Opinion

ALTOM: Don’t expect Amazon’s drones anytime soonRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Tim Altom
The retail giant's futuristic delivery plan has some monumental obstacles to overcome.
More

COTA: Resolution-boosting apps help New Year self-help prospects

January 18, 2014
Jim Cota
The good news: We’re living in a world where there are amazing tools available to help guide your way. Here are a few of my favorites:
More

DINING: Spicing up City Market

January 18, 2014
Lou Harry
Spice Box Indy, one of the city's better food trucks, sets up shop at City Market. Third in a month-long series of theme-less restaurant reviews.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: GershWin-Win as DK doubles up on classic American music

January 18, 2014
Lou Harry
In “American Rhapsody”, Dance Kaleidoscope paired a new take on “An American in Paris” with a revival of his 2006 “Rhapsody.”
More

SOUDER: Traditional conservatism is making a comebackRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Mark Souder / Special to IBJ
It would be easy to miss the significance of the seven Indiana House Republicans all supporting the 2013 budget deal.
More

LANOSGA: Got a warrant for my cell phone information?Restricted Content

January 18, 2014
Gerry Lanosga / Special to IBJ
I’ve written a fair bit in these pages about the pitfalls of official secrecy—the often unjustified withholding of information by public agencies at all levels of government.
More

GARRISON: Good ideas during the great storm, but bad policyRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Greg Garrison / Special to IBJ
Folks in the business of passing laws and enforcing them must, of necessity, impose somebody’s idea of what is good on the rest of us.
More

MILLER: Local voters should be given shot at referendumRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Pat Miller / Special to IBJ
After reviewing the facts surrounding a proposed expansion of mass-transit services in central Indiana, gathering input from local officials, meeting with the public, and listening to concerns about establishing an expanded transit system, legislators are working to develop a plan that is both efficient and cost-effective.
More

SPEEDY: Private sector could put resources to better useRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Mike Speedy / Special to IBJ
Each session, I work to find efficient and effective ways to streamline government functions. Bolstering our city’s infrastructure is vital for sustained economic growth.
More

SHELLA: Stars might align for old deals to happenRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
Dwayne Sawyer just set a new world record for quickest rise and fall of an Indiana statewide elected official. His tenure as auditor fell just short of four months.
More

PARR: What Indiana should address in 2014Restricted Content

January 18, 2014
Riley Parr / Special to IBJ
Compared with neighboring states, Indiana is doing well. For that, Hoosiers can be thankful.
More

ODLE: State needs bold, imaginative leadershipRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Samuel L. Odle / Special to IBJ
I don’t think anyone can disagree we need a strategy for making the slogan “Indiana Works” a reality.
More

BOHANON: Cautious concerning government initiativesRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Cecil Bohanon / Special to IBJ
Free-market economists are skeptical of government programs designed to promote economic development.
More

MADISON: Statehouse religion isn't trending wellRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
James H. Madison / Special to IBJ
I’ve been listing to the Swan Silverstones. “Don’t blame it on the children,” this gospel group sings, which got me thinking about who’s to blame for the failure to regulate all our state’s child care facilities.
More

KETZENBERGER: With religion, to welcome one is to welcome allRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
I read recently that a proposed statue of a goat-headed figure of Satan, known as Baphomet, is a bad idea on the grounds of Oklahoma’s Capitol.
More

WESTERHAUS-RENFROW: Diversity still has bad rap in IndianaRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Charlotte Westerhaus-Renfrow / Special to IBJ
What “D” word is used most sparingly or avoided altogether by Hoosier political, business and civic leaders when sharing how to position Indiana for growth and success? a) debt, b) deflation, or c) diversity?
More

BOEHM: Solid reasons to build justice center nowRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Ted Boehm / Special to IBJ
Mayor Ballard proposes to create a judicial center that would bring the dispersed offices of the criminal courts, prosecutor, public defender and perhaps other agencies together with the county jail in one facility at a location to be determined, and free up the jail site for development.
More

TAFT: Just whose downtown is it, anyway?

