Opinion

LOPRESTI: Dear Dr. Naismith, ‘Center of sport’ might miss its own hoopla

February 15, 2014
Hoosier teams are on outside looking in as NCAA tournament approaches.
More

FEIGENBAUM: Revenue forecast, cold weather complicate budgetRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Ed Feigenbaum
The gubernatorial legislative agenda came with a heavy price tag even as Mike Pence declared the $2 billion state surplus off limits.
More

DINING: Thunderbird cruises in with cocktails and creativity

February 15, 2014
Lou Harry
For me, the primary lure was the interesting food lineup, sporting a decidedly southern accent in portions sized in that nether region between full entrée and tapas. A review.

More

Hicks: It's irrational to dislike most rich peopleRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Mike Hicks
The plain fact is, of the households with earnings in the top fifth, only 0.0016 percent earn more than half their income from stock dividends. Simply put, most rich households work. It is also plainly true that someone else’s riches don’t come at the expense of the rest of us. There is not a finite amount of income.
More

Kim: Sports wagers illustrate concepts of investing

February 15, 2014
Mickey Kim
Sports betting wouldn’t be what it is today without an innovation by Charles K. McNeil. McNeil’s strong analytical ability enabled him to earn a living as a professional gambler, or “sharp.” His innovation was the “point spread.”
More

MAURER: Hoosier bigotry has real-life consequences

February 15, 2014
Mickey Maurer
Let's elect legislators who recognize the damage that can be done by measures like HJR-3.
More

ALTOM: I’ve enjoyed sharing what I know—and hearing from youRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Tim Altom
With technology--as with technology writers--nothing lasts forever.
More

CARPENTER: The governor finesses controversial issuesRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Dan Carpenter / Special to IBJ
To the Matador, we don’t matter. All he has heard so far when he bows ever so deep toward the grandstand is, “Olé!”•
More

There’s more to the rural vs. Indy storyRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Richard Sullivan [Feb. 3 Viewpoint] offers the perspective that Indiana’s rural areas “stick it” to Indy when folks in rural areas don’t support urban issues. He links this long-running, alleged battle to the lack of rural support for the anti-gay amendment in the news today.
More

STYRING: Stereotypes aside, business taxes really do matterRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Bill Styring / Special to IBJ
Gov. Mike Pence has proposed eliminating property taxes on business machinery and equipment. How exactly that is to be done, and over what time frame, he has left to the wisdom of the General Assembly.
More

VAUGHN: Fixing a rigged game requires neutral refereesRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Julia Vaughn / Special to IBJ
Allowing legislators to draw their own districts is like the NBA allowing the home team to hire its own officials; it would be an obvious conflict of interest that would discredit the process and lead to unfair play. That’s why redistricting reform tops Common Cause Indiana’s legislative agenda and why I’m pleased that the House took action early this session by passing House Bill 1032.<
More

ROGERS: Pence's plan should be extended universallyRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Earline Rogers / Special to IBJ
I commend the governor for recognizing the state’s long overdue need to expand access to quality early-childhood education. In my years as a teacher, I found the difference between students arriving with a preschool education and those without to be profound.
More

YODER: Funds are better allocated to existing school districtsRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Carlin Yoder / Special to IBJ
As the General Assembly works through the 2014 session, a familiar issue has risen to the forefront of discussion and debate. It’s the idea of providing funding for children to attend pre-kindergarten programs.
More

MAHERN: The substantial life of a Democratic pillarRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Louis Mahern / Special to IBJ
I first met Mary Berry in the fall of 1960, but I’m getting ahead of myself.
More

BECK: Get to know those the amendment would affectRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Lara Beck / Special to IBJ
Since the General Assembly convened in January, it seems that nearly everyone I’ve talked to has an opinion on House Joint Resolution 3, the divisive constitutional amendment that defines marriage as between a woman and a man.
More

