Opinion

SOUDER: Traditional conservatism is making a comebackRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Mark Souder / Special to IBJ
It would be easy to miss the significance of the seven Indiana House Republicans all supporting the 2013 budget deal.
More

LANOSGA: Got a warrant for my cell phone information?Restricted Content

January 18, 2014
Gerry Lanosga / Special to IBJ
I’ve written a fair bit in these pages about the pitfalls of official secrecy—the often unjustified withholding of information by public agencies at all levels of government.
More

GARRISON: Good ideas during the great storm, but bad policyRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Greg Garrison / Special to IBJ
Folks in the business of passing laws and enforcing them must, of necessity, impose somebody’s idea of what is good on the rest of us.
More

MILLER: Local voters should be given shot at referendumRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Pat Miller / Special to IBJ
After reviewing the facts surrounding a proposed expansion of mass-transit services in central Indiana, gathering input from local officials, meeting with the public, and listening to concerns about establishing an expanded transit system, legislators are working to develop a plan that is both efficient and cost-effective.
More

SPEEDY: Private sector could put resources to better useRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Mike Speedy / Special to IBJ
Each session, I work to find efficient and effective ways to streamline government functions. Bolstering our city’s infrastructure is vital for sustained economic growth.
More

SHELLA: Stars might align for old deals to happenRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Jim Shella / Special to IBJ
Dwayne Sawyer just set a new world record for quickest rise and fall of an Indiana statewide elected official. His tenure as auditor fell just short of four months.
More

PARR: What Indiana should address in 2014Restricted Content

January 18, 2014
Riley Parr / Special to IBJ
Compared with neighboring states, Indiana is doing well. For that, Hoosiers can be thankful.
More

ODLE: State needs bold, imaginative leadershipRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Samuel L. Odle / Special to IBJ
I don’t think anyone can disagree we need a strategy for making the slogan “Indiana Works” a reality.
More

BOHANON: Cautious concerning government initiativesRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Cecil Bohanon / Special to IBJ
Free-market economists are skeptical of government programs designed to promote economic development.
More

MADISON: Statehouse religion isn't trending wellRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
James H. Madison / Special to IBJ
I’ve been listing to the Swan Silverstones. “Don’t blame it on the children,” this gospel group sings, which got me thinking about who’s to blame for the failure to regulate all our state’s child care facilities.
More

KETZENBERGER: With religion, to welcome one is to welcome allRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
John Ketzenberger / Special to IBJ
I read recently that a proposed statue of a goat-headed figure of Satan, known as Baphomet, is a bad idea on the grounds of Oklahoma’s Capitol.
More

WESTERHAUS-RENFROW: Diversity still has bad rap in IndianaRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Charlotte Westerhaus-Renfrow / Special to IBJ
What “D” word is used most sparingly or avoided altogether by Hoosier political, business and civic leaders when sharing how to position Indiana for growth and success? a) debt, b) deflation, or c) diversity?
More

BOEHM: Solid reasons to build justice center nowRestricted Content

January 18, 2014
Ted Boehm / Special to IBJ
Mayor Ballard proposes to create a judicial center that would bring the dispersed offices of the criminal courts, prosecutor, public defender and perhaps other agencies together with the county jail in one facility at a location to be determined, and free up the jail site for development.
More

TAFT: Just whose downtown is it, anyway?

January 18, 2014
Bill Taft / Special to IBJ
Downtown Indianapolis was recently ranked No. 1 for livability among smaller cities by Livability.com—gratifying praise after $9.3 billion of reinvestment. Recent debates and plans, however, have raised a fundamental question: Whose downtown is this?
More

EDITORIAL: Forge ahead with preschoolRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Gov. Mike Pence said last month that he wants to help young children from low-income homes start kindergarten “ready for a life of learning.” We applaud that goal, and ask the governor and General Assembly to craft voucher legislation that encourages the highest-quality preschools.
More

KENNEDY: Not healthy, wealthy or wiseRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Sheila Suess Kennedy
Many of us have just wished our friends and loved ones a healthy, happy and prosperous new year. In Indiana, those are going to be elusive goals.
More

SMITH: Business thrives in pro-family IndianaRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Curt Smith / Special to IBJ
Among the more mystifying arguments against a constitutional amendment defining marriage as one man and one woman is the claim that having such a conversation creates an intolerant tone that hurts Indiana’s business climate. It’s mystifying because as we have respectfully debated this issue, Indiana’s economy improved remarkably.
More

