Opinion

EDITORIAL: Let locals call tax shotsRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
 IBJ Staff
Cutting taxes is a worthy goal. So is giving locals as much say as possible in how much they pay and how that money is spent.
More

MAURER: Become a trapeze artist for charityRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Mickey Maurer
Taking a leaf from the best-selling book “Water for Elephants” and the movie of the same title, Mickey’s Camp is offering the flying trapeze this summer.
More

HICKS: Cuts will come in wake of federal budget dealRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Mike Hicks
It is clear that the agreement to raise the United States’ debt ceiling demands cuts to military budgets, to entitlements and to the vast cornucopia of discretionary spending.
More

RUSTHOVEN: The pipedream of legalized marijuanaRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Peter J. Rusthoven / Special to IBJ
In Indiana, as elsewhere, advocates of medical marijuana use—particularly those aflame with government’s power to “do good”—are blind to unintended consequences and the realities of human motivation and behavior.
More

KIM: Managers with skin in game most likely to perform wellRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
It seems perfectly logical that you want to invest with a manager or fund where the manager has a significant amount invested alongside you.
More

Mahern column was deserved praiseRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Big Bill Hudnut kind of defined a “mover and shaker” of Indianapolis. He led us across the bridge from Naptown to an Indianapolis we are all proud of.
More

Myers is local jewelRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
We are fortunate to have Myers return to Indianapolis. He has vast experience in the delivery of health care and how it impacts our community.
More

Another TIF testRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Every proposed development that approaches a municipality expects a TIF district and tax abatements. They point out that every other municipality they approach is willing to give this to them. If you refuse, they go elsewhere.
More

Hit greedy Colts in the pocketbookRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Since this is ultimately about money, simple solutions exist and the simplest of all is to not buy Colts tickets—and if you want to cross over to radical you can boycott Colts commercial sponsor products.
More

We're all hurt by diminished mediaRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
That’s the real tragedy of these Gannett layoffs, the stooping to infotainment and the dumbing down of not just a new generation of Woodwards and Bernsteins (if they even know who that is), and the slow death of the entire Fourth Estate.
More

People in the news - Aug. 8, 2011

August 6, 2011
People listings are free.
More

QUINN: Picking off neighboring business is shortsighted strategyRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Patrick Quinn / Special to IBJ
Businesses are choosing Illinois for reasons that go far beyond our strategic incentive packages, which are just one tool in our arsenal.
More

ROOB: Illinois businesses come for sanity, not incentivesRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Mitch Roob / Special to IBJ
Our recent billboard campaign—Illinnoyed—in and near Chicago was a little tongue-in-cheek, but it got our point across.
More

BOEHM: New districts further polarize LegislatureRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Ted Boehm / Special to IBJ
New maps are as severely gerrymandered as their predecessors, and adherence to some stated goals of neutral districting does not come close to achieving a fair plan.
More

VAUGHN: Indianapolis should ban contractor contributionsRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
For too long, candidates for county and city offices have taken for granted that a large percentage of their campaign war chests come from individuals and entities seeking to do business with local government.
More

KETZENBERGER: There's nothing divine about a balanced budgetRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
The governor, legislative fiscal leaders and their fiscal staffs deserve a lot of credit, but their effort to put Indiana on sound fiscal footing is not miraculous. They did it the old-fashioned way—with a lot of hard work, tough decisions and a little luck.
More

WOUDENBERG: Troubling reflections from the White caseRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Anita Y. Woudenberg / Special to IBJ
For the voter, Republican or otherwise, it suggests an irresolute moral character that makes at least this conservative think twice about why she’s involved in a party that apparently can’t be bothered to look after its own.
More

HARRIS: Getting parents involved works better than punishmentRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
David Harris / Special to IBJ
The notion that kids from challenging backgrounds are destined to fail could not be more wrong.
More

MEREDITH: Parents are just one piece of intricate education puzzleRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Teresa Meredith / Special to IBJ
Policymakers, schools and educators must be realistic in their expectations for parents with the challenges families face.
More

CAMPBELL: What to do with Lafayette Square MallRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Steve Campbell / Special to IBJ
Safe, traditional options won’t work here; we have to get aggressive.
More

KINGSOLVER: Ballard is a mayor for the next generationRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Justin Kingsolver / Special to IBJ
As a young person jaded by countless politicians’ broken promises to “ensure a better future for our children and grandchildren,” it is refreshing to see a political leader actually enact policies and programs that deliver on those promises.
More

SHELLA: Rename clunky IUPUI for Doc BowenRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
You could come up with a clumsier name for a college than Indiana University-Purdue University at Indianapolis, but it would be tough.
More

EARLY: Don't underestimate our National GuardRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Rex Early / Special to IBJ
The Indiana Guard Ranger Company served intact in the Vietnam War and earned more medals in 1969 than any U.S. Army company in a one-year period.
More

DINING: Carmel's new Detour dares diners to overdo it

August 6, 2011
Lou Harry
Second in a month-long series of reviews of new arts district eateries.
More

BENNER: Weighing in on Kiel, Manning and the BrickyardRestricted Content

August 6, 2011
Bill Benner
Of this, that and the other.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Why not take some time to do some research before traveling to that Indiana town or city, and find the ones that are no smoking either inside, or have a patio? People like yourself are just being selfish, and unnecessarily trying to take away all indoor venues that smokers can enjoy themselves at. Last time I checked, it is still a free country, and businesses do respond to market pressure and will ban smoking, if there's enough demand by customers for it(i.e. Linebacker Lounge in South Bend, and Rack and Helen's in New Haven, IN, outside of Fort Wayne). Indiana law already unnecessarily forced restaurants with a bar area to be no smoking, so why not support those restaurants that were forced to ban smoking against their will? Also, I'm always surprised at the number of bars that chose to ban smoking on their own, in non-ban parts of Indiana I'll sometimes travel into. Whiting, IN(just southeast of Chicago) has at least a few bars that went no smoking on their own accord, and despite no selfish government ban forcing those bars to make that move against their will! I'd much rather have a balance of both smoking and non-smoking bars, rather than a complete bar smoking ban that'll only force more bars to close their doors. And besides IMO, there are much worser things to worry about, than cigarette smoke inside a bar. If you feel a bar is too smoky, then simply walk out and take your business to a different bar!

  2. As other states are realizing the harm in jailing offenders of marijuana...Indiana steps backwards into the script of Reefer Madness. Well...you guys voted for your Gov...up to you to vote him out. Signed, Citizen of Florida...the next state to have medical marijuana.

  3. It's empowering for this niche community to know that they have an advocate on their side in case things go awry. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lrst9VXVKfE

  4. Apparently the settlement over Angie's List "bundling" charges hasn't stopped the practice! My membership is up for renewal, and I'm on my third email trying to get a "basic" membership rather than the "bundled" version they're trying to charge me for. Frustrating!!

  5. Well....as a vendor to both of these builders I guess I have the right to comment. Davis closed his doors with integrity.He paid me every penny he owed me. Estridge,STILL owes me thousands and thousands of dollars. The last few years of my life have been spent working 2 jobs, paying off the suppliers I used to work on Estridge jobs and just struggling to survive. Shame on you Paul...and shame on you IBJ! Maybe you should have contacted the hundreds of vendors that Paul stiffed. I'm sure your "rises from the ashes" spin on reporting would have contained true stories of real people who have struggled to find work and pay of their debts (something that Paul didn't even attempt to do).

ADVERTISEMENT