SIDDIQUI: When religious and civic values collideRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Shariq Siddiqui / Special to IBJ
The recent decision by the Plainfield-based Islamic Society of North America to support the Employment Non-Discrimination Act has created concern among some Muslim Hoosiers.
More

KRULL: Marriage message boxes Pence into contradictionRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
John Krull / Special to IBJ
So much for being governor of all the people of Indiana. Earlier this month, not long after the House of Representatives voted to strip the controversial second sentence out of House Joint Resolution 3—the proposed state constitutional amendment banning gay marriage—Gov. Mike Pence told WISH-TV Channel 8 that he supported the HJR 3 in its original form.
More

MACALLISTER: We change our laws to match our definitions of truthRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
P.E. MacAllister / Special to IBJ
I wrote a piece recently that suggested truth is not eternal but transient. It moves, changes, flexes.
More

MARCUS: Rising prosperity still an elusive aspirationRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Morton Marcus
Sometimes it seems our political leaders know only four-letter words like jobs. They often precede this with another four letter word: good.
More

DANIELS: With jobs, it's mobility, not just 'equality,' that mattersRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Deborah Daniels
There is a lot of talk these days about income inequality—the growing gap between the incomes of the rich and poor. Arthur Brooks, president of the American Enterprise Institute, acknowledged in a recent speech to our Economic Club that the ”recovery” is working only for the rich: The poor are seeing no benefit from it, and income inequality is growing.
More

VANE: Unsung Ballard seeding city with string of talentRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Robert Vane / Special to IBJ
Perhaps the most intriguing question in what is shaping up to be a remarkable political year is the following: Will Greg Ballard seek a third term as mayor in 2015?
More

SHEPARD: Side with local government oversight when possibleRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Randall Shepard / Special to IBJ
Recent debates in the General Assembly about inspecting apartments for safety and sanitation purposes has highlighted the need for more energetic collaboration between state government and the people who lead cities and towns.
More

WAGNER: The long and winding road to recruit candidatesRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Jennifer Wagner / Special to IBJ
A few weeks ago, I received an email from a conservative special-interest group. It opened with four paragraphs about a Statehouse issue along with a list of House members the group wanted its supporters to call and email. But that’s not what caught my eye.
More

FROEHLE: Students aren't being told the full cost of collegeRestricted Content

February 15, 2014
Kristin Froehle / Special to IBJ
Whether in the State of the Union address, recent commentaries about college tuition outpacing financial aid, or news about Purdue University’s possibly extending its tuition freeze, one thing is certain. The status quo is not acceptable when it comes to cost and access to a college education.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: IBJ A&E road trip heading for Canada

February 13, 2014
Lou Harry
Stratford Shakespeare Festival, Niagara Falls, and more are on the agenda. Hope you can join us.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. I am also a "vet" of several Cirque shows and this one left me flat. It didn't have the amount of acrobatic stunts as the others that I have seen. I am still glad that I went to it and look forward to the next one but I put Varekai as my least favorite.

  2. Looking at the two companies - in spite of their relative size to one another -- Ricker's image is (by all accounts) pretty solid and reputable. Their locations are clean, employees are friendly and the products they offer are reasonably priced. By contrast, BP locations are all over the place and their reputation is poor, especially when you consider this is the same "company" whose disastrous oil spill and their response was nothing short of irresponsible should tell you a lot. The fact you also have people who are experienced in franchising saying their system/strategy is flawed is a good indication that another "spill" has occurred and it's the AM-PM/Ricker's customers/company that are having to deal with it.

  3. Daniel Lilly - Glad to hear about your points and miles. Enjoy Wisconsin and Illinois. You don't care one whit about financial discipline, which is why you will blast the "GOP". Classic liberalism.

  4. Isn't the real reason the terrain? The planners under-estimated the undulating terrain, sink holes, karst features, etc. This portion of the route was flawed from the beginning.

  5. You thought no Indy was bad, how's no fans working out for you? THe IRl No direct competition and still no fans. Hey George Family, spend another billion dollars, that will fix it.

ADVERTISEMENT