HETRICK: After storm, plowing through a pseudo-libertarian snow job

January 11, 2014
Bruce Hetrick
"I am capable of deciding for myself what and where and when I can come and go," said a Facebook friend. But when does liberty get in the way of public safety?
More

MORRIS: Storm tests preparedness, opens heartsRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Greg Morris
Dangerous conditions give us a chance to kick the tires on remote workforce plan.
More

Legislative agenda unusually lengthy for a short sessionRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Ed Feigenbaum
An uncommonly ambitious gubernatorial want-list is paired with scores of items lawmakers are coveting during the 10-week gathering.
More

LOPRESTI: Colts-Chiefs playoff game joins classic-comeback peersRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Veterans of other memorable games welcome a new 'one for the ages' to their ranks.
More

Hicks: Fed might as well throw in the towel on easingRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Mike Hicks
At the Philadelphia meeting of the American Economic Association, economist Charles Plosser argued that the continued quantitative easing should be quickly reduced.
More

Skarbeck: Next wave of regulators needs to keep reformingRestricted Content

January 11, 2014
Ken Skarbeck
Since last year, there have been several personnel changes in key financial and regulatory positions in the federal government.
More

LOU'S VIEWS: Funky furniture, slamming doors and more

January 11, 2014
Lou Harry
This week, I empty the notebook with thoughts on the IMA's contemporary galleries, a furniture show at the State Museum, a Beef &Boards farce and an ambitious new CD.
More

DINING: Sideman BeBop Pizza worthy of headliner The Jazz Kitchen

January 11, 2014
Lou Harry
What might be a secret to some is that the city's leading jazz club shares its kitchen with a pizza joint. Second in a month-long series of theme-free restaurant reviews.
More
Page  << 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 >> pager
Sponsored by
ADVERTISEMENT

facebook - twitter on Facebook & Twitter

Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ on Facebook:
Follow on TwitterFollow IBJ's Tweets on these topics:
 
Subscribe to IBJ
  1. Now if he'd just stay there...

  2. Daniel - what about the many US citizens who do NOT follow what the Bible teaches? The Hindus, Jews, Muslims and others who are all American citizens entitled to all rights as Americans?? This issue has NOTHING to do with "What the Bible says..." Keep all Churches separate from State! Pence's ongoing idiocy continues to make Indiana look like a backwards, homophobic state in the eyes of our nation. Can't we move on to bigger issues - like educating our kids?

  3. 1. IBJ should link to the referenced report. We are in the age of electronic media...not sharing information is lazy. Here is a link http://www.in.gov/gov/files/Blue_Ribbon_Panel_Report_July_9_2014.pdf 2. The article should provide more clarity about the make-up of this panel. The commenters are making this item out to be partisan, it does not appear the panel is partisan. Here is a list of the panel which appears to be balanced with different SME to add different perspectives http://www.in.gov/activecalendar/EventList.aspx?view=EventDetails&eventidn=138116?formation_id=189603 3. It suggests a by-pass, I do not see where this report suggests another "loop". 4. Henry, based on your kneejerk reaction, we would be better off if you moved to another state unless your post was meant as sarcasm in which case I say Well Done. 5. The article and report actually indicates need to improve rail and port infrastructure in direct contradiction to Shayla commentary. Specifically, recommendation is to consider passenger rail projects... 6. People have a voice with their elected officials. These are suggestions and do not represent "crony capitalism", etc. The report needs to be analyzed and the legislature can decide on priorities and spending. Don't like it, then vote in a new legislature but quit artificially creating issues where there are none! People need to sift through the politics and provide constructive criticism to the process rather than making uninformed comments in a public forum based on misinformation. IBJ should work harder to correct the record in these forums when blatant errors or misrepresentations are made.

  4. Joe ... Marriage is defined in the Bible ... it is mentioned in the Bible often. Marriage is not mentioned once in the US or Indiana Constitution ...

  5. Daniel - Educate me please: what does the Bible have to do with laws? If the government wasn't in the business of marriage to begin with, then it wouldn't have to "define" marriage at all. Marriage could be left as a personal, religious, or otherwise unregulated action, with no ties to taxes, legal status, etc. Then people could marry whomever they want, and all this silliness would go away. Remember to vote Libertarian in November.

ADVERTISEMENT