Opinion

HICKS: Card check folly and the demise of unionsRestricted Content

September 5, 2009
Mike Hicks
This Labor Day sees the American labor movement in serious decline. In fact, U.S. private-sector union membership has been in serious decline for three decades.
More

SKARBECK: Iceland offers case study of economy out of controlRestricted Content

September 5, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
Nowhere else on the stage of global economics was financial boom and bust more surreally scripted than in the small isolated country of Iceland.
More

DINING: Canal eatery recreated

September 5, 2009
Lou Harry
It’s called Creation Cafe (337 W. 11th St., 955-2389), but a better name for the restaurant at the top of the downtown canal might be Re-creation Café.
More

COTA: File sharer Drop.io is as an Internet team player

September 5, 2009
Jim Cota
Need your entire team—no matter where they are—to be working together? Here's a site that will help.
More

MARKETING: Why Discount Tire gets my vote, again and againRestricted Content

August 29, 2009
Lorraine Ball
There are plenty of “low-tech” companies exploring ways to build social media into their marketing strategies with outstanding results.
More

ALTOM: Want to experiment with 'Vanishing' e-mail?Restricted Content

August 29, 2009
Tim Altom
I’m wary of the “send” button. I’ve sent thousands of e-mails, and a fair number of them proved to be problems later on.
More

MARCUS: Some things must be repeatedRestricted Content

August 29, 2009
Morton Marcus
Some things need to be repeated over and over again. Repetition is required when a concept is hard to grasp or when narrow interests are allowed to override the public interest.
More

BARADA: What's wrong with this picture?Restricted Content

August 29, 2009
Paul W. Barada
There are some pretty basic things out of whack in our society. Not too long ago, a local newspaper reported that a union member from an area General Motors Corp. plant, with a job title of something like “assistant tool room organizer,” was being paid in the high $20-per-hour range, not counting benefits. The only requirement for the job—maybe a high school diploma.
More

Health care system is a travestyRestricted Content

August 29, 2009
I just want to thank you for [Bruce Hetrick’s] insightful article in the Aug. 10 issue regarding health care reform. You say it well.
More

Council faced unpleasant choiceRestricted Content

August 29, 2009
[In the Aug. 17 editorial] IBJ accuses elected officials of making decisions based on partisanship rather than good judgment. This superficial pronouncement of the reasons behind Proposal 285’s vote tally lacks thoughtful evaluation of why councilors cast their votes the way they did at the August 10 council meeting.
More

Shredding paper beats burning itRestricted Content

August 29, 2009
After reading [Tim Altom’s Return on Technology column] in the Aug. 17 IBJ on whether shredding or burning documents provided the greatest security, I felt compelled to send you a note.
More

Marcus wrote sanely about 'insane' issueRestricted Content

August 29, 2009
It was good to read Morton Marcus’ [Aug. 17] reasoned and sane synopsis of a subject that has become a lightning rod: health care “reform.”
More

DINING: A worthwhile stop on the road to IU

August 29, 2009
Lou Harry
Even the most hard-core local-restaurant advocates make exceptions when they hit the road. But on a recent drive, I found an alternative to fast-food pit stops.
More

BENNER: Honoring Knight is the right thing for IU to doRestricted Content

August 29, 2009
Bill Benner
Even as one of Knight’s most ardent critics during the latter half of his tenure at Indiana, I concur with the majority of opinions expressed on the subject.
More

BASILE: When cruising Antarctica, comfort isn't first priority

August 29, 2009
Frank Basile
There are cruises to the Antarctic in large luxury ships that go near the islands—close enough to afford magnificent views. But those ships are too big to get close enough to go ashore.
More

EDITORIAL: Teacher certification proposal deserves OKRestricted Content

August 29, 2009
 IBJ Staff
Indiana’s top education official, Tony Bennett, ruffled feathers last month when he proposed increasing teacher expertise in math, science and other subjects, and stripping red tape from teacher certification and hiring of administrators.
More

