Opinion

SULLIVAN: Odds for education reform are betterRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Mary Ann Sullivan / Special to IBJ
If there were a full public accounting of our education system’s failure, inadequacy and resulting costs, there would be widespread outrage.
More

HEIN: Meet the underreported Dan CoatsRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Jay Hein / Special to IBJ
In a campaign where Dan Coats’ primary and general election opponents questioned his Hoosier bona fides, why didn’t the former senator regale us with his Indiana policy success stories?
More

KETZENBERGER: Property tax quandary still in fluxRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
An initial drop in local property taxes overall is likely to increase over time. The questions are when and how?
More

RENN: Indiana builds through the hard timesRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Aaron M. Renn / Special to IBJ
Major infrastructure investment at the state and local level is a significant reason for optimism for the long-term competitive positioning for the city and state.
More

CAMPBELL: A primer for government reformersRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Steve Campbell / Special to IBJ
Proponents have to connect government reform to the real pocketbook issues that drive people.
More

SHELLA: Spoils of redistricting go to the victorRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
Indiana politicians have never shown an interest in leaving the redistricting duty to others, and don’t look for it to happen anytime soon.
More

TENBARGE: Act now to build a better IndianaRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Barrett Tenbarge / Special to IBJ
Indiana cannot endure without serious reform, and this session must be approached with the urgency it deserves.
More

EDITORIAL: Airport victory just a warm-up

December 11, 2010
Not all success stories are flashy. Witness the quiet resurrection of the former United Airlines maintenance facility at Indianapolis International Airport.
More

MAURER: A final lesson for entrepreneursRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Mickey Maurer
To create a disciplined investment philosophy, I evolved from my experience “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship You Didn’t Learn in School.” Over the course of 10 columns, I have featured each of these essential principles. This is the final installment.
More

MARCUS: Elves to vote on unionization at the North Pole

December 11, 2010
Morton Marcus
Hard times make for hard work. The elves feel that Santa has not given them sufficient credit for the work they have done these past few years, when goodness and kindness were hard to find.
More

FAENZI: Look for simple solution to complex immigration problem

December 11, 2010
Carol Faenzi
Today’s sorry state of affairs around immigration seems to have no resolution. Cries of “it’s not fair” to any proposed idea come from all sides.
More

DINING: Drinks or not, Cooper's Hawk Winery shines

December 11, 2010
Andrea Muirragui Davis
Second in a month-long series of fine-feathered restaurant reviews.
More

HETRICK: All I know of equality I learned from RudolphRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Like Donner, we find ourselves advocating lies and abetting coverups of our good soldiers'; true identities, rather than celebrating the unique talents of every American willing to serve
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Home on the range for the holidays

December 11, 2010
Lou Harry
Thoughts on this year's holidays shows from the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, Actors Theatre of Indiana, the Cabaret at the Columbia Club and more.
More

BENNER: IU's new coach doesn't have to work miraclesRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Bill Benner
An open letter to Kevin Wilson, Indiana University's football coach.
More

HICKS: Tax-cut proposal probably a good compromiseRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Mike Hicks
The Bush tax cuts in particular are politically charged. Many people want to see the rich taxed at higher rates, with little regard for the impact on the economy.
More

EDITORIAL: Online retailers should pay sales tax

December 4, 2010
Retailers and shopping center owners are right in crusading for a level playing field in taxation. It isn’t fair that most online retailers don’t charge sales taxes, while traditional retailers in Indiana must tack on 7 percent.
More

MORRIS: Political dialogue returning to IBJ

December 4, 2010
Greg Morris
Forefront, which debuts this month, is designed to be another public square where various voices will debate the issues of our day.
More

MARCUS: Higher aspirations built on high-speed rail

December 4, 2010
Morton Marcus
Hoosiers should discard the cloak of indifference that too many wear with pride.
More

SLAUGHTER: Give employees chance to break your trust

December 4, 2010
Robby Slaughter
If you want the best team with the strongest commitment to ethical behavior, you must ensure they have every opportunity to lie, steal and cheat.
More

ALTOM: Just because it's on the Web doesn't mean it's free

December 4, 2010
Tim Altom
Surfing the Web is like being the parent of multiple kids. You hear the rowdiness in a far-off room all day long and learn to take it for granted, but once in a while there’s a great crash and a howl that sounds like a civil defense siren.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Returnees from Christmases past

December 4, 2010
Lou Harry
"A Christmas Carol," "A Very Phoenix Xmas," and "A Beef & Boards Christmas" all get regifted for the holidays.
More

DINING: New brew pub has plenty to wash down

December 4, 2010
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of fine-feathered restaurant reviews. This week: Black Swan Brewpub.
More

WEB REVIEW: Even more ways to find facts at your fingertips

December 4, 2010
Jim Cota
There is little wonderment left— nearly any answer to any question is readily available.
More

HICKS: The high costs of an over-lawyered societyRestricted Content

December 4, 2010
Mike Hicks
Estimates of the private-sector costs of civil litigation top out at about 2 percent of our gross domestic product, so for every $50 spent in the United States, $1 goes to support legal costs and settlements.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. A Tilted Kilt at a water park themed hotel? Who planned that one? I guess the Dad's need something to do while the kids are on the water slides.

  2. Don't come down on the fair for offering drinks. This is a craft and certainly one that belongs in agriculture due to ingredients. And for those worrying about how much you can drink. I'm sure it's more to do with liability than anything else. They don't want people suing for being over served. If you want a buzz, do a little pre-drinking before you go.

  3. I don't drink but go into this "controlled area" so my friend can drink. They have their 3 drink limit and then I give my friend my 3 drink limit. How is the fair going to control this very likely situation????

  4. I feel the conditions of the alcohol sales are a bit heavy handed, but you need to realize this is the first year in quite some time that beer & wine will be sold at the fair. They're starting off slowly to get a gauge on how it will perform this year - I would assume if everything goes fine that they relax some of the limits in the next year or couple of years. That said, I think requiring the consumption of alcohol to only occur in the beer tent is a bit much. That is going to be an awkward situation for those with minors - "Honey, I'm getting a beer... Ok, sure go ahead... Alright see you in just a min- half an hour."

  5. This might be an effort on the part of the State Fair Board to manage the risk until they get a better feel for it. However, the blanket notion that alcohol should not be served at "family oriented" events is perhaps an oversimplification. and not too realistic. For 15 years, I was a volunteer at the Indianapolis Air Show, which was as family oriented an event as it gets. We sold beer donated by Monarch Beverage Company and served by licensed and trained employees of United Package Liquors who were unpaid volunteers. And where did that money go? To central Indiana children's charities, including Riley Hospital for Children! It's all about managing the risk.

ADVERTISEMENT