Opinion

LOU'S VIEWS: Glick glass exhibition at IMA shimmers with variety

May 17, 2014
Lou Harry
When Dale Chihuly’s work is among the least interesting pieces on display, you know you’ve got a strong glass art show. Such is the case with Indianapolis Museum of Art’s “Masters of Contemporary Glass: Highlights from the Marilyn and Eugene Glick Collection.”
More

Hicks: Hoosiers voting to pay for better public servicesRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Mike Hicks
I have long argued that Hoosier taxpayers are willing to spend more in places where they can see results. The results of the recent election suggest I am right about that.
More

Skarbeck: Understand accounting--or pay the consequencesRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Ken Skarbeck
Throughout history, good accounting practices have promoted trust in government and capitalist systems, while inadequate accounting has led to financial chaos and even revolutions.
More

KETZENBERGER: We've got to stop running elections like thisRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
It always was a little awkward entering a polling place during the primary and declaring to the poll judges which ballot I wanted. As a news reporter, I didn’t like having to declare my affinity for one party or the other.
More

Loves Uber, LyftRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
I needed to get downtown the other day. My Uber driver was friendly, had classical music going, and it turned out I was going to one of his favorite places!
More

BOEHM: Another credible voice for helping voters chooseRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Ted Boehm / Special to IBJ
Justice John Paul Stevens retired in 2011 after 35 years of distinguished service on the U.S. Supreme Court. He has now published a book advocating adoption of six amendments to the Constitution.
More

MASSON: Repealing the 17th Amendment would be step backwardRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Doug Masson / Special to IBJ
In 1854, the Indiana Democratic Party was led by Jesse Bright, a man described as “hateful and extraordinarily ambitious.” He rose to power as a bully and apparently remained one. His pugnaciousness was no small part of the events that led to a two-year period in which Indiana had only one U.S. senator.
More

Indiana on right trackRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Shaw Friedman writes in his [April 29 Viewpoint] that “tax cuts undermine prosperity” and laments the move to cut business taxes over the past decade of Republican leadership. I suspect that the governmental entities’ prosperity will be undermined but maybe not the entire state’s.
More

SPALDING: Glad Indiana doesn't ban lies in the political arenaRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Ronnetta Spalding / Special to IBJ
Like you, I am eager to pull up a seat to watch candidates throw caution aside in their political ads. It’s like dissecting a mystery where you piece together parts of what the candidate says, what their opponents say about them, and what you end up believing.
More

SOUDER: Pence presidential bid more plausible than most thinkRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Mark Souder / Special to IBJ
In the interest of disclosure, I encouraged Mike Pence to run for president in early 2010, for the 2012 nomination. House Majority Leader Dick Armey frequently told us that every senator woke up in the morning, looked in the mirror, and saw a potential president. The curse has spread to governors as well as far beyond. Give a good speech and you are suddenly the great new hope.
More

LANOSGA: Citizens need better access to government Big DataRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Gerry Lanosga / Special to IBJ
Gov. Mike Pence recently signed an executive order creating a data-sharing project called the Governor’s Management and Performance Hub. The idea is to have a centralized clearinghouse for public data that top policymakers can use to systematically analyze problems—child fatalities and infant mortality, for instance—and the state’s handling of them.
More

SHELLA: Pence still keeping options wide open for 2016Restricted Content

May 17, 2014
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
Take a second, please, to think back to the evening of May 2. It was just a couple of weeks ago, a Saturday, and, just possibly, a day worth remembering.
More

TAFT: Another chance to enlist neighborhoods to fight crimeRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Bill Taft / Special to IBJ
Indianapolis is grappling with one of its most violent years, leading citizens to ask hard questions about why such crime is growing and what we can do about it. While this crime spike has generated loud calls for a much larger police force, the city’s lean budget cannot be our only solution.
More

ANDREWS: Circuits fry in outbreak of local government warfareRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Pat Andrews / Special to IBJ
I am an accidental tourist in the land of government finance. The natives are friendly enough to me, but they seem to like one another less and less.
More

BOHANON: Tax burdens are significantly worse outside IndianaRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Cecil Bohanon / Special to IBJ
Two years into the Pence administration, claims and counterclaims abound about its tax policy. Critics claim the policies shower unwarranted benefits on those who need it least at the expense of the middle class, while supporters claim the policies promote economic growth and prosperity.
More

GARRISON: Fierce hatred of the T.E.A. Party is a conundrumRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Greg Garrison / Special to IBJ

T.E.A Party: Taxed Enough Already. How hard is that? I was privileged to speak at the first rally of these fine folks April 15, 2009, when about 3,000 Hoosiers gathered on the south lawn of the Statehouse in a 40-degree drizzling rain. No burning underwear, no stolen bicycles, no tussles with the police and not a single potty-mouth slogan or sign. Just folks who could make it to the event because it was held late enough in the day that they were finished with the day’s work. Yes, work, as in “having a job.”