KATTERJOHN: Role model leading College MentorsRestricted Content

August 29, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
Erin Slater might be considered an over-achiever. The 32-year-old CEO of College Mentors for Kids boasts a laundry list of accomplishments in her relatively short life.
More

HICKS: Clunkers popularity went beyond consumers

August 29, 2009
Mike Hicks
The Cash for Clunkers program has seriously challenged my high-mindedness. It is time for a bit of soul searching.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Quality time on the Fringe

August 28, 2009
Lou Harry
By definition, the non-juried IndyFringe festival has a crapshoot quality. My advice to new Fringe-goers is usually to go to at least three shows and be fully prepared to hate at least one of them.
More

SKARBECK: For numerous banks, times still troubling

August 24, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
Every Friday after the markets have closed, my e-mail starts getting dinged by the FDIC. That is when the government agency publicly announces the names of banks that failed during the past week.
More

HICKS: As classes begin, students have fresh opportunity

August 24, 2009
Mike Hicks
Classes start this week at Ball State University, and other colleges and universities across the country. For many, it is a bittersweet moment, as parents say goodbye to their now young adults, handing them over to professors and scarily youthful resident hall assistants for safekeeping.
More

BENNER: Lin Dunn working her coaching magic on the Indiana FeverRestricted Content

August 24, 2009
Bill Benner
When it comes to basketball coaching greats with Indiana ties, the question is not where to start the list—John Wooden, Bob Knight, Tony Hinkle and Bobby Leonard would qualify as an initial Mount Rushmore—but where to end it. Among women, the list is significantly shorter, but there’s one name that would be right at the top.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Trying out the games of Gen Con

August 24, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, reviews of new games found at Gen Con and a nostalgic misfire from Gregory Hancock Dance Theatre.
More

MARCUS: Happy news is the remedy for realityRestricted Content

August 24, 2009
Morton Marcus
The elderly woman sat before me nervously straightening the seams of her dark gray stockings.
More

KANNING: Is our nation following in GM's footsteps?

August 24, 2009
Flawed decisions destroy organizations, not company size or lack thereof.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I took Bruce's comments to highlight a glaring issue when it comes to a state's image, and therefore its overall branding. An example is Michigan vs. Indiana. Michigan has done an excellent job of following through on its branding strategy around "Pure Michigan", even down to the detail of the rest stops. Since a state's branding is often targeted to visitors, it makes sense that rest stops, being that point of first impression, should be significant. It is clear that Indiana doesn't care as much about the impression it gives visitors even though our branding as the Crossroads of America does place importance on travel. Bruce's point is quite logical and accurate.

  2. I appreciated the article. I guess I have become so accustomed to making my "pit stops" at places where I can ALSO get gasoline and something hot to eat, that I hardly even notice public rest stops anymore. That said, I do concur with the rationale that our rest stops (if we are to have them at all) can and should be both fiscally-responsible AND designed to make a positive impression about our state.

  3. I don't know about the rest of you but I only stop at these places for one reason, and it's not to picnic. I move trucks for dealers and have been to rest areas in most all 48 lower states. Some of ours need upgrading no doubt. Many states rest areas are much worse than ours. In the rest area on I-70 just past Richmond truckers have to hike about a quarter of a mile. When I stop I;m generally in a bit of a hurry. Convenience,not beauty, is a primary concern.

  4. Community Hospital is the only system to not have layoffs? That is not true. Because I was one of the people who was laid off from East. And all of the LPN's have been laid off. Just because their layoffs were not announced or done all together does not mean people did not lose their jobs. They cherry-picked people from departments one by one. But you add them all up and it's several hundred. And East has had a dramatic drop I in patient beds from 800 to around 125. I know because I worked there for 30 years.

  5. I have obtained my 6 gallon badge for my donation of A Positive blood. I'm sorry to hear that my donation was nothing but a profit center for the Indiana Blood Center.

ADVERTISEMENT