Opinion

STYLE: Local entrepreneur teaches upholstery staples

June 18, 2011
Gabrielle Poshadlo
Shelly Leer had planned to start ModHomeEc on a small scale, but has found it tough to keep it there. She’s had to double class sizes from three students to six since January and has started offering three-day, out-of-town workshops in Chicago.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Exploring museum's new discovery channels

June 18, 2011
Lou Harry
It’s impossible for those of us who have raised kids with the Children’s Museum of Indianapolis to imagine what it’s like to enter it, as a child, for the first time.
More

DINING: Hotcakes Emporium serves big, light and fluffy stacks

June 18, 2011
Lou Harry
Housed in what was, briefly, the home of a failed deli, Hotcakes Emporium has the key elements of the breakfast joints I grew up with at the Jersey shore.
More

BENNER: America should cut LeBron James a little slackRestricted Content

June 18, 2011
Bill Benner
Isn’t it funny—or, maybe, not so funny—how we like to hate on sports figures?
More

Dillard's a great pick to replace NordstromRestricted Content

June 18, 2011
I agree 110 percent Dillard’s would be perfect for Circle Centre mall. Dillard’s is much like the old L.S. Ayres—a great selection of clothing, etc., and just a classy store.
More

More support for Dilliard'sRestricted Content

June 18, 2011
After we lost the Lazarus and Ayres stores in the area, I felt an answer might be to get Dillard’s.
More

Get behind Ballard's charter school pushRestricted Content

June 18, 2011
I support and applaud Mayor Greg Ballard’s actions regarding the city’s incorporation of failing schools.
More

EDITORIAL: Aiding ex-offenders helps us allRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Mayor Greg Ballard wisely put a spotlight on the reintegration of ex-offenders into society when he created the city’s Office of Re-entry in 2008. The effort had piles of promise.
More

MAURER: Hologram offers a historical experience like no otherRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Mickey Maurer
Forget Elvis. I saw Bobby Kennedy last week. I swear. It’s true.
More

MARCUS: Check out this regional cooperationRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Morton Marcus
About 48 hours after the exciting finish of this year’s Indy 500 race, Mayors Wayne Seybold, R-Marion, and Greg Goodnight, D-Kokomo, announced the formation of the Midwest Automotive Loop.
More

WHEELER: A case for improving city's balance sheetRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Roderick Wheeler / Special to IBJ
Education is an investment in which our city is expected to see a positive rate of return for every dollar invested and every degree earned.
More

HICKS: Indiana an economic anomaly in MidwestRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Mike Hicks
We Hoosiers are an economic anomaly, an island of growth and resurgent prosperity.
More

SKARBECK: Lackluster market forecast favors large U.S. stocksRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
One thing that does stand out is that, on balance, these returns are not exactly going to get investors to sit up and get excited.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Soul searching on 'Avenue Q'

June 11, 2011
Lou Harry
The R-rating-worthy, 'Sesame Street'-style show gets its regional theater premiere at the Phoenix.
More

Community lost important builderRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
For nearly two decades, Lloyd Tucker quietly plied his trade as a pioneer in urban redevelopment.
More

WOUDENBERG: Indiana Supremes blew it with police caseRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Anita Y. Woudenberg / Special to IBJ
Rather than limit the decision to its facts, the court instead sweepingly discarded the reasonable resistance right in its entirety.
More

BRINEGAR: Introducing an extended vision for IndianaRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Kevin Brinegar / Special to IBJ
These education initiatives and provocative “we want Indiana to be the best” ideas in numerous policy areas are part of the Indiana Chamber’s Indiana Vision 2025 long-range economic development planning process.
More

VAUGHN: State protects insurers better than consumersRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
Instead of an effective regulatory environment, the facts suggest [Insurance Commissioner Stephen] Robertson’s rubber stamp for rate increases is getting a real workout.
More

KETZENBERGER: Americans prefer shiny objects to substanceRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
Gov. Mitch Daniels’ marital history has no bearing on his ability to steer the country and reveals no damning character flaws.
More

KRULL: Another governor and a different decisionRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
John Krull / Special to IBJ
There are politicians out there who see the ability to strip away one’s feelings as demonstrating toughness. To me, it sounds soul-deadening.
More

SHELLA: Mitch's marriage was no big deal in IndianaRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
I’m told that in the 2004 race, Joe Kernan, the Democratic nominee, personally vetoed any use of the Daniels divorce in his campaign.
More

BALLARD: Calls for the mayor to take control of IPS are prematureRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Greg Ballard / Special to IBJ
Some thoughtful and concerned leaders believe the mayor should take over all of Indianapolis Public Schools.
More

KENNEDY: Break out of the status quo by listening closely to othersRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Melina Kennedy / Special to IBJ
Even without direct control over school systems, there is much the mayor can do to influence education policy and have an impact on our public schools.
More

TENBARGE: School takeovers will do students a favorRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Barrett Tenbarge / Special to IBJ
When schools have well over half of their students not even passing end-of-course assessments for core subjects, how can they prepare students for life in the real world?
More

HARRIS: 'Parent trigger' would force improvement on schoolsRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
David Harris / Special to IBJ
To continue our educational transformation, legislators should consider four important issues in future sessions.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. A Tilted Kilt at a water park themed hotel? Who planned that one? I guess the Dad's need something to do while the kids are on the water slides.

  2. Don't come down on the fair for offering drinks. This is a craft and certainly one that belongs in agriculture due to ingredients. And for those worrying about how much you can drink. I'm sure it's more to do with liability than anything else. They don't want people suing for being over served. If you want a buzz, do a little pre-drinking before you go.

  3. I don't drink but go into this "controlled area" so my friend can drink. They have their 3 drink limit and then I give my friend my 3 drink limit. How is the fair going to control this very likely situation????

  4. I feel the conditions of the alcohol sales are a bit heavy handed, but you need to realize this is the first year in quite some time that beer & wine will be sold at the fair. They're starting off slowly to get a gauge on how it will perform this year - I would assume if everything goes fine that they relax some of the limits in the next year or couple of years. That said, I think requiring the consumption of alcohol to only occur in the beer tent is a bit much. That is going to be an awkward situation for those with minors - "Honey, I'm getting a beer... Ok, sure go ahead... Alright see you in just a min- half an hour."

  5. This might be an effort on the part of the State Fair Board to manage the risk until they get a better feel for it. However, the blanket notion that alcohol should not be served at "family oriented" events is perhaps an oversimplification. and not too realistic. For 15 years, I was a volunteer at the Indianapolis Air Show, which was as family oriented an event as it gets. We sold beer donated by Monarch Beverage Company and served by licensed and trained employees of United Package Liquors who were unpaid volunteers. And where did that money go? To central Indiana children's charities, including Riley Hospital for Children! It's all about managing the risk.

ADVERTISEMENT