More

PARR: Poli sci class was glimpse of liberal IU cultureRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Riley Parr / Special to IBJ
As the end of the school year quickly approaches, it seems prudent to let you, the Hoosier taxpayer, know exactly what your hard-earned dollars are going to support.
More

ODLE: Money, people better directed at preventing crimeRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
Samuel L. Odle / Special to IBJ
Donald Sterling has caught the attention of America and reminds that the struggle to combat inequality and discrimination is ongoing and that the idea that we are living in a post-racial America is truly inaccurate. Every now and then, the negative perceptions we harbor about those different from us become public and we declare how unacceptable it is in our modern society.
More

MADISON: Lamenting the young politicos missing in actionRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
James H. Madison / Special to IBJ
There have been times young Hoosiers flooded into the political arena. Indiana’s first territorial governor, William Henry Harrison, was in his late 20s when he assumed office. Jonathan Jennings just turned 30 when he became the first state governor.
More

No place to hideRestricted Content

May 17, 2014
I am definitely a free speech advocate, even if the opinion being expressed is reprehensible [May 5 Lopresti column].
More

VOSS: Core supporters count more than ever with new mediaRestricted Content

May 13, 2014
Jonathan Voss / Special to IBJMore

MATTHEWS: Lawmakers increasingly edge into ideological cornersRestricted Content

May 13, 2014
Christine Matthews / Special to IBJMore

RUSTHOVEN: The union vote proved toothlessRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Peter J. Rusthoven / Special to IBJ
Two races on my 2014 watch list were challenges to GOP state representatives Bob Behning of Indianapolis and Jerry Torr of Carmel. The issues differed, but each race showed continued erosion of union political power.
More

KEY: End the end-runs around public businessRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Steve Key / Special to IBJ
Technology that makes a vast amount of public records available with a few keystrokes can also make monitoring government actions more difficult for Hoosiers.
More

Hicks: Many women sacrifice careers for their childrenRestricted Content

May 10, 2014
Mike Hicks
Mother’s Day is a splendid opportunity to think about the evolving economic effects of women as parents, how this influences their economic lives, and how women value motherhood in economic terms.
More
Page  << 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I still don't understand how the FBI had any right whatsoever to investigate this elderly collector. Before the Antiquities Act it was completely legal to buy, trade or collect Native American artifacts. I used to see arrow heads, axes, bowls, corn grinders at antique shops and flea markets for sale and I bought them myself. But that was in the late 60's and early 70's. And I now know that people used to steal items from sites and sell them. I understand that is illegal. But we used to find arrow heads and even a corn grinder in our back yard when I was a child. And I still have those items today in my small collection.

  2. I lived in California and they had many of the things noted in the proposed suggestions from the "Blue Ribbon Panel". California is near financial collapse now. Let's not turn the great state of Indiana into a third world dump like California.

  3. The temporary closure of BR Avenue will get a lot of attention. But, one thing reported by the IndyStar really stands out to me, and is extraordinarily depressing: “Police also have agreed to crack down on noise violations, traffic violations and public intoxication.” In other words, the police have generously agreed to do their jobs (temporarily, at least), instead of just standing around waiting for someone to call 911. When is someone in this department going to get off their fat arse (looking at you, Chief), get their minds out of 1975-era policing and into 2014, and have his department engage in pro-active work instead of sitting around waiting for someone to be shot? Why in the hell does it take 7 people getting shot in one night in one of the city’s biggest tourist destinations, to convince the police (reluctantly, it would appear) that they actually need to do their f’n jobs? When is the Chief going to realize that there’s a huge, direct, proven correlation between enforcing the law (yes, all laws, especially those affecting quality of life) and preventing larger crimes from occurring? Is it racial BS? Is that what this extraordinary reluctance is all about? Is the department and the city terrified that if they do their jobs, they might offend someone? Whom, exactly? Will the victims of violence, murder, assault, rape, robbery, and theft be offended? Will the citizens who have to tolerate their deteriorating quality of life be offended? Will the businesses who see their customers flee be offended? Or, is it simple ignorance (maybe the Chief hasn’t heard about NYC’s success in fighting crime - it’s only the biggest g*&#am city in the country, after all)? Either way, Chief, if you don’t want to do your job, then step down. Let someone who actually wants the job take it.

  4. I thought Indiana had all the funding it needed for everything. That's why the state lottery and casino gambling were allowed, as the new tax revenue would take care of everything the state wanted to do.The recommendations sound like they came from California. Better think about that. What is the financial condition of that state?

  5. I was a fan of WIBC in the morning, Steve was the only WIBC host that I listened too, he gave the news with so much flare that I enjoyed listening to him on my way to work. Katz is no Steve. Sadly, I will not be listening to WIBC anymore.

ADVERTISEMENT