Opinion

HETRICK: All I know of equality I learned from RudolphRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Bruce Hetrick
Like Donner, we find ourselves advocating lies and abetting coverups of our good soldiers'; true identities, rather than celebrating the unique talents of every American willing to serve
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Home on the range for the holidays

December 11, 2010
Lou Harry
Thoughts on this year's holidays shows from the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, Actors Theatre of Indiana, the Cabaret at the Columbia Club and more.
More

BENNER: IU's new coach doesn't have to work miraclesRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Bill Benner
An open letter to Kevin Wilson, Indiana University's football coach.
More

HICKS: Tax-cut proposal probably a good compromiseRestricted Content

December 11, 2010
Mike Hicks
The Bush tax cuts in particular are politically charged. Many people want to see the rich taxed at higher rates, with little regard for the impact on the economy.
More

EDITORIAL: Online retailers should pay sales tax

December 4, 2010
Retailers and shopping center owners are right in crusading for a level playing field in taxation. It isn’t fair that most online retailers don’t charge sales taxes, while traditional retailers in Indiana must tack on 7 percent.
More

MORRIS: Political dialogue returning to IBJ

December 4, 2010
Greg Morris
Forefront, which debuts this month, is designed to be another public square where various voices will debate the issues of our day.
More

MARCUS: Higher aspirations built on high-speed rail

December 4, 2010
Morton Marcus
Hoosiers should discard the cloak of indifference that too many wear with pride.
More

SLAUGHTER: Give employees chance to break your trust

December 4, 2010
Robby Slaughter
If you want the best team with the strongest commitment to ethical behavior, you must ensure they have every opportunity to lie, steal and cheat.
More

ALTOM: Just because it's on the Web doesn't mean it's free

December 4, 2010
Tim Altom
Surfing the Web is like being the parent of multiple kids. You hear the rowdiness in a far-off room all day long and learn to take it for granted, but once in a while there’s a great crash and a howl that sounds like a civil defense siren.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Returnees from Christmases past

December 4, 2010
Lou Harry
"A Christmas Carol," "A Very Phoenix Xmas," and "A Beef & Boards Christmas" all get regifted for the holidays.
More

DINING: New brew pub has plenty to wash down

December 4, 2010
Lou Harry
First in a month-long series of fine-feathered restaurant reviews. This week: Black Swan Brewpub.
More

WEB REVIEW: Even more ways to find facts at your fingertips

December 4, 2010
Jim Cota
There is little wonderment left— nearly any answer to any question is readily available.
More

HICKS: The high costs of an over-lawyered societyRestricted Content

December 4, 2010
Mike Hicks
Estimates of the private-sector costs of civil litigation top out at about 2 percent of our gross domestic product, so for every $50 spent in the United States, $1 goes to support legal costs and settlements.
More

BENNER: Football shows Marian U. the power of sportsRestricted Content

December 4, 2010
Bill Benner
A Catholic university based in Indiana where football serves as a major rallying point for students, alumni and donors? The University of Notre Dame would be a correct answer. But it’s no longer the only one.
More

Together we can reduce homelessness

December 4, 2010
Each day, hundreds of homeless men and women pass through the doors of Horizon House, the only agency in central Indiana that provides homeless neighbors with access to the services of a unique collaboration of partners—all under one roof.
More

EDITORIAL: Statewide smoking ban is overdue

November 27, 2010
 IBJ Staff
The scientific evidence has been there for years. The financial argument is easy to make. Yet the idea of protecting the public from the potentially deadly effects of secondhand smoke hasn’t caught fire in the halls of power—at least that’s been the case in Indiana.
More

MAURER: Giving back is not always easyRestricted Content

November 27, 2010
Mickey Maurer
I evolved from my experience, “The Ten Essential Principles of Entrepreneurship that You Didn’t Learn in School”—at least I didn’t learn them in school. Over the course of 10 columns, I am featuring each of these essential principles. This is the ninth installment.
More

MARCUS: Show us the progress, not the promises

November 27, 2010
Morton Marcus
Why doesn’t Indiana’s economy keep pace with the nation? Why, when we hear so much about new jobs, about Indiana’s beating out this state or that in some national ranking, do the data most often tell a different story? The answers are always the same. It’s hard to turn around a big ship.
More

WRIGHT: Schoolchildren need better advocates

November 27, 2010
Greg Wright
The Legislature needs to fix two systemic problems causing Indiana’s public schools to fall behind and cost too much.
More

BASILE: Your personal history can be highlight of a trip

November 27, 2010
Frank Basile
These days, it’s easier than ever to reconnect with important people online. But face-to-face is still far better than Facebook when it comes to telling someone how important he or she was in shaping the person you’ve become.
More

HICKS: Thanksgiving, Black Friday and Cyber MondayRestricted Content

November 27, 2010
Mike Hicks
The holiday season in the United States has morphed into a time of concentrated purchases.
More

BENNER: Here's my unpopular recommendation: Keep LynchRestricted Content

November 27, 2010
Bill Benner
In defense of the indefensible: Yes, I still support the man.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Art-felt thanks

November 27, 2010
Lou Harry

The ISO opened with "A Thanksgiving Overture" -- which inspired me to offer my thoughts on what I'm thankful for in the world of Indianapolis arts.

More

Unions doom workers

November 27, 2010
[In response to a Nov. 15 Focus story] the quote by Unite Here spokeswoman Becky Smith, “They [hotels] often take the profits they reap in this market and plow them into other markets or ship them back to the corporate headquarters,” speaks volumes about organized labor.
More

Indiana's slide started a century ago

November 27, 2010
At the turn of the 20th century, Indiana was one of the most progressive states. After the influx of immigrants in the 1910s, Indiana ratcheted backward and has not recovered.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
ADVERTISEMENT