Opinion

SHEPARD: Protect working class with better panhandling ordinanceRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Randall Shepard / Special to IBJ
A recent settlement between the city of Indianapolis and the Indiana ACLU over enforcement of the present ordinance about panhandling has put the question of writing a new ordinance back on the table.
More

BARLOW: Does Donnelly listen to Hoosiers or to Pelosi?Restricted Content

April 19, 2014
Marcus Barlow / Special to IBJ
I get it. I understand why Democrats voted for the Affordable Care Act. I understand party loyalty and I understand that going against your party on such a key piece of legislation would be extremely difficult.
More

Lawyer stirs up troubleRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
After reading the lunacy involved in the [April 14] article concerning Richard Bell, I’m reminded of one of my favorite jokes:
More

VAUGHN: Turner stink should be cleansed from StatehouseRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
Now that April has arrived, it’s time for spring cleaning. Let’s hope the growing stink surrounding state Rep. Eric Turner prompts the General Assembly to begin a cleanup of its own.
More

HEAD: If legalization sounds too good to be true, you're rightRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Randy Head / Special to IBJ
Have you ever seen a commercial for what looks like a fantastic product? Despite some convincing advertisements, after five easy payments and much anticipation these products often fail to deliver what they promise.
More

TALLIAN: Indiana's laws are draconian and counterproductiveRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
The young woman called my law office, tearfully pouring out her story. As an 18-year-old at a graduation party, she had been arrested and charged with possession of a small amount of marijuana. She was booked and made bond, pleaded guilty, went through substance abuse evaluation, did community service, paid a fine, and went through probation for a year.
More

BECK: Committee might dent the sexual assault epidemicRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Lara Beck / Special to IBJ
I hope you will join me in observing Sexual Assault Awareness Month, which is marked each April across our country.
More

FROEHLE: A bright silver lining from the teacher evaluationsRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Kristin Froehle / Special to IBJ
After the educational community waited months for results to be released, the Department of Education made public its grades on teacher effectiveness in the 2012-2013 school year. Only 2 percent were rated “needs improvement” and even fewer—less than half of 1 percent—were “ineffective.”
More

KRULL: Teachers are only part of 'education reform' equationRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
John Krull / Special to IBJ
Some things are just hard to measure.That’s the real message of the teacher evaluations the Indiana Department of Education released this month. Twenty-five percent of Hoosier teachers were rated highly effective and another 61 percent as effective. Less than half a percent were deemed “ineffective.”
More

MACALLISTER: Better ways for higher education to measure itselfRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
P.E. MacAllister / Special to IBJ
Mitch Daniels made an almost iconoclastic observation about evaluating the value of a college (or university) education. He implied that the arbiter of its value is not reflected necessarily in grade point average or the number of Ph.D’s matriculating but in the degree of success students achieve as they find a career and then how quickly they advance in their chosen vocation.
More

STYRING: Utopian transit dreamers could railroad taxpayersRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Bill Styring / Special to IBJ
After years of trying, mass transit advocates have finally steered a central Indiana transit bill through the General Assembly. It authorizes county councils and, in some cases, township boards to approve ballot referenda imposing up to a 0.25-percent transit income tax.
More

MAHERN: Ozdemir's Indy Eleven projections don't add upRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Louis Mahern / Special to IBJ
The North American Soccer League will have 10 members when Indy Eleven joins this year. Teams in the NASL play 12 games in the early season and after a four-week break in July play another 14 games. Fourteen are played at home.
More

SIDDIQUI: Indianapolis needs faster Internet, and quicklyRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Shariq Siddiqui / Special to IBJ
My congregation recently purchased a former day care in the middle of a business district to house our congregation and private school. Before purchasing this facility, we did our due diligence. We checked with zoning, had an appraisal and inspection, brought in the plumber and electrician. Satisfied with all the reports, we went ahead and purchased the building.
More

MARCUS: It would have been different had Noah been a HoosierRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Morton Marcus
The new movie about Noah and his ark, combined with the antics of the General Assembly, led me to setting the fabled story here in the Hoosier state.
More

VANE: Pining for more pols like congressman Andy JacobsRestricted Content

April 19, 2014
Robert Vane / Special to IBJ
My mother was a diehard Democrat. She’s been gone for more than five years now, but I can still hear her telling me to be quiet when Ann DeLaney started to speak on “Indiana Week in Review.”
More

Hicks: Tax rates only half the story of governmentRestricted Content

April 17, 2014
Mike Hicks
With the passing of April 15 and the annual ritual of tax filings, news pages are filled with discussion about the size of federal, state and local tax burdens.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Pulpit fiction

