Opinion

Central Indiana could lead economic recoveryRestricted Content

April 27, 2009
Drew Klacik
Every day, we get more bad economic news. While I'm not smart enough to know when the global economy will rebound or how strong the rebound will be, I do believe central Indiana and the Midwest are well-positioned to lead the recovery.
More

Is poor management Indiana's problem?Restricted Content

April 27, 2009
Morton Marcus
Hoosiers identify many factors contributing to our state's long-term economic difficulties. It is fashionable to blame our workers. It is easy to decry a lack of natural amenities: no mountains, no coral reefs. Our public schools are inferior and perhaps our higher education is overrated. Our taxes are too high but we have substandard government services. We ain't got no culture. Rarely do we hear anyone say that our problem is management.
More

How IBJ is surviving the recessionRestricted Content

April 27, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
This economy has been tough on just about everybody. No matter what your choice of media, you can't escape the news about companies and entire industries challenged by the recession. But what about the folks doing all that reporting?
More

Universal health care? Bring it on!Restricted Content

April 20, 2009
With American ingenuity, we can achieve universal health care coverage without the bloated administrative costs found in our system of private insurance companies.
More

Restaurants step up despite hard timesRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Restaurants are so often asked to support non-profits and many times give very generously—their support means so much to local organizations.
More

Is Twitter headed for greatness?Restricted Content

April 20, 2009
Twitter is attractive beyond the buzz. It "feels" like it is going to be something important.
More

New cabaret theater is a different animalRestricted Content

April 20, 2009

I think it is a mistake to call this American Cabaret Theatre when it really is in the piano bar tradition of cabaret that is popular in New York and Las Vegas, and not the vision that Claude McNeal brought to his American Cabaret Theatre when he first came to Indianapolis in 1990.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two ambitious shows yield mixed results

April 20, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, two ambitious shows—a new musical at Beef & Boards and magic realism at the Phoenix
More

Company in doubt? Don't blame auditorRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Keep in mind, the auditor doesnâ??t run the businessâ??the businessâ?? management does.
More

CIB's deficit is a state problem, not a local oneRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Casting the CIB's deficit as an Indianapolis problem is simplistic and inaccurate because it overlooks the millions of dollars in state tax revenue generated by those venues and an endless list of vendors that do business with them.
More

Competing interests to collide in final days of sessionRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Ed Feigenbaum
The two principal matters that all agree must be resolved are the biennial budget and a plan to return the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund to solvency.
More

Complex bond schemes haunt Indy, other citiesRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
The city is just beginning to digest the news that came out of left field regarding Indianapolis Water Co.'s bond transaction gone wild.
More

President Daniels? Never say neverRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Mickey Maurer
Indiana Gov. Mitch Daniels would make a remarkable president. Governor/ presidentâ??it's the same game, just a different scale.
More

De-manufacturing can save resourcesRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Tom Henderson
An industrywide bar-code identification system should be developed so that component objects used in manufacturing can be easily devolved and reused.
More

Cap and trade could be double-edged swordRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Mike Hicks
Cap and trade could lead us to a much cleaner, more prosperous future or it could devastate our economy.
More

DINING: Saffron's food, customer service is exemplary

April 13, 2009
Lou Harry
Saffron Cafe's staff is so friendly and courteous and its food so delicious that I am urging everyone to eat at this downtown restaurant.
More

Doctors should adapt to ratingsRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Rating doctors via online services helps consumers make better health care decisions.
More

There's more to 'tweets' than meets the eyeRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Tim Altom
I'm starting to rethink my initial reaction to dismiss Twitter and now see its benefits to gauging opinion, as well as gathering ideas and doing research.
More

Green magazine deserves recognitionRestricted Content

April 13, 2009

For the past 2-1/2 years, Indiana Living Green has sprouted up through the corporate cracks, offering Indiana readers a guide to a greener lifestyle and sustainable living.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA's artbabble.org offers visual art videos

April 13, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, an online visit with a new Indianapolis Museum of Art, plus a local take on "Forbidden Broadway."
More

Column on education spoke the truthRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Education is empowermentâ??not just for the community but for the individual.
More

Beyond being a great investor, Buffett writes wittily and wellRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
One of the greatest investors of all time, Warren Buffett is always refreshingly candid and informative in his letters to investors, and 2008's 21-page missive is no exception.
More

The tax system has fluctuated throughout the agesRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Mike Hicks
Let's reflect on the origins of the current income tax system to help understand it better.
More

Taxes, fees should be determined case-by-caseRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Morton Marcus
If an honest case for the general good cannot be made (as in the case of most education services, and, sports, entertainment and tourist facilities), government revenue streams should not be used to support private enterprises.
More

Not-for-profits: Treat donors as investorsRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Derrick Feldmann
Nonprofit organizations should treat their donors as shareholders because they invest in the organizations just as shareholders do in public companies.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Uh, sorry Johnnie, but you are incorrect. Despite the assertions by yourself and various defenders and captains, sports attendance is NOT off significantly at most sporting events in the US. Variances in attendance has been in the range of single digits, both + & - for years now. MLB has had most of its best overall attendance nubers in the last decade, and that trend has been consistent for most major sporting events. The number one issue cited by most fans when asked about attendance is the overall cost of attending. The presence of HD and big screen televisions in home doesn't even register, as a factor for not attending an event. VALUE in the product is the key, and apparently is something lacking in the current ICS. What other explanation is there when with what is routinely touted as the "best" racing on the planet, fans are staying away in DROVES. A "close" title battle into the last event at Fontana, with the "cars and stars" of the ICS, and who showed up? MAYBE 8K. Sorry, but HD TV isn't to blame for that kind of fan apathy.

  2. Do you need finance to establish your business ? Are you interested in getting a loan at 3% from our private company? If so please Email: suntrust_oil@blumail.org

  3. If she was worth the $ the public outcry over direct tv dropping them would have kept them on their dishes as we have seen with other companies. I too quit watching channel 13 after she showed up since I left channel 8 because of her all show rather than production results. When Randy on 8 corrected her she had a big head and incorrectly challenged his correction for pronunciation of a city. Other antics while she matures was too much for me with her very inaccurate forecasts. All the forecasters were predicting rain until Thursday except Chris. They predicted sunny on Thursday but instead of rain until Thursday upon which the sun would finally make it out in full glory Chris was right on the money just as I too predicted looking at the radar on weather.gov. One thing I love about Angela is the fear you can see in her every time it thunders in the winter. It far exceeds the entertainment value of her body language (high heel noise drags, depression, etc) when her forecasts are so incorrect. Her hair stands on end, you have to see it!!!

  4. Good Day, Apply For A Loan I am Mr Fernadez Antonio, a private Loan lender and a cooperate financial for real estate and any kinds of business financing. I also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at 3% interest rate We offer any kind of loans. email us via fernadezloaninvest@outlook.com LOAN APPLICATION FORM First name:......................... Middle name:......................... Last name:........................................ Date of birth (yyyy-mm-dd):....................... Gender:........................................... Marital status:................................... Total Amount Needed............................... Loan Duration.................................... Address:.......................................... City:............................................. State/province:................................... Zip/postal code:.................................. Country:.......................................... Phone:............................................ Fax:.............................................. Mobile/cellular:.................................. Monthly Income.................................... Occupation:....................................... Best Regard, Mr Fernadez Antonio.

  5. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.okoro how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. okoro on his email:okorospell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr okoro the great spell caster on his email addresses spellcasterforlove@outlook.com

ADVERTISEMENT