January 18, 2014
Bill Taft / Special to IBJ
Downtown Indianapolis was recently ranked No. 1 for livability among smaller cities by Livability.com—gratifying praise after $9.3 billion of reinvestment. Recent debates and plans, however, have raised a fundamental question: Whose downtown is this?
More

EDITORIAL: Forge ahead with preschoolRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Gov. Mike Pence said last month that he wants to help young children from low-income homes start kindergarten “ready for a life of learning.” We applaud that goal, and ask the governor and General Assembly to craft voucher legislation that encourages the highest-quality preschools.
More

KENNEDY: Not healthy, wealthy or wiseRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Many of us have just wished our friends and loved ones a healthy, happy and prosperous new year. In Indiana, those are going to be elusive goals.
More

SMITH: Business thrives in pro-family IndianaRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Curt Smith / Special to IBJ
Among the more mystifying arguments against a constitutional amendment defining marriage as one man and one woman is the claim that having such a conversation creates an intolerant tone that hurts Indiana’s business climate. It’s mystifying because as we have respectfully debated this issue, Indiana’s economy improved remarkably.
More

HETRICK: After storm, plowing through a pseudo-libertarian snow job

January 11, 2014
Bruce Hetrick
"I am capable of deciding for myself what and where and when I can come and go," said a Facebook friend. But when does liberty get in the way of public safety?
More

MORRIS: Storm tests preparedness, opens heartsRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Greg Morris
Dangerous conditions give us a chance to kick the tires on remote workforce plan.
More

Legislative agenda unusually lengthy for a short sessionRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Ed Feigenbaum
An uncommonly ambitious gubernatorial want-list is paired with scores of items lawmakers are coveting during the 10-week gathering.
More

LOPRESTI: Colts-Chiefs playoff game joins classic-comeback peersRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Veterans of other memorable games welcome a new 'one for the ages' to their ranks.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Socialized medicine works great for white people in Scandanavia. It works well in Costa Rica for a population that is partly white and partly mestizo. I don't really see Obamacare as something aimed against whites. I think that is a Republican canard designed to elicit support from white people for republican candidates who don't care about them any more than democrats care about the non-whites they pander to with their phony maneuvers. But what is different between Costa Rica nd the Scandanavian nations on one hand and the US on the other? SIZE. Maybe the US is just too damn big. Maybe it just needs to be divided into smaller self governing pieces like when the old Holy Roman Empire was dismantled. Maybe we are always trying the same set of solutions for different kinds of people as if we were all the same. Oh-- I know-- that is liberal dogma, that we are all the same. Which is the most idiotic American notion going right back to the propaganda of 1776. All men are different and their differences are myriad and that which is different is not equal. The state which pretends men are all the same is going to force men to be the same. That is what America does here, that is what we do in our stupid overseas wars, that is how we destroy true diversity and true difference, and we are all as different groups of folks, feeling the pains of how capitalism is grinding us down into equally insignificant proletarian microconsumers with no other identity whether we like it or not. And the Marxists had this much right about the War of Independence: it was fundamentally a war of capitalist against feudal systems. America has been about big money since day one and whatever gets in the way is crushed. Health care is just another market and Obamacare, to the extent that it Rationalizes and makes more uniform a market which should actually be really different in nature and delivery from place to place-- well that will serve the interests of the biggest capitalist stakeholders in health care which is not Walmart for Gosh Sakes it is the INSURANCE INDUSTRY. CUI BONO Obamacare? The insurance industry. So republicans drop the delusion pro capitalist scales from your eyes this has almost nothing to do with race or "socialism" it has to do mostly with what the INSURANCE INDUSTRY wants to have happen in order to make their lives and profits easier.

  2. Read the article - the reason they can't justify staying is they have too many medicare/medicaid patients and the re-imbursements for transporting these patient is so low.

  3. I would not vote for Bayh if he did run. I also wouldn't vote for Pence. My guess is that Bayh does not have the stomach to oppose persons on the far left or far right. Also, outside of capitalizing on his time as U. S. Senator (and his wife's time as a board member to several companies) I don't know if he is willing to fight for anything. If people who claim to be in the middle walk away from fights with the right and left wing, what are we left with? Extremes. It's probably best for Bayh if he does not have the stomach for the fight but the result is no middle ground.

  4. JK - I meant that the results don't ring true. I also questioned the 10-year-old study because so much in the "health care system" has changed since the study was made. Moreover, it was hard to get to any overall conclusion or observation with the article. But....don't be defensive given my comments; I still think you do the best job of any journalist in the area shedding light and insight on important health care issues.

  5. Probably a good idea he doesn't run. I for one do not want someone who lives in VIRGINIA to be the governor. He gave it some thought, but he likes Virginia too much. What a name I cannot say on this site! The way these people think and operate amuses me.

ADVERTISEMENT