Opinion

BENNER: Honoring Knight is the right thing for IU to doRestricted Content

August 29, 2009
Bill Benner
Even as one of Knight’s most ardent critics during the latter half of his tenure at Indiana, I concur with the majority of opinions expressed on the subject.
More

BASILE: When cruising Antarctica, comfort isn't first priority

August 29, 2009
Frank Basile
There are cruises to the Antarctic in large luxury ships that go near the islands—close enough to afford magnificent views. But those ships are too big to get close enough to go ashore.
More

EDITORIAL: Teacher certification proposal deserves OKRestricted Content

August 29, 2009
 IBJ Staff
Indiana’s top education official, Tony Bennett, ruffled feathers last month when he proposed increasing teacher expertise in math, science and other subjects, and stripping red tape from teacher certification and hiring of administrators.
More

KATTERJOHN: Role model leading College MentorsRestricted Content

August 29, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
Erin Slater might be considered an over-achiever. The 32-year-old CEO of College Mentors for Kids boasts a laundry list of accomplishments in her relatively short life.
More

HICKS: Clunkers popularity went beyond consumers

August 29, 2009
Mike Hicks
The Cash for Clunkers program has seriously challenged my high-mindedness. It is time for a bit of soul searching.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Quality time on the Fringe

August 28, 2009
Lou Harry
By definition, the non-juried IndyFringe festival has a crapshoot quality. My advice to new Fringe-goers is usually to go to at least three shows and be fully prepared to hate at least one of them.
More

SKARBECK: For numerous banks, times still troubling

August 24, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
Every Friday after the markets have closed, my e-mail starts getting dinged by the FDIC. That is when the government agency publicly announces the names of banks that failed during the past week.
More

HICKS: As classes begin, students have fresh opportunity

August 24, 2009
Mike Hicks
Classes start this week at Ball State University, and other colleges and universities across the country. For many, it is a bittersweet moment, as parents say goodbye to their now young adults, handing them over to professors and scarily youthful resident hall assistants for safekeeping.
More

BENNER: Lin Dunn working her coaching magic on the Indiana FeverRestricted Content

August 24, 2009
Bill Benner
When it comes to basketball coaching greats with Indiana ties, the question is not where to start the list—John Wooden, Bob Knight, Tony Hinkle and Bobby Leonard would qualify as an initial Mount Rushmore—but where to end it. Among women, the list is significantly shorter, but there’s one name that would be right at the top.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Trying out the games of Gen Con

August 24, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, reviews of new games found at Gen Con and a nostalgic misfire from Gregory Hancock Dance Theatre.
More

MARCUS: Happy news is the remedy for realityRestricted Content

August 24, 2009
Morton Marcus
The elderly woman sat before me nervously straightening the seams of her dark gray stockings.
More

KANNING: Is our nation following in GM's footsteps?

August 24, 2009
Flawed decisions destroy organizations, not company size or lack thereof.
More

Maurer's commentary 'right on track'Restricted Content

August 24, 2009
Medical technology has taken us to the point where we can sustain life almost indefinitely, but not maintain the quality of that life, nor the dignity of the person.
More

Maurer was right: Give people reliefRestricted Content

August 24, 2009
It is time for competent Hoosiers suffering at the end of their lives to have access to all modern medicines for humane relief.
More

Vote against 'cap and trade'Restricted Content

August 24, 2009
I urge Sen. Evan Bayh to vote against the “cap and trade” legislation pending in the Senate.
More

EDITORIAL: Next ISO conductor should live hereRestricted Content

August 24, 2009
Venzago was essentially an absentee conductor. He didn’t live here and never seemed fully engaged with the city.
More

MAURER: My old wrestling rival kept winningRestricted Content

August 24, 2009
Mickey Maurer
He was a tree trunk of a man who met my glance with a calm, almost disinterested glance—just another day at the office.
More

DINING: Tomato fare at the fair

August 17, 2009
Lou Harry
How do the five finalists in the Indiana State Fair signature food competition hold up for our taste-testers?
More

IBJ STYLE: Scott Schuman: From L.S. Ayres to 'The Sartorialist'

August 17, 2009
Gabrielle Poshadlo
A quarter century after graduating from Warren Central High School, Scott Schuman is a top fashion blogger.
More

ALTOM: Should you trade your shredder in for a bonfire?Restricted Content

August 17, 2009
Tim Altom
One thing I love about my line of work is that the simplest things get fascinatingly complicated.
More

MARCUS: Changing roles cause conflictRestricted Content

August 17, 2009
Morton Marcus
Americans are uncomfortable when responsibilities between the public and private sectors shift.

More

JOSEPH: Don't repeat Marsh's mistakeRestricted Content

August 17, 2009
Marsh Supermarkets quickly realized it could not honor the flood of redemptions of the $10 coupon it recently offered to its Facebook friends.

More

Toll road was good deal for stateRestricted Content

August 17, 2009
I cannot help but agree with the author’s assessment: the state of Indiana got a pretty good deal on the lease-sales agreement.
More

Indiana is lucky to have toll leaseRestricted Content

August 17, 2009
The facts are that toll increases are strictly limited in the contract and cars using electronic tolling have had no increase and are still paying the $4.65 toll rate set in 1985, one of the lowest per-mile tolls in the nation.
More

Higher-ed chief Lubbers is up to taskRestricted Content

August 17, 2009
In her short tenure thus far as commissioner, she has already helped me personally with an issue I was experiencing as a law student.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT