Opinion

HICKS: Absence of fathers has dire economic impactRestricted Content

June 18, 2011
Mike Hicks
Poverty in America is overwhelmingly caused by two things: failing to graduate from high school and single parenting.
More

SKARBECK: Latest investment tool to tame risk is no panaceaRestricted Content

June 18, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
The idea behind tail-risk hedging is to provide protection to a portfolio against a disastrous event that would wreak havoc on the markets—a so-called “black swan” event made famous by Nassim Taleb’s book “The Black Swan: The Impact of the Highly Improbable.”
More

STYLE: Local entrepreneur teaches upholstery staples

June 18, 2011
Gabrielle Poshadlo
Shelly Leer had planned to start ModHomeEc on a small scale, but has found it tough to keep it there. She’s had to double class sizes from three students to six since January and has started offering three-day, out-of-town workshops in Chicago.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Exploring museum's new discovery channels

June 18, 2011
Lou Harry
It’s impossible for those of us who have raised kids with the Children’s Museum of Indianapolis to imagine what it’s like to enter it, as a child, for the first time.
More

DINING: Hotcakes Emporium serves big, light and fluffy stacks

June 18, 2011
Lou Harry
Housed in what was, briefly, the home of a failed deli, Hotcakes Emporium has the key elements of the breakfast joints I grew up with at the Jersey shore.
More

BENNER: America should cut LeBron James a little slackRestricted Content

June 18, 2011
Bill Benner
Isn’t it funny—or, maybe, not so funny—how we like to hate on sports figures?
More

Dillard's a great pick to replace NordstromRestricted Content

June 18, 2011
I agree 110 percent Dillard’s would be perfect for Circle Centre mall. Dillard’s is much like the old L.S. Ayres—a great selection of clothing, etc., and just a classy store.
More

More support for Dilliard'sRestricted Content

June 18, 2011
After we lost the Lazarus and Ayres stores in the area, I felt an answer might be to get Dillard’s.
More

Get behind Ballard's charter school pushRestricted Content

June 18, 2011
I support and applaud Mayor Greg Ballard’s actions regarding the city’s incorporation of failing schools.
More

EDITORIAL: Aiding ex-offenders helps us allRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Mayor Greg Ballard wisely put a spotlight on the reintegration of ex-offenders into society when he created the city’s Office of Re-entry in 2008. The effort had piles of promise.
More

MAURER: Hologram offers a historical experience like no otherRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Mickey Maurer
Forget Elvis. I saw Bobby Kennedy last week. I swear. It’s true.
More

MARCUS: Check out this regional cooperationRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Morton Marcus
About 48 hours after the exciting finish of this year’s Indy 500 race, Mayors Wayne Seybold, R-Marion, and Greg Goodnight, D-Kokomo, announced the formation of the Midwest Automotive Loop.
More

WHEELER: A case for improving city's balance sheetRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Roderick Wheeler / Special to IBJ
Education is an investment in which our city is expected to see a positive rate of return for every dollar invested and every degree earned.
More

HICKS: Indiana an economic anomaly in MidwestRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Mike Hicks
We Hoosiers are an economic anomaly, an island of growth and resurgent prosperity.
More

SKARBECK: Lackluster market forecast favors large U.S. stocksRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Ken Skarbeck
One thing that does stand out is that, on balance, these returns are not exactly going to get investors to sit up and get excited.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Soul searching on 'Avenue Q'

June 11, 2011
Lou Harry
The R-rating-worthy, 'Sesame Street'-style show gets its regional theater premiere at the Phoenix.
More

Community lost important builderRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
For nearly two decades, Lloyd Tucker quietly plied his trade as a pioneer in urban redevelopment.
More

WOUDENBERG: Indiana Supremes blew it with police caseRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Anita Y. Woudenberg / Special to IBJ
Rather than limit the decision to its facts, the court instead sweepingly discarded the reasonable resistance right in its entirety.
More

BRINEGAR: Introducing an extended vision for IndianaRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Kevin Brinegar / Special to IBJ
These education initiatives and provocative “we want Indiana to be the best” ideas in numerous policy areas are part of the Indiana Chamber’s Indiana Vision 2025 long-range economic development planning process.
More

VAUGHN: State protects insurers better than consumersRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
Instead of an effective regulatory environment, the facts suggest [Insurance Commissioner Stephen] Robertson’s rubber stamp for rate increases is getting a real workout.
More

KETZENBERGER: Americans prefer shiny objects to substanceRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
Gov. Mitch Daniels’ marital history has no bearing on his ability to steer the country and reveals no damning character flaws.
More

KRULL: Another governor and a different decisionRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
John Krull / Special to IBJ
There are politicians out there who see the ability to strip away one’s feelings as demonstrating toughness. To me, it sounds soul-deadening.
More

SHELLA: Mitch's marriage was no big deal in IndianaRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
I’m told that in the 2004 race, Joe Kernan, the Democratic nominee, personally vetoed any use of the Daniels divorce in his campaign.
More

BALLARD: Calls for the mayor to take control of IPS are prematureRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Greg Ballard / Special to IBJ
Some thoughtful and concerned leaders believe the mayor should take over all of Indianapolis Public Schools.
More

KENNEDY: Break out of the status quo by listening closely to othersRestricted Content

June 11, 2011
Melina Kennedy / Special to IBJ
Even without direct control over school systems, there is much the mayor can do to influence education policy and have an impact on our public schools.
More
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Uh, sorry Johnnie, but you are incorrect. Despite the assertions by yourself and various defenders and captains, sports attendance is NOT off significantly at most sporting events in the US. Variances in attendance has been in the range of single digits, both + & - for years now. MLB has had most of its best overall attendance nubers in the last decade, and that trend has been consistent for most major sporting events. The number one issue cited by most fans when asked about attendance is the overall cost of attending. The presence of HD and big screen televisions in home doesn't even register, as a factor for not attending an event. VALUE in the product is the key, and apparently is something lacking in the current ICS. What other explanation is there when with what is routinely touted as the "best" racing on the planet, fans are staying away in DROVES. A "close" title battle into the last event at Fontana, with the "cars and stars" of the ICS, and who showed up? MAYBE 8K. Sorry, but HD TV isn't to blame for that kind of fan apathy.

  2. Do you need finance to establish your business ? Are you interested in getting a loan at 3% from our private company? If so please Email: suntrust_oil@blumail.org

  3. If she was worth the $ the public outcry over direct tv dropping them would have kept them on their dishes as we have seen with other companies. I too quit watching channel 13 after she showed up since I left channel 8 because of her all show rather than production results. When Randy on 8 corrected her she had a big head and incorrectly challenged his correction for pronunciation of a city. Other antics while she matures was too much for me with her very inaccurate forecasts. All the forecasters were predicting rain until Thursday except Chris. They predicted sunny on Thursday but instead of rain until Thursday upon which the sun would finally make it out in full glory Chris was right on the money just as I too predicted looking at the radar on weather.gov. One thing I love about Angela is the fear you can see in her every time it thunders in the winter. It far exceeds the entertainment value of her body language (high heel noise drags, depression, etc) when her forecasts are so incorrect. Her hair stands on end, you have to see it!!!

  4. Good Day, Apply For A Loan I am Mr Fernadez Antonio, a private Loan lender and a cooperate financial for real estate and any kinds of business financing. I also offer Loans to individuals, Firms and cooperate bodies at 3% interest rate We offer any kind of loans. email us via fernadezloaninvest@outlook.com LOAN APPLICATION FORM First name:......................... Middle name:......................... Last name:........................................ Date of birth (yyyy-mm-dd):....................... Gender:........................................... Marital status:................................... Total Amount Needed............................... Loan Duration.................................... Address:.......................................... City:............................................. State/province:................................... Zip/postal code:.................................. Country:.......................................... Phone:............................................ Fax:.............................................. Mobile/cellular:.................................. Monthly Income.................................... Occupation:....................................... Best Regard, Mr Fernadez Antonio.

  5. i will love to share my testimony to you all the people in world i got married to my husband about 2 year ago we start having problems at home like we stop sleeping on the same bed,fighting about little things he always comes home late at night,drinking too much and sleeping with other women out side i have never love any man in my life except him. he is the father of my child and i don't want to loose him because we have worked so hard together to become what we are and have today .few month ago he now decided to live me and the kid,being a single mother can be hard sometimes and so i have nobody to turn to and i was heart broken.i called my mom and explain every thing to her,my mother told me about DR.okoro how he helped her solve the problem between her and my dad i was surprise about it because they have been without each other for three and a half years and it was like a miracle how they came back to each other. i was directed to DR. okoro on his email:okorospell@gmail.com and explain everything to him,so he promise me not to worry that he will cast a spell and make things come back to how we where so much in love again and that it was another female spirit that was controlling my husband he told me that my problem will be solved within two days if i believe i said OK So he cast a spell for me and after two days my love came back asking me to forgive him i Am so happy now. so that why i decided to share my experience with every body that have such problem contact Dr okoro the great spell caster on his email addresses spellcasterforlove@outlook.com

ADVERTISEMENT