Opinion

WIEGAND: Does Indianapolis suffer from 'economic apartheid'?

October 17, 2009
Kurt Wiegand
I see Mayor Greg Ballard’s plan to demolish abandoned homes as a sign of failure, an acknowledgment that our leaders—those whom we elected, business leaders, policy people, and leaders of not-for-profits—have failed us, much in the same way leaders dramatically failed the auto companies, investment banks and mortgage companies.
More

DINING: At 86th and Ditch, a revamped pearl among bistros

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
Third in a series of reviews near the north-side intersection.
More

SKARBECK: Market a bright spot amid worrisome economyRestricted Content

October 17, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
The financial media have the corks ready to pop as the Dow Jones industrial average re-crosses what pundits claim is the â??psychologically importantâ?? 10,000 level.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Graven image conscious

October 17, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, Spanish artists explore the sacred and the IRT’s playwright-in-residence presents a haunted Abe Lincoln.
More

STYLE: Add Refind to the reduce/reuse/recycle trilogy

October 17, 2009
Gabrielle Poshadlo
Anita Hopper's got a brand new bag ... made from an old leather coat.
More

BENNER: Bad news hard to come by as Colts take a breakRestricted Content

October 17, 2009
Bill Benner
Here we are at the bye week of what is looking like another exceptional Indianapolis Colts season.
More

HICKS: Flu season offers prelude to health care reformRestricted Content

October 17, 2009
Mike Hicks
This flu season looks to provide us an inkling of the real dangers inherent in large-scale health care reform, most especially a full-blown national health care option.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Heartland fest's bests ... and the rest

October 10, 2009
Rebecca Berfanger, Lou Harry
We review this year's Heartland Film Festival offerings. Check back often as we add entries throughout the event, which starts Oct. 15.
More

ALTOM: Is it worth tracking employees and their vehicles?Restricted Content

October 10, 2009
Tim Altom
Employees often react badly to, as they see it, being followed around. There are even privacy laws to consider.
More

KATTERJOHN: Newspapers still deliver - for YOU

October 10, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
The Hoosier State Press Association, a trade group representing 175 paid-circulation Hoosier newspapers, including IBJ, has launched a campaign designed to remind the public of the important role newspapers play in our democracy. So this week, I’m ceding my space to David Stamps, executive director of the HSPA
More

EDITORIAL: Indiana Fever deserves support

October 10, 2009
 IBJ Staff
Running a professional sports franchise isn’t just a dollars-and-cents proposition. It also requires heart. And that’s what the Fever have in abundance, from ownership to management to the players on the floor.
More

EDITORIAL: Another blow to a deadly habit?

October 10, 2009
 IBJ Staff
An ordinance that would ban smoking in enclosed spaces where it’s still allowed—primarily bars and bowling alleys—is once again being considered by the City-County Council. And again we urge councilors to adopt the measure.
More

MARCUS: The recession will leave a residue

October 10, 2009
Morton Marcus
Wouldn’t it be refreshing if we focused on a different way of looking at the recession? What if we talked in real terms about how much we lost in work days or goods and services?
More

ROOB: Math proficiency a must for work force

October 10, 2009
Mitch Roob / Special to IBJ
The recent slump in the domestic auto industry reminds us of the importance of innovation and creating something that will be attractive to the consumer tomorrow. Companies that don’t foresee and adapt to the changing needs of their consumers ultimately fail.
More

HETRICK: Will healthy workplace hopes go up in smoke?Restricted Content

October 10, 2009
Bruce Hetrick
I can predict as well as any seer what witnesses will say as the City-County Council considers a workplace smoking ban.
More

Legislator promotes fair redistricting

October 10, 2009
Sometimes I agree with Morton Marcus’ opinions and sometimes I don’t, but I was incredulous when I read his “Let’s help keep legislators in check” in the [Sept. 28] IBJ.
More

Chicago Olympics? What a joke

October 10, 2009
I can appreciate, but heartily disagree, with the arguments [Bill Benner] advanced [in his Oct. 5 column] that Chicago getting the 2012 Olympics would have benefited Indianapolis.
More

This is time to step up at work, not back off

October 10, 2009
I read the [Sept. 21 viewpoint] “Learn to say no at work” with disbelief that this is among the best advice that can be given, when companies are now being required to do more with less.
More

Forget visiting the Berry Bowl

October 10, 2009
[In response to Bill Benner’s Oct. 5 column] You can cross off your list watching basketball at the Berry Bowl. A new school was built in Logansport in the early ’70s and the old school, including the wonderful Berry Bowl, was torn down.
More

BENNER: We've got the Fever, but will we be able to keep it?Restricted Content

October 10, 2009
Bill Benner
Indifference has been the Indiana Fever’s greatest enemy.
More

Here's how to help future work force

October 10, 2009
I encourage businesspeople—well, everyone, really—to volunteer in and visit our schools, if for no other reason than to expose kids to the professional world and let the kids see that the professional world cares.
More

DINING: Eclectic menu highlights flower-powered eatery

October 10, 2009
Andrea Muirragui Davis
It may be situated smack-dab in the middle of a strip mall, but Tulip Noir is not just another cookie-cutter eatery serving up the same old food
More

HICKS: Labor market woes persist as recession wanesRestricted Content

October 10, 2009
Mike Hicks
So, the problem isn't necessarily a big spike in job losses, but in much lower job-creation numbers.
More

HUDNUT: In appreciation of Mel Simon

October 3, 2009
Bill Hudnut
I happened to be in Indianapolis the week before Mel Simon passed away on Sept. 16, and talked with his secretary about visiting him briefly, because I knew he was very ill. But he was too ill to see me.
More

MARCUS: Madison on the river, future on the line

October 3, 2009
Morton Marcus
One recurring pleasure for me is learning how different communities in our state are making progress in economic development. This past week I learned how Madison (Jefferson County) is battling to sustain its heritage while improving opportunities for its citizens.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. How can any company that has the cash and other assets be allowed to simply foreclose and not pay the debt? Simon, pay the debt and sell the property yourself. Don't just stiff the bank with the loan and require them to find a buyer.

  2. If you only knew....

  3. The proposal is structured in such a way that a private company (who has competitors in the marketplace) has struck a deal to get "financing" through utility ratepayers via IPL. Competitors to BlueIndy are at disadvantage now. The story isn't "how green can we be" but how creative "financing" through captive ratepayers benefits a company whose proposal should sink or float in the competitive marketplace without customer funding. If it was a great idea there would be financing available. IBJ needs to be doing a story on the utility ratemaking piece of this (which is pretty complicated) but instead it suggests that folks are whining about paying for being green.

  4. The facts contained in your post make your position so much more credible than those based on sheer emotion. Thanks for enlightening us.

  5. Please consider a couple of economic realities: First, retail is more consolidated now than it was when malls like this were built. There used to be many department stores. Now, in essence, there is one--Macy's. Right off, you've eliminated the need for multiple anchor stores in malls. And in-line retailers have consolidated or folded or have stopped building new stores because so much of their business is now online. The Limited, for example, Next, malls are closing all over the country, even some of the former gems are now derelict.Times change. And finally, as the income level of any particular area declines, so do the retail offerings. Sad, but true.

ADVERTISEMENT