leasing the toll road. Good for the State. The money they paid is being used across the State to upgrade roads and bridges and employ people at at time most of the country is scrambling to fund basic repairs. Good for the State. Indiana taxpayers are no longer subsidizing the toll roads to the tune of millions a year as we had for the last 20 years because the legislature did not have the guts to raise tolls. Good for the State. If the consortium fails, they either find another operator, acceptable to the State, to buy them out or the road gets turned back over to the State and we keep the Billions. Good for the State. Pat Bauer is no longer the Majority or Minority Leader of the House. Good for the State. Anyway you look at this, the State received billions of dollars for an assett the taxpayers were subsidizing, the State does not have to pay to maintain the road for 70 years. I am having trouble seeing the downside.

ADVERTISEMENT