Opinion

Central Indiana could lead economic recoveryRestricted Content

April 27, 2009
Drew Klacik
Every day, we get more bad economic news. While I'm not smart enough to know when the global economy will rebound or how strong the rebound will be, I do believe central Indiana and the Midwest are well-positioned to lead the recovery.
More

Is poor management Indiana's problem?Restricted Content

April 27, 2009
Morton Marcus
Hoosiers identify many factors contributing to our state's long-term economic difficulties. It is fashionable to blame our workers. It is easy to decry a lack of natural amenities: no mountains, no coral reefs. Our public schools are inferior and perhaps our higher education is overrated. Our taxes are too high but we have substandard government services. We ain't got no culture. Rarely do we hear anyone say that our problem is management.
More

How IBJ is surviving the recessionRestricted Content

April 27, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
This economy has been tough on just about everybody. No matter what your choice of media, you can't escape the news about companies and entire industries challenged by the recession. But what about the folks doing all that reporting?
More

Universal health care? Bring it on!Restricted Content

April 20, 2009
With American ingenuity, we can achieve universal health care coverage without the bloated administrative costs found in our system of private insurance companies.
More

Restaurants step up despite hard timesRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Restaurants are so often asked to support non-profits and many times give very generously—their support means so much to local organizations.
More

Is Twitter headed for greatness?Restricted Content

April 20, 2009
Twitter is attractive beyond the buzz. It "feels" like it is going to be something important.
More

New cabaret theater is a different animalRestricted Content

April 20, 2009

I think it is a mistake to call this American Cabaret Theatre when it really is in the piano bar tradition of cabaret that is popular in New York and Las Vegas, and not the vision that Claude McNeal brought to his American Cabaret Theatre when he first came to Indianapolis in 1990.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: Two ambitious shows yield mixed results

April 20, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, two ambitious shows—a new musical at Beef & Boards and magic realism at the Phoenix
More

Company in doubt? Don't blame auditorRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Keep in mind, the auditor doesnâ??t run the businessâ??the businessâ?? management does.
More

CIB's deficit is a state problem, not a local oneRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Casting the CIB's deficit as an Indianapolis problem is simplistic and inaccurate because it overlooks the millions of dollars in state tax revenue generated by those venues and an endless list of vendors that do business with them.
More

Competing interests to collide in final days of sessionRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Ed Feigenbaum
The two principal matters that all agree must be resolved are the biennial budget and a plan to return the Unemployment Insurance Trust Fund to solvency.
More

Complex bond schemes haunt Indy, other citiesRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Ken Skarbeck
The city is just beginning to digest the news that came out of left field regarding Indianapolis Water Co.'s bond transaction gone wild.
More

President Daniels? Never say neverRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Mickey Maurer
Indiana Gov. Mitch Daniels would make a remarkable president. Governor/ presidentâ??it's the same game, just a different scale.
More

De-manufacturing can save resourcesRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Tom Henderson
An industrywide bar-code identification system should be developed so that component objects used in manufacturing can be easily devolved and reused.
More

Cap and trade could be double-edged swordRestricted Content

April 20, 2009
Mike Hicks
Cap and trade could lead us to a much cleaner, more prosperous future or it could devastate our economy.
More

DINING: Saffron's food, customer service is exemplary

April 13, 2009
Lou Harry
Saffron Cafe's staff is so friendly and courteous and its food so delicious that I am urging everyone to eat at this downtown restaurant.
More

Doctors should adapt to ratingsRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Rating doctors via online services helps consumers make better health care decisions.
More

There's more to 'tweets' than meets the eyeRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Tim Altom
I'm starting to rethink my initial reaction to dismiss Twitter and now see its benefits to gauging opinion, as well as gathering ideas and doing research.
More

Green magazine deserves recognitionRestricted Content

April 13, 2009

For the past 2-1/2 years, Indiana Living Green has sprouted up through the corporate cracks, offering Indiana readers a guide to a greener lifestyle and sustainable living.