April 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Three spring theater productions address the ecclesiastical. Thoughts on "The Mountaintop," "The Christians," and "Anything Goes."
More

EDITORIAL: Bike-share cements cycling legacy

April 12, 2014
Mayor Greg Ballard has accomplished plenty during his seven years in office, but his most enduring legacy may be in building a bicycle-friendly Indianapolis.
More

LANNAN: Cash could swing sprawling Fishers mayor's raceRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Larry Lannan / Special to IBJ
A large amount of money is pouring into the Republican primary election for the mayor of Fishers. Don’t be swayed by the amount of money a campaign has raised.
More

MAURER: Does She Love Me?Restricted Content

April 12, 2014
Mickey Maurer
Work this week's crossword puzzle for a reassuring answer.
More

LOPRESTI: North Texas wins battles, but Indy wins Final Four warRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Comparing this year's host to next year's reveals city's big advantage.
More

Hicks: Measuring the immeasurable is huge challengeRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Mike Hicks
One aspect of economic research I think is especially powerful is the ability to measure or monetize the things humans clearly value but for which a market price is not necessarily apparent.
More

Kim: Human nature stands in way of earning robust returnsRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Mickey Kim
'Behavior gap' is the difference between what an average investment returns and what the average investor actually earns, because he or she can't leave investments alone long enough for them to prosper.
More

DINING: Tow Yard Brewing hooks up beer and grub

April 12, 2014
Lou Harry
Do such dated references as the Tonya Harding and the Sonny Crockett really belong on the menu of such a handsome new drinkery?
More

An alternate plan to repair streetsRestricted Content

April 12, 2014
Mayor Ballard is criss-crossing Indy promoting Rebuild Indy 2.0 to make street, road, curb and sidewalk improvements. I agree; we need to make critical investment in our infrastructure. And quickly.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
thisissue1-092914.jpg 092914

Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Here are a few candidates for this new group, "ripped from the headlines." First up, that bizzaro State Senator Brent Waltz; secondly, the unethical Todd Huston, and his contractual arrangements scheme; Finally, but not least of all, the dishonorable Eric Turner. What sayeth you Greg Zoeller?

  2. Good day. I can't hide this great testimony that take place in my life I will love everyone to know it and be partaker that is why I always place it on answer, I am Mrs,Natalie Cuttaia by name, I live in Texas, United State Of America, I want to thank (Mr.Bruce Brandon) for his kindness upon my family life. I never knew that there is still nice lender like this on internet and earth here. Just some Months Back, I was in search for a loan of $100,000,00 as I was running out of money for feeding and rent. I was scammed $6,800 Dollars and I decided not to involve my self in such business again but a Friend of my introduced me to a loan firm due to my appearance and doings. And I told him that I am not interested of any loan deal anymore but he told me that there is still a nice lender who he will recommend me to, and I made a trial and I am most grateful lucky am I today, I was given a loan amount of $100,000.00usd, by this great Company (Bruce Brandon Loan Company) managed by (Mr.Bruce Brandon) If you are in need of a genuine or legit loan or financial assistance and you can be reliable and trusted of capable of paying back at the due time of the funds I will advice you to, contact him via: ( bruce.brandon071@gmail.com ) And you will be free from scams in the internet. All thanks to Mr.Bruce Brandon You are the one who remove me and my family out of poverty. The reason why i am doing this is that, i promise Mr.Bruce Brandon that if i truly got my loan, i will advertize his company and bring customers to his company. Contact him via ( bruce.brandon071@gmail.com )for the Loan you have been looking for..

  3. Hello, We are firm Organization formed to help people in needs of helps,such as financial help. So if you are going through financial difficulty or you are in any financial mess,and you need funds to start up your own business,or you need loan to settle your debt or pay off your bills,start a nice business, or you are finding it hard to obtain capital loan from local banks,contact us today via email mrsroseberrywilkinsfunds.usa@gmail.com So do not let these opportunity pass you by because Jesus is the same yesterday, today and forever more. Please these is for serious minded and God fearing People. Your Name: Loan Amount: Loan Duration: Valid Cell Phone Number: Thanks for your understanding to your contact as we Await Regards Management Email:mrsroseberrywilkinsfunds.usa@gmail.com

  4. The question is, where could they build a new stadium? It seems in the past year, all the prime spots have been spoken for with potential projects. Maybe in the industrial wasteland area a block past Lucas Oil? I think it needs to be close to the core, if a new stadium is built.

  5. Aldi is generally a great shopping experience. Still, I'm sure YOU wouldn't want to shop there, which I consider a positive.

ADVERTISEMENT