More

LOU'S VIEWS: IMA's artbabble.org offers visual art videos

April 13, 2009
Lou Harry
This week, an online visit with a new Indianapolis Museum of Art, plus a local take on "Forbidden Broadway."
More

Column on education spoke the truthRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Education is empowermentâ??not just for the community but for the individual.
More

Beyond being a great investor, Buffett writes wittily and wellRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Chris Katterjohn
One of the greatest investors of all time, Warren Buffett is always refreshingly candid and informative in his letters to investors, and 2008's 21-page missive is no exception.
More

The tax system has fluctuated throughout the agesRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Mike Hicks
Let's reflect on the origins of the current income tax system to help understand it better.
More

Taxes, fees should be determined case-by-caseRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Morton Marcus
If an honest case for the general good cannot be made (as in the case of most education services, and, sports, entertainment and tourist facilities), government revenue streams should not be used to support private enterprises.
More

Not-for-profits: Treat donors as investorsRestricted Content

April 13, 2009
Derrick Feldmann
Nonprofit organizations should treat their donors as shareholders because they invest in the organizations just as shareholders do in public companies.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Hello Dear Are you tired of Seeking Loans and Mortgages,have you Been Turned down constantly By your banks and Other Financial Institutions or Micro Finance scheme. This is let you know with 100% guarantee that we Offer loans ranging from $1,000 Minimum to $1,000,000.00 Maximum at 3% interest rate per Month. We give out LOANS for developing business. a competitive edge/business expansion. email address: michealscottloan124@gmail.com We offer the following kinds of loans and many more; * Personal Loans ( Unsecured Loan) * Business Loans ( Unsecured Loan) * Consolidation Loan * Combination Loan * Home Improvement * Xmas Loans for contact to seek for loan email this email address: michealscottloan124@gmail.com Thanks

  2. My name is Mr Henry Josh and i live in the USA California and life is worth living right now for me and my family and all this is because of one man sent by GOD to help me and my family, i once had a life filled with sorrow because my first SON needed a kidney transplant and all our savings were going towards his medications and this normally leaves us with no money to pay our bills or even put enough food on our table and our rent was due and no funds to pay these bills and life felt so unfair to me and every night my wife will cry herself to sleep every night until one day, i was browsing through yahoo answers and i saw a striking advert of a man that gives out personal loans and that the offer is opened to all and i have heard so many things about internet scams but at this point of my life, i was very desperate and ready to take any risk and at the end of the day, i applied for this loan and from one step to another, i got my loan within 12 hours through bank transfer and you know, it was all like a dream and i called Mr Daniel Jones A Man who is the GOD sent lender i found and said, i have received my loan and he smiled stating that to GOD be the glory and i was so shocked as i have never ever seen anyone with such a GOD fearing and kind heart and today, i am the happiest man on earth because by GOD’S grace, my SON kidney transplant was successful and today he is healthy, i and my family are living very comfortable and happy and if you are in my former situation or in serious and legitimate need of a loan, you can reach this GOD sent lender via fidelityloanfirm@outlook.com

  3. Greetings to everyone reading this comment!!! I am Greg William by name. I am out here to recommend the effort of Mark Oscar,I was in need of a consolidation loan amount of 50,000 and as soon as I got in contact with Mark Oscar Loan Firm on Wednesday last week and on Friday last week as well I receive an alert from my bank(Royal Bank of Scotland Group) that the fund was transferred,I want everybody on this site to contact Mark Oscar now via email on how to get a loan because I got my loan from them and I am very happy,so contact them now. Oscarloanfinance@hotmail.com Thanks!!!!!!

  4. Elected officials, like Mourdock, get vested in 8 years. It takes 10 years for all other public employees, most of whom make a lot less money. So much for the promise to finish out his term.

  5. Great state treasurer and a good man!! Just curious if the folks who didn't quite understand his quote would like to tell my daughter-in-law that God didn't intend her! Mourdock's comment was correct but twisted and the article didn't mention that his opponent and the press let the impression stand that Mourdock meant that the rape was intended. Stupid people!!

ADVERTISEMENT